Customer Reviews


75 Reviews
5 star:
 (58)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A new season, a new cast make over...
Well, we had a character change for series 4, and we get another for the 100th episode* this season. Yep we bid a fond farewell to Cole : ( But there will be a tiny new cast member – this season sees the birth of Piper and Leo’s baby.
Season 5 stills retains it’s sense of realism with the added drama and wit that made CHARMED a huge success, but...
Published on 13 Jan. 2006 by AyJay

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Charmed season 5
Season 5 of charmed shows the advancement of the sister’s in their personal life as well as their magical one. Piper is dealing with becoming a mother and the affects that having a baby has on her as a witch as well as with her husband (Leo). Phoebe is trying to believe in her ability to trust herself and that she can open her heart to love, and Paige is focusing on...
Published on 12 Mar. 2006


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A new season, a new cast make over..., 13 Jan. 2006
By 
AyJay (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Charmed: Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
Well, we had a character change for series 4, and we get another for the 100th episode* this season. Yep we bid a fond farewell to Cole : ( But there will be a tiny new cast member – this season sees the birth of Piper and Leo’s baby.
Season 5 stills retains it’s sense of realism with the added drama and wit that made CHARMED a huge success, but for me this series lost that special something that made it a must watch programme, though it picks it up as it nears the end.
A Witch’s Tail (1)
A Witch’s Tail (2)
Phoebe is turned into a mermaid, giving her a cold heart and she runs away from her problems. Paige struggles balancing her charmed one life with her work life. Pregnant Piper begins to suffer from panic attacks.
Happily Ever After
The sisters are transported into classic fairy stories – Piper Little Red Riding Hood, Phoebe into Cinderella, and Paige into Snow White.
Siren Song
A Siren lures Phoebe and Cole, leaving Piper and Paige to save them. Piper’s unborn baby swaps her powers with Leo’s.
Witches In Tights
A demon is turned into a comic book character so he can steal the elder’s powers, leaving the sisters no choice but to don masks and catsuits to stop him.
The Eyes Have It
Phoebe discovers a demon which steals the eyes of gypsies. Piper wants to see a regular doctor, but Leo is concerned about being exposed.
Sympathy For The Demon
Here we see the return of Barbas (the demon of fear) who once again plunges the sisters into their darkest fears.
A Witch In Time
An evil warlock tries to steal the book of shadows and succeeds in killing 2 of the sisters, leaving our lone survivor to decide if going back in time to save their life’s is the right thing to do.
Sam I Am
Paige, as a whitelighter, gets her first charge. Cole tries to force the sisters to kill him.
Y Tu Mummy Tambien
A demon tries to resurrect the spirit of his dead lover by using Phoebe to host her.
The Importance Of Being Phoebe
Cole kidnaps Phoebe and sends a shapeshifter to take her place.
Centennial Charmed *
Cole creates a world where Phoebe and Piper never meet Paige in a desperate attempt to keep Phoebe by his side.
House Call
The sisters enlist the help of a witch doctor in removing the traces of evil from around the house. Is he friend or foe? Paige’s ex shows up with a big surprise.

Sand Francisco Dreamin’
A demon causes the sisters nightmares to come to life.
The Day The Magic Died
As Piper’/s baby is about to be born all magic dies, leaving her defenceless against the evil being that want the baby.
Baby’s First Demon
New aunties Paige and Phoebe try to protect baby from 2 demons while Phoebe’s career looks like its on shaky ground.
Lucky Charmed
A demon is killing leprechauns so they bless the sisters with good luck to track the demon down, but their luck soon backfires.
Cat House
When she begins to have marital problems, Piper casts a spell to show her’s and Leo’s past together. However it backfires, taking Phoebe and Paige to relive the memories.
Nymphs Just Wanna Have Fun
When a demon attacks and kills a water nymph that protects a lake, the surviving nymphs decide Paige should take her place. Saying no doesn’t seem to be an option.
Sense And Sense Ability
The Crone steals one of the senses from each of the sisters, in an attempt to fool Piper’s child into allowing her to get closer to baby.
Necromancing The Stone
Grandma Halliwell returns to the manor for a wiccan birthing ceremony for her grandchild.
Oh My Goddess (1)
Oh My Goddess (2)
The titans are released and kill the elders giving Leo no choice but to take their places. Meanwhile the sisters are given the powers of greek goddesses to enable them to destroy the titans before they kill all of the whitelighters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great but not as good as Seasons 1-4, 2 Feb. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Charmed - Series 5 [DVD] (DVD)
I enjoyed this box set for the most part particularly upto the 100th episode but it goes down hill when Piper's baby is born. As a male viewer all this gooing over a new baby is not my cup of tea at all. I've always enjoyed Charmed for what it was - three sexy witches battling evil with a touch of style, charm and wit but oh dear add a baby and things get worse!

I never really liked Charmed after this point. I preferred the show when it was much more darker. The 100th episode (the 12th episode on the disc) where Paige orbs into a parallel universe was one of the best of this 23 episode season. I also enjoyed "Cat House" which puts a new spin on the clip show which sees Pheobe and Paige go back in time to relive scenes from previous seasons. The opening episode has Alyssa Milano in a mermaid costume which is very distracting for male viewers!

If your a fan of Charmed I recommend this. If you want to get into Charmed then I suggest you buy Seasons 1-4 first. They were magic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite season yet!, 13 Mar. 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Charmed: Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
Well I know it seems to be controversial but this is my favourite season so far. It's great to see Rose Macgowen really comming into her own, she is really refreshing from Shannon Doherty and there is a much more even dynamic to the show. We see Piper becoming more motherly which is really important for later series as it becomes a crucial drive for her. As much as we will all miss Cole - ENOUGH ALL READY! The Cole/Pheobe story line went on for a while and it is great to see Alyssa Milano freed up for the next season, this isn't her strongest performance. I think this season is really fun and lively and a great exploration of the characters. It is a prelude for a kick into high gear in six and seven, leaving the Chris and Avatar storylines a mystery at this point. Keep this in mind and I think you will really enjoy it. Centennial Charmed is my favourite episode in this season, not only does it set the tone for the rest of the season and the next but it's the one which I think officialy made Paige my favourite sister.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this series!, 26 Nov. 2008
This review is from: Charmed: Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
Don't listen to the negative reviews, this series is just as good as the previous 4, if not better. I'll admit, the loss of Cole from the main cast is unfortunate, but at least in this series not everything revolves around Phoebe and Cole's relationship (as it seemed to in season 4).
This season feels much more light-hearted, with the Charmed ones becoming super-heroes and Greek goddesses as well as one of them becoming a nymph and another becoming a mermaid.
Standout episodes for me-

*Witches in Tights-
A young boy has an extraordinary gift- his drawings come to life. Unfortunately there is a demon on hand to take full advantage... enter the Super- Charmed Ones!

*Centennial Charmed-
Happy Birthday Cole (his 100th to be exact). What do you get for a 100 year old demon, when all he wants...is to be vanquished?

*Y Tu Mummy Tambien-
A demon mummifies the bodies of witches in a quest to find a body to hold the spirit of his dead lover, Isis. Only problem is that he has yet to find a strong enough body. Could a Charmed One be what he is looking for?

*The Day the Magic Died-
Magic (good and evil) has disappeared from the world, the magical community is in crisis and Piper has gone into labour (great timing).

*Oh My Goddess (parts 1 and 2)-
When the Titans are unleashed and seek revenge on the Elders, it becomes clear that it will take more than Charmed-like powers to destroy them for good. Perhaps God-like powers are needed...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Charmed - Season Five, 10 Dec. 2005
By 
L. C. MELVILL "laptop_owner" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Charmed: Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
As with any season of any show, this season has it's weak episodes, but it is brilliant nontheless. It contains some of my favourite episodes and the acting standard is as high as ever. The show reaches it's 100th episode milestone this season with a fab episode 'Centennial Charmed', in which an exciting plotline leaves Paige in another dimension where her sisters don't even know she exists. Charmed continues to excite and delight with gripping storylines and hilarious comic moments. Charmed is sure to cast a spell on you. Standout episodes are:
Sympathy For the demon
Sand Francisco dreamin'
The day the magic died
Baby's first demon
Cat House
Sense and sense ability
Oh my Goddess
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars who says three times a charm, fives the best season yet!!, 23 Nov. 2005
By 
L. Mcnab "charmed's biggest fan" (the mo, scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Charmed: Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
the thought of having to wait til february isn't fair!!! i think that charmed season 5 is the best season so far!!! where do i start....Cole!!! he becomes obsessed with trying to win Phoebe back, and becomes this unstoppable powerful demon with powers he absorbed when in the demonic wasteland seen in season 4. the first Charmed offspring arrives in the form of Piper and Leo's child, who is able to use their powers from in the womb to make Piper protected and indestructable.my fave episode of the season is Centennial Charmed, the shows 100th episode which sees Cole becoming an Avatar (the first introduction of them i think, i could be mistaken!) for those who havent seen it i wont spoil it by telling you what happens in it. my others fave episodes include Sympathy for the demon (which see Barbas back tricking the sisters so he can trap them and use their fears against each other), and the season enders Oh My Goddess(cool costumes for the girls and also the introduction of Chris played by Drew Fuller, something eyecandy for me :-D!!!)
A Witch's Tail Parts 1 & 2
Happily Ever After
Siren Song
Magic Wears A Mask (aka witches in tights)
The Eyes Have It
Sympathy For The Demon
A Witch In Time
Sam I Am
The Mummys Tomb (aka y tu mummy tambien)
The Importance Of Being Phoebe
Centennial Charmed
House Call (aka obsessions)
Sand Francisco Dreaming (aka dreamspells)
The Day That Magic Died (aka special delivery)
Baby's First Demon
Lucky Charmed
Cat House
Nypmhs Just Wanna Have Fun (aka naughty nymphs)
Sense And Sense Ability
Necromancing The Stone
Oh My Goddess Parts 1 & 2
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A less than 'Charming' season, 9 Feb. 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Charmed: Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
Charmed, the Aaron Spelling series, headed into its 5th season with minimal changes. Unlike the previous season it did not start with the introduction of a new character or the loss of an old one. But changes behind the scenes clearly set this season on a different path. Charmed Creator Connie Burge left after Season 4 giving full control to Brad Kern (Executive Producer since Season 1) who sent the show in a different direction).
The Character of Cole went into a deeper depression before finally being killed and we got a whole lot of Fairy Tales and Magical Stories with some skimpy outfits on the side.
Charmed Season 5 still performed well and while the show still had its Sisterly Connections and Demons day-and-night it wasn't as great as previous seasons.
As usual Paramount has included no Special Features. Charmed was unlucky that it was released after Paramount went crazy (in other words, charging a lot of money for a Box and Episodes I can see on TV a lot!). It is doubtful any season will have some special features, with how Charmed is getting treated in what looks like its final season - I doubt we will have any fond farewell with a decent DVD set.
If you are a fan of Charmed who wants to see the episodes when ever you want without commercial distraction, then this is a must buy for you. But unless you are a hard core fan, you'd be better renting this set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars depatures and arrivals, 14 Sept. 2008
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Charmed: Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
fifth season of charmed, a fantasy show that ran for eight years and is about three sisters who are also witches. and their attempts at witch life/work life/personal life balance. you could possibly get into the show at the start of this season, but with a fair amount of backstory resulting from the years beforehand it's best to start with those.

this box set contains the twenty three episodes of the season [the first and last episodes are two parters edited into eighty two minute long features] spread over six discs. there are no extras whatsover, and no direct scene access to the episodes.

the only other things on the discs are the langugage options: english french german italian and spanish

and the subtitles: english danish dutch french german italian norwegian spanish and swedish.

as mentioned, the uninitiated should start with season one. for those who have followed the show all the way so far, this season has two main plotlines. phoebe's continuing relationship with cole, and the impending arrival of piper and leo's baby.

over the course of the episodes, as these storylines play themselves out, the charmed ones will encounter various monsters and fairytale creatures. each plot will put them into a lot of problems and threaten to tear the family apart, but generally things are wrapped up quickly at the end of each episode with a spell or a potion or both. this can get a bit predictable, but the show is never less than enjoyable thanks to the character dynamic. even the episode lucky charmed, featuring some potentially annoyingly stereotypical leprechauns works because it's primarily about the halliwells.

julian mcmahon does make the cole episodes great by virtue of some excellent acting as a man on the brink of insanity. once his plotline is resolved the baby arrives a few episodes later, and then the storyline of the pregnancy becomes how they cope with a new arrival.

the season finale brings in a new character with an air of mystery about them, and has quite a surprising cliffhanger that will make you eager to get onto season six.

but if you've come this far with charmed, like you're not going to watch it anyway? this season is good enough to make you go straight onto number six
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars surprisingly...the greatest season of CHARMED, 26 Nov. 2007
By 
S. J. Pinder "scifihorror fan" (Cornwall,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Charmed: Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
after rewatching this season of charmed i have found that this season is actually by far the classiest out of all eight...while the first two seasons were plain boring,the third being an improvement, the fourth made it dark and entertaining...now season 5 is the greatest season of the show and definitely shows off the hilarious talents from all three of the sisters...especially phoebe, and great to see Paige's character gain more depth this year...season 5 contains most of the shows recognizable episodes and definitely contains the best of charmed-centennial charmed,siren song,the importance of being phoebe(the best),the day the magic died, and the hilarious sense and sense-ability a genuinly great season that no other season managed to achieve and the only season that i couldnt compare with the far superior show BUFFY THE VAMPIRE SLAYER so while charmed couldnt live up to the standards of BUFFY it came close with this season...and at this great price i would buy it...season 4 and 8 are also quite enjoyable:)
episodes-
a witches tail-best transformation ever...and the best season opener 5/5.
happily ever after-very enjoyable 4/5
siren song-one of the best episodes ever 5/5:)
witches in tights-classic 5/5
the eyes have it-okay episode reasonably cool 3/5
sympathy for the demon-an exciting eppy with barbas 5/5
a witch in time-another season great 5/5
sam i am-yet another classic episode with adrenaline 5/5
y tu mummy tambien-another classic 5/5
the importance of being phoebe-just the best episode ever(well nearly)5/5:)
centennial charmed-this is the best episode ever!!! 5/5
house call-another fun one 3/5
sand Francisco dreamin'-'another great episode i love it 5/5
the day the magic died-just when you thought it couldnt get classier...it did 5/5
babys first demon-very fun 4/5
lucky charmed-a campy classic 4/5
cat house-great great great 4.5/5
nymphs jus wanna have fun-actually the only dud in the season 2/5:(
sense and sensability-the funniest episode ever!!!!never beaten 5*/5
necromancing the stone-pretty cool 4.5/5
oh my goddess-a great cliffhanger,great effects,possibly the last way for a while a great season finale occurs as many charmed finales are considered weak...but not this one...this is charmed meets xena:)
as you see it is a classy season!
while never able to reach the standards of BUFFY THE VAMPIRE SLAYER this season is the only one that doesn't appear as a rip-off but as an independant gem and i like that:):)possibly the only season i'd consider buying at the moment...and a great price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars the humour returns, 29 Nov. 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Charmed: Season 5 [DVD] (DVD)
I liked this season of charmed because it was more like the first and best season where there were completely different storylines from one episode to the next, and the romantic goings on in the witches lives are not overwhelming.And although Rose McGowan doesn't look half the witch Shannon Docherty was she grows on you after a while.Julian Mcmahon as Cole is at his most humorous in this season and as always the special effects and action are enthralling.Watch out for the episode where a beautiful demon woman keeps making herself look identical to phoebe and playing with cole's mind.And the epsisode where phoebe turns into a mermaid is good too.It's a good thing that the writers did away with the darker storylines from season three and season four ( I think this was when the creator of charmed constance burge retired from the show) and lightened things up again but the darkness was worthwhile just so we could see the kind of territory this programme could be taken into.
I'd love to see them make a charmed movie with all four witches and Leo and Cole.It would be great.The four witches could take on the four horsemen of the apocalypse -sort of charmed meets the lord of the rings.
Would have to bring shannon docherty back to life though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Charmed - Series 5 [DVD]
Charmed - Series 5 [DVD] by Holly Marie Combs (DVD - 2006)
£12.10
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews