Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It looks like an internet game....but it's just brilliant!
When I started my first game on FIFA 09 I was shocked at just how bad the graphics were and just by the fact you can barely see the ball. I'd compare them to an internet game if i'm honest. However, once you get used to this and the mind baffling controls, the game on PSP turns out to be extremely fun and addictive.

I bought the game (and a PSP infact) as i'm...
Published on 7 Feb 2009 by D. Reynolds

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Could have been good..
Reading some of the reviews of this game, I wonder if anyone actually plays it.

First, the graphics are OK. Sure, things are a little small on the far side of the pitch, but nothing you can't get used to. Lets face it, on a 4.5" screen, there are obvious limitations and no real complaints here.

The actual match game play is quite fun. There are...
Published on 12 July 2009 by G. Heywood


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It looks like an internet game....but it's just brilliant!, 7 Feb 2009
By 
D. Reynolds (Hertfordshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: FIFA 09 (PSP) (Video Game)
When I started my first game on FIFA 09 I was shocked at just how bad the graphics were and just by the fact you can barely see the ball. I'd compare them to an internet game if i'm honest. However, once you get used to this and the mind baffling controls, the game on PSP turns out to be extremely fun and addictive.

I bought the game (and a PSP infact) as i'm going skiing next week so need some entertainment for a rather long coach journey and it could not be more perfect for it. However, i've actually also sat playing it in bed or the lounge rather than playing it on my 360 at times. There's just something about the game that is extremely fun and addictive.

One thing I will say to avoid though is the sound. It is horrendous and extremely irritating but thankfully FIFA is obviously a game where you don't really need sound. So I advise you, mute your PSP and save your battery :). Martin Tyler and Andy Gray's voices do get very annoying - it's the same with all football games to be honest.

The range of game modes are pretty good as you have BAP (Be A Pro), as well as the other modes like Manager Mode and then multiplayer. This is most certainly enough to keep you entertained. The features of the game modes are also pretty good as well actually. In manager mode you regularly get updates from the Board of Directors, injuries and you can closely manage your squad. The only annoying thing is that you don't have the full squad like you do on 360 but that doesn't really matter a great deal.

I'd definitely recommend the game to you. Once you get past the awful graphics and annoying audio - which is why it doesn't get 5 - it turns out to be an awesome game that never gets old!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Could have been good.., 12 July 2009
By 
G. Heywood (Northamptonshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: FIFA 09 (PSP) (Video Game)
Reading some of the reviews of this game, I wonder if anyone actually plays it.

First, the graphics are OK. Sure, things are a little small on the far side of the pitch, but nothing you can't get used to. Lets face it, on a 4.5" screen, there are obvious limitations and no real complaints here.

The actual match game play is quite fun. There are plenty of options to keep you going, whether you decide to attack from out wide, using clever throughballs, or just route one (always most effective for me!).

The biggest problem here of course is the commentary, well the context of it. Hearing Andy Gray bang on about a slide tackle is fine, except when there wasn't one. Or hearing the same comments about "he's injured himself" (when he hasn't, he has picked up a card perhaps), or even "changed the tide of the game", when less than 20 minutes has gone. Not a big problem, but typical EA.

The biggest problem though is manager mode.

* Contract renew is painful to say the least. You get one shot at it, and that is it. No negotiation, just one offer.

* Buying players is equally difficult, with the same limitation. You better make sure all of your sums stack up (offer to the club, wages, signing on fee), or again, that is it, chance blown.

* Other problems are that you can can't see cup history (want to know when Liverpool got knocked out? You can't, unless you are Liverpool or you knocked them out).

* You can't see other leagues. If you are in the Championship and want to see the Premierleague table, you can't.

Such a shame as it has potential, but really, it is just typical EA. Good concept, but poor quality control, and poor attention to detail. Sadly, being EA, I expect all of these "features" to be in the next version, and the one after, and the one after...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Football Game For PSP, 18 Aug 2008
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: FIFA 09 (PSP) (Video Game)
Once again Fifa has lived up to its expectations and proved it is one of the best games for the PSP. The graphics are much the same as fifa 08, although they are a little sharper which is great. The music tracks are once again updated to whats in the charts which gives this game a good advantage over many others. Fifa 09 has all the usuals from a football game, tournaments and leagues from all around the world. New teams and leagues have been added since the 08 version. A new feature is the 'Be A Pro' which proved to work well in other consoles lik the PS3 and XBOX 360. this feature allows the user to control one player and one only as they compete in competitons.
The online of this game is as great as ever, and there will always be opponents at the waiting. The loading time online is very fast, and has little lag, if you could even notice it ! Players can now organise matches in advance and play in an overall online league. Fifa 09 also continues to use the interactive leagues so users can play and score points for their clubs.
All in all i believe Fifa 09 is the best game produced for the PSP so far, and im looking forward for the public release.
(I tested this game 2 months in advance :p)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good game, but not massively different to 08., 4 Mar 2009
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: FIFA 09 (PSP) (Video Game)
As a veteran of 08, my opinion:-

Good pts:
Slightly improved engine compared to 08.
Player graphics slightly improved.
Faster response time on the menus - particularly on Manager Mode.
Easier to score.

Bad pts:
Too easy even on World Class.. If you were up to speed at FIFA 08 (playing competitively at World Class), you will find 09 a lot easier.
Manager mode pretty much unchanged bar a few additions (e.g. board expectations occur twice per season).

Overall I don't see this as a major step up from 08. It's still a good game, but I find it a bit too easy, and am amassing huge scores against the best teams even on World Class. I would argue 09 is probably not worth buying as an upgrade to 08.

If however this is your first FIFA game on the PSP, definitely worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars decent game, but too redundant, 26 Aug 2009
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: FIFA 09 (PSP) (Video Game)
The control has been improved from 08 and it's more realistic and "freer"(the player behave more realistically rather than just a bunch of robots). But there are too many elements in the game that are redundant from 08. The entire manager mode is identical to 08's, they didn't even change the face icon of the managers in which you can select. The tournament mode is of course also the same. There's this new Be a Pro feature of the game, which I didn't enjoy at all. You will get to control only ONE player on your team, and the rest are controlled by the CPU, which can be frustrating when you know you can do much better. Basically, EA is selling us a product that's not much different from last year's. I would say this time the improvement isn't as great as the one from 07 to 08.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars decent game, but too redundant, 14 Aug 2009
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: FIFA 09 (PSP) (Video Game)
On the psp, fifa soccer has everything go smoothly ( players' movements, the pace of the players is fast) and has a lot of features like challenges, seasons, manager,.... Its sure a good game. For PES ( pro evolution soccer by Konami), the movements of the players are quite slower than fifa, not many features, sometimes it gets slow significantly for 5-10 seconds. Konami still has a lot of works to do with the umd. However, when I play PES, i still feel more real. My advice, once you played winning eleven or PES by konami (like myself), you should think carefully when buying fifa, it might get on your nerve (fifa sometimes has things go on so unreal, usually by the AI's side, and TACKLE in fifa is so sucked, they get the ball all the time by tackle, LOLZ ).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars FIFA 09, 21 Nov 2008
By 
Martin Kaufman "Flap10" (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: FIFA 09 (PSP) (Video Game)
I have had FIFA 07 for some time and still one of my favourite games on the PSP, as well as PES 08 and FM 07,I'm a bit of a footy fan, even at 38.

I was expecting FIFA 09 to be quite a leap forward compared to FIFA 07, I was dissappointed. It is virtualy the same game, sorry if anyone disagrees but it is. Yes you have the new bit where you play as a specific player but in terms of graphics and control and gameplay it is the same.

Great game so 5 stars, 3 stars as dissappointingly no improvement on the game from 2 years.

If you don't have a FIFA game for your PSP buy it, you will enjoy, if you have FIFA 07 or 08, don't waste your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Woeful!, 19 Aug 2009
By 
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: FIFA 09 (PSP) (Video Game)
I bought this game over pes. What a mistake. The graphics are dreadful and after 10 minutes it starts to give you a headache, the commentary is repetitive and unintelligent, when cycling through the menus it is constantly lagging, no national teams, the players are all dimmed witted and slow, I gave it a week and then flogged it on ebay to some unlucky soul.
The only good thing about it is the 'Be a pro' mode, and any enjoyment from that is short lived.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fifi 09 football, 1 Feb 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: FIFA 09 (PSP) (Video Game)
This was a present for my grandson he loves it and so does his older brother in fact the whole family enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars FIFA09, 14 Aug 2009
By 
Ruben Filipe Goncalves "rubeng" (Almeirim, Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: FIFA 09 (PSP) (Video Game)
If you can't wait for the next season of football games FIFA 09 is a great choice, (almost) every league and teams, intuitive controls, in graphic matters it's not perfect but i think that you won't find much better in other PSP football games. You can also count with a lot of challenges, multiplayer mode and you also can update the teams.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

FIFA 09 (PSP)
FIFA 09 (PSP) by Electronic Arts (Sony PSP)
£3.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews