Customer Reviews


63 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent. The best G-shock
High spec mode. Research proves this to be a wise alternative to a pathfinder model. Very chuffed with it-having owned several g-shocks this one is the best yet. The strap is very comfortable, the lip of the end works well, the watch sensor does not stick into your arm should you wear it on your right wrist. Very good looking watch in person. The manual is large...
Published on 4 Jun 2009 by Widz

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sadly the clock screwed up after a few months
Took this watch for my travels in Africa for a bit of trekking. It last a few months and played up in the first few weeks and then just died. Sorry rubbish product not impressed.
Published 8 months ago by Lord Hume


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent. The best G-shock, 4 Jun 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Casio GW-9200-1ER Men's G-Shock Radio Controlled Watch (Watch)
High spec mode. Research proves this to be a wise alternative to a pathfinder model. Very chuffed with it-having owned several g-shocks this one is the best yet. The strap is very comfortable, the lip of the end works well, the watch sensor does not stick into your arm should you wear it on your right wrist. Very good looking watch in person. The manual is large explaining everything well with diagrams where neccesary.
The screen shows all the data at once, the countdown timer is 24hr and there are other features that mean this watch has the best of everything.
Further reading on a g-shock forum will show this to be held in the highest regard and hugely poular. Be aware there are the MIRO(orange) and MIIW(white) colour versions, which are harder to get, the white being a Japan only model. Black is the best though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Digital awesomeness, 6 April 2011
By 
Amazon Customer (Oxfordshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Casio GW-9200-1ER Men's G-Shock Radio Controlled Watch (Watch)
After growing up with digital watches and in general having Casio watches, which are in my opinion, the greatest digital watch makers out there by a huge margin, I decided I wanted to get another digital watch. I've had several analogue watches and I just don't like them as much as I do digital watches. Wearing the watch on my right arm I always find that the crown/winder was always the wrong side of the watch which was annoying and it digs into the hand when you flex your wrist. Many digital watches also tend to have some form of alternative to the crown and this watch is no exception, HOWEVER (capitals are required), this watch, although is has a large sensor there it does not dig in and it comfortable to wear. It does not get too hot when wearing either. The watch is not too weighty but you know you're wearing it which as far as I am concerned is great as I do like a bit of weight in the watch.

It is typical of the G-Shock range that the watch is very tough and pretty much indestructible. The display is clear and the time is accurate as it corrects itself several times a day. I hate watches that drift out of time. It should appeal to the geek in many people. The strap is nice and doesn't generate a sweaty line around your wrist. It has a double pin clasp which is good to see as the strap is a little bit wider than the average watch. One thing I like is the concertinaed strap near to the watch face which allows air-flow across the wrist under the strap to remove excess heat. The manual was easy to read and the English in it was actually very good. Normally you get these monster manuals filled with instructions in 50 or so languages which appear to have been translated by someone that has a limited understanding of their own language let alone the one to which it is being translated. I have only one minor criticism (and it is minor) and that is to do with the strap and the strap retainer band that holds the strap down once the watch is on the wrist. When you have put the watch on and slid the retainer band over then end of the strap to hold the excess strap down and out of the way, there is a tiny lip on the end of the strap to prevent the retainer band from sliding off the end. A good idea you may think, and yes I do believe it is a good idea but, when you come to take the watch off, it makes it rather difficult and it does take a little bit of jigging around to undo the strap. Told you is was minor! To sum up; a fantastic watch, feature filled, very tough, great looking, comfortable to wear from one of the greatest (if not, THE greatest) digital watch manufacturer in the world. Casio, I thank you :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 20 Jan 2012
This review is from: Casio GW-9200-1ER Men's G-Shock Radio Controlled Watch (Watch)
This is what you get with this watch:

Radio-controlled Atomic timekeeping which is automatically received six times per day.

An Altimeter, a Barometer and a Thermometer.

World time, Stopwatch and Countdown timer.

Alarms (5).

Hourly time signal which can be set on/off.

Illumination and auto light.

Solar powered so battery does not need replacing.

Battery power indicator.

Power save feature.

Automatic DST (Daylight Saving Time). In other words, watch does not need time to be advanced by 1hr in Spring or put back 1hr in Autumn/Fall. The watch does it automatically. Note: not all countries use DST.

Watch malfunction indicator.

Button operation tone on/off.

Updates date and day of the week automatically until December 31st 2099.

Automatically differentiates between leap years and non-leap years.

Water resistant to 200 metres and a pressure of 20bar.

So, that's what you get with this watch. The build quality is legendary (it's a G-Shock), it's very comfortable to wear, weight is light and watch does not slip round wrist - it stays put. I have small wrists and the watch does not slide over the side of wrist. The resin strap is very comfortable and will fit your wrist perfectly with the amount of strap holes available. The buckle has 2 tangs and there is a security feature on strap retainer so this watch is not going anywhere - its on your wrist and will stay on. Other watches with a crown (the watch winder) often press into the back of the hand when flexing wrist - there is zero contact to the back of the hand with this watch. This watch looks really cool.

In short, buy it. I now use this G-Shock in preference to my Breitling Automatic chronograph and that's saying something as to just how superb this G-Shock is. Watch comes in a nice gold coloured tin and has a comprehensive and easy to read/understand manual. So what are you waiting for?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice watch, 29 Jan 2011
By 
Oliver Branch - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Casio GW-9200-1ER Men's G-Shock Radio Controlled Watch (Watch)
I originally ordered a Casio Protrek which was great but it just looked too big for my wrist. So then returned it and ordered the Riseman. It such a nice watch! It looks a lot less bulky than the protrek I ordered (mind you, the Protrek had a compass too though, but to be honest I am happy to use a proper compass on the few occassion when I need one) and it sits very nicely on my arm. I am studying desert meteorology for my PhD so I guess I am a bit of a weather geek and this watch fits the bill nicely. I really enjoy being able to check the barometric pressure without even pressing a button as it is always displayed in the timekeeping mode. You really can see a pressure drop and tell if there is a big chance of rain or not. I have not calibrated anything yet but the instrument readings seem there or thereabouts regarding pressure and altitude. for the temperature you really need to take the watch off for 20 minutes or so to get a true reading, but thats expected considering the heat of your arm.
I love the radio controlled update. Its great to know that the time is always dead on. They say that you should put it on the window sill at night to radio-connect with the transmitter but it seems to do it also away from the window too. The solar is great too and after a month with the watch (in a dark winter) the power guage is still reading full. The snooze alarm is great and nice and loud too. It must be if it wakes me up!
Overall the watch looks great, chunky and bulletproof, just what you expect from G Shock. The only thing I miss is being able to record pressure readings for an extended period. The graphic display shows the pressure for the last 12 hrs or so but it would be nice to record the numerical data for a period(as you can do for the altitude). Actually I guess this watch is really designed for mountaineering, hiking or climbing so in this case the altitude is more important I guess.
The manual is well written and does the job quite clearly.

Anyway, if you are thinking to buy this watch, I fully recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reliable micronavigation tool & more, 11 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Casio GW-9200-1ER Men's G-Shock Radio Controlled Watch (Watch)
I am using this awesome watch when we are hiking on the mountains. I've learned to use it for micronavigation with compass and topo map. Once I understood how to calibrate altimeter at attack points with known elevation, it worked like a breeze. Map, compass and altimeter proved to be a powerful combination. The trend of barometric pressure proved to be accurate in predicting sudden change of weather, also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars G-shock GW-9200, 25 Jun 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Casio GW-9200-1ER Men's G-Shock Radio Controlled Watch (Watch)
The best G-shock i've ever had. Very cool design, not to big, very comfortable. Barometer and thermometer are ok, but i recalibrated a little bit baro about 2 hPa.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sadly the clock screwed up after a few months, 16 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Casio GW-9200-1ER Men's G-Shock Radio Controlled Watch (Watch)
Took this watch for my travels in Africa for a bit of trekking. It last a few months and played up in the first few weeks and then just died. Sorry rubbish product not impressed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Riseman, 27 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Casio GW-9200-1ER Men's G-Shock Radio Controlled Watch (Watch)
I bought this as I needed the best digital g shock I could find, for a small price.

This is from the master of g collection, meaning it's the pinnacle of casios g shock digital collection.

It's performed brilliantly since owning, and the illuminati is brilliant.

Just bought a new g shock to replace this, but this has been one awesome g!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars G-Shock Riseman GW-9200, 11 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Casio GW-9200-1ER Men's G-Shock Radio Controlled Watch (Watch)
I previously ordered and returned a Casio Pro-Trek (much too cumbersome & heavy and really did not sit comfortably on my wrist). Riseman is surpringly compact (for a G-shock), fits really well as the case is nearly 6mm smaller top to bottom and is 25% lighter than the Pro-Trek. Double prong buckle on strap better too. The sensor bulge on the left side of the case is much less pronounced in reality than the pictures seem to indicate. I was already aware that the thermometer and altimeter were not much cop - temperature read out totally hopeless when worn on wrist whilst altimeter (dependent on atmospheric pressure) needs regular recalibrating to be accurate. However, the barometer which I was particluarly keen to have works well (and quite accurately once calibrated) and the "red eye" 24h graph gives a useful guide to changing atmopheric pressure and changing weather. Radio controlled time keeping and solar power both function well as do all the other regular features on these Casio watches, all of which I have enjoyed on previous older Casio watches. If only Casio could build a G-Shock "Trekman" to the same compact size/weight as a Riseman/Gulfman with all the features of the Pro-Trek PRW 1500 or 2500 for about £200, then I think they would be on to a winner. Until then, only 4 out of 5, so get to it you Casio chaps!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Riseman on the up, 5 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Casio GW-9200-1ER Men's G-Shock Radio Controlled Watch (Watch)
Great G-Shock model
Nice clear display, great functions and the radio controlled time and solar power are very handy additions
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Casio GW-9200-1ER Men's G-Shock Radio Controlled Watch
Used & New from: £135.68
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews