Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The old ones are the best
Having seen the recent mission: impossible films at the cinema, i expected the same. However, what i found was highly intellegent plotlines, excitement, and class. I'd very much recommend this series to anyone
Published on 30 July 2009 by Miss J Lawson

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Series 1
Like many 45+, I loved Mission Impossible - I think this series was never shown on British TV. No Jim Phelps!! The original series didn't have him in it. A good start to an excellent programme, early stories didn't have so good story lines but still worth a watch.
Published on 17 July 2009 by Mr. Brian Barr


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The old ones are the best, 30 July 2009
By 
Miss J Lawson (Loughborough, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mission: Impossible - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Having seen the recent mission: impossible films at the cinema, i expected the same. However, what i found was highly intellegent plotlines, excitement, and class. I'd very much recommend this series to anyone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Real Deal, 10 Sep 2010
This review is from: Mission: Impossible - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Having growing up with the eighties series of mission impossible i decided to buy the old series after seeing reruns on tv a few years ago.I wasn't disappointed the stories and plots are well thought out and actually more entertaining than the films of recent years in my opinion even that it was made in the sixties, would highly recommend to any mission impossible fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars M: I 1. Where's the bloke with white hair?!, 15 Sep 2013
By 
P. B. Koeb (Aljezur, Portugal) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mission: Impossible - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Yes, this is the "Jimless" season. I had no knowledge of its existence, until a mid noughties rerun on the Television Suisse Romande 2 channel. This is now my first repeat of the dvd package of twenty-eight episodes. How do they stack up? Overall, very well. Stylistically, the series definitely hit the ground running. Tight storytelling, many of the trademark features and some excellent Lalo Schifrin scores.

However, it's Dan Briggs (Steven Hill) who often lets the team down. He isn't bad, as such, but Jim Phelps would be a very definite trading up. The uncharismatic Mr Hill was so devout in observing the shabat, apparently, that he made himself unavailable for filming. This frequently results in him disappearing from the proceedings, on some lame pretext, after taking the mission briefing. (Perhaps he thought he'd done his job.) Marvellous Martin Landau is usually on hand, fortunately, to play the team's "go-to" man. Always hugely effective and enjoyable to watch, he has "Special Appearance" status. Cinnamon is less ice maiden in the early episodes, curiously. Barney and Willy feature in most of the capers.

What of the episodes? "Operation Rogosh" is an early classic, using the type of ruse we'll see repeated in subsequent seasons. "A Spool There Was" is set in a vaguely Balkany type location. "The Carriers" is an excellent cold war paranoia tale, which ends a little cheesily. "Zubrovnik's Ghost" is a bit silly, but extremely atmospheric. Barbara Bain excels in "The Short Tail Spy", with guesting Hans Gudegast. "The Legacy" is a decent Nazi adventure, unlike the rather silly "The Legend". "The Frame" is a good mobster caper. "Snowball In Hell" features a convincingly sadistic Ricardo Montalban. "The Confession" sees Pat Hingle playing a right-wing nutjob in an interesting intrigue. "The Train" seems to be set in a country (Svardia) which uses a language that looks very much like Romansch. (Maybe a legacy of someone's holiday in the Engadine!) "Shock" is very stylish. "A Cube Of Sugar", in which Martin Landau excels, has an interesting psychedelic drug vibe. "The Traitor" features sexy Eartha Kitt guesting very effectively. "The Psychic" has Barry Sullivan doing a good turn as a ruthless nasty. My personal favourite, however, is "Odds On Evil", which is an object lesson in doing a lot with relatively little. The gambling sequences with Nico Minardos, Martin Landau and an oily Nehemiah Persoff are simply outstanding. The zooms and fast edits are reminiscent of something out of a Sam Peckinpah film.

Plenty of good episodes, therefore, but things will get even better when Peter Graves takes the reins in season two. Then, the IMF "dream team" will give us two truly solid seasons. This one? Well, enjoy the storytelling but try to forget that our beloved Jim isn't there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Memory Lane, 19 Jun 2010
By 
C. G. Gilmoor - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mission: Impossible - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Watching Mission Impossible is like a stroll on Memory Lane. Although I got to know Mission Impossible with another main character Jim. Actualy there were two. The latter was after the one in the first season series and the second season series. I can't remember Barbara Eden in the series that I watched back then. Ofcourse there used to be a lag between releases in the US and Curacao. Maybe a third season package will do fine. It's great that one can take a stroll down Memory Lane.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Bargain!, 2 Jun 2009
This review is from: Mission: Impossible - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Mission: Impossible - Season 1 [DVD]

... und das Tolle ist, die DVD's enthalten - entgegen der Produktbeschreibung - neben der englischen auch die deutsche, italienische, französische und spanische Tonspur inkl. der Titelmenüs in der jeweiligen Sprache.

Anstatt, wie in Deutschland bspw., den doppelten Preis zu berappen, sollte man lieber hier zuschlagen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!, 15 Mar 2009
By 
Scott D. Becker "retro geek" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mission: Impossible - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I really enjoyed this season of MI! The one that started it all! Great retro choice. Definitely worth the purchase!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Series 1, 17 July 2009
By 
Mr. Brian Barr "BriBarr" (Beccles, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mission: Impossible - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Like many 45+, I loved Mission Impossible - I think this series was never shown on British TV. No Jim Phelps!! The original series didn't have him in it. A good start to an excellent programme, early stories didn't have so good story lines but still worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good memories, 2 Mar 2009
By 
This review is from: Mission: Impossible - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Was looking for it for ages, finally on stock. Like Fall Guy, UFO and Star Trek one of the classics we are waiting for to come on DVD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mission: Improbable, 3 May 2012
This review is from: Mission: Impossible - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Do not believe the title, the missions presented in this series are NOT impossible. If they were impossible then the resources that are spent by the good guys would probably be spent on health care or education.

Apart from that, it's a good box set with DVD's inside. You should probably make sure you had a DVD player because they don't work on a VCR and the CD player doesn't like them either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mission: Impossible - Season 1 [DVD]
Used & New from: £15.69
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews