Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great watch
Why did I buy this? An obsession with timekeeping, and the appeal of the solar energy rechargeable battery. First the timekeeping. The radio signal works well. Against all the odds, it successfully picked up the signal in my locker at work. Second, the battery state shows 'HI' for now, it drops to 'MID' on occasion but so far, so good. The watch looks good, picks up the...
Published on 22 Jan 2009 by До Св&...

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Cheaply made with plastic case back
Amazed how this watch ever got any good reviews, cheaply made and with plastic case back to enable the radio control to recieve signal I suppose but other RC watches have steel backs so WHY!
Published 21 months ago by Mr. R. A. F. Emery


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great watch, 22 Jan 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Casio WVA-470DE-2AVEF Men's Wave Ceptor Radio Controlled Watch, Solar Powered and Radio Controlled (Watch)
Why did I buy this? An obsession with timekeeping, and the appeal of the solar energy rechargeable battery. First the timekeeping. The radio signal works well. Against all the odds, it successfully picked up the signal in my locker at work. Second, the battery state shows 'HI' for now, it drops to 'MID' on occasion but so far, so good. The watch looks good, picks up the time signal well, and the solar battery seems to be able to remain charged. So why 4 stars and not 5? This watch has three alarms and an hourly time signal, but the sound is so quiet that the alarms are virtually useless. You'd need to be in a quiet place and listening out for them. The luminous hands only glow for a short time in the dark, and the push-button illumination only lights up the LCD panel. Some guidance on band adjustment would have been nice, but I love this watch. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 22 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Casio WVA-470DE-2AVEF Men's Wave Ceptor Radio Controlled Watch, Solar Powered and Radio Controlled (Watch)
This is a really good watch and certainly excellent value for money.

I needed to adjust the strap by taking some of the links out. I followed the instructions left by another reviewer. The whole operation is relatively straightforward. I used a padded surface to work on to protect the watch from scratches. Also, I used a pair of small pliers with smooth surfaces so that the strap hinge pins did not get damaged. A bent paper clip was used to push the hinge pins out. Note that there is a very small sleeve that is inserted at the hinge points in the strap - they fall out when you split each link in the strap so particular care is needed not to loose any.

The watch has an internal re-chargeable battery which is charged by solar cells in the face of the watch. A future concern could be that this battery will fail (as most re-chargeable batteries eventually do). However, the battery can be replaced, its part number is CTL1616 (sold on Amazon).

The instruction manual is small, so its worth going to the Casio Europe "support" website and downloading a copy which is 6 pages long and much easier to read. The model number to use to download the manual is "5053".

The initial impression on looking through the manual was that this watch is bit complicated to set-up. However, if you are used to setting up digital watches then I would say it is fairly straightforward, paricularly since the factory default settings are probably the best ones to stick with for most users. One good thing is that the buttons are easy to operate and have very positive action.

The "radio controlled" synchronisation can be started manually for immediate setting of the watch. If a signal is received, it usually takes about a minute for the watch to sync up to the radio time signal. After that, a daily synchronisation takes place automatically. The watch has built in time zones, based on various city locations, east and west, which should simplify the task of adjusting the watch for international travel. The watch can also be set-up to be fully manually adjustable if you are travelling to a location outside the 1500km maximum range of the time synchronisation signal(s) which are located in the UK and Germany.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent watch at a great price, 11 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Casio WVA-470DE-2AVEF Men's Wave Ceptor Radio Controlled Watch, Solar Powered and Radio Controlled (Watch)
This is a great watch at an even greater price, eighty pounds less the fifteen pounds Father's Day promotion equals sixtyfive pounds delivered, cheap as chips. It does everything I want in a watch, solar powered and waveceptor, maintenance free and much much more. Prefer the blue face to the black face, and twelve pounds cheaper as well. Using the cheap watch toolkit on here, and following the review/step by step from the black faced model WVA-470DE-1AVEF, I removed three links today from the wrist strap for a good fit, all fairly straight forward. Well worth five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very nice!, 25 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Casio WVA-470DE-2AVEF Men's Wave Ceptor Radio Controlled Watch, Solar Powered and Radio Controlled (Watch)
Very nice! It has everything I want from a watch. It is smart, reasonably priced and it has all the features you might desire.
It is not very heavy on your wrist (I find it a bonus).
I wanted a smart, double display watch, so that I can immediately know the day of the week and of the month (I tend to forget the latter).
Casio makes several double display watches, but this is one of the best I have seen so far.
I was only afraid the solar battery wouldn't be charged, as I keep my watch under my sleeve, always.
Well, no problem. Put occasionally your watch in daylight for about an hour. That will keep you going for a long time.
The atomic timekeeping is of course another major bonus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Casio men's wave ceptor watch, 7 July 2012
By 
A. Shrimpton (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Casio WVA-470DE-2AVEF Men's Wave Ceptor Radio Controlled Watch, Solar Powered and Radio Controlled (Watch)
I realy like this watch, The only reason i did not give it 5 stars is because the ilumination does not last all night' other than this it's a great watch easy to use and set up.
I would recommend it to anybody who is looking for a watch that is radio controled and solar powered (not more buying batterys every 6/8 months), but do look around, because i would not pay the 150. rrp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Cheaply made with plastic case back, 17 Dec 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Casio WVA-470DE-2AVEF Men's Wave Ceptor Radio Controlled Watch, Solar Powered and Radio Controlled (Watch)
Amazed how this watch ever got any good reviews, cheaply made and with plastic case back to enable the radio control to recieve signal I suppose but other RC watches have steel backs so WHY!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All the watch you'll ever need., 28 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Casio WVA-470DE-2AVEF Men's Wave Ceptor Radio Controlled Watch, Solar Powered and Radio Controlled (Watch)
I wanted a watch that was easy to read and accurate. This combines the accuracy of the atomic clock radio system with a lovely clear dial - with the added benefit of light charged batteries that never need maintenance or changing. All you have to do is... well, wear it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just what I wanted, 7 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Casio WVA-470DE-2AVEF Men's Wave Ceptor Radio Controlled Watch, Solar Powered and Radio Controlled (Watch)
My previous Casio is working for me for 15 years without a problem (except for a battery change), but it lost a bit of looks because of it's age. I wanted a watch with a date display, also I was looking for a Wave Ceptor model which is synchronized by a radio (in the age of computes/mobiles you are used to time/date/summer time being updated automatically). This model does all that and is looking great as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classy, 12 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Casio WVA-470DE-2AVEF Men's Wave Ceptor Radio Controlled Watch, Solar Powered and Radio Controlled (Watch)
I like the wave function coupled with Solar technology not to my knowledge available in other brands. I would recommend this model to both friends and family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ana- Digital Watch, 23 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Casio WVA-470DE-2AVEF Men's Wave Ceptor Radio Controlled Watch, Solar Powered and Radio Controlled (Watch)
I purchased this watch because it has a number of features which suits an elderly person. Large Analogue and Digital display with Wireless updates and importantly it was reasonably priced. Would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews