Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


51 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Changed, Different, But...Home!
I always feel, when it comes to watching "Charmed: Season 8", that I am watching something I shouldn't be. What with the drama and finality of the Season Finale of Season 7, and then the rumours that were spun in the summer of 2005 (that "Charmed" could very possibly NOT be returning for an eighth season), it really seemed like that was going to be it - the sisters had...
Published on 3 July 2007 by Andrew J. Bullock

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing...But Charmed!!
Charmed: Season 8 was something that was in much debate about returning. The producers of the show knew they were going to have to create a very dramatic and different show to what we had experienced over the past seven years and in some ways they succeeded...others not so much.

One of the requirements of the eighth season was they employed new actors. So Dex,...
Published on 19 April 2009 by austen_megabux


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

51 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Changed, Different, But...Home!, 3 July 2007
By 
Andrew J. Bullock (Berkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Charmed - Season 8 [DVD] (DVD)
I always feel, when it comes to watching "Charmed: Season 8", that I am watching something I shouldn't be. What with the drama and finality of the Season Finale of Season 7, and then the rumours that were spun in the summer of 2005 (that "Charmed" could very possibly NOT be returning for an eighth season), it really seemed like that was going to be it - the sisters had defeated one of their deadliest enemies, fled The Manor and relinquished their lives as Halliwells and The Charmed Ones. They had faked their deaths, left it to the next generation and disappeared off, in disguise, with Leo. Daryl's reaction to this appeared to be a satisfied one, and Prue's ghost - it is believed - had shut The Manor door one last time (an apt end to the series).
This, however neatly tied up, just didn't seem right though. Of all the endings, renouncing their heritage and giving up on life as they knew it was just not satisfying enough. When I watched the finale to Season 7, although it was not confirmed that the show would continue, something inside me knew that it would. The feel that episode left the viewer with was an uneasy one...like this was not the end, regardless of what the network was saying. It never really felt that "Charmed" was to conclude like that.

And indeed, it didn't. As Season 8 opens in "Still Charmed And Kicking" you feel almost honoured that you are allowed to see what happens next, after the threat that The Halliwells would not return as The Charmed Ones again. The viewer gets to see HOW the characters get out of the mess that they seem to have created for themselves.

Season 8 is not the best of seasons, but it is yet another superb one. It begins by revealing The Halliwells are back in The Manor, living with their father Victor. Only they are posing, in magical disguise, as The Bennetts, pretending that they are three cousins and that Victor is in fact their uncle.
The opening episodes of Season 8 hold a nostalgia that reminded me of Season 1 - the music and themes of it. "Charmed" has always had an underlying tragic feel to it, with the constant loss and sacrifice the sisters have had to experience over the years, both before and after they were witches; and a season that opens at the funerals of the three principle characters dwells on this further. Although we know that they are not really dead, there is a morbid feel to it - a morbid fascination nonetheless.

Season 8 carries the "faked death" theme throughout the first few episodes, not simply throwing the plotline away. And to great effect too. Their reasons for returning to their old lives are believable and well-planned, as is the way in which they eventually reveal to the world that they are still alive (the excuse that they have been working for the government). The best part of it is that they return to being Halliwells, allowing us to feel satisfied that "Charmed" will not end with the sisters forsaking their legacy.

This season introduces the character of Billie who seems unnecessary at first. She does, however, grow on the viewer and becomes integral to the outline of the season. Her story progresses into a great one and her character is worthy of the magnitude it markets. She is essential to the final battle that the girls have to face, as is her sister, Christie, who is forever shrouded in intrigue.

I shan't divulge exactly what happens, though shall reveal that Season 8 contains plots that involves Paige and marriage, the brief return of The Source and ANOTHER separation of Piper and Leo (probably the most tantalising of the entire series).

The finale of the season is spectacular! The battle The Halliwells have to face is superb, incorporating an assortment of various different elements from plotlines-past, such as The Hollow and The Triad. These are not used repetitively though, only to highlight the weight of this ultimate fight.
The explosion in the basement of The Halliwells' home, which occurs in the Season 7 finale, seems minuscule in comparison to the event that takes place in the penultimate episode: The Manor actually totally blows up! This occurrence is literally phenomenal.
"Charmed: Season 8" is a terrific final season. There are, indeed, "silly" episodes, such as "Mr. and Mrs. Witch" and "Battle Of The Hexes"; and why the writers insisted on throwing a leprechaun-related episode into every season since Season 5 is beyond me!
The title track that plays to the opening credits has also been inexplicably altered, which may displease fans (although it does grow on you actually). I was also irritated that, although discussed, Prue was not given nearly enough acknowledgment as the series she helped found came to a close. But aside from these minor flaws, Season 8 charts a perfect end to a show that risked throwing in the towel when one of its leads left the series at the end of Season 3. Not only did "Charmed" survive the death of Prue and the introduction of Paige, it endured the uncertain finish to Season 7, only to pave the way for a touching, enjoyable and rewarding end to the show. "Forever Charmed", the final episode, is the perfect mix of action, nostalgia, characters old and new and, most importantly, it renews our faith that The Halliwells will continue their birthright on into the future.

Highlighted by DVD extras (including an exciting look at the original unaired Pilot which didn't feature Alyssa Milano as Phoebe) this season is outstanding. From the gratifying turn of events of "Forever Charmed", to the glimpse into the future at the very end (something which is much more satisfying to see than The Charmed Ones faking their deaths) to the inspired last-ever closing of The Manor door - Season 8 is quite simply the perfect end to this radiant series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A series to end all., 12 July 2007
By 
Mr. Jonathan Mf Bradshaw "jonnyb9113" (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Charmed - Season 8 [DVD] (DVD)
Well well well, it looks like CBS Paramount finally decided to spruce up the final box set, about time dont ya think?

For months weve been screaming out for the extras, just a gag reel would have sufficed but they've given all fans a real treat with this set. A whole 90 minutes of extras, i wont go into too much detail, in order to not reveal the suprise.

The series itself is quite a good one, granted some of the episodes are lets just say, not very easy on the eyes. Budget cuts forced the series to lose one main character and the special effects dipped a little. The addition of Billie breathed new talent on the show, a fresh approach was given and an all round twister of a story line. A couple of the episodes are a little tedious at time but overall the series keeps up the charmed legacy.

One thing to point out is where has the soundtrack disappeared too, the usual "how soon is now" theme seems to have been scrapped and has been replaced with an instrumental, a quite hip instrumental at that, but it doesnt give the episodes the same edge.

Humour is kept up, emotional ties are kept up, don't be fooled by the "season 8 is crap" reviews, Charmed Season 8 is a great season and the finale, well you'll just have to watch it for yourself.

Although you may need a box of kleenex at the ready.

Buy it.
Watch it.
Love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good ending to a great series, 26 May 2009
By 
Uenna (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Charmed - Season 8 [DVD] (DVD)
I never did follow this series while it was on television, but my children who were fans got me into watching it after the series ended. The season 8 is a great ending to the charmed series, spanning 8 compelling years of magic and the fight between the good and evil, with the good triumphing in the final battle.
This DVD has all the episodes of season 8 in 6 discs, with the last disc containing some bonus features. The picture quality and audio is very good and clear. The bonus features include:

The making of charmed - E. Duke Vincent, Brad Kern and a host of the cast and producers talk about the making of the series charmed. Everything you wanted to know about the creating of the series, the writing, the casting, the pilot and the unaired pilot,the wardrobe especially the creating of the hideous demons and creatures, the special effects. Etc

The story of Charmed: Genesis - this explores the origins and conception of the charmed series and much more, what story lines made the series a fan favourite for so long, from the 1st series to the 3rd series when Prue died.

The story of Charmed: Charmed again - the story of the first episode of season four after the death of Prue, the continuation of the series to the last episode of season 8.

To the manor Born - a tour of the Haliwell manor, the principal set for the shooting of the series, with explanations and flash backs on the most spectacular actions in different rooms on the set.

Forever Charmed: this shows fan interviews on their views of charmed and why they were hooked for so long, and cast and crew talking about their views of the millions of charmed fans.

So you see this DVD is packed with tons of bonus features as well as the complete episodes of the season 8. Why 4 stars though - the theme music of Charmed has been substituted with a different music. Why? I do not know, but it kind of robbed it of some of its charm. All the same it is a great DVD to own and at the sale price a good buy. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Charmed until the End, 18 Jan 2009
This review is from: Charmed - Season 8 [DVD] (DVD)
Season 8 definitely does not disapoint. With the girl's presumed dead, the Underworld tries to seize the Manor for Evil's power base. A new witch contacts Paige, a new evil rises, old foes return and a massive battle begins which will determine the fate of the Power Struggle once and for all. Season 8 is a must have for fans of the show and who ever is interested. Blessed be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Special Features, 12 Dec 2007
By 
flyinghyphen "flyinghyphen" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Charmed - Season 8 [DVD] (DVD)
Special Features are: The Story of Charmed - Genesis; The Story of Charmed - Charmed Again; To The Manor Born; Forever Charmed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forever Charmed, 16 April 2007
This review is from: Charmed - Season 8 [DVD] (DVD)
season 8 was one of the best seasons of the best show ever! the first episode introducing Billie Jenkins (Kaley Cuoco) a young witch that Paige is meant to be guiding as a whitelighter. Over the season, new characters arrive such as Coop who is a cupid, and Henry, a parole officer, and of course, Christy Jenkins - Billie's sister. with all these characters the show makes a wonderful ending, with so many guest stars, and i have to say i did cry all the way through the last 2 episodes - definite tear jerkers, but so fabulous. Must Have DVD collection x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing...But Charmed!!, 19 April 2009
This review is from: Charmed - Season 8 [DVD] (DVD)
Charmed: Season 8 was something that was in much debate about returning. The producers of the show knew they were going to have to create a very dramatic and different show to what we had experienced over the past seven years and in some ways they succeeded...others not so much.

One of the requirements of the eighth season was they employed new actors. So Dex, Coop, Henry, Billie, Christy; they may not have been your favourite characters and may not have compared to people they replaced like (unfortunately) Leo and Daryl to name just a few but they were a few of the main saviours of Charmed.

Some of the plotlines, SUCKED. The Billie and Christy thing for one thing seemed to eradicate the entire point of Charmed. Piper, Phoebe and Paige are the most powerful witches and although Billie grows on you with her young-witch 'tude, Christy is just downright annoying!

The whole escaping their death plotline was abandoned in the first few episodes which was admittedly a relief,although it was slightly anti-climatic.

That was the bad points. The good points. We had another season! No-one could really believe the Halliwells' destiny was to end up mortal. To never see Phoebe have that little girl? To never see Paige find her Mr-Right? To never found out - does Piper finally have Melinda? All those questions are answered.

The final episodes which is a HUGE battle are quite thrilling.

Forever Charmed is the final episode and also the best and the saddest. It'll make all true fans shed a tear. The music theme change has quite a sad tone if you put yourself in the right context but before this was released on DVD, on Living tv, I saw Season 8 with the original theme music.

This season didn't deliver everything, Charmed fans have grown to expect but it was a damn good season, nevertheless. If you're collecting a few sets, this should be on your list for simply the fact that it's the final seasons if you don't include the ones above.

Also - extra content is fantastic! You can see a glimpse of Lori Rom as Phoebe!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars All good things must come to an end., 26 Jan 2008
By 
D. M. York (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Charmed - Season 8 [DVD] (DVD)
It has to be said, Charmed is a unique television series. In spite of a definite "girly" feel in its contents and themes it is nonetheless an entertaining piece of television and something that my girlfriend and I have watched since its incept. By the admission of its creators it can be silly and has not won any awards, though it is still a delightful thing to watch. Series 8 has a lot to achieve, with there having been a big cliffhanger at the end of series 7 as well as the fact that it was intended to be the final series. This it manages to do quite well, on top of introducing an interesting new character in the form of Billie.

The show manages to contain the usual demon fighting as well as settle a lot of character points that have teased viewers for several series at least. Not the least of which included finding Phoebe and Paige husbands and tying up a lot of the loose ends that would haunt frequent viewers by the ending of a long running television series. In some ways this can seem a little bit rushed, however it is not done sloppily and can be forgiven very easily. The final episode is a very comfortable and uncomplicated one, not really and edge of your seat finale but more of a summery of sorts of the series and seems to bring in every major character that has ever appeared in the show. In many ways it is a gentle ending to a charming (no pun intended) show and they understandably didn't want to upset people.

In many ways it is very sad to think that this will complete Charmed, but at the same time it is good that the show realised that there was a time for it to bow out before it runs into the dark territory of endlessly persisting until it gets cancelled. It is a shame to see it go, though I think they would have been hard pressed to come up with a better series to end it with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Charmed forever and ever, 15 April 2007
By 
L. Mcnab "charmed's biggest fan" (the mo, scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Charmed - Season 8 [DVD] (DVD)
As sad as it was for me to hear yet another of my fave tv shows was coming to an end, i was dying to see how impressive the last season would be. it started off from just after the impressive season 7 finale left us at the sisters "funeral" and i wont say too much for those who havent seen it but although i was a bit doubtful that this season would be as good as season 7, it didnt fail to impress!!! i loved the last two episodes of the season they kicked ass and showed what made this show so good in the first place(it did help that there was all the special guest appearances)

If you have never bought any of the dvd sets (which you should have tut tut!!!) then you should own a little piece of charmed history with this final season collection!!!! may the charmed ones live forever!!!!

season 8 episode guide:

Still Charmed and Kicking

Malice in Wonderland

Run, Piper, Run

Desperate Housewitches

Rewitched

Kill Billie vol 1

The Last Picture Show

Battle of the Hexes

Hulkus Pocus

Vayas con Leos

Mr and Mrs Witch

Paybacks a Witch

Repo Manor

12 Angry Zen

The Last Temptation of Christy

Engaged and Confused

Generation Hex

The Torn Identity

The Jung and Restless

Gone with the Witches

Kill Billie vol 2

Forever Charmed

RIP Charmed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good finale, but a very poor season, 29 Sep 2011
This review is from: Charmed - Season 8 [DVD] (DVD)
WARNING- SPOILERS

I can only assume other reviewers were so impressed by the final two episodes that it cranked their ratings up a few stars (or maybe it's the long awaited DVD extras). Because how any Charmed viewer of any degree could rate this whole season 4 or 5 stars is completely beyond me.

Season 7 was supposed to be the final one and many didn't like this as it showed the Charmed Ones 'abandoning their heritage'...however I would argue that they said they were going to teach the next generation in safety so that they could take over...but anyway, on to season 8.

Unfortunately, the network cut their budget but demanded 'new blood', because of this Darryl is gone (hugely dissapointing) and Leo is only in half the season... but fear not, because we have Billie Jenkins, new witch on the block and Brad Kern's latest oppurtunity for skimpy ridiculous outfits (the three main actresses refused to wear anything like that for the final season). So we start off with Billie in a black B-movie outfit making her very hard to take seriously as a powerful witch and this continues with her being put in a leather super hero outfit (similar to what we see the sisters wearing in season 5). Anyway, a lot of time is spent developing Billie's character and because of this, we don't see the sisters fighting as much as I'd like. A lot of the episodes are poorly written, with very anticlimactic endings (Desperate Housewitches for example). Others are very unoriginal (Repo Manor for example simply combines two stories already done, not even that long ago). Billie turning against the Halliwells when she finds her sister is no where near as shocking as I think the writer's expected it to be and I'm afraid after big bads like The Source and Zankou, I was just wasn't that impressed.

The Ultimate Battle in the finale consists of both sets of sisters standing on the spot with their arms held out until the house explodes, the explosion is cool but the fight was awful and would've been much more interesting if they had used their own powers and oh, I dunno, maybe moved a bit. The final episode is very sweet, limited when it comes to action, there's a lot more talking and bringing the family together...however I do like the final scenes.

The best episodes, in my opinion, are "Run, Piper, Run", "Vaya Con Leos", "Engaged and Confused" and "12 Angry Zen". It is a huge shame Brian Krause had to leave, but he really shines in that episode along with Holly Marie Combs who I believe to have more chemistry and sheer acting talent than the rest of the cast.

This is the first DVD to include special features (if you have a multi-region DVD, buy the region 1 version, because this version doesn't include audio-commentaries or Easter Eggs). The featurettes are very interesting, though I would have loved a bloopers reel and perhaps more cast interviews. Not sure why we didn't have special features on the previous sets, especially considering they were still filming the series as the DVDs were being released, but better late than never and they are appreciated and worth watching.

Oh and I should also mention that the theme song 'How Soon Is Now' does not feature on these DVDs. Some sort of copyright issue meant they had to replace it with a weird twangy instrumental piece. Fortunately, all music besides that are left intact... it does take some getting used to though. Kinda sucks that we can't have the regular theme song for the last season, feels like one last slap to be honest :/

So 2 stars- 1 for the finale which, although good, wasn't as great as some people make out in my opinion. Then 1 for the bonus features, which are well worth watching, although after 7 seasons without a single bonus, they really freakin' should be!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Charmed - Season 8 [DVD]
Charmed - Season 8 [DVD] by Holly Marie Combs (DVD - 2007)
10.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews