Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


52 of 52 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars British Film Making At Its Best
Adapted from a famous Stan Barstow novel the story evolves around Vic Brown's relationship with Ingrid Rothwell, a typist who works at the same place. When Ingrid falls pregnant, Vic is obliged to marry her and his life is turned upside down when he comes up against the mother-in-law from Hell wonderfully portrayed by Thora Hird. This is a fine example of British movie...
Published on 6 July 2002 by E. A. Redfearn

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice British film to watch
I like movies from the 1960s and I also had read this book some years before, but I don't remember seeing this movie before getting this DVD. The contrast in the picture seemed a bit high, as it is with other British made DVDs I have bought recently. The whites can get a bit washed out.
Published 15 months ago by john


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely superb, 1 Nov 2013
By 
Sandford "Sandy" (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
I can't say how many times I have watched this film. It is absolutely faultless both in production and editing. There is no flaw at all, which must be an accolade. A film for me that I will take to my grave. I don' t know the author's view on it, but I surmise that he was quietly pleased with the outcome. I encourage others to see the 80's TV version A Kind of Loving: The Complete Series [DVD] .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fab old film, 30 Oct 2013
This review is from: A Kind Of Loving [DVD] [1962] (DVD)
This is a lovely little film that everyone should see. It is highly recommended and a must see film from back in the day
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Kind of Loving, 4 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Kind Of Loving [DVD] [1962] (DVD)
Again total nostalgia. I was 22 years old in the Sixties - I remember it well!
Would recommend to lovers of the Sixties flms - my favourite era.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Nice British film to watch, 15 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Kind Of Loving [DVD] [1962] (DVD)
I like movies from the 1960s and I also had read this book some years before, but I don't remember seeing this movie before getting this DVD. The contrast in the picture seemed a bit high, as it is with other British made DVDs I have bought recently. The whites can get a bit washed out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars its a classic!, 16 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Kind Of Loving [DVD] [1962] (DVD)
If you are a fan of black and white 60's films then you will love this. Great cast, gritty and true performances from all.
I saw this film as a teenager and i am in my fifties now its just as i remembered it classic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "You do love me, Vic, don't you...?", 11 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Kind Of Loving [DVD] [1962] (DVD)
...words immortalised in this film about one man's anxiety wether to settle down, move away, or face his uncertain destiny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 21 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Kind Of Loving [DVD] [1962] (DVD)
My all time favorite film. Great acting and a wonderful story fully in keeping with the times i.e. 1950/60s Northern England.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Shows the attitudes of the era., 23 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A brilliant film that not only has a a great story --it also has fantastic performances from the great Alan Bates and Thora Hird. The film shows a perfect picture of what life was like for the ordinary, average working 'man' in that era. It's like a social history lesson in a way!
Most memorable is Thora Hird's reaction of utter disgust when Alan Bates vomits after getting drunk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A KIND OF LOVING., 20 Oct 2010
This review is from: A Kind Of Loving [DVD] [1962] (DVD)
Enjoyed most of the film, but was quite slow in parts, but good film for the period.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another British gem, 9 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Kind Of Loving [DVD] [1962] (DVD)
Anyone who has read my previous reviews on British films will know that I have a love affair with anything set "Oop North", This is probably because that's where I live. But you can't deny that they turned out some great films in the 60's and this is one of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Kind Of Loving [DVD] [1962]
A Kind Of Loving [DVD] [1962] by John Schlesinger (DVD - 2008)
9.64
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews