Customer Reviews


66 Reviews
5 star:
 (55)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


62 of 62 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A must for Will Hay fans
This box set features nine movies from comedian Will Hay and being completely honest it is a mixed bag. Some of the movies seem to have dated much more than others and while every film has it's moments, there is little doubt that Will Hay was at his most effective when he starred alongside Moore Marriott and Graham Moffatt. Having said that though, I thought the most...
Published on 14 Oct. 2009 by Mr. A. Whiteside

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The set is incomplete !
I expected it to be the complete Will Hay collection and 'Where's that fire' is missing. I am 88 this year and remember Will Hay films as a child. 'Where's that fire' is one of the funniest of all of his film - nearly up with 'Oh Mr. Porter' !

Sad that I should be required to purchase another DVD to make the set 'Complete'

Geoffrey Pidgeon
May...
Published 14 months ago by Dissatisfied


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

62 of 62 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A must for Will Hay fans, 14 Oct. 2009
By 
Mr. A. Whiteside "tonyjackie3" (uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Will Hay Collection [DVD] (DVD)
This box set features nine movies from comedian Will Hay and being completely honest it is a mixed bag. Some of the movies seem to have dated much more than others and while every film has it's moments, there is little doubt that Will Hay was at his most effective when he starred alongside Moore Marriott and Graham Moffatt. Having said that though, I thought the most disappointing DVD was 'Convict 99' which is very highly regarded and starred all three but for some reason I found it slow and ponderous.

By far the highlight is 'Oh, Mr Porter' which is still funny and has stood the test of time. 'Ask A Policeman', 'Good Morning Boys' and 'Windbag The Sailor' are also good fun but 'Hey! Hey! USA' starts off OK but soon runs out of steam. Virtually every single movie has a similar plot with Will as an inept person of authority who somehow emerges as the hero. He pops up as a headmaster, sea captain, lawyer, station master, prison governor and chief of police and is totally incompetant at each job but prevails in the end.

It goes without saying that this collection is an absolute must for fans of Will Hay. A lot of the comedy might not seem that funny nowadays but this is humour from a distant age and it does have bags of charm. If you are thinking of buying this collection then I also recommend the excellent book Will Hay by Graham Rinaldi.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh! Mr Porter - how nice to see you again!, 8 Feb. 2010
By 
Carol J. Winning (Sheffield, England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Will Hay Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Like many of the reviews posted here, I remember Will Hay from my early youth. Unlike many of the British films and sitcoms from past decades that keep appearing and reappearing on Sky and TV these treasures have disappeared completely.

Will Hay's style is such a generous one. He allows his fellow comedians to set him up as the fall guy, he delivers them the lines to finish himself off and to look ridiculous. I particularly love a scene in 'Ask a Policemen' where the three bobbies set a speed trap (on foot) armed with moveable road sign showing 30mph, a stopwatch and a pad and pencil. It's truly hilarious.

I may be a cynic but the storylines in these films have been re-done and re-done - but in my opinion not to this standard. He was a genius.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


61 of 63 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good collection of one of the best British comedians, 17 Sept. 2009
This review is from: Will Hay Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Although seen a lot on tv when I was young, Will Hay's comedies have largely disappeared from the screen these days. This is sad as the comedy is as fresh as it ever was and deserves a wider audience. Anyone who enjoys the more familiar American comedies of the time from Laurel and Hardy, The Marx Brothers and WC Fields would be sure to enjoy our very own Will.

His persona is of the bewildered and pompous man of authority who doesn't realize that he's an idiot. I was struck on seeing his movies after many years that he provides the genesis of characters such as Captain Mainwaring from Dads' Army with perhaps even a bit of Father Ted!

That aside these nine films are not a complete collection, but they take in his golden middle period of the movies he mainly made for Gainsborough in the late 1930s. The most well-known is Oh, Mr Porter in which he perfects his ensemble act with side-kicks Graham Moffatt and Moore Marriott. Moffatt plays Albert, a round, cheeky, overgrown kid. Marriott as Harbottle is the perfect foil for him in that Moffatt played a character who was a lot younger than the actor and Marriott, who was about the same age as Will, plays a decrepit and cantankerous old-timer. Both side-kicks are devious and treat Will with comic contempt.

The films featuring their three-part relationship are Will's best, and involve the threesome being put in different situations and settings where they can create havoc. Their quick banter and slapstick are always entertaining and so it's good that all their joint films are in this collection. My personal favourite is Ask A Policeman featuring a sleepy town devoid of crime, which creates a pleasant vision of rural England. It's also good that these short films always contain valid plots that actually hang together as proper stories on which to hang the jokes.

Sadly, by the 1940s Will Hay, I believe, broke up the partnership and in his last years he made several less funny films, usually trying and failing to form effective double acts with people such as Charles Hawtry. Luckily these films are not in this collection, but unluckily this means his final film My Learned Friend isn't here, a black comedy that is his finest film and which deserves to be remembered as being as accomplished as the more well-known Kind Hearts and Coronets. If you like this collection, this is the one remaining Will Hay film you need to track down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastically funny, 2 Feb. 2009
By 
Mr. Simon Fell (Congleton, Cheshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Will Hay Collection [DVD] (DVD)
I'd not seen Will Hay since my early youth when his films were shown on Saturday morning tv. I couldn't recall Hay's work being so funny but 30 years on they are so much better, the humour is sharp, witty and so rapidly delivered. One liners just keep on coming, there's no time to recover and I laughed so hard I had to clutch my ribs!! Excellent boxed set that really does justice to the Will Hay 'team'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Will Hay, 12 Jan. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Will Hay Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Classic oldies. Just about as corny as you could expect - black and white - amazing. Sound can be a bit difficult but once you have climatized they are fine to follow. Depends on taste - for me I love to watch and remember the times when I was very young watching these with my Dad! So they are meaningful and enjoyable even though quality is lacking - just as should be expected.
First class product if it is your bag!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great vintage comedy, 17 April 2011
By 
Colin Smith (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Will Hay Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Made in the 1930's, this is an enjoyable collection of movies that showcases Will Hay's great comic talents, (while also displaying the great contribution of familiar sidekicks Moore Marriott and Graham Moffatt) with Marriott playing the dotty cantankerous old man, and Moffatt the cheeky young one - lovely performances, IMO the best Will Hay films are the ones with these two at his side.

Whatever the tricky situation Hay finds himself in, he always manages to cover up his character's incompetence with a combination of bluff and bluster, as in "Convict 99", in which Hay plays Dr Benjamin Twist, an headmaster who is relieved of his duties, and then following a mix-up at a job interview, he finds himself appointed to the position of prison governor, where he proceeds to adopt a more relaxed regime at the prison, with comical results.

The films "Boys Will Be Boys" and "Good Morning Boys" see Hay in his famous schoolteacher role, as he finds himself struggling with his pupils and crime, in a series of funny situations.

"Ask A Policeman" sees Hay and his aforementioned two sidekicks playing policemen, stationed at the coastal village of Turnbotham Round - dubbed "the village with no crime", thus, the police station is deemed dispensable, but all is not yet lost as our desperate trio stumble across a smuggling ring operating nearby.

The charming "Oh Mr Porter!" sees Hay appointed station master at a dilapidated railway station in Ireland, the railway line is reputedly haunted by "One-eyed Joe the phantom miller", and following the usual collection of funny situations, accompanied yet again by his two familiar sidekicks, the three end up involved in a high speed train ride, while trying to avoid the wrath of a gang of gun-runners.
The other films in this collection are "Windbag The Sailor", "Where There's A Will", "Old Bones Of The River", and "Hey Hey USA".

Considering the age of the movies, the picture quality is OK, with English subtitles.
If you are looking for some vintage comedy movies with loads of old-fashioned humour and charm, this boxset is well worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Treasure, 3 Oct. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Will Hay Collection [DVD] (DVD)
A great collection from Will Hay, Graham Moffatt, Moore Marriott, my personal favourites being Oh Mr Porter and Convict 99, great comedy whether you have it on in the background or sit down to watch. 9 films full of fun and mayhem and good humour. Well worth a watch for anyone of any age.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars will hay dvd collection, 19 Jan. 2011
By 
Ms. R. Richrdson "rosieposie" (Northumberland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Will Hay Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Perfect present for hubby. Has asked for this collection for a while and with the recent bad weather didn't think they would arrive in time for Christmas but they did.
Excellent collection of films, hubby's fave film was luckily amongst the collection so he was very happy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 35 and still love the old titles, 20 Jan. 2010
By 
Mr. C. Southgate "DVD HEAVEN" (NEWCASTLE ,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Will Hay Collection [DVD] (DVD)
These are a must if its the memorys you want back from when you where young ,and these great films where on the tv .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The set is incomplete !, 21 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Will Hay Collection [DVD] (DVD)
I expected it to be the complete Will Hay collection and 'Where's that fire' is missing. I am 88 this year and remember Will Hay films as a child. 'Where's that fire' is one of the funniest of all of his film - nearly up with 'Oh Mr. Porter' !

Sad that I should be required to purchase another DVD to make the set 'Complete'

Geoffrey Pidgeon
May 27th 1926
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Will Hay Collection [DVD]
Will Hay Collection [DVD] by William Beaudine (DVD - 2008)
£17.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews