Shop now Shop Clothing clo_fly_aw15_NA_shoes Shop All Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop Fire TV Shop now Shop Fire HD 6 Shop Kindle Paperwhite Shop now Shop Now Shop now

Customer Reviews

155
4.5 out of 5 stars
Uncharted: Drakes Fortune - Platinum Edition (PS3)
Price:£14.75+Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
Uncharted was one of the games I had on my list of games to buy should I ever buy a PS3, so naturally when I bought a PS3 last month, this was one of the first games I bought. I was not at all disappointed.

I can't really go into too much detail without spoiling it for anybody like myself who has been biding their time before buying a PS3 to play this game, but if you remember to leave logic behind when you pick up the controller then this game will be loved by all.

Let's be honest after all, a lot of the game is totally unrealistic (for example, the enemies you discover towards the end of the game prove a real, what???? moment), but as much as logic and reason was shouting at me to dismiss the game as nonsense akin with the latest Indiana Jones movie, I just couldn't, because it's just far too much fun to play.

The only minor criticism I have of the game is that it was ever so slightly too action-centric (even Rambo would have struggled to kill that many henchmen), and there wasn't much actual treasure hunting done aside from searching for the items hidden within the various chapters. But that didn't take anything away from my enjoyment, and it's a must buy for anybody with a PS3.

Uncharted is a game that doesn't take itself too seriously and is simply a fun experience, and we need more games like it. Bring on Uncharted 2!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
on 10 August 2008
Think Gears of War, Indiana Jones, Tomb Raider and you have the main kind of gameplay of Uncharted Drake's Fortune. However it takes all those great aspects of play and combines them with high quality production values, a great story, amazing attention to detail, beautiful/stunning graphics and levels And a complete style of it's own to create one brilliant adventure that you must experience if you own a PS3.

Follow Drake on his adventure along with his friends Elena and Sully to find the lost treasure of El Dorado which leads to the discovery of a forgotten island in the middle of the Pacific Ocean. After they become stranded, they must fight their way to survival as they uncover the dark secrets hidden on the island.

Most of the gameplay in Uncharted will have you shooting enemies which includes a really great aiming system and the option to take cover behind structures to regain health. There's also a decent amount of platforming including climbing, jumping, swimming, swinging from branches and puzzle solving. Also included is a thrilling jeep chase and the ability to ride on jet skis. Everything you need to take you on a great survival adventure.

The graphics in Uncharted are absolutely amazing. Attention to detail is very present and plants and trees will move as Nathan passes by them, leaves and trees will blow in the wind, making the world feel real and full of life. Water in the game looks fantastic and Nathan himself has around 3000 animations making him one of the most fluidly moving characters in a video game ever. His clothes will get wet in water, they wrinkle as he moves, his muscles bulge under them when he raises his arms and sweat pours from his forehead. All this makes for a fantastic looking game that will blow you away.

The game uses motion capture like we saw in Heavenly Sword using real actors. The characters come to life and are believable and all great people that you will come to love. Sully is such a funny guy and will even follow you around, telling you stories as you are walking around as Nathan. Elana is a cool strong female character but she's also a character you can relate to, much like most of the characters in the game. They aren't stereo typical game characters who you can't relate to but very real, making you feel as you're watching actors in a movie.

In terms of story you will have to buy the game and see for yourself but be prepared for one of the most epic adventures and best stories you will see in a video game with fantastic twists that will keep you on the edge of your seat. If you ever wanted to play a game that was like a Hollywood blockbuster then treat yourself to Uncharted and you'll not be dissapointed. 10/10
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
on 28 November 2009
This is a very good game indeed. As someone who does not play the online versions of most current games, I really appreciate the quality of this games campaign and indeed its length. Everything about it is good.. story, gameplay, mix of action and puzzles, atmosphere and the controls.
For hardcore gamers I would judge this as very challenging on the hardest levels. At this price its an absolute bargain.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon 24 August 2008
Uncharted is, in the main, a cover based over the shoulder shooter; however Naughty Dog have crammed in some platforming elements, vehicle sections and a few puzzles. These are all provided within an Indiana Jones style adventure story, with some of the best graphics seen on PS3.

And it's the story that will propel you forward; the voice acting here is far better than the norm for a videogame, and the characters are genuinely likeable.

The gameplay is tight and well paced, with the shooting sections broken up at just the right moment by the platforming and puzzle solving. The game has also recently been patched to support the new PS3 trophy system which adds a great deal of replayability.

The only faults with this title is that it is very linear, providing little oppurtunity for exploration; and the quick time events attached to some cut scenes seem tacked on and badly executed.

These are minor niggles though, you'd be crazy not to own this if you have a PS3; especially at the reduced price.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on 17 November 2009
Although this game is of a very similar idea to tomb raider and other such games, Uncharted raises the bar significantly. I loved this game. The controls are very intuitive and the whole game is just a joy to play. Just started Uncharted 2.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 22 October 2011
Well, after having heard all the rave reviews, and having waited for this product to reduce in price, I went ahead and bought it. I have to say I was slightly dissapointed...

Pros
- Fantastic graphics, best I've seen in any game. Ever. Except perhaps AC:Brotherhood, they are on a par perhaps.
- Good physics engine. Realistic running, falling etc.
- Fun. It is good fun... However...
- Length of play. I am not a serious gamer (I used to be, but less so now), and whilst not playing this everyday, it managed to last quite a while which was definitely a good thing.
- Storyline (the main plot and the sub-plot was enthralling!)

Cons
- Fun... it is fun, however... the way in which the hardest parts, where perhaps an accidental slip or misplaced jump will cause death, jumps you back a ridiculously far way to the last checkpoint. an extremely annoying point.
- Ridiculousness. The storyline was going along fine, and then suddenly. Well I won't ruin it, but think the most recent Indiana Jones film...
- petty points, like weapon choice (limited), amount of hits it takes to kill the enemy, inaccessible routes, very obvious clues for 'puzzles', all lead to an overall frustrating and unrewarding experience.

Overall, I would say it is a good game, just not as good as people say. don't big up your expectations like I did, go out and buy the game, and you'll have a great time.

having said all of that, I am looking forward to giving Uncharted 2 a go. So I haven't been completely put off, and would suggest this game to any gamer of any level.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 24 May 2011
Whoever designed the cover for this game did the makers a grave disservice. For ages I kept reading reviews saying this was the best game ever, but I was put off by what has to be one of the worst pieces of cover art I've seen. It just looked really cheesey, making me think the game was just a sad copy of Tomb Raider. I couldn't have been further from the truth - when I finally did buy a copy I found that Uncharted lived up to its reputation as one of the most original and outstanding games on the PS3.

To begin with the graphics in Uncharted are truely spectacular and look a lot better than Tomb Raider. The level of detail which has gone into both the environment and the characters is truely astounding. From jungle scenes to underground ruins I really enjoyed just exploring and taking it all in. Each character is also lovingly detailed and they move a lot more realistically than in most games. The main hero Nathan Drake may not be as nice to look at as Lara Croft but he's a lot more believeable as a person.

The same can be said for the whole cast of Uncharted, who have done a really remarkable job with the voice acting. Drake himself is a really likeable rogue who constantly grumbles and complains about his luck, even as he risks his life over and over again in order to do the right thing. He's a bit of a Han Solo type scoundrel with a heart of gold. The supporting cast are also likeable, especially the plucky reporter Elena Fisher, who I was a little bit in love with by the end of the game. All the dialogue is sharp, snappy and full of witty remarks and jokes that keep you entertained throughout.

I'd rather not say too much about the plot as it is one of the real gems of this game that it is so story driven. A lot of other games ( like Tomb Raider ) can seem like the plot is just an excuse to travel from one location to another. But in Uncharted there is an involving, ongoing story that pulls you in and makes you seem part of it. The style is similar to old Saturday morning action movies, or more recently the Indiana Jones films, but it does not try to copy them exactly and instead creates an original and memorable action hero.

Uncharted involves some climbing and jumping action similar to Tomb Raider but these form only a relatively small part of the game. Drake is pretty athletic but he has a way of making things look difficult as he performs any jumps. Hearing him mutter and groan to himself as he risks life and limb climbing about is the sort of detail that makes the game that much more believeable. If he falls off something and dies then like Tomb Raider you may need to restart at the last save point but these are well positioned and obstacles like this are challenging but not too difficult.

The main part of the action in Uncharted though comes in the form of the combat which is so much better than in Tomb Raider. So many games have copied the now familiar system of firing from cover that many forget that Uncharted was the first game to come up with this. Combat is all about the timing as you dive behind cover and pop up at just the right moment to fire off a few shots before keeping your head down once again. The AI is suitably intelligence enough to try and outflank you so most combat involves working out a strategy of moving from cover to cover while being accurate enough with your shooting to keep the enemies heads down. Ammunition is scarce throughout the game so you have to make sure you don't waste it, another excellent part of the game balance. The weapons are suprisingly realistic in their performance and there is a good mix of handguns, shotguns, SMG's and other weapons to get hold of as you go along. Some fights are a lot like The Matrix where you are constantly running out of ammo with one gun and picking up another. This combat system is the real highlight of Uncharted and every fight is enjoyable and challenging enough to keep you coming back for more.

With that in mind there are different levels of difficulty in Uncharted and its such an excellent game that although I started on Normal I've since played the whole thing through again on Difficult. Its a game which will suck you in and make you feel a part of it. You will experience the highs and lows of the characters and be rooting for Drake to save the day, just as if it were part of some action movie. I cannot reccomend this game more highly, it really has been one of the highlights of owning a PS3 just to be able to experience a game like this. If you have not played it already go and buy a copy now, and just ignore the picture on the cover.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 6 September 2009
For any of you wondering what all the hoo har is regarding Uncharted 2, you clearly haven't played the original. A game which is, to my mind at least, still the best exclusive title on PS3. Here's why:

Uncharted: Drake's Fortune is fantastic third person action adventure. You play the role of Nathan Drake, a daring treasure hunter searching for the Lost City of Eldorado. But you are not the only one and throughout the game you must do battle with a band of mercenaries for the right to the booty. It's simple saturday matinee type stuff done to near perfection. The game features numerous plot twists which I won't ruin for you but suffice to say few games have managed to bring together storytelling and action quite like Uncharted. Traditional cut-scenes break up the gameplay but they are never overused or overlong and all the characters are well rounded. Drake is assisted by his friend Sully, a wise-cracking old guy with a love of cigars and a gambling problem and a love interest in the form of Eleanor Fisher, a T.V. reporter on the lookout for a big scoop. Eleanor in particular is a breath of fresh air as a female gaming character. Niether a disproportionately chested fame fatale or a damsel in distress, she is just as strong as Drake. But all this great characterisation would not work without proper animation. Luckily the developers have spent a long time looking at facial expression and motion capture (vids available as a bonus feature) and it really adds depth to what is a great script, especially for a video game.

The gameplay is great, if a little disjointed. Climbing and puzzle sections intersperse cover-based gun play, but the two never seem to mesh. Try using Drake's parkour skills when there are baddies nearby and you'll find yourself in all kinds of trouble. But this doesn't really detract from your enjoyment of the game too much as the cover system is well implemented and Drake moves very freely. You are almost always outnumbered so rolling for cover under a hail of gunfire often seems more like survival. Drake's little "uh oh" comments under his breath add to the tension too and also give you a handy indication of when a grenade is about to ruin your new hairdo.

But really the best thing about this game is the sense of adventure you get from exploring far flung Islands and searching for lost Spanish treasure. It's the gaming equivalent of a page turner, you just have to find out what happens next. And in a gaming scene where most shooters are filled with power armoured space marines, Drake's light hearted bumbling adventure makes a welcome change. Bring on Uncharted 2!
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 10 June 2009
Had my eye on this for a while. Having played almost every Tomb Raider in the series I knew if Uncharted was similar, I'd enjoy it.

You play Nathan (Nate) Drake, who is looking for the mysterious El Dorado. In terms of plot, it's quite similar to Tomb Raider. You'll find little treasures along the way as you fight your way through lush jungles and ancient fortresses.

I don't really want to go into a comparison of Tomb Raider but I feel I need to look at this since some may think that this is a cheap rip off of the TR series. It's anything but a cheap rip off. In fact, Uncharted does adventure so much better than the new Tomb Raider does. Cameras are precise (new TR's cameras as abysmal) so when Nate is scaling walls you're not disorientated. The animation is beautiful but not perfect. It's not anywhere near the level of Assassin's Creed for example, but still crisp and colourful.

Weapon wise you have an okay choice although Nate can only carry two weapons at one time, as well as several grenades. My gripe with this was sometimes the weapons and ammo can be quite difficult to see even though they flash to draw your attention to them.

Combat wise, Nate has some nifty hand to hand techniques as well as some nice stealth moves. Try sneaking up on enemies and taking them out melee stayle rather than shooting them, thereby avoiding alerting the other bandits to your whereabouts. Be careful though, Nate's hand-to-hand combat is usually pretty useless later on in the game where one or two hits from an enemy will kill you.

Nate's movements are simple, which is refreshing. Again looking at the new Tomb Raider, Lara is given over the top movements (spinning on things, fancy flips while jumping) which disorientate the player. Nate will jump, grab, climb and that's about it, which is all the player needs. One thing that did annoy me a little about Nate's movements is that they can be quite static and sluggish. You will almost certainly need to make good use of cover in this game, but be warned, he is quite sluggish when moving out from cover. So, when a grenade comes your way, move instantly as he will need a second to move away from the wall, and then start running.

Third person armed combat is quite satisfying in this game and needs to be quite strategic. The enemies will sneak around and outflank you so you really do need to think on your feet. To be honest I died quite a lot in this game, as it was the only way I could work out the best strategy for dealing with enemies.

Speaking of the baddies, be prepared to be overcome at various points. Reason for this being you'll play the game for the first while thinking combat is minimal then suddnely, you're thrust into a situation where you're fighting multiple baddies who will arrive in waves. I don't think the player is very well prepared for this to be honest. I didn't think during the first hour or so that I'd have to do quite as much armed combat as I've needed to do.

All in all this game is an excellent all round package. I would definately recommend it, and will buy the next installment of Uncharted over Tomb Raider anyday. It's not a cheap rip off, it's showing Crystal Dynamics/Eidios that Uncharted is out to steal Tomb Raider's crown and with the next installment due, it might just do that.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 23 April 2009
Uncharted Drake's Fortune is quite simply a fantastic game.

From start to finish it is an epic journey across beautiful islands to large fortresses and beyond. Naughty Dog have delivered an exclusive worthy of wide received praise.

The story about a treasure hunt takes on a unique dimension but I won't say anymore on this issue as it may spoil for others who have not yet played this. The characters bring a charm to the game and their performances in the game are just fantastic, displaying emotion in a way I have never seen before and their development throughout the game is wonderful. A relatively short campaign but just so much fun and trophies are added for replay value, even without trophies you would want to play through it again!
The graphics are top notch, from the beautiful water effects across lush jungle surroundings to creepy and eerie underground caverns. There is so much diversity to the environments you explore. Facial animations are very realistic, character movements look fantastic and when Drake climbs out of water his clothes look wet and eventually dry off....it's details like these that set this game apart. The downside i found was the screen tearing popping up but not a major issue.
The sound is brilliant and the musical score really immerses you into the action aswel as the cutscenes.
Gameplay is great, a variety of weapons can be used and you are limited to a primary weapon (e.g. assault rifle) and secondary weapon (e.g. pistol), grenades can also be carried as an additional weapon. Drake also has some combat moves for situations where his fists are more suited to doing the talking. The use of cover plays a major part and works very well into your means of survival and eliminating enemies. The platforming elements work well although at times were frustrating. Drake can manouevre about the world he is in with great ease, in no time you'll be leaping around like Spiderman as you traverse huge environments.

All in all, a brilliant game with high production values. If you haven't played this then go and do so.

BRING ON UNCHARTED 2!!!!!!!!

Ta!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See one answered question

     
 
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Uncharted: Drake's Fortune (PS3)
Uncharted: Drake's Fortune (PS3) by Sony (PlayStation 3)
£27.95

Uncharted 2: Among Thieves (PS3)
Uncharted 2: Among Thieves (PS3) by Sony Computer Entertainment (PlayStation 3)
£14.78

 
     

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.