Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
on 3 October 2008
Like pretty much every other fan of the series around here, I gave up on waiting and imported a copy right about the time they decided to release GS4 before GS3. I honestly didn't think we'd ever see it on British shelves, so I'm really happy about this.

This, while probably the best game of the series in my opinion, is going to make very little sense to you if you've never played any of the games before this, so it'd probably be beneficial to you to get the others. I mean, there isn't anything in the gameplay that requires an intimate knowledge of things you don't see in T&T, but as has been said before, you'll be missing out on some awesome character development. And I think you won't really feel the impact of some things unless you've been following along through the whole Ace Attorney series.

Amazon tells me this should be between 75 and 300 words, which won't be happening if I'm allowed to ramble on, so I'll just say that both the music and the side characters are as great as ever. I find quite a lot of replay value in running into certain characters and just letting their themes play on and on. But maybe you normal people won't feel the same way. Whatever. Just be happy this damn game's finally out!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
Objection!
Phoenix Wright: Trials and Tribulations on the Nintendo DS. The third of the series starts as you playing as Mia who was Phoenix's mentor who was murdered at the start of the very first game. The third instalment has five chapters unlike the second which only has one. The first and third case you play as Mia in the past and the last case links all previous cases together past and present.
Nothing new from the previous games but the third brings in new characters and some old legends too. This game does it's best to tie up storylines and characters such as Mia Fey and Phoenix Wright and because of the release of Apollo Justice which was released in the UK before T&T, it looks like this is the end for Mr Wright as the main story character.

The game play is the same as the others with the return of the Psyche-Locks. The only change I would say there is in this game is taking control of Mia for two cases and something also in the last case.

Like I mentioned earlier, most of this game is related, and three of the five centres around a character called Dahlia Hawthorne. The second case features items and props from the Fey family and the third case sees the return of Maggey Byrde.

Godot is one of the main new characters and is a new prosecutor against Phoenix but he seems to know who you are. As you play the game and Mia's old cases you can work out who he is very easily but I won't spoil it for you in here.

I would have liked this review to be longer but I can't without giving anything away :(

The cases are fun but nothing compares to the last case which is the best not only in this game but all games.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 24 January 2009
Phoenix Wright is back with the most amazing game yet! There are five cases in this one of the series, and I found them as infuriatingly enjoyable as the last two, if not more. All the cases tie together a lot better than they did in the last two, with a VERY surprising twist at the end.
You play as Mia, Phoenix's old boss, who dies in the first game, and Phoenix in this game, but, for all you dedicated players: Miles Edgeworth is back, and YOU GET TO PLAY AS HIM!!!
It's better than any of the others. The five cases are jammed-packed with mystery, it's a little more sophisticated than the others, with one particularly bad villain swearing once in the game. Being a 12+, you'd expect something like that anyway, in fact, as they murder cases, I was surprised the other two didn't have swear words.
There is all the old favourites too: Gumshoe, Maya, Pearl, but also Larry Butz, Maggey Bride and Adrian Andrews. BEWARE: Spoilers present, so it's best to play Justice for All and Ace Attorney before this one, as there are flashbacks and references to other cases from other games.
Another totally successful Phoenix Wright game - but keep in mind that a walkthrough might be of use later on in the game for the more stubborn cross-examinations, so have a search engine ready!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 2 November 2008
Every once in a while a game comes along where you are immersed into that world, where you actually feel like you know the characters in the game, where you wish you could climb into your DS and hang out with those character's (think of the 'take on me' video by a-ha :D) and Phoenix Wright is such a game. Not just this one, but all 3 of them are so special.

I got the American version of this game a while ago because i just couldnt wait for the UK release, and also because they released Apollo Justice first which was annoying. although i havent played that yet. i now know it was delayed in release because of a suicide scene. Well, we read worse stuff in the papers every day! and that scene is an important one, and part of a fabulous case!

In this game we learn much more about the pasts of Mia and Phoenix. and seeing Phoenix as a youngster is quite hilarious! Also you get to play Mia too which is a great change. and another great thing happens in this game, but i wont ruin it for you (and i hope nobody else does either!) but it makes the game tip the edge on amazing!!

Also who is the mysterious, freaky coffee addict that is Godot (all i know is if he was real he would be fighting it out with lovely Edgeworth for my affections!! haha) Anyway, back to reality! i love thos game, i love this trilogy, i think it would benefit you greatly if you started with the first one and worked your way to this one. i can tell you this, you will have so much fun on the way!

even though some people say there is no re-play value in these games, for me personally, i love re-playing them. i love going into Phoenix's world. And when it comes to Apollo Justice, i hope the same happens then too.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
on 10 January 2009
The first Phoenix Wright was a pleasant surprise, a bizarre, over the top and humourous combination of courtroom drama and classic murder mystery in manga/anime style. Given its originality, it was always going to be difficult to top, seemingly proved by the disappointing sequel (Justice For All).

However, Trials and Tribulations is a brilliant return to form for the series, answering nearly every criticism that I had of the second game. The cases shake things up a little instead of relying on some of the same old situations and the over-reliance on returning characters is jettisoned, reinjecting some of the whodunnit mystery. The Mask de Masque case was particularly enjoyable, as was the thread flowing through the various cases.

However, the downside is that the gameplay doesn't move on a great deal. There aren't any new features and the puzzles still amount to clicking on everything during the investigation phase and then presenting the correct piece of evidence at the right time, although the logic of presenting evidence here is mostly stronger than the previous two games. However, the game is really all about the reading, the humour, the characters and the mystery. Trials and Tribulations is tightly plotted, contains some of the series' most memorable characters and is a hoot, packing a huge amount of entertainment into one DS cartridge.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 11 February 2010
For those of you who don't know, this game is the final installment of the Phoenix Wright trilogy which involves the story of a defense attorney and a family of spirit mediums. The conclusion to the series is definitley the highlight due to the fantastic plot and varaiety of cases. I have played many games in my time, but the Phoenix wright series truly sets the bar for both character development and art style. This game certainly proves that one doesent need HD graphics to make an immersive game. I find it very difficult to find faults in this game, however due to the nature of 'point and click' adventures, there are rare occasions where one can find themselves really stuck. However the pacing is much better than that of the previous installments of the series. In short this is a fantastic game that should not be missed and should please long time fans of the series. Those who haven't played the previous games should have no problems playing the game as throughout the game, the events of the previous games are explained. That said I would definitley play the first 2 games first, as try are excellent games in their own right!!
So what are you waiting for! Click the purchase button =D
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 23 March 2012
This game has very pleasantly surprised me. I bought this game as a newcomer to the series, and thought that it was going to be FULL of spoilers from the previous games, but so far all of what has happened in past games has been kept secret (apart from some random character appearances).

I simply LOVE doing the court parts of the game, its over-the-top, addictive and FUN.

However, the reason I have knocked off 1 star, is because of the evidence-gathering parts of the game. Sometimes they can be interesting, but most of the time you'll be cluelessly running around just trying evidence on random people because you don't understand what to do, maybe it's just me, but I found that quite annoying.

Apart from that a very well made game, highly recommend.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 23 October 2008
This game is the stunning sequel to "justice for all", and I can only say that the cases are more challenging and this last chapter for Phoenix Wright ties the story together completely. Lovely sprite work, and humorous characters really make the game something special.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on 21 August 2009
I am writng a review for Phoenix Wright - Trials & Tribulations - not because this is the best in the series, but because, sadly, I have finished the series.
This is such an envolving & clever game, the story is so well created and the character development so well done - you actually care about the characters - and want to know about the story, and how it ends.
This game had been criticized for its endless dialogue but this is important in this game to build the story and encompass all the twists & turns. I also found the dialogue and monolologues of the characters to be pretty well written & entertaining.
A game that really makes you think, it side steps being too linear. For example - if you have not found every piece of evidence or squeezed every bit of information out of the characters, the game does not progress, and you know that you have missed somehting - but the game never points to it obtusely. The player can really get immersed in each case, all of which are cleverly & subtly interlinked.
It is also a visual delight, with clever use of simple but highly effective graphics & music that changes with each scene & character. Yo are also invited to shout through the microphone as Phoenix when you are in court - a clever little addition to authenticate the experience!
Basically, I cannot praise this game enough. With perhaps the exception of Zelda, Phoenix Wright is far & away the best game designed for the DS lite. - And I would even go as far to say that, regardless of console - it is one of the most enjoyable games I have ever played!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on 25 August 2008
Please read the review by J. Everett Film Student first, since I couldn't more than agree with him, and I'm merely adding another complimenting notice on this game, and its series.
First of all, it's definitely better to buy the trilogy beginning by the first, cause, although the cases and each game are more or less independent, there are three points to keep in mind:
1- there are recurring characters, and their evolution from one game to another is quite interesting to follow, it's a pity to miss their early whereabouts, and it sort of kills a bit of the fun in games 2 or 3, since some jokes or funny situations cannot be perceived if we don't know what they're referring to in games 1 or 2.
2-each game includes 4 cases (+1 extra in game 1, and intertwined cases in game 3), and the difficulty grows crescendo, that is, game 1 case one is quite easy, then case 2 a little bit more difficult and so on. However, game 2 case 1 is roughly as hard as game 1 case 2, and game 3 case 1 as game 2 case 2, that is, and since inquiring successfully requires the player to know the way the game programmers and writers tend to think (and sometimes they think quite crazily, which is part of the fun as well as the thrill!), not discovering step by step in the first game might cause getting stuck somewhere in an apparently impossible-to-solve case in games 2 or 3.
3-last and NOT LEAST, definitely, the 3rd game unravels all the mysteries on the past of all characters, and even if like a good book, it is pleasant to play again (read again) the beginning after all is finished, beginning by the end ruins a little bit everything, since one cannot fully appreciate the tragedy of the events depicted in the 3rd game, nor the strength of the bonds between the characters, unless the reader-player discovers things in the 'good' narrative order, and believe me, this way, the whole story IS breathtaking, and like a good book, after solving the 1st case of the 1st game, one is easily carried away, and craving for more.

As I said, each game is made of 4-5 cases, and each case is a story in itself. But the whole story is complete cycle, developed in the 3 games on the whole, and worth many Hollywoodian productions (I tend to think of 'the usual suspects', with all the flashbacks and all, especially in game3) as well as A. Christie's Hercule Poirot stories, or Sir A. Conan Doyle's Holmes and Watson investigations.
Plus, there's a quite distinctive manga-style humor, as well as the thrill of discovering by oneself the truth behind the murders, and why so many witnesses tend to lie, and all of these little details that make each character portrayed seem both incredibly real, and incredibly touching.
I insist on the parallel with good books, cause, truth is, my retired parents who positively hate video games played after my advice, and became fans!
The Phoenix Wright series is probably the most addictive game series on the DS, since, unlike Zelda or Final Fantasy, who require that the players actually play a game, it IS in fact, only an interactive book, only requiring reading skills, and the mind of a nosy detective.

The 4th game (Apollo Justice) is good, too, but it's only the beginning of another era, and still far from equal to the original trilogy.
Oh, also, just for info, the original Japanese title is 'Gyakuten Saiban', which roughly translates into 'Full turnabout during Trial'. And defending innocent people that (most of) the evidence point towards as the culprit is really thrilling, believe me.

As for the 5th game (with the player impersonating Miles Edgeworth), that had been available for a while in Japan and is planned for February in the US (and Europe as well), the style gets some getting used to, but the fun is here.
There are many tips of the hat to the other games (quite little, though and might be disappointing, but it triggers a smile anyway), we love to meet again the characters, and the magic works.
And, of course, #4 and #5 are just that wee bit more difficult than each respective previous issue.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 3 answered questions

     
 
Customers who viewed this item also viewed


 
     

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)
  -  
DS Best Prices - Buy Sell Exchange CeX Stores across UK & Online