Customer Reviews


119 Reviews
5 star:
 (95)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


113 of 118 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Faithful to Catherine Cookson
This is a very good value Catherine Cookson box set. All the stories are superbly produced, and the casting is spot on. The sheer and compelling drama of each Catherine Cookson story is faithfully produced and will have you glued to the screen all evening ( some of them 3 hours ). The only critical note is the sound track. If you haven't got a good speaker system you...
Published on 24 Nov. 2008 by AC of Norwich

versus
34 of 38 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Catherine Cookson set
My wife and I have enjoyed these DVDs for their general quality of story-telling and acting, despite the 4:3 format limitations, but the technical quality of some of them is atrocious - the older the copyright date quoted, the worse the transfer from whatever original ITV broadcast format to DVD. This is most marked in the set of 4 "Mallen Streak" stories copyrighted...
Published on 21 May 2008 by Derek


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

113 of 118 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Faithful to Catherine Cookson, 24 Nov. 2008
By 
This review is from: The Catherine Cookson Collection: 23 Feature Length Adaptations [24 DVDs] (DVD)
This is a very good value Catherine Cookson box set. All the stories are superbly produced, and the casting is spot on. The sheer and compelling drama of each Catherine Cookson story is faithfully produced and will have you glued to the screen all evening ( some of them 3 hours ). The only critical note is the sound track. If you haven't got a good speaker system you could struggle to hear all the dialogue. My TV system has extra speakers, plus tone control,but it only just coped. Otherwise sit back and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


65 of 69 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent box set., 11 Jan. 2008
By 
Blue hunter (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Here you have some brilliant film versions of some great books.Catherine Cookson was a fine writer and these movies really do shine as they should.This box set contains so many that you be watching them for month's.The acting is very good in all of the films and there are some well known stars in them.Overall a fantastic box set and a brilliant present for someone as well.Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent escapism, 24 April 2008
I was given this boxset as a gift from my mother. I've never much been into costume drama/romance type of films so wasn't expecting to enjoy these films much. I always associated Catherine Cookson with books that old ladies read (I'm a mother in my 30s).

The first one I watched (The Dwelling Place) had me totally absorbed, I just had to watch it till the end. After that, I had to move on to another film then another. I just love everything about these films, the acting, the stories, the costumes and the settings to name a few.

I havn't watched every one of the films yet, but the ones I have watched I have found to be thoroughly enjoyable. They make me feel like I am really in another era watching the way people of the upper and lower classes lived, worked and played.

The films are all quite long (over 2 hours) so it's probably best to watch them when you have that sort of time to yourself as if you're like me you may get totally absorbed and forget other things you need doing in that time.

I can't imagine any woman not enjoying these films although we're all different so I can't speak for everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent except for Mallens, 1 May 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Catherine Cookson Collection: 23 Feature Length Adaptations [24 DVDs] (DVD)
Absolutely loved this collection - I would have given it 5 stars if it weren't for the Mallen streak which is really poor and lets the set down. The other DVD's are too good to let the Mallen mishap stop you from buying ...its still good value and worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 38 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Catherine Cookson set, 21 May 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My wife and I have enjoyed these DVDs for their general quality of story-telling and acting, despite the 4:3 format limitations, but the technical quality of some of them is atrocious - the older the copyright date quoted, the worse the transfer from whatever original ITV broadcast format to DVD. This is most marked in the set of 4 "Mallen Streak" stories copyrighted 1979/80 by Granada. No matter how I try to use today's technology to improve them, these are very grainy and dark. If anyone is concerned about such matters, beware!! Otherwise, just enjoy the stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quality Issues, 7 Feb. 2009
This review is from: The Catherine Cookson Collection: 23 Feature Length Adaptations [24 DVDs] (DVD)
Overall good but some of the quality issues with early films. If you have an decent TV you will notice 1960s and 70s productions could do with a remake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Value, 16 Feb. 2009
By 
J. A. Keightley (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Catherine Cookson Collection: 23 Feature Length Adaptations [24 DVDs] (DVD)
I bought this collection for my wife at Christmas who has read all the books. She thinks it's first rate and I must admit i have watched some of them too. Very well made productions
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great show poor quality DVD, 10 Oct. 2011
This review is from: The Catherine Cookson Collection: 23 Feature Length Adaptations [24 DVDs] (DVD)
My review is mixed,there is no doubt that the story and acting quality were outstanding and were enjoyable........EXCEPT the videos were obviously very bad VHS to DVD conversions.
I bought two sets one for my wife and one for my sister in law and both sets had the same poor quality.
I find this very disappointing,having bought many dvd's form amazon but never before have we seen such bad reproductions.
Inspite of this my wife enjoyed the videos...................Personally I would not recommend purchasing this set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Catherine Cookson Collection, 20 Feb. 2010
By 
L. Maine - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Catherine Cookson Collection: 23 Feature Length Adaptations [24 DVDs] (DVD)
Ordered this collection for my mums birthday. When it arrived it had been tampered with in transit. With not many days left until mums big day I went through the returns transition with Amazon and 2 days after registering the return I received a replacement box set. The whole transaction was effortless and I could not fault anything. The service I have received from Amazon was absolutely fantastic. The dvds my mum loves and will treasure. Happy 71st birthday mum and thankyou Amazon for your excellent service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CATHERINE COOKSON COLLECTION, 22 July 2009
By 
Mrs. D. P. Beckett (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Catherine Cookson Collection: 23 Feature Length Adaptations [24 DVDs] (DVD)
THIS IS A GREAT BOXED SET OF DVD'S AND I MUST SAY GREAT VALUE FOR MONEY.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews