Customer Reviews


140 Reviews
5 star:
 (85)
4 star:
 (43)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliantly ludicrous.
Uncharted was one of the games I had on my list of games to buy should I ever buy a PS3, so naturally when I bought a PS3 last month, this was one of the first games I bought. I was not at all disappointed.

I can't really go into too much detail without spoiling it for anybody like myself who has been biding their time before buying a PS3 to play this game, but...
Published on 23 July 2009 by Milky Joe (PSN: MilkyJoe84)

versus
38 of 48 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars great fun but...?
When the next gen consoles were released i ended up with an xbox 360 since the PS3 was taking so long and was looking so pricey, so I have only just got a PS3 now. I have been looking forward to this game for quite a while though so once i got the console i bought this, LBP and Resistance. I played resistance and was really disappointed so my hopes for this game started...
Published on 12 Jan 2009 by superdupergill


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliantly ludicrous., 23 July 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Uncharted: Drakes Fortune - Platinum Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
Uncharted was one of the games I had on my list of games to buy should I ever buy a PS3, so naturally when I bought a PS3 last month, this was one of the first games I bought. I was not at all disappointed.

I can't really go into too much detail without spoiling it for anybody like myself who has been biding their time before buying a PS3 to play this game, but if you remember to leave logic behind when you pick up the controller then this game will be loved by all.

Let's be honest after all, a lot of the game is totally unrealistic (for example, the enemies you discover towards the end of the game prove a real, what???? moment), but as much as logic and reason was shouting at me to dismiss the game as nonsense akin with the latest Indiana Jones movie, I just couldn't, because it's just far too much fun to play.

The only minor criticism I have of the game is that it was ever so slightly too action-centric (even Rambo would have struggled to kill that many henchmen), and there wasn't much actual treasure hunting done aside from searching for the items hidden within the various chapters. But that didn't take anything away from my enjoyment, and it's a must buy for anybody with a PS3.

Uncharted is a game that doesn't take itself too seriously and is simply a fun experience, and we need more games like it. Bring on Uncharted 2!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At this price - A Treasure!, 28 Nov 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Uncharted: Drakes Fortune - Platinum Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
This is a very good game indeed. As someone who does not play the online versions of most current games, I really appreciate the quality of this games campaign and indeed its length. Everything about it is good.. story, gameplay, mix of action and puzzles, atmosphere and the controls.
For hardcore gamers I would judge this as very challenging on the hardest levels. At this price its an absolute bargain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exciting, Amazing, Epic Must Have PS3 Game!, 10 Aug 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Uncharted: Drakes Fortune - Platinum Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
Think Gears of War, Indiana Jones, Tomb Raider and you have the main kind of gameplay of Uncharted Drake's Fortune. However it takes all those great aspects of play and combines them with high quality production values, a great story, amazing attention to detail, beautiful/stunning graphics and levels And a complete style of it's own to create one brilliant adventure that you must experience if you own a PS3.

Follow Drake on his adventure along with his friends Elena and Sully to find the lost treasure of El Dorado which leads to the discovery of a forgotten island in the middle of the Pacific Ocean. After they become stranded, they must fight their way to survival as they uncover the dark secrets hidden on the island.

Most of the gameplay in Uncharted will have you shooting enemies which includes a really great aiming system and the option to take cover behind structures to regain health. There's also a decent amount of platforming including climbing, jumping, swimming, swinging from branches and puzzle solving. Also included is a thrilling jeep chase and the ability to ride on jet skis. Everything you need to take you on a great survival adventure.

The graphics in Uncharted are absolutely amazing. Attention to detail is very present and plants and trees will move as Nathan passes by them, leaves and trees will blow in the wind, making the world feel real and full of life. Water in the game looks fantastic and Nathan himself has around 3000 animations making him one of the most fluidly moving characters in a video game ever. His clothes will get wet in water, they wrinkle as he moves, his muscles bulge under them when he raises his arms and sweat pours from his forehead. All this makes for a fantastic looking game that will blow you away.

The game uses motion capture like we saw in Heavenly Sword using real actors. The characters come to life and are believable and all great people that you will come to love. Sully is such a funny guy and will even follow you around, telling you stories as you are walking around as Nathan. Elana is a cool strong female character but she's also a character you can relate to, much like most of the characters in the game. They aren't stereo typical game characters who you can't relate to but very real, making you feel as you're watching actors in a movie.

In terms of story you will have to buy the game and see for yourself but be prepared for one of the most epic adventures and best stories you will see in a video game with fantastic twists that will keep you on the edge of your seat. If you ever wanted to play a game that was like a Hollywood blockbuster then treat yourself to Uncharted and you'll not be dissapointed. 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just brilliant, 17 Nov 2009
By 
G. Drummond (Aberdeen, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Uncharted: Drakes Fortune - Platinum Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
Although this game is of a very similar idea to tomb raider and other such games, Uncharted raises the bar significantly. I loved this game. The controls are very intuitive and the whole game is just a joy to play. Just started Uncharted 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Top Quality Adventure, 24 Aug 2008
By 
Alan "Alan" (Edinburgh United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Uncharted: Drakes Fortune - Platinum Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
Uncharted is, in the main, a cover based over the shoulder shooter; however Naughty Dog have crammed in some platforming elements, vehicle sections and a few puzzles. These are all provided within an Indiana Jones style adventure story, with some of the best graphics seen on PS3.

And it's the story that will propel you forward; the voice acting here is far better than the norm for a videogame, and the characters are genuinely likeable.

The gameplay is tight and well paced, with the shooting sections broken up at just the right moment by the platforming and puzzle solving. The game has also recently been patched to support the new PS3 trophy system which adds a great deal of replayability.

The only faults with this title is that it is very linear, providing little oppurtunity for exploration; and the quick time events attached to some cut scenes seem tacked on and badly executed.

These are minor niggles though, you'd be crazy not to own this if you have a PS3; especially at the reduced price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well..., 22 Oct 2011
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Uncharted: Drakes Fortune - Platinum Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
Well, after having heard all the rave reviews, and having waited for this product to reduce in price, I went ahead and bought it. I have to say I was slightly dissapointed...

Pros
- Fantastic graphics, best I've seen in any game. Ever. Except perhaps AC:Brotherhood, they are on a par perhaps.
- Good physics engine. Realistic running, falling etc.
- Fun. It is good fun... However...
- Length of play. I am not a serious gamer (I used to be, but less so now), and whilst not playing this everyday, it managed to last quite a while which was definitely a good thing.
- Storyline (the main plot and the sub-plot was enthralling!)

Cons
- Fun... it is fun, however... the way in which the hardest parts, where perhaps an accidental slip or misplaced jump will cause death, jumps you back a ridiculously far way to the last checkpoint. an extremely annoying point.
- Ridiculousness. The storyline was going along fine, and then suddenly. Well I won't ruin it, but think the most recent Indiana Jones film...
- petty points, like weapon choice (limited), amount of hits it takes to kill the enemy, inaccessible routes, very obvious clues for 'puzzles', all lead to an overall frustrating and unrewarding experience.

Overall, I would say it is a good game, just not as good as people say. don't big up your expectations like I did, go out and buy the game, and you'll have a great time.

having said all of that, I am looking forward to giving Uncharted 2 a go. So I haven't been completely put off, and would suggest this game to any gamer of any level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Game, 13 Jun 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Uncharted: Drakes Fortune - Platinum Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
Brilliant and would love people to play this game and love what everyone is loves

Uncharted is part of a series and number 1 is a good start that will make people want to continue the story and find out what happens next.

this is a must for a playstation user one its exclusive and two its awesome and thats all there is to it and like i mentioned its part of a series which means the magic continues in the next game.

By progressing through the game the player earns trophies and also with uncharted the player earns extras including makings of the game and other added features which are earned by playing the game which is rare in a game without buying the limited or a special edition so that is a nice extra in my eyes.

overall i believe this to be a must and would love more people to play and become fans.

happy gaming all and hope my review helps

Gomu
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Off The Charts !, 24 May 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Uncharted: Drakes Fortune - Platinum Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
Whoever designed the cover for this game did the makers a grave disservice. For ages I kept reading reviews saying this was the best game ever, but I was put off by what has to be one of the worst pieces of cover art I've seen. It just looked really cheesey, making me think the game was just a sad copy of Tomb Raider. I couldn't have been further from the truth - when I finally did buy a copy I found that Uncharted lived up to its reputation as one of the most original and outstanding games on the PS3.

To begin with the graphics in Uncharted are truely spectacular and look a lot better than Tomb Raider. The level of detail which has gone into both the environment and the characters is truely astounding. From jungle scenes to underground ruins I really enjoyed just exploring and taking it all in. Each character is also lovingly detailed and they move a lot more realistically than in most games. The main hero Nathan Drake may not be as nice to look at as Lara Croft but he's a lot more believeable as a person.

The same can be said for the whole cast of Uncharted, who have done a really remarkable job with the voice acting. Drake himself is a really likeable rogue who constantly grumbles and complains about his luck, even as he risks his life over and over again in order to do the right thing. He's a bit of a Han Solo type scoundrel with a heart of gold. The supporting cast are also likeable, especially the plucky reporter Elena Fisher, who I was a little bit in love with by the end of the game. All the dialogue is sharp, snappy and full of witty remarks and jokes that keep you entertained throughout.

I'd rather not say too much about the plot as it is one of the real gems of this game that it is so story driven. A lot of other games ( like Tomb Raider ) can seem like the plot is just an excuse to travel from one location to another. But in Uncharted there is an involving, ongoing story that pulls you in and makes you seem part of it. The style is similar to old Saturday morning action movies, or more recently the Indiana Jones films, but it does not try to copy them exactly and instead creates an original and memorable action hero.

Uncharted involves some climbing and jumping action similar to Tomb Raider but these form only a relatively small part of the game. Drake is pretty athletic but he has a way of making things look difficult as he performs any jumps. Hearing him mutter and groan to himself as he risks life and limb climbing about is the sort of detail that makes the game that much more believeable. If he falls off something and dies then like Tomb Raider you may need to restart at the last save point but these are well positioned and obstacles like this are challenging but not too difficult.

The main part of the action in Uncharted though comes in the form of the combat which is so much better than in Tomb Raider. So many games have copied the now familiar system of firing from cover that many forget that Uncharted was the first game to come up with this. Combat is all about the timing as you dive behind cover and pop up at just the right moment to fire off a few shots before keeping your head down once again. The AI is suitably intelligence enough to try and outflank you so most combat involves working out a strategy of moving from cover to cover while being accurate enough with your shooting to keep the enemies heads down. Ammunition is scarce throughout the game so you have to make sure you don't waste it, another excellent part of the game balance. The weapons are suprisingly realistic in their performance and there is a good mix of handguns, shotguns, SMG's and other weapons to get hold of as you go along. Some fights are a lot like The Matrix where you are constantly running out of ammo with one gun and picking up another. This combat system is the real highlight of Uncharted and every fight is enjoyable and challenging enough to keep you coming back for more.

With that in mind there are different levels of difficulty in Uncharted and its such an excellent game that although I started on Normal I've since played the whole thing through again on Difficult. Its a game which will suck you in and make you feel a part of it. You will experience the highs and lows of the characters and be rooting for Drake to save the day, just as if it were part of some action movie. I cannot reccomend this game more highly, it really has been one of the highlights of owning a PS3 just to be able to experience a game like this. If you have not played it already go and buy a copy now, and just ignore the picture on the cover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great game, 6 Mar 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Uncharted: Drakes Fortune - Platinum Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
this is an great game although there isnt much to it after you finish every thing off because there isnt a multiplayer. but thats fine you can have an great time while playing.

The story
the storys magnificent one of the best in a game ive seen in a long time. you dont feel like your in game, you feel like your in a blockbuster movie with the graphics, the story,the charecters humour/attitude and the voice casting is great.

The gameplay
i wouldnt say the gameplay is alright. il say its fantastic.one of 2007s masterpeices. the storys great the visuals are one of the best you can find in a game the combat is fun and there are loads of unlockables and PLENTY of replay value and a not to easy but not to challenging platnuim trophy

Overall
my final verdict is that this is one of the best and on of my favorite games.ever.
this IS an must have along with uncharted 2 and 3
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful., 25 Nov 2010
By 
b bexson "baz" (England, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Uncharted: Drakes Fortune - Platinum Edition (PS3) (Video Game)
Leave it as Uncharted: Drake's Fortune was a prime example of PlayStation graphics perfection in it's, and compared to most current games it will still beat them. The plot is a Indiana Jones rather than any other, it's wonderful, slow-fast paced exploration - I love it! IMO beating Tomb Raider anyday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Uncharted: Drakes Fortune - Platinum Edition (PS3)
13.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews