Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quantum of Brilliance!
My first shooting game. It is brilliant! Cover system is great, sneaking around and making take downs is fun, and it's brilliant to spray enemies with bullets with the Wii Zapper of any of the other wii guns. Multiplayer and Wi-Fi works brilliantly and is great fun. They've simplified the plot well without losing any of the good bits, and the flashback to Casino Royale is...
Published on 18 April 2009

versus
73 of 85 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun... But flawed...
I normally tend to look at a fair ammount of reviews before buying a game and this game was no exception. The reviews here on Amazon seemed to point out that this game IS the best bond game and some even say it is better than golden eye for the N64. I got fooled by these reviews and thats why I cant let you be fooled by it too... The game is fun, but with some faults that...
Published on 13 Nov 2008 by Mario Ramos


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quantum of Brilliance!, 18 April 2009
A Kid's Review
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Quantum of Solace (Wii) (Video Game)
My first shooting game. It is brilliant! Cover system is great, sneaking around and making take downs is fun, and it's brilliant to spray enemies with bullets with the Wii Zapper of any of the other wii guns. Multiplayer and Wi-Fi works brilliantly and is great fun. They've simplified the plot well without losing any of the good bits, and the flashback to Casino Royale is good.

Recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT!!!, 28 Feb 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Quantum of Solace (Wii) (Video Game)
This game is one of the best games on the Wii. The targetting feature is excellent and the graphics are the best I have seen so far.
The weapon variety is very good and the on screen actions are clever.
I have enjoyed playing the game levels as well as the online combat option.I can thoroughly recommend this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


59 of 63 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why have the critics been negative!?! It's AWESOME!, 14 Nov 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Quantum of Solace (Wii) (Video Game)
I've owned this game for some months now, the single gameplay is satisfying (for at least a couple of attempts) but the multiplayer is absolutely addictive! I've listed my scores for the headings numbered below and their reasons are also appropriately numbered further below.

1. Single player mode: 7.5/10 (Satisfying on first attempt but could have ore depth)
2. Controls: 9.0/10
3. Graphics: between 7.0-10/10 (On average 8/10)
4. Offline and online multiplayer 10/10
5. Overall 9.5/10 (As the multiplayer is SO MUCH fun!)

1. There is so much satisfaction from shooting down enemies from balcony tops, corners and even passing helicopters!! Shooting feels heavy and there are many weapons, although you can only hold up to 2-4 of them at any point in time. The great thing about this game is the cover system. Whilst shooting, you and your enemies are able to cover behind tables, walls, doors etc. This builds up anticipation as it is not always apparent where your enemies are hiding (especially when there is multiple gunfire and grenades coming your way!) This feature makes gameplay feel fantastic!

2. Controls are very good! - responsive and logical. Aim the remote like a gun and press B to shoot. You can lock on and zoom into enemies via holding Z. While controlling bond's movements via the nunchuk, you have to also simultaneously rotate bond's head. This is done by waving the remote slowly across the screen from side-to-side to mimic bond's head/eye movements. This feels just like Bond as you have to always be aware of your surroundings, even when on-the move. At first this concept is a little difficult to pick up, but you get the hang of it after 10mins or so.

3. After seeing some poor quality screenshots on the web pre-release, I was really surprised to discover the graphics in this game are quite good! Bond really looks like Daniel Craig, the environments look good and the cut scenes are incredible but some levels are not as polished as others, and for some reason the online mutltiplayer has better graphics than the single gameplay.

4. Offline multiplayer and online multiplayer modes are identical except offline is 4-player split screen and online is 4-players but on a single screen. There's a standard death match mode and also an objectives mode (both modes can also be played in teams) - objectives mode is good- you have to complete a series of mini-missions in fixed timeframes - e.g be the first player to assassinate player 3 or find a briefcase - as other players are undertaking the same missions, you often cross paths with them and the fun begins! The multiplayer is much better than goldeneye and is so much fun - this is greatly due to the cover system whilst shooting your opponents (covering/hiding behind doors, by walls, etc making gameplay strategic and feel anticipatory and exciting - playing in teams of 2 also really adds to the fun!)

Online servers find opponents quickly, is completely lag-free and smooth. I feel that 4-players online is more than enough, as players come back alive again once you've shot them - having this feature is brilliant whenever you don't have friends over to play locally. Although the number of maps and modes are acceptable, it would have been nice to have more. Another drawback to multiplayer is that you can't select individual movie characters - instead you choose pre-defined individuals who have different shooting styles/qualities - bomber, defender, assassin style etc - however this works well as you can change your shooting style throughout any game and as IT'S SO MUCH FUN. I've given it 10/10.

5. For all the reasons above, QOS is a great game. Up until recently it's been rare to get a third-party Wii game that delivers on decent graphics, controls, gameplay, brilliant offline AND online multiplayer!!! The single gameplay has somewhat little replay worth but it's the multiplayer that will keep you playing endlessly! I was amazed to find this game receiving some unwarranted negative attention from critics. Base your judgements solely on user reviews for this game. If you are in any doubt then rent it as it really isn't worth missing out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Brilliance, 10 Dec 2010
A Kid's Review
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Quantum of Solace (Wii) (Video Game)
This games is one of the best you will find for the nintendo wii, the graphics are one of the best features of this game and the levels and story mode are excellent. I've always been interested in buying this game and I bought it when one of my friends got it and now I don't regret buying it. There was never a Casino Royale game so this game compensates by having levels from both Casino Royale and Quantum of Solace. I would recomend this game to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good cover system exellent graphics loads of fun, 22 Mar 2009
By 
Mrs. T. S. Eggins "Heggins" (britan devon) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Quantum of Solace (Wii) (Video Game)
when i first started playing this game i was imediatly thrown into combat and fighting through mr whites estate.Enemys take cover and act like real people skidding into cover and chucking grenades.I love the fact that you can take cover against almost anything(boxes fences walls pillars)online multiplayer is great fun but you always get shot out of no where.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


73 of 85 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun... But flawed..., 13 Nov 2008
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Quantum of Solace (Wii) (Video Game)
I normally tend to look at a fair ammount of reviews before buying a game and this game was no exception. The reviews here on Amazon seemed to point out that this game IS the best bond game and some even say it is better than golden eye for the N64. I got fooled by these reviews and thats why I cant let you be fooled by it too... The game is fun, but with some faults that will take the fun away on several ocasions. It seems like when you are starting to feel like Bond himself, the game slaps you in the face and says: "Hey mate! Im in charge, not you!".

Everything in this game seemes to go on and off all the time. Sometimes the gameplay is great but just when you start enjoying yourself it seems to just turn around and work against you. The graphics at times look great and other levels looks like straight from golden eye from N64 with ugly textures and terrible AI or the cover system which saves your life as much as it takes it because you were glued to a wall while an enemy was right next to you.

But if there is something that really annoyed me in this game is the stealth system, great concept and it couldve been great if it actually worked and wasnt a complete failure. You will die constantly because you didnt see a camera and you were overwhelmd by the enemies, only to be respawned way behind having to do the same thing over and over again. The worst thing is that once you are seen, you cant hide and wait for your wanted level to go down like in splinter cell or Metal gear solid... It doesnt matter where you are, the enemies know exactly where you are and they will go at you almost like a conga line. Left corner, right corner, crater and then close to you. Not to mention the glitches that at times, the enemies will walk through crates, shoot at you through walls (and kill you btw) when you cant do the same. If the stealth system were a bit more polished this game couldve been a lot better but instead I found myself most of the time just wanting to get these levels to be over with.

All in all this game is fun, the multiplayer online is fun and so is the story but it couldve been a whole lot better. It was a step in the right direction but it shot itself in the foot.

Dont let yourself get fooled by other reviews here, the game is fun but its not perfect as others say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Purchase, Brilliant, 4 Mar 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Quantum of Solace (Wii) (Video Game)
I bought this for my brother because he is not allowed the 16 James Bond game. And he loves it, he likes the interactive controls. And I have to say its great fun as well. I bought this pre-owned however because of the price, and I am very pleased that it was in good quality.

There are minor problems, such as the graphics are somewhat basic, and the actions can be hard to complete against the clock, (throwing a grenade, so I'm told), but other than that brilliant, so much so, I'm considering buying it for PS3!

Brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit rushed............., 24 Oct 2009
By 
J. Davies "Soundman" (East Midlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Quantum of Solace (Wii) (Video Game)
Good points. Love the run for cover style of this game. Occasionally it is a bit twitchy, but is enjoyable when it works - which is most of the time. The controls are quite good, and you can elect to use Wii Zapper controls.

Bad points - well I tried loads of time to connect to Wifi connection, but this game will not have it. The only other game where I had a similar problem, though not as bad, is Battalion Wars 2. Not sure what is going on, but considering other online games work 100% for me, this is unforgiveable. Was looking forward to playing offline multiplayer, but the graphics looked so bad, I passed on that. Also, on single player there are a few glitches in places.

For the online, weren't sure whether to give a 2 or 3 star rating. But for the price, it is ok for a one play through on single player mode.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 3 Stars for multiplayer 1 star for game, 5 Jan 2009
By 
J. Wright (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Quantum of Solace (Wii) (Video Game)
I completed this game after about 10 hours of play. I am not bragging as honestly I am not very good at games, this is merely an indication of how short the game is. It is not a bad game, the controls are pretty good and the graphics are what you expect on the Wii. The game is completely on rails, you cannot go off anywhere that isn't in the script, even if there is an open door you cannot go through it unless that is what is planned. So it gets tedious pretty quickly.

The highlight of the game and the only reason for buying it is the multiplayer feature. This is an absolute joy but not a real improvement on Goldeneye. I wish they had spent a bit longer on the game because it has a lot of potential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Birthday present !, 26 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quantum of Solace (Wii) (Video Game)
My grandson is so thrilled with the James Bond Quantum of solace, it was a present for his birthday he loves it !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Quantum of Solace (Wii)
Quantum of Solace (Wii) by Activision (Nintendo Wii)
19.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews