Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fifa 09 - PC
I have been preferring the PES games over the past few years but I must admit this Fifa is fantastic.
Besides having plenty of licences so plenty of official outfits and names of players, there are collisions between players so when you shoot the ball it happens that the opponent players can block it so you get corner kicks.
The AI is very good to so it becomes...
Published on 18 April 2009 by Nicolas

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Worst Fifa yet?
I'm a big fan of the Fifa series and was really looking forward to the newest edition. I only play in manager mode which is a complete disaster in Fifa09. Players constantly collide with each other, referees are incredibly biased against you making decisions quite bizarre. Fatigue levels mean that your players are ready to collapse by half time and can take a month to...
Published on 3 Jan. 2009 by Jaxon


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fifa 09 - PC, 18 April 2009
By 
Nicolas "Nick" (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: FIFA 09 (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I have been preferring the PES games over the past few years but I must admit this Fifa is fantastic.
Besides having plenty of licences so plenty of official outfits and names of players, there are collisions between players so when you shoot the ball it happens that the opponent players can block it so you get corner kicks.
The AI is very good to so it becomes really tough to score while it has been the major issue of the late 90's versions of Fifa.
The characters modelling is also great and the atmosphere becomes more and more real as you can hear the supporters singing song related to the team your playing or the opponent one.
The sportscasters are not saying the same nonsense thing you could hear on other football games.
Finally the music is still as great as it was in the past versions of Fifa.
These are details which added together make a great football game!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Game!, 28 Nov. 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: FIFA 09 (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I've noticed nearly all the one star reviews on here are complaining about DRM. It does absulotely nothing to your computer. Fifa 09 PC is a fantastic game - Okay, Online needs to be improved and there are quite a few features in the game which need to be sorted out but overall if you weighed the goods and the bads, the goods would outweigh the bads by quite a bit.

Graphics

Pro's

*Certain(well infact, most) stadiums with "Sunny" Weather look absolutely fantastic. The Graphics are amazing!
*Quite a few "Cut Scenes"(Player preparing to take a throw in, corner etc) , but not all look, truly next gen and it makes the game so much better!
*Instant Replay graphics look alot better this year then previous.
*In only a few stadiums - "wembley" and the "azteca" the camera view from "Broadcast" is much better than this view from other stadiums. The players are natural and move well and the graphics respond to that.

Con's

*Night mode - Too Dark, the lights look terrible in alot of stadiums with the horrible edge of the lights somehow burring, pixelating into the sky. This is definetely something which i think should be worked on.
*Overcast Weather - Compared to "Sunny", this is definitely not Next-Gen. It looks very dull and the sky is just a grey colour. Maybe if we could see some clouds and a mixture of blue sky with that then that would be great.
*Too many "Cut Scenes" are not next gen. The ones that are look great but otherwise it doesn't look great (:
*On a wet day i'd like to see better water physics. Instead of a just a splash i want to see a detailed splash.
*The Default Nets- There are many topics on this already. Personally i think the nets look good close up but from far away, ugly. Once patched they look alot better.
*The terrible 2D crowd!! again there is a few stadiums which the crowd looks good, but generally its horrible. At least get some flags to cover it up! Hopefully this will be worked on.

Gameplay

Pro's

*Wow has this improved. Passing looks real, movement looks real! Thanks EA.
*New Collision System. I will talk more about this in the Cons but it definetely works.
*Shooting is .. well .. real. They have the movement and momentum from when the player has shot and it works.
*New Tricks work really well.
*The clone factor from previous generations of FIFA's has finally been reduced to almost zero; I have a hard time finding two players that look alike now. This makes the game SO much more interesting. Every team has it's own charm now, and any player regardless of ranking can become a personal favourite due to his characteristics.
*Legendary Mode - much better. Before Patch #2, none of the other modes were worth playing on.

Con's

*Collision System does work but it needs to be turned down ALOT. You can just run into a player and there's a free kick. Hopefully this will be sorted out in a Patch.
*Heading Physics are awful.
*Again this should be sorted out in a patch, but the invisible bar is a headache.
*Free Kicks Where the Foul Was Actually From - This really needs to be sorted out. One of the minor things which is letting the game down.
*The Linesmans Flag - Search the Fifa 09 forums for threads on this.
*There are too many goals from free kicks, especially for the CPU and for us players too. Goals from free kicks should happen more seldom.

Miscellaneous

Pro's

*I think the widget feature is a great idea although you should have the option to turn them off.
*Be A Pro - Seasons. Great idea and i'm loving it; A few minor bugs such as the replays not stopping though.
*Adidas Live Season. GREAT! although i haven't actually noticed a difference in in i'm playing well or not.

Con's/Ideas For The Future

*The option to have different commentators like Xbox 360 and PS3.
*Online. This year is basically Fifa 09 without online. I'm not going to go on about it because you can quite easily find something on the first page of the FIFA 09 PC Forum, but yes, go back to the 07' style!
*More things to unlock in the fan shop.
*With the widgets i would love to have the option of making one of them about my manager mode. So the ladder/top scorers/cards etc and maybe even injuries could be visible at all times as with the real life widget. I don't play online so it would be far more worthwhile
*An option to go straight to a two player penalty shoot out!
*Personally i think they could have spent more time improving the game than on Mouse Control. Its good fun, yes, but its not going to make me win a game.

I love Fifa 09. Its a huge improvement on its predecessors. Online and a few in-game bugs let it down, but high quality graphics and the fun to play makes it a good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Worst Fifa yet?, 3 Jan. 2009
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: FIFA 09 (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I'm a big fan of the Fifa series and was really looking forward to the newest edition. I only play in manager mode which is a complete disaster in Fifa09. Players constantly collide with each other, referees are incredibly biased against you making decisions quite bizarre. Fatigue levels mean that your players are ready to collapse by half time and can take a month to recover from a single game! The commentary hasn't improved, Andy Gray still doesn't know know the difference between a free kick and a penalty, he also thinks a free kick in your own penalty area is within range for a shot on goal.

Don't get me started on the bugs in the game - don't EA play test this?

An opportunity lost, I think I'll try PES!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EA Sports has done a great job this year!, 11 Oct. 2008
By 
K. Maroukian "Krikor Maroukian" (Athens, Greece) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: FIFA 09 (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I have played FIFA for a couple of weeks and I have seen that EA has kept the best elements of previous FIFA editions such as Fan Shop, Manager Mode, etc. which are already exciting bits and bytes in FIFA09.

What's more with this edition are the stunning in-play graphics which provide smoother gameplay and more realistic replay scenes. For example, it is the first time I notice, in any PES or FIFA edition, such advanced face depiction graphics. It's almost as if the real guys are playing for you. The extra gameplay features are indeed binded with a range of new dribbling moves. How well this dribbling is performed depends on each player's specific abilities.

Be A Pro Season is really a great add-on to the various season modes EA has given us over the last couple of years. This one immerses the user into the action on the field. Whenever I played for scoring a goal with just one player it was more of a mamooth task then trying it with an entire team. Try it out yourselves. I'm sure you'll like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's not that bad, 16 Oct. 2008
By 
Ms. K. Roberts "K.R." (Stoke, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: FIFA 09 (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Ok, lets ignore the DRM issue for a bit,
I've been playing FIFA 09 for about a week now.
So far, all I have done is played Manager Mode, which is like in FIFA 08, but polished up a bit, better graphics, smoother gameplay etc.
Yes, people have said about the physics of the game aren't as good as on the 360 or PS3, which is well and good complaining about, if you've got a 360 or PS3, but I find it is still good enough on a pc.
On 09, you can use your mouse as a control, to point, pass, and shoot, which is fair brilliant (once you've got used to it) I've found it helps make your shots and slide tackles a lot more accurate, pr you could use a game pad, or the old keyboard method.

But, to put it quite simply, if you liked 08 and your thinking about buying this one, do it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars joy pad command and player reaction, 13 Sept. 2009
By 
Mr. Trevor Beaumont "TBeaumy" (St Albans, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: FIFA 09 (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
This game is sooo frustrating. The reaction to command is slow and one can never be sure what move the player is going to make as a result. In the end you find yourself making numerous commands rather than one in hope.
The in game options and addictability is great! Playing on line and losing virtually all the games shows my addiction(I am very competetive and HATE losing (cursing the screen as I go.... aaaaaaargh!!). I've been playing FIFA Soccer since early nineties but stopped playiing from aroound 99/00. Decided to buy this game to rekindle some estatic emotional experiences. so far so good but the game would be better if one could set the reaction time between joy pad command and player reaction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What is going on with the Kit clashing?, 17 Dec. 2008
By 
M. Foley "Wingman" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: FIFA 09 (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I am amazed at the 5 star reviews here most which ignore some basic flaws of this game. Apart from gameplay issues (using mouse and keyboard), poor menu navigation and winning 5-0 at amateur but practically impossible to score at semi pro., the single biggest problem i had was with the kits clashing on the PC version of the game. It is as if they are trying to make kits clash, it is impossible to play a game where the only difference may be shorts colour!! Do they ever test these things? It largely renders the game useless unless you want to be Norwich all the time!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars silence is a good sign, 30 Jun. 2009
By 
A. Smith "smith" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: FIFA 09 (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
My teenage son asked me to order this for him. He hasn't actually said anything to me about it but the fact there's been absolutely no mumping and moaning about it, and he's acting like a hermit in his room only appearing at mealtimes means he must like it!!! Anytime I stick my head around his bedroom door he seems to be on it - playstation is redundant at the moment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Bit Of A Learning Curve, 14 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: FIFA 09 (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
It's a solid game with something of a learning curve, but once you get the hang of it you'll be hitting the net with your favorite team (you can also create your own). Also graphic intensive, so make sure your PC is fairly powerful to bring the best look out of the game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fifa 09 on top again, 27 Oct. 2008
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: FIFA 09 (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Whilst this is getting mixed opinions, let me share some of my own.
* Fifa 09 PC is a far better improvement than 08, they even made the little changes such as a nice looking menu and got rid of the appauling flash application for online mode.

* I will have to admit that there is a slight fps problem with high spec machines and for some reason it stutters during play but i have been told a patch will be out soon to fix this.

* The reason i write this review today is because people are quick to ruin PC versions when yesterday i played the PS3 version and all though the graphics are great the gameplay is shocking, the players move like robots and doesn't play like a real match. The worst was when running they seem to turn in right angles like robots no fluent movement at all.

If you are thinking about purchasing this game then stop thinking and do it!
You will not be disappointed if you are a true football fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

FIFA 09 (PC DVD)
FIFA 09 (PC DVD) by Electronic Arts (Windows XP)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews