Customer Reviews


117 Reviews
5 star:
 (93)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful
As a history student in her final year at university, I can well understand why those who have a passion for history, and its accurate portrayal, may have problems with the liberties taken here. However, it's important to remember that Henry VIII was not always fat and old, especially during this period! In fact, in some of the very final scenes of the series, we can see...
Published on 14 Nov 2008 by History_girl_88

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars disapointed....
I was eagerly antipating this second series of 'The Tudors'. The first was dazzling - great costumes, performances and FINALLY a look at a facinating time in history that wasn't rushed through at breakneck speed! Although there are cristisms of the first series for it's historical inaccuracy and the way the series interpreted the chararcter of some of the key figures...
Published on 24 Feb 2009 by Jules St John


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 14 Nov 2008
This review is from: The Tudors: Complete Season 2 [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
As a history student in her final year at university, I can well understand why those who have a passion for history, and its accurate portrayal, may have problems with the liberties taken here. However, it's important to remember that Henry VIII was not always fat and old, especially during this period! In fact, in some of the very final scenes of the series, we can see how he will probably progress into being this more typical version, and I for one cannot wait to see if they can pull this transition off. The important thing to remember is that this is a tv show; not even a documentary, and therefore has not got an obligation to be 100 per cent factual all of the time, but to be entertaining for the audience. And anything that makes people who normally wouldn't be interested in history want to know more after they've finished viewing, has to have my vote.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Do people really know the Tudors?, 7 Oct 2008
This review is from: The Tudors: Complete Season 2 [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Do people really know the Tudors. Yes this portrayal has it's inaccuracy's, but so do many films. Furthermore, most Historians of the period do not know exactly what happened either. That's what so fantastic about History, you have the facts but they are also open to interpretation. And that is what this series is all about, an interpretation of the truth. Someone else in the future will come up with something completely different that will wow or appal people.
As for the sex within the series I think that is the main thing that is portrayed accurately. Henry VIII is famed for his love of women and the fact that he had countless mistresses. Come on... the man was married six times for crying out loud so of course there is going to be sex!
I think this series is great and I can't wait to own it myself.

I cried my eyes out in the last episode, this is the first time I have seen properly the emotion and agonising that Anne went through while waiting to be executed. Usually it is head cut off move on to next wife. All I can say is well done for the whole series.

However... Henry has to start getting old and fat eventually? It will be interesting to see where they go with the series next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Two down...four to go (wives, that is), 14 April 2010
By 
tallpete33 (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Season 2 of the excellent series continues with Henry putting all his eggs in the Anne Boleyn basket, moving away from Rome and sacking the monasteries despite the annoyance of the Pope and the Emperor. It is not without cost to the king as his friend and mentor Thomas More will not swear the oath to the king, citing his conscience but paying the ultimate price for refusing to do so. As his new queen fails to produce a male heir, a chance encounter with Sir John Seymour's daughter, Jane, turns his head once again. The second Mrs Tudor no longer has the eighth Henry keeping her bed warm at nights and her status and slight neck is under great threat....

Continuing with the same high production values of the first series, this is a joy to behold and slightly improved even. The colours on BD jump to life on screen, particularly the reds of the Pope and his cardinals' cloaks and the greens and yellows at the jousting events. Rhys Meyers delivers again as the troubled, obstinate and determined monarch. O'Toole goes some way to filling the gap left by Sam Neill's Cardinal Wolsey, playing the pope with a glint in his eye but not getting enough screen time sadly. Plenty of sex, intrigue and political machinations revolving around the large cast of minister/enforcer Cromwell, the Duke of Suffolk, Arch Bishop Cranmer and the odious Boleyns keep the plot bubbling along nicely as per the first series. Highlights of the series are the dramatic execution of Thomas More and finally Anne Boleyn and her head part company (sorry if this is a spoiler!) at the Tower. Great stuff, very enjoyable though probably not too historically accurate.

Go for the BluRay if you can...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


61 of 68 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Tudors, 7 Sep 2008
This review is from: The Tudors: Complete Season 2 [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
I think a lot of people are missing the point when it comes to Micheal Hirst's take on Tudor England. Eyes have been rolling (as opposed to heads...), and it seems like everyone's set to condemn it purely because Jonathan Rhys Meyers didn't fatten up for the role, nor don a ginger beard and codpiece. Woe!

So there are some historical inaccuracies, and yes, there's a LOT of nudity - but no one's requesting the immediate burning of all the many biographies and history books concering the period, and asking the shelves to be replaced with DVDs of the sexed up version. This is a television programme! And I'm certain that this series has forced a fair few to get down to their library and look up what the tudors were really like.

Isn't anyone fed up of the cliche'd fat man with a fake orange beard, take on Henry VIII? This is a fresh new take on old school history for a new generation. Stunning sets, beautiful locations, a fairly 'educational' but entertaining script, great costumes and a young cast. Let's start seeing the tudors for what it is - enjoyable programming :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Escapism At Its Best, 16 Oct 2008
By 
S. P. Watkins "pyroriffic" (Durham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Tudors: Complete Season 2 [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
It's easy to disregard 'The Tudors' as a banal take on a very well known and perhaps over-told story. But it should NOT be disregarded on that count. The story as told in this production has been consistently fascinating, engaging and eminently watchable. The cast have been brilliant thus far: the many different perspective shifts have left you one minute feeling sympathy for Anne, then dislike for her atempts at machination, then feeling sympathy for her again. The final episode, detailing Anne's final hours, was beautifully crafted and tragically heart breaking in places.

Yes, we all know the facts, but why not allow yourself a moment of escapism and let the richness of the storytelling and the absolutely faultless beauty of the costumes and locations transport you for a while?

Like another reviewer here, I too wholeheartedly hope we get another take on the Plantaganets: 'The Warrior Kings' is long forgotten and we must be ripe for another series on what has to be potentially the most bizarre royal family in British history!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Historically inaccurate but fun and interesting anyway!, 16 Oct 2008
This review is from: The Tudors: Complete Season 2 [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
I have to admit that I thought that both 'The Tudors' series took some really strong liberties with the truth, i.e. merging Henry VIII's two sisters into one woman. If they make a Queen Mary I and Queen Elizabeth I sequel, I'll be really interested to know how they'll explain away the existence of their cousins Lady Jane Grey and Mary Queen of Scots! The fact that they portrayed Henry VII as a brown-haired, slender, sex-crazed young man also had me in giggles. The costumes weren't the most accurate either.

But that didn't stop me from enjoying the two series, and I think this was better than the first one. It used some interesting reinterpretations of the court and politics of the time(and this comes from a history student) and it offered lots of drama and tension and tragedy as well. The acting seems to have gotten better too (on Jonathan Rhys Meyers' part at least) and I thought Natalie Dormer was outstanding as Anne Boleyn, especially in the last few episodes. I liked how they deliberately faded Natalie Dormer's looks as the series went on to show the stress that Anne was going through. And lastly, the costumes were very beautiful, and I think they conveyed the glamour of the court really well.

All in all: I really enjoyed it! It shows that history can be exciting and dramatic and personal, and I hope it'll encourage people to want to know more about the period.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ignore the whingers - this is class, 1 Jan 2009
By 
J. Kennedy (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Tudors: Complete Season 2 [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
This second season is certainly more sophisticated than the first, and feels more grownup: the sex has been slashed and the tale of Anne's downfall comes to the fore.

Her fall from grace is superbly executed (if you'll pardon the pun) in the heartbreaking penultimate episode: characters we have grown to know and love are broken before our very eyes. The final, horrific scenes of beheading after beheading of innocent men are awful to behold, and made all the more poignant by Thomas Wyatt's sombre poem being read over it. When poor Mark Smeaton's bruised and broken body is dragged to the block, you almost want to weep at the injustice of it all.

Natalie Dormer gives Jonathan Rhys Myers a run for his money this season in the acting stakes, though it's a shame we see less of the lovely Henry Cavill.

The Tudors is gripping, dark, intriguing stuff and beautiful to look at.

Ignore the snobs who slate this as being 'historically inaccurate' People daft enough to tune into a soap opera - as writer Michael Hirst described it - expecting a history lesson would probably berate EastEnders for not reflecting real London life. It's entertainment folks, and that's all. Ultimately if it gets younger people interested in history that can only be a good thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best season of The Tudors, 27 Jan 2014
This review is from: The Tudors: Complete Season 2 [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
For me, this is the best season of The Tudors. This series follows where season one left off, beginning with the rise, and ending with the fall, of Anne Boleyn. Natalie Dormer, who plays Anne, is hands down the best portrayal I have seen of the figure, who manages to demonstrate Anne's scheming, passionate, flirtatious, witty and vulnerable sides all in one. She and Meyers (Henry VIII) also have amazing chemistry which just oozes from the tv screen.

This series sees the marriage of Anne and Henry, the birth of Elizabeth, the death of Catherine of Aragon, the execution of Thomas More, as well as the king losing interest in Anne, turning to mistresses and eventually Jane Seymour. While this series does not have as many sex scenes as the first series, the violence definitely steps it up a notch, personally I always have to fast forward the 'boiled alive' scene, as well as in episode 9 which sees the torture of Smeaton, one of Anne's alleged lovers. The last episode in the series, Anne's last episode, is one of the most powerful episodes I have ever watched in a tv series, and I find it hard to continue to season 3, with the series definitely losing a spark after the departure of Dormer.

The Tudors has been criticised for historical inaccuracies, such as Henry's appearance and the diverting from historical fact. If you can get past this and experience the series for what it is, you can appreciate the entertainment and dramatic value of the show. It has also got a lot of people interested in the real history, and that can't be a bad thing, can it?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great - but don't bother with the extra features!, 22 Oct 2008
By 
A. Goodall - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tudors: Complete Season 2 [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Yes, there are some historical innacuracies but it makes little difference to the enjoyment of this hugely watchable and brilliantly done drama - due to all concerned, it's quality stuff.
The only thing that lets it down in my opinion, as a DVD, is the poor extra features offering. For some inexplicable reason these features start with several very short snippets starring 3 Americans, of all people, who waffle on offering empty opinions or stating the bleeding obvious whilst insisting on calling them 'the Too-derrrs' throughout! CUT!
Peter O'Toole's own contribution is fine but is marred rather by an extremely patronising American woman doing a voiceover....yee gads! Give those a miss but as for the series, I loved it and wait eagerly for the next instalment. And Henry not putting on enough weight? This is still early in his reign...we're only on wife number 2....and hey - were any of us actually there???
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Judge it for what it is, 5 Oct 2008
By 
Brida "izumi" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Tudors: Complete Season 2 [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
It seems that THE TUDORS has people split into two camps - those who enjoy it for the entertainment that it is meant to be and those who bemoan that it is not accurate and has too much sex. Well, I'm afraid I'm in the first category.
If you put aside historical accuracy for a moment - as I am in the mind that, because this has been produced as a drama, a certain amount of poetic justice would have to be done - and look at it for what it is, you may begin to appreciate it. Regardless of the fine detail of that period in time, the crux of what was occurring is represented in THE TUDORS. Henry was obsessed with having a male heir, and it was this passion which drove him to act in the way that he did. But there is something else, that many people are forgetting about, within all history and that is emotion. The second series of THE TUDORS certainly delivers on this aspect. As you watch the progression of Henry and Anne's affair into marriage, it is difficult not to be affected by the storyline in some way. I felt that the last 3 or so episodes, where Henry's affection shifts to Jane Seymour, were incredibly poignant. To witness the destruction that Henry's lust and desire led to, and the helplessness of many within his court, was often heartwrenching.
This may not be the most accurate way of learning about this time in history, but it certainly shows the many colours of what it is to be human.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Tudors: Complete Season 2 [DVD] [2008]
The Tudors: Complete Season 2 [DVD] [2008] by Michael Hirst (DVD - 2008)
£6.04
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews