Customer Reviews


388 Reviews
5 star:
 (284)
4 star:
 (66)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (19)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars excellent fantasy musical
Tim Burton's gothic styled genre is in perfect place once again in this very goolish story about a skeleton who wishes for a bit more to life, some more screams for his satisfaction.

The animation is fantastic in a predictable but fun narrative. The creation of the characters is simply outstanding and deservedly Oscar nominated for the 3 years of creation. It...
Published on 12 Nov. 2006 by Stampy

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Film.... Product not as shown in picture
I ordered this expecting special edition with two disks as in the picture but received a flimsy case with just one disk!
Great film but if you are buying it and expect what is in the picture think again!
Published on 31 Oct. 2010 by Ben


‹ Previous | 1 239 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars excellent fantasy musical, 12 Nov. 2006
By 
Tim Burton's gothic styled genre is in perfect place once again in this very goolish story about a skeleton who wishes for a bit more to life, some more screams for his satisfaction.

The animation is fantastic in a predictable but fun narrative. The creation of the characters is simply outstanding and deservedly Oscar nominated for the 3 years of creation. It is truly remarkable and has made me more interested in the animation industry after watching the documentary in the extra features.

The plot moves steadily along with many horror conventions such as gools, ghosts and goblins. I loved the boogie man, especially his song but Jack is obviously the most noticeable character with his wonderful singing and attitude towards Halloween and Christmas.

The songs are great, fun to sing along to, and if you know the words then you will defiantly be doing it, they are that catchy. There are some which are a bit off putting but the few fantastic ones (when he enters Christmastown) are always enjoyable and satisfying.

A film to watch with the family as it is pretty child centred but can satisfy audiences of all ages.

If you like sing-a-long songs and stunning effects with engaging spooky characters then this is for you.

8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best quality Jack yet!, 19 Oct. 2008
By 
Cheatin' Jockey (Worcestershire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Nightmare Before Christmas (Collector's Edition) [Blu-ray] [1993] (Blu-ray)
The re-mastering looks great in high-def and the sound is great too, with depth and detail to the music, singing and voices. There are also plenty of extras for the film buffs & Burton fans.

What a coincidence that it's been released just before Halloween! Having said that it works as a Christmas movie too as the people of Christmas Town are also involved, though I won't say any more as I don't want to give the story away for those that don't know it...

If you haven't seen it and like animated movies this one is a classic and should be in your collection; it is truly both original and magical. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cinematic Masterpiece, 19 May 2006
By 
Andrew Kerr (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
When this animated Tim Burton film was first released back in the early nineties, I was still a child and it rightfully and quickly engraved its place as my fravioute film of all time. I am extreme pleased to see that it has stood the test of time and established itself as a cult classic with huge populatily. It is nothing less than a cinematic masterpiece that can be watched again and again and again - as it was when I first got the film years ago on video. The Nightmare Before Christmas is an fanasty film that tells the story of Jack Skellington ( a skeleton ) who longs for a more meanful existence in his home of Halloween Town, and desides to spread his version of Christmas to all, but his well meaning plan goes wrong. If for some strange reason you have not yet seen this brilliant production you must do so as soon as possible. Even now in my early twenties I can really appreate the pure atmosphere and blissfull characters that are created in the world of The Nightmare Before Christmas. It is a must own at all costs kind of film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Visually Stunning, 21 Jan. 2004
This is the one of the best animated motion picture of the 90's, it strays away from the typical child film substances and brings a gothic nightmarish story in a child like way that people of all ages can appriciate.
I will agree this film isnt for everyone, but for most people between the ages of 6-30 and of course Tim Burton fans this is a real gem.
The songs are as memorable as of that in a Disney film and the characters who even though they are skeletons and 2 faced mayors seem to all have their fun quirky charms.
This a total feel good movie, and best to watch at christmas with a few friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A "brilliant" idea: to hijack Christmas :), 5 Oct. 2005
This movie, directed by Henry Selick and written by Tim Burton, is absolutely delightful. I recommend it for children, teens and adults with lots of imagination, who believe they are prepared to watch a different and sensibly darker take on Christmas.
The main premise is that, whether we know it or not, all holidays are planned in advance in diverse special towns. "The Nightmare Before Christmas" takes place in one of those towns, Halloweentown, that is the place where Halloween is planned each year. Te main responsible of that planning is Jack Skellington, also called the King of Halloween. However, not many know that Jack is bored to death of always doing the same thing. Jack knows he is missing something, but has no idea whatsoever of what that is. Of course, everything changes when Jack discovers Christmastown, the town where (of course) Christmas is planned. For Jack, Christmas is something totally new, and foreign. All the same, he falls in love with it, and has a "brilliant" idea: to kidnap Santa Claus, and to hijack Christmas.
Needless to say, things don't go smoothly, but that is a big part of the fun of watching this movie. Confusions abound when Jack and all his friends of Halloweentown try to plan Christmas for the very first time, and the result is extremely entertaining. That is specially true if you are bored of classic Christmas films that end up saying the same things all over again. This is certainly not the case in this animated film :)
All in all, I think you are highly likely to enjoy this movie. Notwithstanding that, I don't recommend "The Nightmare Before Christmas" for young children, due to the fact that some of the scenes might scare them a little. Having said that, I think that this film is a treat you are going to enjoy, and thus I highly recommend it...
Belen Alcat
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Magical, 4 Jan. 2005
By 
Richard Kelly (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a strange type of film to review, as it's not really a childrens film at all. The film is a stop motion full length feature film musical - if that makes any sense - about the Pumpkin King of Halloween.
The basic story is Jack Skellington (the king mentioned above) becomes disenchanted with life in halloween town and discovers that there are other towns based on other holidays. He swiftly gets the idea that he would make an ideal Santa Claus and abducts him whilst he sets all the halloween nightmares to work making christmas toys...
The quality of the animation is superb, and the songs carry just the amount of menace (remember we are looking at halloween characters singing songs so menace is the right word) and are well composed.
This is the type of film that you can watch time and time again - but don't let really small children (I have a 4 year old daughter) anywhere near it - it would frighten the socks off them.
It has all the darkness you would expect from a story by Tim Burton and I recommend it to you. 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing in 3D, 30 Mar. 2012
By 
Storms EniGma (Gold Coast, QLD Australia) - See all my reviews
Tim Burton brilliance
Halloween town hijacks christmas in this visually stunning twisted and entertaining animation, the 3D is amazing, its hard to believe this movie wasn't originally done in 3d, so many layers with great depth, I can't ever imagine myself watching this movie in 2D again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "There's children throwing snowballs, instead of throwing heads...", 14 July 2011
By 
@GeekZilla9000 "I am completely operational a... (Doncaster, Yorkshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Nightmare Before Christmas (Collector's Edition) [Blu-ray] [1993] (Blu-ray)
The gothic style of this excellent film has that trademark Tim Burton feel to it, his story is brought to life by animation fan Henry Selick who directs this gloriously dark tale of the pumpkin king who becomes disillusioned by the yearly monotony of Halloween and decides to have a go at running Christmas instead.

I'm a massive fan of stop-motion and this is a beautifully crafted film rich in talent and textures. The movements are fluid but with that staggered quality which gives stop-motion that otherworldly feel. A dark colour palette and a common aesthetic theme throughout ensure a visual quality which resembles a dark fairytale. There's plenty of bleak imagery here and it's gloriously gruesome at times, for example; a child unwrapping a dismembered head on Christmas morning. The film is steeped in comedy too, not slapstick or obvious one-liners, instead we get subtle visual gags (a two-faced mayor, an enthusiastically decorated yet clearly dead Christmas tree) - little things which don't always register the first time but pay off during repeat viewings.

The models, particularly Jack, are very expressive. Facial expressions and body language are utilised to make the characters feel real, with Danny Elfman's excellent score and songs injecting even more personality. Elfman himself provides the singing voice of Jack and his vocal abilities are genuinely impressive, I never fail to share Jack's childlike wonder when he sings the films most rousing number "What's this?". The songs are incredibly catchy and after watching the film it's pretty much impossible to stop humming them, there's a great range of styles too ranging from melancholy musings on the banality of life, upbeat numbers designed to inspire the folk of Halloween town, and also a great bit of Oogie Boogie!

The overall story is heart-warming without being schmaltzy, there's a blossoming romance here too and again, it's handled well and never feels cheesy. I know some consider this to be too scary a film for young children, my own children were introduced to it at a young age and they were scared but captivated at the same time. Personally I think it's healthy for children to watch something which takes them outside their comfort zone (Doctor Who for example) rather than watching the usual saccharine Disney fare - and this Disney musical contains infinitely more talent and sheer creative energy than their more modern sing-song High School Musical titles. I know which I'd prefer to watch along with my children, and this magical film has become staple family viewing on rainy days over the last few years.

This Blu-Ray transfer is a noticeable improvement over the DVD. If this had been a CGI effort then high-def would simply have highlighted the lack of small detail (for an early nineties lowish-budget film ), but as the film is produced using hand manipulated models, the landscapes and props enjoy much deeper textures. Sometimes the handmade aspect of the film is clear to see and that is not a bad thing, the whole feature looks and feels like a labour of love rather than a formulaic sing-a-long flick. Jack's head reflects the light and is usually a bit hazy, that's nothing to do with the high-def transfer however, it's simply a result of photographing a well-lit, bright white object in the middle of an otherwise muted set. On Blu-Ray the darker scenes show much more detail than on the previously released DVDs, and the Christmas Town "What's This?" routine looks absolutely superb with lights and bright colours seemingly even more vivid in comparison to the greys and browns of Halloween Town. There are plenty of great bonus features here too - the original Tim Burton poem which was the inspiration for the film is read by Christopher Lee and accompanied by visuals which show how dark the initial vision was. It's a great 'origins' piece and it's great to watch it before the 'making of' features which show the ideas behind the film sets used. My personal favourites of the goodies available are 'Vincent' and 'Frankenweenie' two Tim Burton short films which are definitely worth watching and show how Burton's trademark style was very much in force before he broke through. The optional brief 'introduction to the film by Tim Burton' seems a bit unnecessary though and simply adds another level of menu before you get to play the film!

In a nutshell: I was thirteen when I first saw this and I absolutely loved it, I'm in my thirties now and still adore The Nightmare Before Christmas. It's charm has also won over my kids and I'm sure it will become a firm favourite for their children too. A magical animated tale which has become a modern cult classic, don't wait until Halloween or Christmas, treat yourself to this whimsical fantasy any time of the year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The nightmare before christmas, 19 Dec. 2011
This is what my 3D tv has been waiting for.Fantastic a must the quality is better than the cinema and the 3D effects are some of the best of any dvd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best of the best!, 17 Nov. 2007
I hate kids films, with a vengeance. Sitting through a Disney film makes me feel ill.
When I first saw this 13 years ago now with my youngest sister I was elated, finally, a good film that had the dark undertones and scares I craved as a teen.
The musical score, unrivaled in any other childrens film I reckon, written by Danny Elfman who is more notably linked to The Simpsons.
The story, well, self explanatory, each 'holiday' has its own world that runs it. The Pumpkin King, Jack Skellington, has been sucessfully running Halloween for years and years. The poor chap is in need of a change, he goes for a walk and ends up somewhere he has never been before, 'Christmas Town'.
Everything appeals to him, his bony heart beats with christmas cheer and he decides that he'd like a crack at 'making christmas'. He has Santa kidnapped and gets his ghoulish minions to start making toys. The chaps in Halloween town do their best, but perhaps inevitably, it ends up rather evil and really, really funny.
The way the film was shot using claymation and photography meant the film took 3 1/2 years to make. No skimp on quality there. The motions are seemless, the songs will stay in your head, and hopefully the cheer will stay in your heart.
Get the family round, young and old and put this film on.
Its sure to delight everyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 239 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Nightmare Before Christmas (Collector's Edition) [Blu-ray] [1993]
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews