Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning on Blu-ray HD
This Top Gear special really is a joy to watch in High Definition, as you can imagine with all the scenery and cinematography. You'll almost feel as if you were there with them on the journey, but from the warmth of your living room. Result!

It's a shame there are no special features, but it's a TV show. Everything is in the main programme itself. Just an...
Published on 27 Dec 2008 by James Burnwood

versus
12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Music is different.
I was disappointed to find all the music in this release was different than the broadcast version. One of the things I love about Top Gear is they always pick great music that really fits well with the scenes. They must not have wanted to pay royalties and replaced it with royalty free music. It isn't anywhere near as good as what was in the broadcast version and some...
Published on 5 Feb 2009 by Chad H


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning on Blu-ray HD, 27 Dec 2008
By 
James Burnwood "JB" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Top Gear - Polar Special (Director's Cut) [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
This Top Gear special really is a joy to watch in High Definition, as you can imagine with all the scenery and cinematography. You'll almost feel as if you were there with them on the journey, but from the warmth of your living room. Result!

It's a shame there are no special features, but it's a TV show. Everything is in the main programme itself. Just an animated menu screen, with chapter selection and subtitle options.

For the price it's worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spectacular, 24 Oct 2008
By 
Julien Klettenberg (Paddington, NSW Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Top Gear - Polar Special (Director's Cut) [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I've already watched this particular Top Gear Special a number of times on DVD (including at 1080i, using a good upscaling player) and have always been impressed by the quality of the picture. I expected this blu-ray edition to be somewhat better than the DVD, but the difference is nothing less than remarkable: the image quality at 1080P is truly spectacular, with an amazing level of detail, far exceeding any of my expectations.

The programme itself is one of the Top Gear team's best efforts, and you can see why it was chosen to be their first blu-ray release. My only criticism would be that, whilst this is an extended version of the programme that was originally broadcast, there's nothing in the way of "extras" on this disc (as was the case with the DVD release). Given that the show itself is about 70 minutes in length, this doesn't really represent the best use of the format, or very good value, for that matter. All the same, it's still a superbly entertaining film and an excellent representation of what blu-ray is capable of.

Let's hope the BBC doesn't waste any time in releasing more of Clarkson, Hammond and May's adventures in this format!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sub Zero Cool : Going foolishly where no Top Gear presenter has gone before., 29 Dec 2008
By 
E. C. Carnochan "Mr C." (Dumfries) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Top Gear - Polar Special (Director's Cut) [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
The lads are back doin what they do best making entertainment out anything they can, fine asblout hign resloution the capibillites of blu-ray showing the artic in true detail, while watching Jez and Capt.Slow drive drunk in international waters.

Although only 15 minutes longer than the broadcast version, the extra bits are surprising and interesting and well worth it. If you are a fan of Top Gear and thought the broadcast was great, then you will be blown away by the detail on this edition.

5 Stars, One of the best Top Gear releases so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Music is different., 5 Feb 2009
This review is from: Top Gear - Polar Special (Director's Cut) [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I was disappointed to find all the music in this release was different than the broadcast version. One of the things I love about Top Gear is they always pick great music that really fits well with the scenes. They must not have wanted to pay royalties and replaced it with royalty free music. It isn't anywhere near as good as what was in the broadcast version and some is almost annoying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Picture But. . ., 11 Aug 2013
This review is from: Top Gear - Polar Special (Director's Cut) [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Okay, first off, i didn't buy this from Amazon, i was given it.

The picture quality on this is nothing short of sensational. Im stunned at just how amazing it looks compared to what the BBC HD channels broadcast in the UK.
I watched this when it first was broadcast and loved it, the added footage and even better PQ made it an even better experience.

However... The audio being only 2.0 Stereo is something i found to be rather poor.
And even worse is that when i buy a DVD, i do not expect it to be censored. the swearing was bleeped. Okay, as this was broadcast at 8pm in the UK, i can understand the censoring because of the broadcasting rules, but a DVD, is not something that has to conform to those rules so thats something im rather miffed at from BBC Worldwide.
Lack of 5.1 & censoring are the bad points. Great points are the fact this is an epic adventure and the picture is breath-taking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works fine in North American Blu-Ray players, 5 Feb 2010
By 
A. Emerson "gear head, geek" (Orange County, NY USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Top Gear - Polar Special (Director's Cut) [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I purchased this disc from Amazon UK, at the recommendation of reviewers on the Amazon.com (USA) site where it is no longer available. It played fine in my US Blu-Ray player.

Regarding the content, I thought that the scenes cut from the broadcast episode but included in this disc were worth the purchase/shipping price alone. In particular, I liked seeing the airplane wreckage and abandoned town that they found along the way. Yes, they did tinker with some of the music, but this disc tells the story with more detail than they could include in the TV episode.

"How difficult could it be?" to click the buy me button????? :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars There's so much more on here, 8 Jan 2014
This review is from: Top Gear - Polar Special (Director's Cut) [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Although some of the music has changed (for international copyright reasons), this directors cut is so much more revealing of the actual journey that was taken. There's several scenes that were cut from the televised version that fans of TG should see.

The ending is still the same though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME, 21 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Top Gear - Polar Special (Director's Cut) [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
1080p Top Gear just does not get any better , stunning picture quality , this is something you can just watch again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome., 16 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Top Gear - Polar Special (Director's Cut) [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Stunning quality and great entertainment,I enjoyed every minute of it. pity there are no special features though. The BBC needs to release more of these specials and add a few extras.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Top Gear DVD, 14 Jan 2012
By 
K. W. Fullwood (Chesterfield England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Top Gear - Polar Special (Director's Cut) [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Item just as ordered with quick dispatch, usual Amazon quality and service would recomend their goods and services to anyone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Top Gear - Polar Special (Director's Cut) [Blu-ray] [Region Free]
7.85
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews