Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GOOD BUT NOT THE BEST OF BRAZIL
There's absolutely nothing wrong with this film in what it seeks to portray, and would rate it even higher if I had not seen Ciudad de Dios and the incredible Central Station. Those latter films were incomparable in the force and feeling which they conveyed, and indeed this film is no slouch either. It's just that it doesn't quite hit the spot in the same way, or perhaps...
Published on 26 Sep 2012 by H. L. Mason

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Wrong subtitles info
There were no Spanish subtitles available as per the info from the merchant, had I known this I wouldn't have ordered the DVD.
Published 23 months ago by Stefan


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GOOD BUT NOT THE BEST OF BRAZIL, 26 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: City Of Men [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
There's absolutely nothing wrong with this film in what it seeks to portray, and would rate it even higher if I had not seen Ciudad de Dios and the incredible Central Station. Those latter films were incomparable in the force and feeling which they conveyed, and indeed this film is no slouch either. It's just that it doesn't quite hit the spot in the same way, or perhaps came a bit late to hit the same spot with the same impact.
That said, this is a very well acted and convincing depiction of the jungle youth that populate much of the favelas in Rio de Janeiro. There is nothing left to the imagination in this searing drama about gang warfare among gun and machine gun toting teenagers who fight to establish their claim to some rocky terrain high above the famous Copacabana beach.
The story is well developed and the direction is well up to speed. The multiple flashbacks are shown in what has now become almost, de rigueur, desaturated colour, but none the worse for that.
All in all, this is a fine film and was well worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bleak reality but stunning film, 28 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: City Of Men [DVD] (DVD)
A captivating and superb film, amazingly acted and beautifully shot. The ongoing bleakness of the cycle of drug problems and gangs is never far away but this adds to the empathy I felt for the central characters and their plight. Heartily recommended +++++
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stark reality, 9 Aug 2011
By 
Edward Rex (Boynton Beach, FL United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: City Of Men [DVD] (DVD)
A stark reality, well filmed, incredible inexperienced street kids as actors, Rio's dark side. Glad I hunted around for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars City of despair, 7 Feb 2009
This review is from: City Of Men [DVD] (DVD)
Set in the favelas overlooking downtown Rio, this hardy tale of two friends going through a rite of passage is admirable in allowing us a glimpse of the harsh realities of life in the slums.

These failed communities, consisting of poverty, broken families and criminal gangs, are self perpetuating and our two lads (Ace and Wallace) have to make a choice between submitting to the favelan way of life or leaving.

Absent male role models is the main theme of this film and it delivers this strong message over in a thoroughly engaging way.

My only gripe was the difficulty in understanding who was who, which doesn't become apparent until at least half way through the film.

Other than that it shines.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Softly murdered someday soon, 9 Sep 2012
By 
Dr. Delvis Memphistopheles "FIST" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: City Of Men [DVD] (DVD)
A docu story about men and multiple binds of entrapment in poverty stricken life roles, forever being caught within dreams of ascending the top of a dung heap and then looking downwards. Within the urban sprawl of Rio, a one-way ticket out of poverty is peddling dope. To ensure optimum selling, having a few guns given to the soldiers and then shooting the rivals is a key requisite.

The film focuses on men, in particular the emotional impact of absent fathers and the adolescent dreams of trying to cement Humpty back into family life. Trouble is Humpty shattered into a thousand pieces and to stick him back takes more than glue. The central theme is about redemption and friendship overcoming all the nihilism. The problems the film highlights are the deadly impacts of poverty, as the life span of a gangster is very short. In some cases they do not get beyond 15. Meanwhile those at the top of the pile are forever trapped in mind paranoia, where betrayal by a best friend is forever hovering.

A stunning film about inter gang conflict, shot in multiple time frames highlighting the strength and fragility of human relationships, minute decisions, their importance and how men who have just shed being boys, become embedded within a culture of violence as an expected norm, then it details how they all escape their collective pasts. The world turns into a rattle of bullets.

The dialogue is swift, the acting brutally real, the action all too human whilst twisted into knots that become gut wrenching.

Another stunning film about the poverty of human life to be filed with La Haine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not quite City of God, 2 April 2009
By 
A. Croake (Derby, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: City Of Men [DVD] (DVD)
This is a good film but you are always going to compare it to City of God and it ain't up to that standard. Yet if you watch the film in its own right then it is a good a movie. It isn't as slick and intelligent as City of God and it doesn't run that smoothly as at times as it jumps from one thing to another but it is still decent and worth a purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Wrong subtitles info, 23 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: City Of Men [DVD] (DVD)
There were no Spanish subtitles available as per the info from the merchant, had I known this I wouldn't have ordered the DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars DVD, 8 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: City Of Men [DVD] (DVD)
This was a great movie, I really enjoyed it, It was a good purchase and not too expensive, I was pleased
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 10 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: City Of Men [DVD] (DVD)
Rubbish film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Weak Action, 18 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: City Of Men [DVD] (DVD)
I don't understand the hype towards this flick, I watched it & thought, okay, the storyline is fine, nothing to brag about. The action scenes seemed weak to me, or how it was captured on camera!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

City Of Men [DVD]
City Of Men [DVD] by Paulo Morelli (DVD - 2009)
£8.62
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews