Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars27
3.9 out of 5 stars
Platform: PlayStation 3|Change
Price:£19.95+ £2.05 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 11 July 2009
Spider-Man, Spider-Man, does whatever a spider can. Sorry, I couldn't help myself but this game really has reignited my love for one of the greatest comic book characters ever created. As a stand alone, he's not the greatest thing in the world, but he's complemented by the ocean of incredibly cool villains that he has pitted himself against over the years. The Marvel universe does very well in creating unique characters both good and evil and this game brings both the free roaming New York gameplay made famous by the movie to game tie ins, with the Marvel Universe to make one incredible game. The developers of Web of Shadows promised us a new combat system that would present a realistic fighting experience unique to the Spider-Man character and not seen in any game before.

The plot focuses mainly around a Venom symbiote invasion of New York City in which it starts to take over and transform regular members of the public making an army of Venom's that Spider-Man must take on alone, or so he thinks. The symbiote has also taken host in Spidey who for some unknown reason is able to control its corrupting powers but on the positive side lets you switch between the traditional Spider-Man attire and the famed Black suit. Switching between the two gives you a differing array of fighting abilities but also gives you the option to make good or evil choices that will ultimately effect who you gain help from when combating the infestation. When the invasion hits a peak S.H.I.E.L.D. are forced to quarantine New York and employ the help of the infected Spider-Man to defeat venom and the symbiotes along with infected fellow superheroes and villains making them much more powerful than they have ever been and a real challenge for Spidey.

Although this does take on essentially the same gameplay mechanics as the last Spider-Man games which were adapted from the movies, the new fighting system is a breath of fresh air and makes the experience of battling numerous enemies that little bit more enjoyable. Ground, Wall and Air fighting mechanics allow you to tackle enemies on each front as you can take enemies out on the ground with unique moves, then smoothly web shoot your way to the wall of a sky scraper, battle a few enemies there and then take it to the air with the help of your web slinging. Having the ability to smoothly switch between both suits with a simple seamless click of the left analogue stick allows you to chain together special attacks individual to both suits making for an arsenal of exciting attacks on your opponents.

Utilising the Marvel universe as the platform for the game really works very well as the geeky comic version of Peter Parker shines through very well, especially when being taught some fighting skills by the likes of Wolverine and Nick Cage. The fellow comic book heroes and villains are a welcome addition as you can align yourself as either good or evil allowing you to utilise the special abilities of those you align yourself with. My personal favourite alignment is that with the unstoppable Rhino as, when you're in trouble, you can call upon his services to jump on his back and plough through anything in your way. Also the gift of flight, when trying to reach a far off island such as the prison Rikers Island, is a healthy advantage for you to call upon your friends services.

The plot does certainly take on an epic feel when the invasion is in full swing and having the entire of New York City at your disposal to swing about is definitely a big plus. One way this game does fall a bit flat are the cut scenes. Although they are meant to be in a comic book world, I found the graphical content of the scenes a bit too choppy and vague to really portray the supposed doomsday feel that the games plot was trying to put across. I would have much preferred CGI rendered cut scenes that didn't use the graphics engine of the game play, that way it would have given off a more blockbuster movie look.

Undoubtedly this is a welcome addition to the Spider-Man video game franchise as it presents a unique combat style and allows for the excellent presentation and introduction for his fellow Marvel Comics superheroes. This is definitely the way I would love to see the Spider-Man movies go in the way of incorporating more fellow heroes into the world and obviously leading into an Avengers movie which is, coincidentally, in the works. If Spider-Man were to be a part of the Avengers film then it certainly could work just as brilliantly as this fantastic game. Buy it, you will not be disappointed I promise.
11 comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2009
This game is incredibley fun, most of the controls are the same as the ps2 spiderman 2 and 3 games. The biggest problem with this story is that the symbiote invasion lasts for incredibley long, it creates a sort of zombie iinfested city, which does get very boring after a while. The choices you make don't seem to make that much of a difference, i've chosen the opposite suit several times now to the one that would have allied me with a character, yet they still come to my aid when I call. Game has glitched a couple of times, but its fine now. What I would recommend is trying to find this game for less. I found it in a service station last week for £12.99, and if you wait to buy this before it goes out of production, i'd suggest spiderman 3 on ps3 for £7.80 to poass the time
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2012
An ok purchase as a gift for those who love computer games. Good for those children who are fans of spiderman.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2009
Spider-Man: Web of Shadows is a game that is good, fun, entertaining, along with all the other basics, it has many flaws. The graphics, design of New York city and gameplay are all good for their own reasons:

- Graphics are excellent, a solid 9/10 - they give you the feeling that this is somewhat close to real life and allow you to get involved in the game.
- New York city is full of tall buildings (supposedly) allowing you to do what Spidey does best: swinging from place to place via the buildings.
- The gameplay gets a 8/10. It's very fancy, entertaining and the best part is that you can quite easily imagine our arachnid-like hero doing. A word of warning though: it is better to learn all the tricks otherwise it can get very repetitive.

The biggest gripe I have with this game however is that there are very few to no unlockables. You do not get to play as any other characters, get new costumes for Spider-Man, collect comic covers or anything of the sort like in previous games. The only kind of unlockables you can get are in the form of buying new moves to upgrade both the red and black suit (which is a basic in gaming really and doesn't normally count) and collecting 2,000 spider-symbols. Although, the only thing these do is increase your health and special attack meter, and really, you can go throughout the game umpteen times without them and, really, who would go so far as collecting 2,000 spider-symbols? This leads me to another grip - you cannot change the difficulty level meaning it's always going to be a certain difficulty. Also, the boss battles with the main antagonist of the game, Venom, are all disappointingly easy, making you wonder why he's the villain. There is also one gripe I have with the black-suit. With exception to the `Ultimate universe', Venom has never been seen with the ability to use tentacles. This, when you think of it, is a good thing because if Venom did use tentacles he would be on his way to being a clone of the other symbiotic villain, Carnage. In this game, however, Venom doesn't use webbing and instead has tentacles galore. As daft as this is, Spidey takes it one step further by adding huge claws to the ends of his and effectively creating a symbiotic rip-off of Kratos' Blades of Chaos from the God of War franchise. Finally, the biggest gripe I'll mention is the web slinging. It's a minor one though because web slinging in this game is otherwise good. However I have found Spider-Man to swing from thin air rather then buildings one too many times. Like I said, a minor gripe in the end.

Despite amount of ranting I have done, I do recommend this game. It's just that this game had a lot more potential then all the other Spider-Man games and it seems to have been forgotten. All in all, this should really have been a game for the PS2 rather then a PS3. Do get this game, but if there are other games you want I recommend you get them before you get this.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2013
Good game although the graphics and gameplay could be improved. It plays like a open world fighting game because all you do to enemies is just press: square,square,triangle. It's fun though, and stopping crimes is cool! The web swinging mechanic is good because pressing different button makes yours truly do fancy tricks. The boss fights are pretty hyper, electro is probably the most irrataiting boss ever! The black suit combat is boring and makes you wonder if spidery can control himself because black suit spidey fights like he's drunk. Overall it's a good game and worth at least a rent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2013
Being a long time fan of spider man I was greatly pleased with this game it is free roam like spider man 2 where it differs is with the combat it is more in depth kind of like arkham assylum with the punch and gadget combos just that you use web or symbiote attacks and can chain moves together.
You also get to make choices where you can choose to be good or bad.
My only negative is the first few hours of the plot are a bit slow after that the game really picks up
A must buy for fans of spider man and the symbiote.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2011
I got this game really because my 3 1/2 and 2 1/2 year old boys are really into Spiderman just now. I was pleasantly surprised with it to be honest. The freedom of movement and animations are spot on, and they kept surprising me after hours, days, and weeks of playing. I usually just put it on and let them play away as the controls can either be simple or complex, however you want to get around in the game. The graphics are nice and textures on spiderman and baddies are pleasant to look at. Only thing i would say is there is a bit of screen tearing present, most obvious when swinging about the city...but it's not too annoying and certainly doesn't spoil the game or experience.
Anyways, nice little game and if you want to be spiderman this lets you do it.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2012
This was a Christmas present for my nephew who lives and breathes Spiderman,so this game was everything he expected and more
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2016
He's lucky I gave a STAR because I had to Oder this GAME fromTwice the first came to me with a Scratch the hole length of the Disk inside the PS3 Game Box. But as for my latest COPY I got it a CD case YES YOU ARE READING THIS RIGHT A CD CASE.
Just like the ONE before this GAME'S got Scratch's Finger Mark's it feels like He / They just don't Caire.
So avoid at all cost I've already rotten it off as a MONEY GRUBBING BUGGEr
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2009
The best Spidey adaptation yet (not much praise there though). Story is good but very short. Essentially two or three phases / chapters and without the bonus objectives it is a VERY short game. But the combat feels a lot more fluid and "Spider-man like" than previous games (and Ultimate Alliance but that worked for the other characters so...) which is really want counts for me.

From the air, web-slinging round the city the graphics look great, no / minimal pop-up and great visuals. On the ground the game isn't quite as exciting to look at. The sound is a bit of a non-event and the voice acting is hit and miss, though some of the dialogue (particularly with KingPin) is Spidey at his most acerbic and raises a good chuckle.

The whole "your choices affect the outcome" is a bit overplayed - they only really affect the cut scenes not the overall plot. Combined with the lack of unlockables and trophies and this means the game is a lacking in replay value, though these are all flaws that affect other Sandbox games like Assasin's Creed that no-one de-cries there so don't let that put you off entirely.

Some of the characters and dialogue were very in keeping with the Spiderman arc but others (in particular Cage and Moon Knight) seemed odd in a Spiderman game. And as had been said really you are fighting in / as Carnage not Venom but frankly I would rather see Venom than Carnage in the game.

There are flaws but the combat system and fluidity of the web slinging make up for them for me though I would have liked a few more unlockables and maybe even trophies.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See one answered question


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)