Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


170 of 172 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elegant in its simplicity - human behaviour illustrated in a warming film
This delightful film explores the life of Pierre, who suddenly finds his life might soon be over as he waits for a heart donation which might not work. Meanwhile, his sister cares for him whilst wistfully searching for love, harbouring some bitterness from previous experiences. Initially, this leaves her somewhat cold, and slightly indifferent to Pierre's bad news, which...
Published on 6 July 2009 by Mindpower

versus
56 of 62 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Though Provoking
I bought this mainly for the purpose of keeping up my French and improving my daughter's knowledge of the language. Unlike your typical box office hits, there are no sensational special effects or high drama in this film (which, incidentally, do nothing for me anyway). It is, however, essentially a film about people and feelings. In that sense, it is typically French...
Published on 4 Sep 2010 by Mrs. Louise Mckay


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

170 of 172 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elegant in its simplicity - human behaviour illustrated in a warming film, 6 July 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paris [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
This delightful film explores the life of Pierre, who suddenly finds his life might soon be over as he waits for a heart donation which might not work. Meanwhile, his sister cares for him whilst wistfully searching for love, harbouring some bitterness from previous experiences. Initially, this leaves her somewhat cold, and slightly indifferent to Pierre's bad news, which adds to his sense of lonliness and helplessness.

As a downbeat Pierre views Paris from his balcony, in beautifully shot, atmoshperic scenes, he realises that people take life for granted, and feels sadness and a sense of injustice as he watches other characters "carefree" in the city.

These other characters blend in and out of love, using people, hurting each other, and generally displaying typical human behaviour. We are constantly reminded that they are lucky to be able to enjoy life, albeit with their various problems, whilst Pierre has seemingly little hope for the future.

At the same time, and with a fair degree of irony, poor immigrants from Cameroon try just to get into Paris at all.

Yes, at times the Paris-dwellers and their spontaneous love match-ups seem a little ridiculous, but this is deliberate; in satarising them, it draws our attention more strongly to the irony that we overlook the simple things available to us.

The magic of this film is that it takes well-worn, simple ideas, but presents them in a way which we can easily relate to. We empathise with characters whose problems, mainly in relationships, seem depressingly real, yet we are soon reminded to put things in perspective by the bad luck suffered by Pierre.

There is also a superb score accompanying the film, in particular the downtempo tracks which perfectly capture the mystery and bustle of the city at the same time (I enjoyed the music enough to find out who the artist is and make a purchase).

The messages are simple and deliberately presented in a refreshingly innocent, almost naive manner, creating a charming film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


80 of 86 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars French cinema at its best..., 25 July 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paris [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
What is it about French films that makes the best of them so deeply reflective in a way that few American and British films achieve? Maybe it's that France itself is such a beautiful and evocative country, maybe it's that the French have a lifestyle that, for us non-French, appears so stylish and romantic... whatever... but when they get it right they really are in a different class, and "Paris" most definitely gets it right.

Beautifully filmed, brilliantly acted, and underpinned by a superb soundtrack, the film explores "real" peoples' lives slowly and above all subtly. Not a great deal happens, and there are no conclusions to the stories involved - a guy gets diagnosed with a life threatening heart condition, another chap falls in love with one of his students, a lonely single mother and a market stall trader are hesitantly drawn together, and an African dreams of getting to Paris to start a new life. That's about it really. But it's the way that this is all put together & explored that makes the film, and which achieves its objective of trying to capture what Paris is to people who live there or dream of living there - which of course means that its infused with their, often vague, hopes & fears and it has no clear & tidy "Hollywood style" endings... life's not like that.

At times funny, at times charming, and ultimately quite moving, Klapisch directs the film without reverting to heavy-handed sentimentality or high drama to make his points.... in fact, exactly the opposite: witness the fleeting, beautifully poignant shot at the end of the film as the African compares the view on the postcard of Paris that has driven him to make his journey there, and which underpins his hopes for the future, with the reality of it... nothing more needs to be said or filmed to capture what he must be feeling.

Perhaps the greatest credit to "Paris" is that, even though it's two hours long, subtitled (which is never the easiest way to watch a film), and devoid of any clever plot twists or unexpected surprises to hold your attention, by the end of it all... you really don't want it to end. It's that good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


56 of 62 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Though Provoking, 4 Sep 2010
By 
Mrs. Louise Mckay "Bookworm" (Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Paris [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
I bought this mainly for the purpose of keeping up my French and improving my daughter's knowledge of the language. Unlike your typical box office hits, there are no sensational special effects or high drama in this film (which, incidentally, do nothing for me anyway). It is, however, essentially a film about people and feelings. In that sense, it is typically French and would not cut the mustard outside that country. The beginning can be a little puzzling, trying to work out how each character is going to fit into this jigsaw, but as the film progresses everything falls into place. Although the ultimate ending is never revealed (will the lead character's heart transplant be successful?), the film does have a relatively happy conclusion. After watching the film it's hard not to spend a moment or two looking at one's own life and imagining what would be truly important if faced with life on a transplant list - family and friends. Overall, a truly thought provoking and enjoyable film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth the wait, 18 Mar 2009
By 
RTough (Leeds,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paris [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
My wife and saw this film being advertised on the billboards in Paris last year but missed the opening...as it did not seem to be on general release in the UK we decided that it would bought as a dvd.
We are lovers of all things parisienne and this film captures the colours,the architecture and perhaps most of all the "quirkiness" of French filmaking...all the acting is top drawer and if you are at all a fan of Juliet Binoche add this to your collection...oh I forgot to mention the soundtrack! Stunning and mood capturing..

Ray Tough
Leeds
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Certainly Enjoyable, 11 July 2010
This review is from: Paris [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
A delightful but very slow paced film which I guess can only be described as an uncontroversial dilluted Parisianesque 'Crash'. It is like 'Crash' in the sense that the characters are all connected in some way. The plot centres mainly around Pierre who has a serious heart condition and his single middle aged sister, a university lecturer who is fed up with life and is enchanted with a pretty student, some market traders, a lady in a bakery and a young man from Cameroon trying to get to Paris.

I think the film would have benefited more from focused character development, pinpointing certain characters for the audience to really engage with and understand as opposed to lots of scanty stories, I feel as though I didnt really know the characters, this however does not remove from the charm of the film.

The cinematography was lovely especially the various shots of the city of Paris and the repetition of erik satie's gnossienne 1. Overall its a warming film and a good watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Souvent On Ris Pa A Paris, 6 April 2009
By 
DL Productions UK (Merseyside, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Paris [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
There's a lot that can be said about Paris, the city; it's great historical buildings, the landmarks, excellent new and exciting architecture, music, art - really I could go on. OK Paris isn't perfect, it has all the problems of the other capitals, but it's the historic architecture that really makes Paris what it is today, from what it started as, a small village, which has now sprawled into a 20 arrondissent city.

As I have said, Paris isn't perfect, and Cédric Klapisch sets out to show us why, in a very complex - multi persona movie, which can make you dizzy if you loose your place. The lead, Pierre (Romain Duris), is a young dancer who has got a serious and devastating heart condition; he's looking for a donor, but it's only got a 40% chance of working. His sister, Élise has decided to help him (played by Juliette Binoche (Les Amants Du Pont-Neuf)) and helps him with day to day things.

On the other side of Paris, we mainly see people's lives, like an architect, a young student, and a father who's dealing with a loss. But in Cameroon, we see a guy making his way to France.

This film is terribly complex, but very good. I watched it twice, once to get the gist, the second time to actually enjoy the film, so it does have a great come back to factor. Both Binoche and Duris show great potential, but sometimes Duris doesn't seem to be as occupied with the problem in hand, and it feels a bit dreamy - though sometimes people with a life-threatening disease do go into dreams, mainly due to pain or just so the mind can get away from the real issue.

The cinematography is just breath taking - this film has some of the best shots I've seen in ages of Paris, and really did take my breath away. Christophe Beaucarne should have won an award for this work. Even the duller scenes in the factory with the ugly graffiti on the van looks glorious - and I love the 3D world created during the middle of the movie.

This DVD isn't bad, I have to give credit to Optimum/Canal Studios for putting the English subtitles as separate entities - REALLY annoys me when studios think everyone in the UK cannot understand French, it's patronising, but thankfully the team have made it possible to turn them off! Well done guys, please, keep this up!

We're also treated on the audio front: 3 tracks in total, 2.0, which is pretty good, 5.1 and 5.1DTS, which is well mixed and is more expanded. Some people may argue this is gimmicky, but I like the option to watch this on 2.0 on the portable, and then 5.1 DTS on the big TV. Plus through my good speakers this is clear as a bell, I feel like I'm watching this for the first time when it was filmed on location.

Shame there are no other extras on this UK release, hopefully the French DVD has much more on it, I still have to investigate this.

I can't sing the praises high enough for this movie and the DVD, it's glorious and well presented, the dark scenes look fantastic, and the light scenes even better. Now all you need is a quiet moment where you won't be disturbed - and enjoy the marvel which is Paris.

5/5 on all fronts - except for the extras - BUY it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An unequivocal masterpiece, 7 Aug 2008
By 
D. Hepburn (Glasgow) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Paris [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
I have just watched it on the big screen at the GFT in Glasgow. Cinema at its finest. The city itself is featured spectacularly and the stories of the main characters are told with warmth and humour in a masterful screenplay. The subtitle translation for English speaking viewers captures all of the subtle pathos and comedy and the soundtrack is sublime. You wait a long time for gems like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best Napoleonic Period production, 6 Jun 2013
By 
Ernst Wiltmann "store746" (Parry Sound, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The movie is a true epic. I was fortunate enough to get a VHS with Engish subtitles 10 years back, in Canada.
It contain 2 parts, the first is the comming of age, of a young polish noble man, depicting the life and struggle of the polish people.
The polish nobles lived very much like their cousins in France, Germany and England, with an emphasis on culture and splendor, but little compassion for peasants.

The second is our protagonist joining the polish army, and army allied to France and fiercely loyal to Napoleon.
Who promised them an independant new Poland, with modern civil rights (Code de Civil).
First the troops are being shipped to the Caribean, where they have to put down a native rebellion. A task not much to the like of the Polish troopers, but obeyed nevertheless.
Next is Spain, where the troops commit plunder and pillaging the Spanish countryside, after having fought frustrating battles against insurgents.
Many Polish soldiers questioning themselves, about the high ideals the once wanted to uphold. Next off to Russia, very few return.
Now the battle has shifted to defend their homeland against Russian, Prussian and Austrian forces. Those battles are being fought with utter tenacity and renewed energy.
The odds are overhelmingly in their disfavor, and a heartbroken force of Survivors keeps fighting a battle of retreat way west of their homeland ....until everything has turned into ashes (Popioly). This epic was produced in Polands Communist years, so it enjoyed a practically limitless budged. The battle scenes are pretty awesome, with thousends of polish soldiers(extras)
filling the scenes. Today that is done with CGI effects. The costums are beautiful, the uniforms and weaponry as authentic as they could be. A real feast for history buffs, and a treat for the Polish soul.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Subtitled Films Paris, 11 Feb 2010
This review is from: Paris [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
At one time, I would never have bought a Foreign Film, but the French Films are usually very thrilling. Although Paris is not a Thriller, it is a truly beautiful film about Life & Death. Wonderful Actors and a good storyline. This film is well made and you become so wrapped up in the story, that you forget that you are watching a Sub-Titled film. A good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An unusual kind of movie, 30 Mar 2010
By 
LXIX (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paris [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Paris is the tale of a dying man who happens to live in a wonderful apartment with a panoramic view of the city. As his life slowly ebbs away due to his deteriorating heart condition, he spends his days gazing out on everyday life and at various people going about their business. This forms the basis of a series of vignettes around a variety of characters who live or work near him. This isn't a series of short stories - instead there are some overlaps and everything is anchored around the sad voyeur.

Highlights include the lecherous lecturer turned TV personality and the abattoir scene.

This movie provides some wonderful vistas of Paris, is stylishly filmed and has a fair sprinkling of melancholy, tragedy, comedy and drama.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Paris [DVD] [2008]
Paris [DVD] [2008] by Cédric Klapisch (DVD - 2009)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews