Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

82 of 86 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The new look power of 3!!, 6 Sep 2005
By 
AyJay (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Charmed: Season 4 [DVD] (DVD)
Well it's all change in the 'Charmed' world now. I admit to not having high hopes after such a big character change, the top billed star leaving - how can you make up for that?
I'm happy to admit I was wrong. As much as I love Shannen Doherty, new cast member Rose McGowan is kick-ass. The younger half-sister is the daughter of a witch and White-lighter, so her power is a mix of Prue's and the 'orbing' abilities of a White-lighter.
Also the main men Leo and Cole are given bigger roles so there is a huge character growth all round for everyone.
I've tried to keep the more personal aspects out of the episode summaries.
Charmed Again (Part 1)
Charmed Again (Part 2)
After Prue's funeral Piper and Phoebe get the shock of their lives when they find out they have a younger sister Paige, the daughter of their Witch mother and her White-lighter lover. But what will Paige think of the Halliwell's danger filled world?
Hell Hath No Fury
Paige, fascinated by her new found magical powers, takes the Book of Shadows to work with her, much to the distress of Piper, who is also suppressing her feelings over Prue's death. All of Piper's hidden anger attracts a group of furies, who turn her into one of their own.
Enter The Demon
Still trying to get a handle on her powers Paige accidentally swaps bodies with Phoebe while making a potion. Meanwhile an apprentice Ninja kills his master, and it's up to our confused trio to vanquish him.
Size Matters
The demon Gamil shrinks his victims and makes them into figurines. The sisters walk right into his lair, and are shrunk to 5". Will they escape, or will they be baked in the kiln?
A Knight To Remember
While telling a story Paige summons a medical knight. Unfortunately he is followed by an evil sorceress intents on tricking him into marriage.
Brain Drain
Piper falls into a coma, and enters an alternate reality where the source convinces her she is crazy, and attempts to trick her into giving up her powers.
Black As Cole
A demon is accused of murdering witches who belong to the same coven. But the murderer is much closer to the Halliwell's. Is redemption for past sins possible?
Muse To My Ears
The sisters attempt to rescue kidnapped Muses.
A Paige From The Past
Still harbouring guilt over the accident that killed her adoptive parents Paige returns to the past with Leo. Back in the present two murderous ghosts process Phoebe and Cole, leaving Piper to separate them.
Trial By Magic
Serving jury duty, Phoebe has a premonition which reveals the accused is innocent, and a demon is guilty. Can the sisters find the demon, and can Phoebe convince the rest of the jury that the man is innocent?
Lost And Bound
A demon tries to deliver a 10 year old fire-starting orphan to the Source, to use his powers for evil. Piper and Leo fight to protect the child.
Charmed And Dangerous
There exists a semi truce between good and evil who band together to guard a mysterious entity known as the Hollow. That truce is broken when the Source releases the Hollow, which wastes to time in absorbing Piper's and Paige's powers. Two down, one to go...
The Three Faces Of Phoebe
Phoebe has cold feet over marrying Cole, so casts a spell, thus releasing a younger Phoebe, and a older Phoebe to help her make a decision.
Marry-Go-Round
The sisters' prepare for Phoebe's wedding, while the new source and the seer plan their own version of the wedding.
The Fifth Halliwell
With Piper and Leo, with newlywed Phoebe and Cole Paige feels like even more of an outsider. Plus she is the only one who can see something wrong with Cole.
Saving Private Leo
Two vengeful ghosts return from Leo's past endangering Piper's life.
Bite Me
Paige is bitten by a vampire and begins to turn. The vampire queen attempts to de-throne the new source.
We're Off To See The Wizard
Piper and Paige work with a wizard to try and stop the coronation of the new source.
Long Live The Queen
The new source now has his new Queen, while Piper appears ready to give up as new threats continually rain down on her destroyed family.
Womb Raider
The seers plan to steal the newly pregnant Queen's unborn baby, so she can raise it to be the next Source.
Witch Way Now?
The Angel of Destiny offers the sisters a chance to relinquish their powers and lead normal lives as a reward for their selfless sacrifices.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Charmed - Season 4, 2 Feb 2006
By 
Darren Harrison "DVD collector and reviewer" (Washington D.C.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Charmed: Season 4 [DVD] (DVD)
This show based on the adventures of three sisterly witches has now become the longest-running series featuring a female ensemble cast in the history of television and its not hard to understand the appeal of a show that seems like a cross between BUFFY THE VAMPIRE SLAYER and GILMORE GIELS.
For the first three seasons the show starred Shannon Doherty, Holly Marie Combs and Alyssa Milano. But following friction between Shannon and Alyssa the producers decided not to bring back Doherty for the fourth season and decided to keep her character Pru dead as she was at the close of the previous season. Apparently Doherty heard the news as she was on vacation.
Also gone was the creator of the show Constance M. Burge so one might be forgiven for thinking in the summer of 2001 that the show was in trouble. Think what you might of Doherty (and she has her share of fans and detractors) but the dynamic between the sisters had been interesting and become well developed.
How would the show bounce back?
Quite easily actually, for they were very fortunate to come across Rose McGowan, who was probably best known at that point for a supporting role in one of the SCREAM movies.
The season opens with Piper (played by Combs) mourning the death of Pru and lashing out at whitelighter (a magical being with the ability to heal) Leo for "saving the wrong sister." Desperate Piper casts a lost witch spell, which has unforseen consequences. Suddenly McGowan's character named Paige (get it, another girls name starting with the letter P) feels drawn to the remaining Halliwell sisters. Little does she know or suspect that they share the same mother.
That's right, how do you reconstitute the Power of Three with only two sisters, by creating a third half sister of course and it is this plot device that not only saved the show but added new life into it as it entered the Fall 2001 line-up on the WB.
Another major change for the show was the introduction of a season-long story arc. For the previous years we had become accustomed to featuring a diet of a demon-a-week, but with season four the sisters battle a number of minor demons while preparing to face The Source (of all evil). There is also a season-long subplot involving Phoebe (Milano) and her demon lover Cole (played by future Nip-Tuck star Julian McMahon) which takes an umber of twists and turns, not helped by a suspicious Paige.
My favorite episodes are actually episodes 13 and 14. The first of these includes the magic community being placed in danger when the Source releases the power of the Hollow and the second involves Phoebe attempting to make up her mind about Cole by conjuring up her younger and older self. Finally in the last episode of the season the sisters are finally offered a chance to live a normal life, something they have craved.
The episodes included in this season are:
1. Charmed Again Part 1
2. Charmed Again Part 2
3. Hell Hath No
4. Enter The Demon
5. Size Matters
6. A Knight To Remember
7. Brain Drain
8. Black As Cole
9. Muse To My Ears
10. A Paige From The Past
11. Trial By Magic
12. Lost And Bound
13. Charmed And Dangerous
14. The Three Faces Of Phoebe
15. Marry-Go-Round
16. The Fifth Halliwheel
17. Saving Private Leo
18. Bite Me
19. We're Off To See The Wizard
20. Long Live The Queen
21. Womb Raider
22. Witch Way Now?
Hopefully, one of these days we will get seasons of CHARMED with some specual features included, but until then at least we have the episodes themselves on DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fresh New Paige, 30 Aug 2005
By 
L. Mcnab "charmed's biggest fan" (the mo, scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Charmed: Season 4 [DVD] (DVD)
Keep the box sets rolling, we've been waiting long enough!!! Now don't get me wrong I loved Shannen Doherty's character Prue, the older sister always on the lookout for Piper and Phoebe's wellbeing, but I love Rose McGowan as Paige. She brings a new lease of life to the Charmed series as Piper and Phoebe's younger halfsister from their moms affair with her whitelighter! Its sorta like watching the first series again with Paige adapting to become a witch, managing her power of telekinesis(orbing objects and herslf none the less as oppossed to Prues squinting eyes and wave of the hand), and also to having a new family. Its fun to see the way Piper and Phoebe have to play different family roles, Piper now as the big sister having to be the responsible one instead of the mediator between Prue and Phoebe, and Phoebe having to be the middle sister mediating between Piper and Paige instead of being the rebelious younger sister. My fave episodes from the series have to be both parts of Charmed Again where Piper and Phoebe find out that they have a younger sister Paige who can help them form the Charmed Ones once again, Hell Hath No Fury where Piper becomes a Fury demon, A Paige From The Past where Paige and Leo revisit her teens to relive the day that Paiges adoptive parents were killed and Womb Raider where Phoebes unborn child plays havoc with her body. Here's a list of this seasons epidsodes:
Charmed Again (part 1 and 2)
Hell Hath No Fury
Enter The Demon
Size Matters
A Knight To Remember
Brain Drain
Black As Cole
Muse To My Ears
A Paige From The Past
Trial By Magic
Lost And Bound
Charmed And Dangerous
The Three Faces Of Phoebe
Marry-Go Round
The Fifth Halliwell
Saving Private Leo
Bite Me
We're Off To See The Wizard
Long Live The Queen
Womb Raider
Witch Way Now
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Charmed by season 4, 23 Dec 2005
This review is from: Charmed: Season 4 [DVD] (DVD)
Charmed season 4 is one of the best in my opinion. It is the season we are 1st introduced to Phoebe & Piper's half sister Paige - a new, quirky & refreshing addition to the family. The introduction of her character combined with the fact she is half whitelighter & half witch makes for some very entertaining & original episodes. The series enables us to see the more human side of the show - the side that concentrates on family which is just as important a factor as the daily demon battles. It is certainly a must own for all fans of the show. Watch season 4 & follow the sisters as they get to know each other and evolve in to the new power of 3. Top marks all round.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Charmed: Season Four, 11 Mar 2006
By 
L. C. MELVILL "laptop_owner" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Charmed: Season 4 [DVD] (DVD)
With the departure of Shannen Doherty (Prue), I was very curious, and a little nervous, to see what the new sister would be like, and whether or not I could warm up to her. I am pleased to say that Rose McGowan (Paige), fits right in. At the beginning of the series her acting is not up to the high standards of her co stars, as she had never been in a television show before 'Charmed', and of course she would be getting used to the new environment, but don't worry, you'll grow to love her! However, Holly Marie Combs (Piper) is the standout actress of this season. It isn't very often that I am moved to tears by anything on television, but Holly is so fantastic at her emotinal scenes, you can believe that she really is going through what her alter ego is. I am not ashamed to say that her breakdown scenes in 'Charmed Again' and 'Hell Hath No Fury', had me blubbing like a baby. What can I say? The recipie for a magical season of Charmed is Drama, great writing, great acting and directing, and just the right touch of comedy. Season Four has it all, and is one of my favourite seasons. Standout episodes are:
Charmed Again
Hell Hath No Fury
Charmed And Dangerous
Marry Go Round
Bite Me
Long Live The Queen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Charmed-Rox, 23 July 2006
This review is from: Charmed: Season 4 [DVD] (DVD)
I think this season is one of the best, because it focuses on the relationship between piper, pheobe and their new sister paige. At first they are reluctant to accept her as they are going through morning their deseased sister Prue. As the season goes on they accept her more and more. At the same time it focuses on pheobe and cole, because in one episode, black as cole, his demonic half is vanqueshed and pheobe has to get used to this idea. Nearer the end of the season leo and piper's future is more discussed, and they also vanquish the source of all evil, hey 3rd times a charm, right, I think the best episode to look out for are:

a knight to remember

brain drain

black as cole

lost and bound

long live the queen

womb raider
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Charmed Fanatic! Totally obsessed!, 16 Dec 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Charmed: Season 4 [DVD] (DVD)
Oh my god. I thought the world of charmed and the future for the power of three was going to be bleak as the main character Prue had been killed in the previos show. But all is not lost Charmed is back and dare i say better than ever. The new sister witch Paige seems to have brought an entire new life to the series. For one thing more humour seems to have been introduced to the show and another, well its simply just better. Theres more magic and more fun. If anyone out there is a huge charmed fanatic like myself then don;t worry, Prue may be gone but the witches are still Charmed and kicking and ready for more action. This season concentrates more on Phoebe and the love of her life Cole. Also we also get to see a hell of a lot more of Piper. Piper is now the eldest sister and Phoebe is the mediator between Piper and Paige. This season is DEFINATELY the best one yet! All i can say is damn! Why do we have to wait till February 27th to buy the next season. Someone must be enjoying the torture that it is casuing us as it is almost impossible to wait that long!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best and Darkest Season of Charmed, 6 May 2007
By 
Customer - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Charmed: Season 4 [DVD] (DVD)
I've always found that Charmed was at it's height back in the early days, this is true of season four which goes back to the darker roots of the premise. Shannen Doherty, having left the show rather abruptly at the end of season three caused the producers to find another sister to complete the Power of Three. The third sister (Paige) was cast, and is played by Rose McGowan. Initially I was rather sad to hear that Prue would not return to Charmed but in fact the story arc of introducing such a new pivotal character completely reinvigorates the show after a patchy third season. Since All Hell Breaks Loose ended on a cliffhanger there was only so much resolution the writers could give in regard to Prue's death and when Shannen Doherty did not wish to return to the role they did the best they could for the circumstance. The fourth season kicks off in creative fashion with the epic two parter 'Charmed Again'. These two episodes are the best season openers of Charmeds' entire eight season run, with compelling character development and action.

The writing for this season is solid and emotionally resonant, the show (for the last time until season seven) actually takes itself seriously again. I've always had a problem that Charmed became too much of a self-meta-parody and that future seasons relied too heavily upon silly plots and comedy. What makes season four so excellent is because it's far more serious and self reflective than other seasons; its dark and morally ambiguous in nature. Charmed was never too good at executing a well written story arc but here is a coherent and well conceived story that receives a satisfying conclusion. If you are going to bother spending any money on a season of Charmed then this should be it, there is a distinct drought of cringe-worthy moments and ill-continuity in season four. The biggest criticism that can be leveled against Charmed in general is it's complete disregard to almost all past events and continuity and it's (latter) reliance upon unoriginal ideas. Season four however does not fall foul to these failings and is actually a very good example of a well written and enjoyable season of television.

The first half of the season is a bit slow to get off the ground and mainly deals with episodic stories that are self contained. The first eight or so episodes deal with Paige's gradual acceptance into the Halliwell clan, as well as Cole's various demonic problems. The middle part sees the primary story arc begin; the Source becomes more and more threatening toward the Charmed Ones and the latter plot becomes interwoven with Cole's storyline for the rest of the year. The concluding half of the season is excellently executed and runs smoothly with several unexpected twists and turns. Evidently, the writers were on top form this year and the overall success of this season makes it a great shame that Charmed would go so downhill in quality thereafter. The last ten episodes or so are the best and warp things up well, the last episode 'Witch Way Now?' feels much like an epilogue rather than a season finale seeing as the main arc was concluded in the penultimate episode: 'Womb Raider'. This season also contains three of the best episodes in the shows history the magnificently dark 'Long Live the Queen', the thoughtful 'Brain Drain' and the mythos heavy 'Charmed and Dangerous'.

The characters themselves are self aware and emotionally in peril this season. Paige is a great character whose quirky nature contrasts with Pipers personality especially; the evolving relationship between Piper and Paige during this year is interesting to watch seeing as Piper is greatly unaccepting of Paige from the first episode. Phoebe is her cute and spunky self for the last time until she turns rather self-possessed in season five etc. Cole and Leo continue to be interesting and tortured characters, whilst Cole proves yet again he has depths far beyond the text we see on screen. Therefore, this season brings together everything that Charmed should have built upon, but sadly this is the best we get from the series. Though it still is mightily good however.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Onwards and Upwards, 21 April 2006
By 
D. M. York (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Charmed: Season 4 [DVD] (DVD)
Series 4 starts with a slight stumble, there being a lot having happened between the last episode in series 3. For whatever reasons Shannon Doherty resigned from the show and as such the beginning of series 4 has a lot of explaining to do, the mysterious and sudden death of Prue may leave fans wondering if they have missed an episode out somewhere. The clumsy way the series starts could easily have grounded the show permanently, however the introduction of the character of Page is a "charmed" move and after a few episodes attempting to deal with how the loss of Prue has affected Piper and Phoebe the show resumes successfully.

In some ways the subsequent series with Page go to show that the earlier series were somewhat dominated by the character of Prue with the majority of plot lines centred on her, series four onwards takes a more even view of the Charmed Ones, in fact I would consider it in many ways to be a great improvement.

As always, an excellent and imaginative show!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Charmed: Season 4 [DVD] (DVD)
brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Charmed - Series 4 [DVD]
Charmed - Series 4 [DVD] by Noel Nosseck (DVD - 2005)
11.80
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews