Customer Reviews


64 Reviews
5 star:
 (49)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


56 of 56 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars British Film Making At Its Best
Adapted from a famous Stan Barstow novel the story evolves around Vic Brown's relationship with Ingrid Rothwell, a typist who works at the same place. When Ingrid falls pregnant, Vic is obliged to marry her and his life is turned upside down when he comes up against the mother-in-law from Hell wonderfully portrayed by Thora Hird. This is a fine example of British movie...
Published on 6 July 2002 by E. A. Redfearn

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice British film to watch
I like movies from the 1960s and I also had read this book some years before, but I don't remember seeing this movie before getting this DVD. The contrast in the picture seemed a bit high, as it is with other British made DVDs I have bought recently. The whites can get a bit washed out.
Published 20 months ago by john


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

56 of 56 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars British Film Making At Its Best, 6 July 2002
By 
E. A. Redfearn "eredfearn2" (Middlesbrough) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Adapted from a famous Stan Barstow novel the story evolves around Vic Brown's relationship with Ingrid Rothwell, a typist who works at the same place. When Ingrid falls pregnant, Vic is obliged to marry her and his life is turned upside down when he comes up against the mother-in-law from Hell wonderfully portrayed by Thora Hird. This is a fine example of British movie making and is worth seeing for the performances by Alan Bates; June Ritchie and of course, Thora Hird. Controversial at the time since it shows a partially nude June Ritchie which was taboo at the time, it looks dated now. But one cannot deny it was a fine achievement for its time. Good picture and sound make the DVD version a good buy. Shame there are no other features available; a trailer would have been nice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably the best British film ever!, 4 July 2010
By 
H. Hopkins (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Kind Of Loving [DVD] [1962] (DVD)
This repackaged version of John Schlesinger's seminal masterpiece A Kind of Loving, is still sadly not the definitive restoration so sorely needed for this the very finest of British films. The print appears to be the same as that previously released by Momentum, and comes as a very grainy version with much of the original detail lost. As a result, Schlesinger's masterful attention to detail and the exquisite beauty of Denys N. Coop's black & white photography is still compromised in this edition. Additionally, this may also be a slightly shorter version than the previous release. Let's hope the likes of US restorer Criterion might get hold of it, and do what they did for their Region 1 Billy Liar double disc restoration, which is one of the best DVD restoration and extras packages on the market.

That said, very little can spike the director's genius and the utterly perfect script from legends Keith Waterhouse & Willis Hall. Of all the northern film dramas of the period, A Kind of Loving is the one that tells it how it really was. The awkward and touching innocence of Alan Bates' Vic and June Ritchie's Brenda, was socially par for the course in pre Beatles Britain - which was still in a kind of frozen post war shock.

This is a film that was rightfully shot in black & white, and in that monochrome spirit, Schlesinger so skilfully reminds us that cold rainy streets and packed buses with steamed up windows can still be the stuff of romance. Vic's tender joy at having hooked Brenda into a date on Saturday night is truly palpable, and identifies in all of us that special romantic rush that blots out all our worldly worries.

A Kind of Loving is a seminal British classic that deserves the full uncut restoration treatment with supporting documentaries and commentaries. Studio Canal please take note for the forthcoming Blu-Ray version which I'm sure will soon be on the cards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Early 60s spot on., 22 April 2006
Believe me, this might as well be an early 60s documentary. Just the way it was for plenty of Vic's and Ingrid's, including staying with the mother in law. Incidently, Thora Hird wasn't the worst. A sort of semi-staid Britain just before the Beatles exploded on the scene. Great acting all round. From the script to the decor, clothing and shortage of cars on the road, it's just the way it was. No features or trailer, who cares. If you want to time travel back to early 60s UK and be a fly on the wall in almost any home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite film, 8 Dec 2009
By 
Colin Harsent (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Kind Of Loving [DVD] [1962] (DVD)
Sorry to harp on. At a time when we produced the best films....Aln Bates is one of the greatest actors of his time. This film is beautifully set. It is honest with a wonderful script. A reflection of the times. The awkwardeness of the times shines through. Belivable and showing a message still relevant today. Watch and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ruddy good, 10 Dec 2009
By 
W. Hamilton (Sydney, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Kind Of Loving [DVD] [1962] (DVD)
The Manchester accents can make the dialogue elusive at times, but this is a superior production from all important points of view: script, direction, acting. The location shooting is absolutely wonderful - never a shadow on the bitumen. The story is as straight forward as a half-pint of lager. but it is handled with such conviction and honesty by all concerned, nothing seems the least bit stale. A worthy addition to any DVD collection of fine cinema.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece in monochrome, 21 July 2011
By 
John A. Stedman (Rye UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Kind Of Loving [DVD] [1962] (DVD)
John Schlesinger has the ability to portray life as it was, not through a rose tinted window. His documentaries are second to none in my view and this drama reflects the world as it was at the tinme. It is the detail that he captures that is astonishing. Things that you had long forgotten and often missing in films of this genre. Being made in black and white somehow adds to the starkness of the reality - the grimy scenes of a Northern England industrial city on a wet winter's morning with a hint of sun being reflected in the puddles and the condensation of breath in the air. The tobacco kiosk, dimly lit in a pedestrian passageway, with just the glow of a warm incandescant lamp through the serving window, itself lined with tubes of fruit sweets and mints priced from 3d. The beams of the projector in a cinema, dancing in the thick cigarette smoke. The open platform double deck bus home on a cold evening, again the dim glow of the lightbulbs on the lower deck, condensation running down the windows, and the whine of the gearbox underneath. Fabulous film with a simple and realistic story. 100% enjoyment of the kind that's not made anymore. Don't even hesitate on this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I agree......, 18 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Kind Of Loving [DVD] [1962] (DVD)
I had seen many of the others, A Taste of Honey, This Sporting Life, Saturday Night, Sunday Morning, mostly on tv, but not this one, so I ordered the DVD. I have flicked through some of the other reviews again, and they describe the film very well.

When I saw the first shots leading to the wedding scene I sat up in my seat, very impressed indeed. The high standard of acting and filming and story development, with all it's ambiguities, was maintained throughout. And I agree, the story is still very relevant.

I can't see any reason not to describe this as a masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A sweet coming of age drama, 7 Jun 2011
By 
M. Collins "Marvela" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Kind Of Loving [DVD] [1962] (DVD)
A 'Kind of Loving' is the type of film you watch on a quiet night in, as it gently touches your heart in the right place.

I first watched it over 10 years ago and have often wondered why it's not been shown more on satellite or on terrestrial TV......

Both actors - Alan Bates and June Ritchie - do well in their respective parts as the young lovers with dating /marriage troubles to face, as does Thora Hird, as the interfering mother.

I would highly recommend this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm just loving "A Kind of Loving" superb British classic, 16 Dec 2009
By 
JK "J. K." (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: A Kind Of Loving [DVD] [1962] (DVD)
What I enjoyed most about this film was it's simplicity, honesty and depth of characterisation. Back in the 1960s they could produce a movie masterclass on a tiny budget because they had acting greats like Alan Bates and Thora Herd tearing through the script. There isn't anything complicated in the plot, it's a love story set amidst serious family conflict, but there's stacks of tension as Alan Bates goes to war with Thora Herd who plays the ultimate disapproving mother-in-law obsessed with her daughter. At the time of release A Kind of Loving was considered incredibly racy, raunchy and probably one to avoid with it's themes of sex before marriage and unplanned pregnancy. There's a wonderful turning point in the film when Alan Bates eventually confronts his mother-in-law and stands up for both himself and his girl but; I'm not going to tell you if there's a happy ending!! A brave film for it's time, tackling issues that weren't usually discussed outside of the home never mind watched in the cinema, and packed with atmosphere. A real slice of British social history and a must have for those with an interest in vintage British film. Picture and audio quality were fine, no problems, just a great allround film experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Historical acting masterclass, 14 Nov 2009
By 
maria kelly (uxbridge england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Kind Of Loving [DVD] [1962] (DVD)
This film should appeal to all age groups. There is superb acting and depth of feeling. Almost a fly on the wall documentary of life in the early 60s, so much for the free love reputation of that era...here is real life with all its complexities.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Kind Of Loving [DVD] [1962]
A Kind Of Loving [DVD] [1962] by John Schlesinger (DVD - 2008)
£7.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews