Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars a welcome entry to the slasher genre
Prom Night is a film that doesint rely on gore or too many sexual scenes to make a good horror film. its mainly aimed at teenagers (which is why i think it recieved negative reviews) as most slasher films are. some moments in the film made me wanna scream 'run!'at the screen which i think every horror should. watch if you like a good old popcorn flick :)
Published on 16 Feb. 2010 by J. Anderson

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Competent but no classic
There is a trend amongst the big studios to remake old films rather than commit to new scripts and this remake of Prom Night continues the trend. Unfortunately, there is also the notion that what really matters is the profit and to this end it appears that the sex and violence have been toned down in order to get a lower rating and thus attract a wider audience...
Published on 12 Jun. 2010 by ergoatlantis


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Competent but no classic, 12 Jun. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prom Night [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
There is a trend amongst the big studios to remake old films rather than commit to new scripts and this remake of Prom Night continues the trend. Unfortunately, there is also the notion that what really matters is the profit and to this end it appears that the sex and violence have been toned down in order to get a lower rating and thus attract a wider audience.

As the title suggests, the action takes place at the school prom where a deranged stalker has targeted a pretty teenager. Of course nobody knows he is there and despite the presence of the police, the killer works his way through the unsuspecting victims.

This film has the look of a TV movie where everyone comes from well-to-do households and everything and everyone is glossy and clean. It is very much a cleaned-up version of the original. It is OK for an evening's entertainment but it is also instantly forgettable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I did this for us..., 14 Feb. 2014
Donnas senior prom is supposed to be the best night of her life, one of magic, beauty, and love.

Surrounded by her best friends, she should be safe from the horrors of her past.

But when the night turns from magic to murder there is only one man who could be responsible, the man she thought was gone forever.

Now, Donna and her friends must find a way to escape the sadistic rampage of an obsessed killer, and survive their prom night....

In the barrel of horror remakes, this has to be the most weak and pointless one of the lot of them.

But for some reason, it's like a car crash, horrible, but you have to watch.

Maybe it's the fact that the killer has taken his love of Forrest Gump too far, or the fact that this has less gore than the muppets, but there is something about the film.

The performances are all underwhelming, Elba looks embarrassed and Schaech spends the film looking like Gump and lurking on one floor of the hotel.

So the film goes like this, stalker in hotel, one of the party goes upstairs, gets killed, and so on.

The conveyor belt of horror movies.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't miss a single cliché..., 9 May 2011
This review is from: Prom Night [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Well, this sure isn't a very good film - in fact, it's quite awful - but, for an awful film, it's still rather more enjoyable than it has any right to be. I think what you need before you start watching it is to write down absolutely everything you'd expect to find in this particular type of horror film, and then you can tick them off as they appear. And by the end you'll have an awful lot of ticks...oh, there won't be many blank spaces on your page at all! And don't even restrict yourself to thinking of just horror films, you're gonna get the blood-dripping bit from the western "Rio Bravo" too!! And for an extra big laugh, take a look at the name of one of the companies involved in co-producing it: "Original Film". Somebody sure has a fine sense of humour!!!

What you won't find are any twists, turns or surprises in its plot. How could there be in something so relentlessly devoted to formula? And you won't find very much blood either. It's all kept very clean and "safe" to ensure an American PG-13 rating. But it's all quite efficiently made, it's just that the spark of inspiration is nowhere to be seen. Scares are notable only by their absence, but its absurdity and predictability are oddly endearing and make it rather amusing, especially as it goes on. And thankfully it does not run long enough to outstay its welcome. Realistic it is not either: when our heroine is finally told "It's all over" and we happily fade out, are we really meant to believe that she's now going off to live happily ever after if she's been through all this stuff?? All right, this probably isn't the type of film to invite deep thinking, so I'll shut up...

There are a number of extras, but they don't amount to much. The handful of deleted scenes are worthless, but you might get some enjoyment out of the making of. Yes, it's the usual stuff of the cast and film-makers congratulating themselves for having been brilliant and talented enough to have produced such a wonderful piece of artistic delight. And I am sure they do more of the same on the commentary too. Sigh.........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Prom Night, 2 April 2011
By 
A. J. Harrison (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Prom Night [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Donna (Britney Snow) witnesses her teacher, Mr Fenten (Richard Schaech) who was obsessed with her, kill her entire family. He is arreasted and sent to a mental institute but one year later on the day of her Prom he escapes and is heading back for her.

I have allways been a fan of the these kinds of films, with the likes of Scream, Halloween, Friday 13th etc but this to me is a standard Slasher movie, which did make me jump in one scene but other than that it offered no real thrills. To me the killer was murdering people for the sake of it and there was no logical explanation as to why he was killing half of the people.

I liked the idea of the teacher becoming obsessed with his pupil, but it wasn't talked about enough and was mainly kept to the background. The directing does get very predictable after awhile and is clear when someone is alone that they are going to die so there's no real suspense.

Even though all I've done is complain it is still a decent movie, that I'd recommend to Slasher fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "..SIMPLE BUT FUN SLASHER..", 4 Mar. 2014
By 
S. Drury "SDX-800" (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
I Think this movie gets too much negativity when its really not all that bad, ok its not the best horror ever but its still a pretty fun movie to watch, its your typical by the numbers slasher, a killer/stalker are locked in a mental hospital, he escapes years later and comes back to finish what he started and chops his way through half the prom to get to the girl he's obsessed with! There's a lot of stabbing in the film all scream style not too bloody mostly off screen, the movie has a pretty sexy cast with plenty of chicks screaming and running like you do, we know who the killer is from the beginning so there's no mystery there, despite all these things I personally still had Fun with it and its certainly better than the tacky original, plus it only cost me £3.00 on Blu-ray. There are lots of bonus features on this Blu-ray unrated version plus its region free A B C.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Save money! Rent it or wait for it to get on tele!, 16 July 2014
This review is from: Prom Night [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
I'm not sure if this was meant to be a remake of the Jamie lee Curtis one which I did hear it was but when I watched it it's completely different so I'll review on it being a separate film.. I dint like it! Basically a girl named Donna is stalked by the psycho teacher ( sounds a good plot cause not silly it's the other way round ) he is sent down for the murder if her family at the beginning ( best part ) then escapes the night of her prom killing anyone who gets in his way.. Shame really cause it coulda been so much better! Acting quite good but the plot just gets boring and more boring. Maybe watch it if it come on tele so If I was you I'll wait till then and save your money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Prom Night 2008, 31 Oct. 2009
***Why I watched the film***

As an avid horror fan, I try my best to go to the cinema to see any new horror films however as my partner is not a proper horror fan I tend to watch them on DVD as soon as they are released.

As my parents share my enthusiasm I have seen the original film so I was keen to see if the film had been totally rebooted or just simply remade.

***The cast***

Brittany Snow (John Tucker Must Die, Hairspray 2007)
Scott Porter (Friday Night Lights - TV)
Jessica Stroup (The Hills Have Eyes 2)
Dana Davies (Coach Carter, Heroes - TV)
Kellan Lutz (Twighlight, 90210 - TV)

***The plot***

Donna (Snow) has spent the last few years living with her aunt and uncle after her parents and younger brother were killed by the teacher that stalked her.

Cut to the day of her prom and she is finally ready to move on and have the night of her life. The venue is set, the limo is on order and the after party hotel is booked for Donna (Snow) and her friends.

But the sadistic killer that tore her life apart has come home to prove he is the only man for Donna, and he will stop at nothing at getting what he wants.

***Honest opinion***

The film thankfully was not a remake of the original instead the directors have rebooted the story to provide a pleasant suprise alongside some of the terrible remakes that have been released in the last couple of years.

In my opinion the film is cheesy and the characters are your typical all American teenagers who are looking to let loose with a night of fun and frolics.

The ending is predictable and its not a typically scary film, so you wont be scared to watch this in the dark but it will keep you on the edge of your seats. In some cases I found myself screaming at the screen shouting 'don't do that!'

The killers is sadistic and acts his revenge by dramatically killing anyone who gets in his way. He is not the typical scary killer who hides behind a killer mask instead it is your average everyday guide who blends in with the crowd. The main couple (Snow & Porter) are likeable and but the acting from most of the characters is distinctly average, however I have to admit I thoroughly enjoyed the film.

I enjoyed the fact the film didn't include the usual inappropriate sex scenes, violent acts of rape and nudity which generally comes hand in hand with horror films today.

I have watched this a couple of times and it gets better each time. The 15 rating definitely applies but I would have prepared an 18 rating for my horror films.

***Summary***
A distinctly average horror film with up and coming talented actors.

Horror fans will be divided with this film but I do not think it will attract a whole new group of horror fans.

Overall a good attempt but overshadowed in a year where several horror films have been or are due to be released.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Unimaginative Pen Knife Killer, 7 Jan. 2010
By 
Mr. R. Coleman (Marlow, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
OK, so look. Like probably a lot of other people out there in the big wide world that used to sneak into the cinema with one of their parents to see a `slasher' movie in the late 70's and 80's, I am pretty used to our beloved psychopaths like Jason, Michael and Freddy thinking up imaginative deaths for all of the beautiful Hollywood College and University teens. Unfortunately, the deranged school teacher doing the whacking in this film sets out with just his trusty pocket knife to get closer to the young girl that he has a crush on, and therein lays the downfall of this movie. You can only take so much knife to the stomach or throat slitting before everything starts getting a little bit too samey, especially as the movie really does not seems to have too much of a plot, and even the plot is has seems full of holes ?

Why was the teacher infatuated with his victim ? Why would the Police let a Prom carry on knowing that a serial killer was in the building ? Why do the teens not recognise the killer without a beard ?

However, it is still worth a watch and I think the main girl character was played quite well, and to me that is really the only shinning light in this movie.

Nothing new, and certainly nothing that the aimed audience is going to appreciate too much. 3 out of 10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Watchable but bland!, 3 Nov. 2014
By 
Amazon Customer (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Prom Night [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Don't expect anything brilliant here, as 'Prom Night' is a watchable, but all-to-typical slasher film that horror fans can easily pass by.

Donna (Brittany Snow) is looking forward to her prom, but what is supposed to be one of the happiest days of her life ultimately becomes a nightmare. For her teacher (Johnathon Schaech), who was once obsessed with her and slaughtered her mother and father three years ago, has escaped from prison. He soon tracks her down to the venue of the prom (well, he was a teacher at the same school), and one by one her friends are murdered. Can Donna survive her 'prom night'?

Whilst there isn't anything wrong with this movie, there are no great shakes or scares, or indeed a killer twist at the end. It plays it straight, and the result is an okay film, but it doesn't offer up anything original. If I had to sum 'Prom Night' up in one word, I would say 'unmemorable'. Only go out of your way to watch it if you don't have anything else to look at.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A solid entry to the prom series..., 25 Oct. 2008
By 
V. K. Manglaveras (thessaloniki, greece) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Prom Night [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
I disagree with those who think this "remake" as a dull film. What they expected to see ? A godfather film ?
This was a typical horror film which has a certain atmosphere beautiful chicks and suspense especially in the last 30 minutes which is a usual thing for a typical horror movie.
Sure we saw these things before from other horror movies and the killings were not shown entirely that's why i remove 2 stars BUT i think it deserves 3 stars at least and a chance to be in your horror dvd collection together with the early 4 PN films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Prom Night [DVD] [2008]
Prom Night [DVD] [2008] by Nelson McCormick (DVD - 2008)
£3.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews