Customer Reviews


63 Reviews
5 star:
 (56)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


48 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Power of (series) 3!!
Season 3 is my favourite series so far.
This is the season when we were introduced to new character Cole Turner (Julian McMahon), who will be Phoebe's love interest. This is also the season when Piper and Leo are married. But most important of all - this is also the season that Shannen Doherty's Character Prue Halliwell exits the show, in the brilliant episode 'All...
Published on 28 July 2005 by AyJay

versus
4 of 58 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not a very good season!!! Compared to the others!
Charmed Season 3 is not a very good season! There are only about three good episodes! Featuring 'Coyote Piper' 'Bride And Gloom' and 'Look Who's Barking'. The only reason this season is rubbish is because it features a new character called Cole Turner (Julian McMahon) He bores me to death!!!! Overall this season is the worst compared to 1-7. DO NOT BUY THIS SEASON! IF YOU...
Published on 23 April 2006 by Mrs. S. Fiumefreddo


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

48 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Power of (series) 3!!, 28 July 2005
By 
AyJay (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Season 3 is my favourite series so far.
This is the season when we were introduced to new character Cole Turner (Julian McMahon), who will be Phoebe's love interest. This is also the season when Piper and Leo are married. But most important of all - this is also the season that Shannen Doherty's Character Prue Halliwell exits the show, in the brilliant episode 'All Hell Breaks Loose'. This is after Shannen's best ever performance (my view at least) in 'Primrose Empath'. Boy, can that woman act!
Other highlights over S3 include; Our introduction to Fairy's and trolls in 'Once apon a Time', a beautifully produced episode. The Halloween episode - 'All Halliwell's Eve' where the sisters go back in time to the 1600's. My favouriye guest star has to be the Angel of death (who also appears in season 7) who is introduced in 'Death Takes a Halliwell.

And the CHARMED humour is finely tuned in 'Westling With Demons' which features Prue and Phoebe in a demonic westling ring squaring up to Booker T, Scott Steiner and Buff Bagwell. And there are digs galore in 'Look Who's Barking' when Prue is turned into a dog
The Honeymoon's Over
Magic Hour
Once Upon a Time
All Halliwell's Eve
Sight Unseen
Primrose Empath
Power Outage
Sleuthing With the Enemy
Coyote Piper
We All Scream For Ice Cream
Blinded by the Whitelighter
Wrestling With Demons
Bride and Gloom
The Good, the Bad and the Cursed
Just Harried
Death Takes a Halliwell
Pre-Witched
Sin Francisco
The Demon Who Came In From the Cold
Exit Strategy
Look Who's Barking
All Hell Breaks Loose
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Best Seasons Ever, 22 Dec. 2006
This season is one of my favourites because I think it was when Charmed really started to pick up the pace a bit. Obviously I enjoyed seasons one & two otherwise I wouldn't have kept watching but season three will just blow you away from start to finish.
It begins with Piper and Leo trying to adjust to life as a couple when they are forbidden to be together. It also introduces a new character, the rather gorgeous Julian McMahon who plays Cole. He was sent to destroy the Charmed ones but instead falls for one of them-the beautiful, fun Phoebe. So this season concentrates on romance for two of the sisters, Prue however doesn't really have any romantic action this season. She goes on a few dates but her heart doesn't really seem to be in it. I don't think I would have liked to see her with anyone else as I thought she and Andy were really sweet together, plus it would have been a bit pointless to set up a new romance for her as this is her last ever season in Charmed.
Standout episodes this season are: The Honeymoons Over(great season opener, indicates where this season is going), Power Outage (to see Cole struggling with his dark side), Sleuthing With the Enemy (Phoebe discovers Cole's true nature), Coyote Piper (fun, also one for male fans as Holly Marie Combs wears a sexy outfit and does a dance that has to be seen to be believed), Bride and Gloom (the sisters turn evil and its fun to see what they're like), The Good, the Bad and the Cursed (it's unusual and takes a new twist on the traditional Western), Just Harried (Piper's wedding day=disaster), Sin Francisco (it's hilarious, especially Phoebe) and All Hell Breaks Loose (probably the best but most tragic episode out of all eight seasons).
The other episodes are good in parts or just okay. Some have really good ideas like `We all scream for Ice Cream' but just didn't really grab or convince me as much as the others.
This season Prue is the most powerful. Phoebe does gain a new power to levitate, which is good since she's always had the least active power of premonition. Piper gains a new power in `Look Who's Barking' which she can't control at first cue clocks flying off walls and watermelons on ceilings; it the power to blow things up. Prue got her power to astral project last year which she puts to some use this year. She doesn't gain any new powers this year but she is suddenly a kick-ass fighter. Although she did say she was going to a kickboxing class last year with Phoebe in `Ms Hellfire' Prue is a better fighter than Phoebe by the looks of things (watch `Wrestling with Demons' and you'll see what I mean). I have been doing kickboxing myself for five years and I know there's no way someone could be that good a fighter after just a year of kickboxing classes, so Prue's brilliant fighting does not make sense. However I didn't mind too much as it was cool to see her kick some ass, plus the Charmed ones are definitely more powerful now than they had ever been the two previous years.
Finally this season also sees the departure of Prue. Shannon Doherty's reasons for leaving all seem to be hearsay but one rumour was that she didn't get along with Alyssa Milano (they are hardly in any scenes together in the last six episodes or so of this season, coincidence?) The last ever episode with Prue ends on a cliff-hanger. Both Prue and Piper appear to die and Phoebe is trapped in hell, so the fate of the sisters seems undecided (this is never properly explained-see start of Season 4). The episode is extremely heart-breaking with Shannon Doherty giving her best performance ever, lashing out against the reporters outside her house & the police in the hospital, and then her tear-jerking reaction to Piper saying `I love you' and then (temporarily) dying from a gun-shot wound. By the way this episode definitely deserves the 15 certificate it is given as Piper getting shot is quite bloody.
Anyway this season is one of the best so I would definitely recommend adding it to your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars really good storylines,great acting,lots of action and romance, 2 Oct. 2006
I watched the episodes of this season several times over because there is so much to see and hear and think about and some great humour and really good storylines.I think the strength of Charmed lies in the fact that the three sisters Phoebe,Prue and Piper cannot survive without each other,like a lot of people in real-life who depend on their families for their survival.I also think a lot of people would like to be as cool,beautiful and brave as the sisters,a lot of people wish they were their own sisters,and many wish they could have one as a partner.The acting in season three is first-class from all members of the cast.At one point,in the episode called "Primrose Empath," I asked myself: "Is there a more beautiful sight than Shannen Doherty crying?"
I'm buying season two next:the people who cast Alyssa Milano,Shannen Doherty and Hollie Marie Combs as sisters did such a great job that when Doherty left the programme at the end of season three I found it unbearable to watch Charmed without her.And I think I would have felt the same if Milano or Combs had quit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Charmed: Season Three, 7 Mar. 2006
By 
L. C. MELVILL "laptop_owner" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Now here is where the show really starts to come into it's own. This season sees the addition of exciting and memorable new characters such as Cole Turner, the half-demon sent to kill the Charmed Ones, but who falls in love with Phoebe in the process. This season also unfortunatley sees the departure of Shannen Doherty and her character Prue, in one of the best episodes of Charmed ever written, 'All Hell Breaks Loose'. If you are looking for a dramatic and involved episode to keep you on the edge of your seat, that is the episode for you. And also, how could I write my review for the third season without mentioning my favourite couple, Piper and Leo. The couple finally tie the knot this season in the fantastic episode 'Just Harried'. We were all waiting for the couple to make it official, and they do it in true 'Charmed' style. The whole season is full of drama, suspense, excitement and also some great comedy. Season three is definatley one of the best seasons of Charmed. Standout episodes are:
All Hell Breaks Loose
Look Who's Barking
Sin Francisco
Just Harried
Coyote Piper
Primrose Empath
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


57 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the most memorable seasons yet!, 5 Aug. 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This being the last season in which we see Shannen Doherty it certainly is the one season every Charmed fan will remember forever. It opens with Leo and Piper yet to return from their trip to 'up there' and Phoebe and Prue Struggling to cope with running the house, the club and their supernatural lives alone without biting each others heads off.
This is one of my favourite seasons because it also introduces two new powers - Phoebe's levitation power (episode 1- The Honeymoon's Over) and Piper's combustion power, both long overdue!
A new face in the form of a pre Nip/Tuck and Fantastic Four Julian McMohan turns up as an ADA set out to destroy the Charmed ones for good but gets distracted by Phoebe's... charms, so to put it!
Some of the best episodes this season are:
-The Honeymoon's Over
-All Halliwell's Eve
-Primrose Empath
-Coyote Piper (my personal favourite just because of Piper's very nice dancing!)
-Bride and Gloom
-Death Takes a Halliwell
-The Demon who Came in from the Cold
-Exit Strategy
-Look Who's Barking
-All Hell Breaks Loose
However, some explaining needs to be done for the lesser 'good' episodes. We All Scream For Ice Cream in particular where I think the plot is just a bit ridiculous and Prue's attempt to bond with her father in the ice world comes out wooden, especially when she needs his help and says "I need you" as if she resents saying it.
The most memorable moments for Piper are when she is forced to keep away from Leo after their first attempt to get married and again when they do get married, Holly really pours it out in these episodes and it shows. Also the episode where she obtains her new power shows the more humourous side of Charmed when Piper's stress levels are like a rollercoaster Ride. And she really stuggles with deciding if she even wants to be a Charmed one making us all wonder if this would be the last season along with the rumours that Prue would be dying.
Seeing Phoebe finally get the spotlight with a new long-term love interest and new power is a good thing to see (it's just a shame she keeps the spotlight on her for the next two seasons). How she copes with her ability to levitate and the not knowing that Cole Turner is in fact a demon intent on killing them really adds suspense to this season. And she's blonde!
Although Prue's exit was unexpected, and could have been dealt with much better had she announced her leaving sooner, the writers still managed to make Prue's death episode (All hell breaks loose) the most memorable. Piper and Prue stick out in the episode because they were amidst in all the drama on the surface while Phoebe was 'down there' trying to prevent one of her sisters dying. It also sees Prue trying to become less strict with herself - going into photography and trying to find love after the death of Andy in season one.
Some questions come to mind regarding some oddities such as how the hell did Prue learn to fight all of a sudden in 'Wrestling with demons'? And some others which I can't quite remember...
But overall this season will definatly be 90% of all Charmed fan's favourite of all seasons. It simply is one of the best and a complete contrast to season one in wardrobe, story lines, demons, special effects and acting. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Third times the charm, 11 Nov. 2013
By 
T. R. Alexander (East Anglia, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This third season of 'Charmed' is a very entertaining one and is probably one of my favourite seasons from the shows entire run. Usually, even with series that I really enjoy, there is rarely a season that doesn't include a couple of episodes that I dislike but with Charmed season three there are no episode that I actively dislike. The season sees the introduction of a new character to the main cast, Phoebe's love interest Cole Turner nicely played by Julian McMahon and I think he is probably one of my favourite characters from the series. The season also sees Piper and Leo's relationship advance quite nicely and ends things with an interesting cliffhanger.

Of the twenty-two episodes in this season my favourites are probably the Halloween episode 'All Halliwell's Eve', 'Primrose Empath' that sees Prue's attempt to help an innocent has unexpected consequences, 'Blinded by the Whitelighter' that shows us the real of the Whitelightes for the first time and 'Bride & Gloom' where Prue is force to marry a Warlock. The season also includes The Good , the Bad & the Cursed and Sin Francisco which are both quite funny. If I had to choose a least favourite episode it would probably be the fairy episode 'Once Upon a Time'. The season finale 'All Hell Breaks Loose' is a relatively good episode with some nice moments even if the ultimate result of the episode was due to backstage politics.

Overall this was a very entertaining season of 'Charmed' and is well worth a full five stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Finest Season Of Charmed, 15 July 2006
By 
M. Lappin "---" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Season 3 was truely the best series of charmed. It saw the end to the original line up of Doherty/Combs/Milano and things just were not the same again. This season is full of great episodes - the season finale is by far the best episode of the show ever - Dohertys reaction to the death of Piper was heartwrenching.

Whilst no one really knows what happened on set (rumours about a Doherty/Milano feud are rife) the show has really gone down hill since Shannen left. The sex appeal, dominance and character that Shannen brought to the show has been dearly lost in the later seasons.

If you are wanting to get a season of charmed - this is the one to get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Everyday life + Supernatural = Great, 13 April 2011
This review is from: Charmed - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
One of many great shows from the late 90s in my opinion. "Early Edition" and "Charmed" being two of my favourites. Shows combining everyday life and something supernatural, which I think is an awesome and very entertaining combination. That was a very popular trend in TV shows created between 1995 and 2000 ("Buffy", "Angel" and "Touched by an Angel" are other examples of that kind of TV series). For those who don't know what this is all about, it follows three witch sisters living in San Fransisco. They have three different powers (bring time to a standstill, see the future and move objects using only the mind), but (almost) no one except them know they have these powers or know they are witches. They have to use these powers to deal with everything from demons to more regular stuff. You can probably imagine how entertaining it is. I also happen to find Holly Marie Combs and Alyssa Milano VERY HOT! Highly recommended. I have always just really liked the atmosphere in this show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars season 3, 26 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Charmed - Series 3 [DVD] (DVD)
charmed season 3 is a charm.the seasoon is action
and deamon filled season.It's has the sister's go to the past,vanquish deamon children but after that come's painful death of prue.
the honey moon's over 4/5
magic hour 4/5
once up on a time 4/5
all halliwell's eve 5/5
sight unseen 4/5
primrose empath 5/5
power outtage 5/5
sleuthing with the enemy 3/5
coyote piper 5/5
we all scream for ice cream 5/5
blinded by the whitelighter 4/5
wrestling with deamon's 5/5
bride and gloom 4/5
the good and the bad cursed 5/5
just harried 5/5
death take's a haliwell 4/5
pre-witched 5/5
sin-francisco 4/5
the deamon who came in from the cold 3/5
exit strategy 4/5
look who's barking 5/5
hell break's loose 5/5
my favorite episode was look who's barking
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The BEST of Prue, Piper & Phoebe, 18 Feb. 2006
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I personally think that this was the best seanson of Prue!
This is the last and personally the best season of prue, she gets turned into a dog, goes back to the 1600s, becomes an empath, saves little child demons (by accident of course), goes to the wild west, meets the angel of death,gets a stalker, becomes obsessed with her pride (spell), and then shows her best acting skills when the end comes to the legenary charmed ones!
For Piper & Phoebe this was on of their best seasons, and their last with Prue!
In this season Piper finally marrys her true love,leo, she looses her faith in the Elders, goes to her high-school reuniun, teams up with a demon, then dies (time then rewinds).
In this seanson Phoebe gets a little childish, hooks up with her futre hubby (then later divorced), betrays her sisters, becomes pure evil, gets involved with a cowboy fight, hooks up with a cop in the back of his van, then finally looses her sister!
Overall one of the best sesons yet!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Charmed - Series 3 [DVD]
Charmed - Series 3 [DVD] by Shannen Doherty (DVD - 2005)
£12.30
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews