Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
25
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 December 2009
One of the best value and most entertaining in this series of Carry On DVD bumper packs, this quadruple feature contains no less than three of the team's greatest efforts, including one that is today regarded as the series' most intelligent and enduring film; the all-time classic Carry On Up The Khyber (1968) is surely the most ambitious movie the team made. Featuring probably the strongest set of production values seen in a Carry On film, as well as one of Talbot Rothwell's very best scripts, and the entire parade of regulars on top form, this entry concerns the British rule in India, and both celebrates and pokes fun at the whole notion of `Britishness'; it is certainly the only flick in this critically sniped-at series that is today appreciated on its individual merits and viewed as a real gem.
Also included here are Don't Lose Your Head (1966) and Follow That Camel (1967), movies that were made by the Carry On production team but which were originally released without the Carry On prefix due to legal reasons (the series moved from Anglo Amalgamated to Rank). As a result, they didn't perform very well at the box office, and were eventually re-released with `Carry On' plugged into all the promotional material. However, both films are highly enjoyable and easily rank in the series' top ten movies. Don't Lose Your Head is a Scarlet Pimpernel spoof, whilst Follow That Camel centres around the Foreign Legion (it also has an unusual, but very welcome, guest star in the form of American actor Phil Silvers, TV's Sgt. Bilko), and they are energetically paced, very funny, and look much better than their basement-level budgets should allow.
The weak link in the chain here is Carry On Doctor (1967), the only contemporary-set movie in this quartet, and the only one that is less than totally satisfying. Though it features most of the regular team, none of them give particularly impressive turns, the script is tired, and the film lacks the good-hearted warmth of the previous hospital-themed effort Carry On Nurse (1959); but that said, it is still far more enjoyable than a lot of the later films in the series. Taken as a whole, this quartet of Carry Ons is well worth the asking price.
Robert Ross' featured DVD commentaries on Don't Lose Your Head, Follow That Camel, and Carry On Doctor see him joined by the second lead in all three films, Jim Dale, whilst his guest for Carry On Up The Khyber is none other than producer Peter Rogers, whose remarks are particularly welcome; given the amount of stick he gets from several of his old stars on other Carry On DVDs, it is nice to hear him put across some of his own opinions for a change.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2013
Movies 5 stars. The rating is for the product. This is an ITV collection. The movies appear as little rectangles in an ocean of black - top, bottom, left and right. You can zoom, but the quality is terrible, you lose a bit of the image, and you'll lose the subtitles too. Confusingly, there are two 'carry on collections' series and the other is optimum. That is the one to go for - full screen, better resolution. I found this ITV set pretty much unwatchable. A disservice - they are only Carry On but they are still classics. I'd like to see them properly restored a la e.g. Lawrence of Arabia... with blu rays...
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2015
4 of the best Carry On's in one collection. Camel is my personal weakest here as Kenneth Williams and Charles Hawtrey's yelling gets on my nerves. But Doctor, Kyber and Don't lose your head are faultlessly funny.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2011
This has to be the best out of all the Carry On Box Sets, Mainly because you have 3 very strong Carry On's. But the Downside is the Widescreen issue as it seems that they have been cropped to fit the Widescreen format.

First Carry On Doctor, Amazing follow up to Carry On Nurse, with at least 3 references to it previous contender look out for them! 8/10
Second Follow That Camel, not originally going to be a Carry On comes the weak one of this box set, just don't quite have the Carry On feel to it, could be Phil Silvers and the American touch this film has. 6/10
Third Don't Lose Your Head, Another not intended to be a Carry On, but is a great send up of the French Revolution and really has a great feel to it, the ending is brilliant. 8/10
Forth Carry On Up The Khyber, I'm not going to hype this too much because even though this is good it is Over-rated, it has many magical moments but compared to some others in the series, i don't find this the best. 8/10
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2014
Not very stretching intellectually - none of the "Carry Ons" were - but a good laugh in places. The humour is not too bawdy and fit for a wide audience, which is more than can be said for most "comedy" films made today. Very much indicative of the sixties and of the British love of farce, seaside postcards and pun. I could write a book about the silly names used and the inventiveness of some of the situations, if my teeth were not put on edge every time I think of them. That having been said, the Carry On team made over thirty films and they have their place in British Cinema history. Good fare for a rainy evening and kids like the slapstick element of them even if they don't understand all the nuances. Recommendable, indeed. "Carry On But Don't Lose Your Head" is one of the best they ever made, and "Carry On Up The Khyber" is often one of the funniest.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2011
This is again quite a good collection, though Carry on Doctor is clearly the weakest. Follow that Camel may be the best. Phil Silvers helps a lot, though the others are good, too. Don't Lose Your Head has a great finale in castle. A lot of sword fights. Kenneth Williams is again quite a bit over the top, especially in Don't Lose Your Head. Everbody else keeps his or her face, but Williams was given free reins. If ever there has been not so serious films, these are those. Quite lot of enjoyment.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2012
It brought back fond memories watching these "Carry On" movies again. Those days we had to wait for it to be screened in our local cinemas. Now that I understand the jokes better I find it even more enjoyable.Best of all, watching the movies now with my family and seeing my kids rolled with laughter makes it even more enjoyable. The jokes though a bit vulgar at times and the antics predictable doesn't take away the fun of watching these movies one bit. As proof of how much I like the Carry on movies, I had just purchased the whole collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2013
I always enjoyed watching the 'Carry on' films when I was a child and again with my own children. Now my grandchildren love them and this box of four contains great films to keep them entertained on a wet afternoon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2010
Good quality widescreen presentations each with a commentary track, trivia , and stills section.

Mono with subs.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2013
Bought these as a present for my nephew. He has some learning difficulties but absolutely loves hammy old comedies. Hope he loved them as much as I do!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)