Customer Reviews


73 Reviews
5 star:
 (57)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


56 of 56 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars British Film Making At Its Best
Adapted from a famous Stan Barstow novel the story evolves around Vic Brown's relationship with Ingrid Rothwell, a typist who works at the same place. When Ingrid falls pregnant, Vic is obliged to marry her and his life is turned upside down when he comes up against the mother-in-law from Hell wonderfully portrayed by Thora Hird. This is a fine example of British movie...
Published on 6 July 2002 by E. A. Redfearn

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice British film to watch
I like movies from the 1960s and I also had read this book some years before, but I don't remember seeing this movie before getting this DVD. The contrast in the picture seemed a bit high, as it is with other British made DVDs I have bought recently. The whites can get a bit washed out.
Published on 15 April 2013 by john


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Historical acting masterclass, 14 Nov. 2009
By 
maria kelly (uxbridge england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Kind Of Loving [DVD] [1962] (DVD)
This film should appeal to all age groups. There is superb acting and depth of feeling. Almost a fly on the wall documentary of life in the early 60s, so much for the free love reputation of that era...here is real life with all its complexities.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A KIND OF HISTORY, 12 Feb. 2012
By 
This review is from: A Kind Of Loving [DVD] [1962] (DVD)
I was 16 in 1962 when this film was released and starting to find my feet in the world that existed then.
Two TV channels and visits to the cinema with films "U" - everybody,"A' - get someone to take you in! and "X' -16+ (Then containing scenes you now see in commercials shown all day!)The thrill of buying 45's and saving for an LP!.Youth clubs,coffee bars and the attraction of girls who either modeled themselves on Sandra Dee or Natalie Wood.NO reality TV and people with a work ethic(No work,no money!)NO chance of making a girl pregnant ignoring your responsibilities and letting the state pick up the bill!
Which is what, this,my favorite film of all time is all about.Alan Bates and June Ritchie(what happened to her?)are superb as the lead characters with the wonderful Thora Hird stealing every scene she appears in.
If you want to see a brilliant film capturing the mood of pre Beatles 60's when work and morality were king DONT MISS IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a great film, 17 Feb. 2010
By 
This review is from: A Kind Of Loving [DVD] [1962] (DVD)
The point is,we are gripped by a wave of nostalgia when we remember these films and rightly so,It is a briliant film and should be shown at school and give the youngsters an idea of the great times we lived through.The acting is great and real down to earth and it is great that these old film are now on dvd.I still look back on films i have seen in the 50s and long for them on dvd.They are usualy more expensive but worth it.It is the lack of swearing i like most of all and in current films from the U.S. it is ridiculous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Aye men were men, 7 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Kind Of Loving [DVD] [1962] (DVD)
Northern gritty drama in the vein of "Saturday Night and Sunday Morning" and " Room at The Top" brilliantly played by Alan Bates later to become Sir Alan Bates, a true thespian.
Shot in black and white it shows the stark reality of post war Britain in the opening shots kids playing in the streets then running past bombed buildings to a church where the story begins.
Boy sees girl, at his sisters wedding outside the church girl likes boy, and we see how this unfolds.
This was at a time when it was frowned on to be pregnant out of wedlock, how times have changed, there was an honesty about that time that is sadly lost now, of values and doing the right thing, and we see this with the emotional struggles of our pair of lovers.
Nothing changes really in the quest to find love except in the society at the time, and at this time men were tut men and a woman knew what was in store for her, marriage baby's staying at home, while hubby went to work and provided.
Brilliant and honest
Recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A kind of loving, 27 Feb. 2010
By 
Mrs. K. Collinge (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Kind Of Loving [DVD] [1962] (DVD)
A very good film,typical 60's storyline of working class lovers in the north with opposition from domineering parents.Thora Hird. Plenty of nostalgia if you were a teenager around that time.love recognising the scenery. Recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A kind of Loving, 14 Sept. 2009
By 
Jaye B (Lanarkshire, U.K) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Kind Of Loving [DVD] [1962] (DVD)
I remember watching this as a youngster with my mother, about thirty odd years ago, I loved this film then and still love it now, a great British gem!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For me, the Best of the Kitchen Sinkers, 24 Oct. 2009
By 
Andrew Davies (Hampton Wick, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Kind Of Loving [DVD] [1962] (DVD)
Actually I was introduced to Stan Barstow by the 1982 Granada TV Series starring Clive Wood as Vic, now also thankfully available on DVD at last. I read all the books in the Vic Brown trilogy and loved them, going on to read Room at the Top, Saturday Night and Sunday Morning, The Loneliness of the Long Distance Runner, A Taste of Honey and the rest. Then a couple of years later, Channel 4 showed this 1962 film adaptation of the first in the trilogy. John Schlesinger's first film, it in turn opened up the whole Kitchen Sink drama genre for me. I see it as the best. It's not patronising to the working class and portrays family interaction and conflict in a way I could identify with more than its rivals. The central performances, particularly Alan Bates and a giant outing by the colossus that is Thora Hird, are hugely convincing. It's quoteable too, in that way I love. Many a time have I defused a tiff with my beloved wife by saying "Yes, and I'm your husband... if you did but know it."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GRIM NORTH A MASTERPIECE, 14 Nov. 2011
By 
angela (lancashire uk) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Kind Of Loving [DVD] [1962] (DVD)
A young north country draughtsman is forced into marriage and has to live with his dragon like mother in law.Its a blunt melodrama not unlike saturday night sunday morning type drama.Its well written by Keith Waterhouse & Willis Hall from the Stan Barstow novel.John Schlesinger who strikingly directed this film and the brilliant cast and exceptional urban photography make this one of the most memorable films that I have ever watched.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 1962 Working-Class Marital Drama, 22 April 2012
By 
Robert Amsel (Steelton, PA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Kind Of Loving [DVD] [1962] (DVD)
This 1962 English working-class drama stars Alan Bates in his handsome prime as a young man, Vic, who gets roped into marriage with Ingrid (June Ritchie) after he impregnates her because he was too embarrassed to buy condoms from a female pharmacist. Unable to afford their own place, the young couple move in with Ingrid's mother (Thora Bird), who turns out to be a mother-in-law from hell. Mommy-in-Law Dearest soon has the couple at one another's throats and their marriage's only chance of survival is to break free of the old hag completely. The film was sensitively directed by John Schlesinger. This slice-of-life, kitchen-sink drama fits right in with other British movies of the period, such as Poor Cow, The L-Shaped Room, A Touch of Honey, Saturday Night and Sunday Morning, The Loneliness of the Long-Distance Runner, This Sporting Life, and Look Back in Anger.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 30 May 2013
This review is from: A Kind Of Loving [DVD] [1962] (DVD)
I've watched the film so many times and each time it's as fresh as ever. I've just treated myself to a Kindle copy of the book to re-read on holiday. Fabulous acting adapted from Stan Barstow's novel. Vic Brown and Ingrid Rothwell, two ill-matched youngsters forced into a marriage that has no chance of working. Living with Ingrid's nightmare of a mother, wonderfully played by Thora Hird, life is a struggle. Well worth a download for good, old-fashioned entertainment in black and white. Back streets, steam trains and brass bands. Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Kind Of Loving [DVD] [1962]
A Kind Of Loving [DVD] [1962] by John Schlesinger (DVD - 2008)
£9.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews