Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "I've been doing comedy for 17 years, and I can sense when there's tension in the room."
Stewart Lee doesn't just come on stage and tell jokes. He challenges the audience and analyses his routine to ensure that his politically loaded jokes have maximum effect.

He doesn't stray away from touchy topics, he opens by talking about 7/7 and even gets the audience to applaud the good old days of the IRA when the terrorists demonstrated good old fashioned...
Published on 12 Mar 2009 by @GeekZilla9000

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Valid, very important but not his funniest work
In some ways, Lee is like Mark Thomas. By that, what I mean is that what he says is sometimes more important than how he says it and - indeed - how 'funny' it is.

The Blasphemy rap Lee had to deal with is a mockery and he makes one of it by pushing the envelope as far as he can. And good on him: needs to be said. It just isn't the funniest stand up I've seen...
Published on 22 July 2010 by J. W. Treadaway


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "I've been doing comedy for 17 years, and I can sense when there's tension in the room.", 12 Mar 2009
By 
@GeekZilla9000 "I am completely operational a... (Doncaster, Yorkshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Stewart Lee - 90s Comedian [DVD] (DVD)
Stewart Lee doesn't just come on stage and tell jokes. He challenges the audience and analyses his routine to ensure that his politically loaded jokes have maximum effect.

He doesn't stray away from touchy topics, he opens by talking about 7/7 and even gets the audience to applaud the good old days of the IRA when the terrorists demonstrated good old fashioned `British' manners. His humour doesn't mock the events though, like the works of Chris Morris he uses comedy to highlight issues and ridicule the people who deserve to be whipped by his intelligently caustic tongue.

After the collapse of Jerry Springer: The Opera and a spell in the wilderness caused by Christian complainers; Lee has earnt the right to vent his spleen - and this he does in style...

...The final part of this DVD contains what must be one of the most offensive pieces of stand up comedy ever performed. Many will find it shocking, and those who don't, will find it thought provoking - it certainly gets you to think. It's the ultimate in iconoclastic skits and if it didn't feature Jesus Christ himself then it wouldn't be anywhere near as offensive to many who watch it - and I think that's one of the main points.

His humour will divide the masses into the those who find his humour a bit `too serious' and a smaller group who appreciate the genius behind the words and feel relieved that someone has managed to articulate in a funny way what they have always thought. This is true of his live audience - some of whom are clearly not enjoying the show. Lee doesn't ignore this though; they become part of his show as he wades amongst them and gives them "permission to see other comedians". His comedy isn't designed for the lowest common denominator and he isn't prepared to water it down.

The DVD very nearly didn't get made as his comedy has little commercial value - which is a shame as it has masses of cultural value, we *need* comedy like this. Special features include a quick interview between the director and Stewart Lee, photos, and an Easter Egg (hidden feature) - this is easy to find though, just read the instruction printed on the disk itself!

In a nutshell: Stewart Lee isn't guilty of saying things just for shock value (like many other comedians). Everything he says is qualified by sound reasoning, he sometimes dissects what he says to extract the thought process behind them. Although this is very much a DVD of it's time due to the contemporary topics covered - the sentiments conveyed transcend the zeitgeist and will remain true for a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Valid, very important but not his funniest work, 22 July 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stewart Lee - 90s Comedian [DVD] (DVD)
In some ways, Lee is like Mark Thomas. By that, what I mean is that what he says is sometimes more important than how he says it and - indeed - how 'funny' it is.

The Blasphemy rap Lee had to deal with is a mockery and he makes one of it by pushing the envelope as far as he can. And good on him: needs to be said. It just isn't the funniest stand up I've seen him do. Depends what you want I guess.

Worth while buying for the big fans of Stewart Lee and anyone who hates religeous bigots.

So that covers most of us. Well, most of us who's opinions are worth listening to. Obviously, those who actually like religeous bigots probably aren't going to read this review and/or buy this DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best piece of stand up comedy I've ever seen, 6 Sep 2008
This review is from: Stewart Lee - 90s Comedian [DVD] (DVD)
Slow to start, dead pan, tense and uneasy, this gradually builds into the most original, beautifully constructed and delivered piece of stand up ever committed to video!

Remember the first time you saw Bill Hicks, and all those other stand-ups you thought were great were instantly devalued in your mind? This has a similar effect.

You might hate it though - it depends on your idea of what makes great comedy - but I can guarantee that you certainly won't find it bland.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My review of this, by D. Brown, 26 Mar 2009
By 
J. Bonney "unclejnr" (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stewart Lee - 90s Comedian [DVD] (DVD)
This is a DVD of a very funny man. The funny man stands in front of his audience saying funny things. He also is clever and says clever things. The audience respond to the things being said by laughing and clapping. If you buy this DVD, you will do the same. But, probably without the clapping bit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The large end of the Stewart Lee wedge!, 25 April 2009
By 
AGC2070 (Ashford, Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stewart Lee - 90s Comedian [DVD] (DVD)
Having been on 'Stewarts Lee's comedy vehicle' since the Fist of Fun days (ditto everybody else's thoughts about a BBC DVD), even I found the latter half of this DVD a little hard to take.
Here I would liken Mr Lee to Chris Morris or even the late great Frank Zappa - very talented guys who push the boundaries way beyond what you would expect in the name of freedom of speech. I am amazed that this only got a 15 certificate!

If you enjoyed the previous DVD 'Stand up Comedian', the first half of this recording should have you laughing out loud and wondering why the audience are so humourless (the appalled expressions caught on this add to the fun somewhat). Here, among other things, the topic of the 7/7 bombings is dealt with. Well, life is full of nasty things and the sheer absurdity of them seems to make the comedy work.

The final section ends up a mixture of extreme vomit-based scatology (a kind of verbal equivalent of the conclusion of Guest House Paradiso) and frequent reference to a chap in Palestine upon whose teachings we have supposedly based most of our Western values. Stewart's delivery style is certainly very different at this point and his voice even sounds a little shaky.
Whether or not this masks a genuine unease is a matter of conjecture.

It is good to see that Stewart Lee's Comedy Vehicle will be realeased on DVD in Sept 2009. The back catalogue of Lee and Herring stuff is still tragically only available on the black market. As for '90s comedian', your response will depend a lot upon your sensibilities.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An awesome work - from a man pushed too far..., 14 Sep 2012
By 
Emmster "the book wurme" (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stewart Lee - 90s Comedian [DVD] (DVD)
This is an awesome DVD - largely based around Stewart Lee's experience of having a private prosecution brought against him by Christian Voice for nothing less than Blasphemy!

This really is a set that shows if people start trying to impose ridiculous rules then others will push the boundaries of what they do in response; potentially ending up creating something far more offending that the initial (perceived) injustice. For me, this is one of his stand-out shows; in places as uncomfortable as it is funny - but always intelligent and entertaining.

If you don't know if you like him: he's more of a thinking-man/womans comedian, no cheap 'n easy gags; his material is stories that make you think as well as laugh. Probably best to go to youtube and look him up. If you watch a few clips and like it, then you're pretty much guaranteed to like his dvds.

If you are practising Christian you should understand that in this show he uses the symbol of Christ in a way you are likely to find offensive.

Well worth it and definitely recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars More great stuff from Stewart Lee, 24 April 2010
By 
R. Appleby (Bangkok) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stewart Lee - 90s Comedian [DVD] (DVD)
There's quite a lot of good comedy flying around these days. For my money Stewart Lee offers some of the best. It isn't laugh out loud funny every five seconds, but it's never not entertaining. I have other DVDs (from other stand-up artists obviously) that offer more laughs per minute, but the laughs you get with Stewart Lee are of a much finer quality. For me, a lot of what is so entertaining is simply Stewart's delivery, his stage performance is masterful, he just really knows his stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding - and deliberately provocative, 26 Feb 2010
This review is from: Stewart Lee - 90s Comedian [DVD] (DVD)
This man must be a genius. Is it stand-up or is it a lecture? Whatever. It seems as if every line has been carefully crafted, every action of the performance has been choreographed and the result is fabulous. Be careful if you are a devout Christian, there is a bit at the end that I thought went over the top, but I think I understand why he wants to vent his spleen on the activists who plagued him in the recent past. Im going to see him at Swindon in 2 days time and I can't wait.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 1 Jan 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stewart Lee - 90s Comedian [DVD] (DVD)
More quality comedy from my favourite comedian. He really is the best there is. But be careful with this one - the last 30 minutes or so are not for the easily offended, particularly those of a Christian disposition. Many may find this section gratuitously offensive, but when watched in the context of what happened to Lee over 'Jerry Springer the Opera' which he co-produced, and also the 4 or 5 serious points he makes at the end of the routine, then it's fully justified. And of course - it's a joke that Joe Pasqaule can't steal! Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolute Genius, 10 Oct 2009
This review is from: Stewart Lee - 90s Comedian [DVD] (DVD)
This is one of the funniest things I've ever seen. A sustained systematic brilliant assault on mediocrity and ignorance. The crescendo of this show is breathtakingly, audaciously offensive. But scatological invective was never so precisely devastating. Comedy Revenge on the grandest scale. Stewart Lee is the Funniest Man Alive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stewart Lee - 90s Comedian [DVD]
Stewart Lee - 90s Comedian [DVD] by Craig Griffith (DVD - 2006)
£14.52
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews