Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Old school Hip Hop classic
I remember seeing this film back in 1984 - on my 12th birthday. Hip Hop was not big then, so seeing a feature film with my (then) favourite rappers and dancers The Rock Steady Crew, was a blast. True, it's an old, tacky, badly acted film with a weak plot, but still it potrays the rise of Hip Hop the way we want to remember it. And I love it.
Published on 9 Sep 2001 by Louise Skou Qvist Alenkær

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars eighties fan
I remember going to the cinema to see this film when it was first released, and loved it......mainly for the breakdancing. After watching it again, well, i was young. From a nostalgic point of view though, the dancing and music was a great reminder of some of the good things to come out of the eighties.
Published on 25 Aug 2011 by bloaty13


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Old school Hip Hop classic, 9 Sep 2001
By 
Louise Skou Qvist Alenkær (Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Beat Street [DVD] (DVD)
I remember seeing this film back in 1984 - on my 12th birthday. Hip Hop was not big then, so seeing a feature film with my (then) favourite rappers and dancers The Rock Steady Crew, was a blast. True, it's an old, tacky, badly acted film with a weak plot, but still it potrays the rise of Hip Hop the way we want to remember it. And I love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Old School Hip-Hop treat, 4 Nov 2002
This review is from: Beat Street [DVD] (DVD)
for those of you who remember the early 80's break dance craze, if you were into it in a big way then you should remeber this feature film. Has a story line has loads of great music and the challenge at the Roxy has all the best breakdance moves that you'll never forget. It's even got a bit of love, a bit of classical dance and some awesome tagging and burners (spraying on walls and trains)!! Get it while you can, i spent 3 years trying to get this!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "all you homebwoys are bwiters" quote from the film..., 30 Sep 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Beat Street [DVD] (DVD)
simply a classic. if you havent seen this and have any interest in old skool hip hop/electro and/or graffiti then this is for you. not the best acting, not the best plot, but this film has a certain something that encompasses all that was excellent about the good old days of breakdancing, graffiti and dj'ing. one of my all time faves!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent music & breathtaking Breakdancing, 17 Sep 2001
By A Customer
Grandmaster Melle Mel, The Treacherous Three, Afrika Bambaataa & The Soul Sonic Force & Both The New York City Breakers & The Rock Steady Crew all come togther to make Possibley The best Hip Hop movie ever, Excellent music & breathtaking Breakdancing overcome some ordiary acting to create a fantastic look in to early Hip Hop in the 1980's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The very essance of early Hip-Hop, 25 April 2002
This film was released back in the early eighties when things were really kicking off in the States. It captures perfectly the roots of Hip-Hop culture when rap, breakdance and graffitti went hand-in-hand. If you love rap music but are too young to know what it was like when head-bands and track-suits ruled New York, check this film out. Unlike the images created by the gun-toting 'gangsta' rappers of today, back then the whole scene was geared towards less life-threatening acts of gang hostility - like Breakdance battles!
With the likes of the famous Rock Steady Crew busting out some old skool moves, you can't really lose with this for the asking price.
I think I'm going to cry - A classic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Any B-Boys in the house?, 30 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Beat Street [DVD] (DVD)
This is a classic low budget hip-hop movie, which contains excellent mixng and record scratching, breaking and popping, cool grafitti and a general insight into the old school hip hop scene. The movie also features Grandmaster Melle Mel and Afrika Bambaataa. If breakdancing/hip-hop is your thing, then this is a must for any b-boy's collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sound of the future, 1 Dec 2005
This review is from: Beat Street [DVD] (DVD)
The thing I most remember about Beat Street is the trailer. I was 10 years old at the time and had never heard anything like the sound of "scratching". I just couldn't wait to find out how it was made!
Then I saw the movie two times at the cinema and fell in love with "Break"...
Films that came afterwards, like Breakdance and Electric Boogaloo, are lighter, more California style (yet I still saw them loads of times and have the albums). Beat Street as I remember was a FILM, not an extended video clip.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The ultimate 80's hip hop film, 30 Nov 2001
By A Customer
Having seen this film many times when it was originally released i have tried for years to obtain this classic and now i can finally own it I can't wait !
The story line is good but the break dancing is the best i have ever seen so be prepared to be blown away when the challange scene comes up in the "Roxy"
For those of you bought up in the 80's with breaking music & slowly progressing on through house & Acid into the rave scene you will enjoy this nostalgic trip which still gives me a real buzz.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Hip Hop Classic, 30 Sep 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Beat Street [DVD] (DVD)
This movie puts Breakdance and other dance music to shame. An absolute classic featuring some of the greatest tunes ever to grace the twin decks.
Without doubt, some of the best dance scenes, with New York City Breakers, stealing the show. I waited years to get an old copy of this - now its out on DVD - Heaven
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic B-Boy Movie, 27 Aug 2009
By 
J. Howell "John Howell" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Beat Street [DVD] (DVD)
This film encapsulates the mixture of street hip hop and b-boy lifestyle that was all about positivity in a bleak environment. It takes me back to an era that is long forgotten amongst the guns and drug fuelled rap that permeates the hip hop culture of today.

A great movie with hip hop icons! Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa30ab2b8)

This product

Beat Street [DVD]
Beat Street [DVD] by Stan Lathan (DVD - 2008)
£10.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews