Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Troma's Best! (And region free as always!)
Another review posted here has pretty well summarised the film's quality, the satire underlying the thrills and spills of undead-chickens-under-native-american-curse, but I would like to make it clear that this DVD, along with all Troma's releases, are Region free. When I first bought their films, I was nervous because amazon lists them as region 1 as they come from...
Published on 7 Sep 2011 by Maskoolio

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Why did it have to be a musical?
This film would have been excellent if it wasn't a stupid musical. The gross outs,gore,comedy and violence is great but the musical side of it makes this unwatchable for me.
Published 1 month ago by Necropink


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Troma's Best! (And region free as always!), 7 Sep 2011
This review is from: Poultrygeist: Night of the Chicken Dead [DVD] [2006] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Another review posted here has pretty well summarised the film's quality, the satire underlying the thrills and spills of undead-chickens-under-native-american-curse, but I would like to make it clear that this DVD, along with all Troma's releases, are Region free. When I first bought their films, I was nervous because amazon lists them as region 1 as they come from America, and often the region 2 versions are unavailable, and sometimes it was hard to even tell which was which!
I had to be persuaded by a friend that I wouldn't be wasting my money on a disk that wouldn't play in England.
No fear! Troma is worldwide, baby!
I'm going to make the same thing clear on a few of their other films listed on amazon so international buyers aren't put off or unsure. No one should miss out on this classic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quite possibly my favourite Troma movie., 7 July 2012
By 
Mark G. (East Anglia) - See all my reviews
To set the scene... A young couple (Wendy and Arbie) are making out in the Tromahawk Tribe Indian Burial Ground when they are disturbed by an axe wielding, self-abusing lunatic. (And the living dead but they didn't notice that part).

1 year later and the couple are back at the site of the burial ground only it's been replaced with a new fast food restaurant and unfortunately for Arbie his girlfriend Wendy is now a left wing liberal lipstick lesbian and has no interest in rekindling their love life.

Wendy is with a group of protesters who are clearly not happy with the restaurant so Arbie decides to apply for a job there as an act of defiance. Oh wait, did I mention it's also a musical? Anyway, one song later and Arbie is now working as a counter girl, skirt included.
Something is not right in the restaurant though, especially the mysterious, vein covered, pulsating eggs.

Highlights include, cameo appearances by Troma regular Ron Jeremy and none other than Lloyd Kaufman himself. Lots of toilet humor, topless ladies, blood and guts. Everything you could want from a Troma movie.

If you want to see a fat man poop himself out of his skin, a talking homosexual Mexican burger or the Jaws Indianapolis speech redone as a tale of delivering chickens, then this is the movie for you.
Over-the-top, very un-PC and just downright hilarious.
I enjoyed every chicken fried minute.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tromaville - Kind Of Like Mansfield. (Oh Yes)., 23 Oct 2008
By 
Brady Orme (Edgbaston, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Poultrygeist: Night of the Chicken Dead [DVD] [2006] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Troma, the veritable indie Movie Production Company has recently celebrated more than 40 years in the business of hamming-up the exploitation scene - Thanks to Lloyd Kaufman and his ilk, we as a Global Village now have the option of viewing such gems as "Troma's War", "Surf Nazis Must Die", "Sgt. Kabukiman NYPD" and, of course, the veritable and genre-defining "Toxic Avenger". We must avoid cocking a snook at these films; they are sometimes hilarious, and almost always irreverant and unafraid to offend even the most powerful in society. Unfortunately Troma has suffered financial meltdown in recent years - "Poultrygeist" has taken four years from gestation to release date, but in some ways this has been a boon... This movie feels like a Labour of Love for Kaufman, and the long production window has allowed the Creative Team to throw every bell and whistle they could muster into the mix. In other words, this film feels like every Mondo / Slasher movie ever made has been rounded up, mashed together and assembled by (a Blind Peruvian Watchmaker's) hand. It's a Frankenstein's Monster. It's fantastic.

And for what would normally be considered a "dumb" genre, this movie is a damn smart satire as well - wrapping up critique of today's War on Terror/Fast Food Nation conundrum in a covering of gore and B-Movie cliche. Arby (Jason Yachanin, probably chosen for the part due to his resemblance to Kaufman) takes a job at gormless franchise American Chicken Bunker after his Lesbian-activist girlfriend Wendy leaves him for another woman.. the very franchise Wendy is currently protesting with her new lover. Oh! But did we mention that the aforementioned Burger Joint has been built on an Ancient Indian Burial Ground? Surely not. Mayhem and blood-spewing anarchy ensues, jam-packed with as many attempts to offend as possible. As I mentioned before, this movie is also incredibly smart and heavy on the hip pop-culture references like Sarah Palin is heavy on pork-barrel projects. The manager of American Chicken Bunker even manages to quote verbatim Quint's U.S.S. Indianapolis speech from "Jaws", whilst giant mutant chickens turn the clientele into Clam Chowder... Sublime.

Did I mention its a musical AS WELL? Jeepers.

Celebrate the release of this 3-disc set loaded with extras by actually buying it - The film never received a wide release anywhere, so you've probably haven't have the chance to try-before-you-buy, granted. But take my word on this, it's better than "Citizen Kane" and "Sleepaway Camp" combined.

Wow. Recommended like invasive surgery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clucking Brilliant, 14 July 2010
By 
Mr. Jonathon T. Beckett "vampire lover" (Dracula's Crypt) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
!!!!Warning!This review may contain Salmonella!!!

Despite protests, the American Chicken Bunker chain build an outlet on top of a sacred American Indian burial ground in Tromaville. Head chickadee General Lee Roy(Rob Watkins) evens turns up to promote his tasty morsels. Meanwhile, affable loser Arbie(Jason Yachanin), pining for his ex-girlfriend Wendy(Kate Graham) who has eloped with militant Lesbian anti-Chicken Bunker campaigner Micki(Allyson Seraboff), decides to join the fast food empire and gets a job as a counter girl. However, there's something nasty bubbling away in the Bunker kitchen, something feathered, beaked and ready to eggsact revenge on those who disrespected the sacred burial ground. The night of the Native American zombie chicken has started, and workers and protesters alike soon realise its time they counted their chickens.
This hilarious film is a real triumph for Lloyd Kaufman and Troma. It's laugh a minute stuff, and is a winning mix of over the top gore, catchy musical numbers(I dare you not to sing along!), vomiting, diarrhoea and deliciously incorrect humour. Its targets are so wide ranging(i.e everybody)that it can't be criticized for offending any group in particular. The great climatic scenes of bloody chicken carnage rival Peter Jackson's Braindead for sheer outrageous gore quotent, and you'd have to be a very hard person not to fall in love with cute little Paco, the militant homosexual chicken sandwich. Eggcellent eggxtras too. I suggest you just capon going to your local dvd store and pullet a copy of this great movie from the shelf. Its better than a bargain bucket. 5 out of 5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh my! Extreme, yet very funny! (Do not watch this movie if you are easily offended...), 24 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Poultrygeist: Night of the Chicken Dead [DVD] [2006] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
It's Troma folks - one of the film companies with a reputation for notorious gross-out exploitative zero-budget amateurism. You know the deal: so bad it's good. Well, just hold that thought for a minute, will you please? Because (are you ready for this startling revelation?) sometimes reputations are not the whole story. This multi-disc extravaganza includes making-of documentaries and reveals the true agony of a committed film-maker who has an unparalleled creative vision but has to express that within the realms of mere mortals often unable to attain his ambitions.

Poultrygeist: Night of the Chicken Dead is a crazy musical zombie horror unlike anything that has gone before (almost). Some capitalist entrepreneurs have built a fried chicken diner on a Native American burial ground, disturbing the spirits. The spirits infect the chickens, which infect the diners turning them into zombies. There are protesters trying to save the burial ground, other protesters trying to save the chickens, kids working in jobs they hate while all their thoughts are about love (and lust), and some catchy song and dance numbers. It's often mayhem, but superbly edited together into a magical potion of frenetic fun. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars horror/comedy at its best, 11 Jun 2013
By 
T. A. J. Leahy "tommygun" (croydon.surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Poultrygeist: Night of the Chicken Dead [DVD] [2006] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
O.M.G what can you say about this film.apart from brilliant/silly/stupid/gory/funny.its a typical gross out offering from troma and features one of the most ridiculous stories ever but you cant help but laugh and cry i did both when i watched it.the actors are all unknown but do a great job and even features cameos from lloyd kaufman himself.i wont go in to the story it would take me forever.basically its a load of set pieces strung together to create this brilliant horror/comedy.its got sex/gore/singing/comedy/lesbians and some scenes that some might find to much to handle.the scene at the graveyard is sick and twisted and the toilet scenes is gross but only adds to the fun.this film wont appeal to all and is for die hard troma fans only.and although ive seen most of the troma films even if i wasnt a troma fan these are the sort of films i would like anyway.overall horror/comedy at its best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you can't beat 'em....., 12 Jan 2013
This review is from: Poultrygeist: Night of the Chicken Dead [DVD] [2006] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
As a casual fan of troma movies I would say that this is by far their best movie to date, it has everything, gore, boobs, explosive diarrhoea, vomit, chicken zombies, lesbians, more gore and songs, yes songs, it's a musical of sorts, but don't let that put you off as it nearly did me when I found out. The majority of the songs are in the 1st half of the film and are pretty funny. The rest of the film is hilarious, the humour is spot on, the gore is fantastic and massively over the top.
I bought this 3 disc version, it's definatly worth paying a little extra for.

Quote from film...
Arbie: They are very slowly approaching the entrance!
Micki: They'll break through faster than the five minutes it took me to turn Wendy into a full blown lesbian!
Arbie: Damn it! Well we need action before they turn the glass into lesbians!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Disgusting, Revolting- It Can Only Be Troma, 11 Mar 2013
This review is from: Poultrygeist: Night of the Chicken Dead [DVD] [2006] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Poultrygeist really is something else. Even Troma have set the bar too high for over the top gore, disgustiness- is that a word? and downright dirty entertainment.

The movie takes place in a fast food chicken shop- complete with tons of jokes. However the undead chickens who were buried beneath the shop aren't too pleased. Thus they will take revenge.

What sets this movie apart from most B movie low budgets- is that it's intelliegent or I should say as intelligent as it could be. It's Troma's best film in perhaps 20 years. And what will throw you is that it's part musical. And I hate musicals- but this works, nothing is overplayed.

In short if your squeamish don't even go near this film. This is pure B movie, entertainment.
Watch out for a delicious Ron Jeremy cameo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars buck of fun, 24 May 2011
This is a fun film, if you have the temperament for it, and the extras are very very good and in depth about the making of a low budget comedy horror effects movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Why did it have to be a musical?, 17 Sep 2014
This film would have been excellent if it wasn't a stupid musical. The gross outs,gore,comedy and violence is great but the musical side of it makes this unwatchable for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Poultrygeist: Night of the Chicken Dead [DVD] [2006] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
Used & New from: £29.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews