Customer Reviews


67 Reviews
5 star:
 (55)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


78 of 84 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Television of the highest quality
This is a staggeringly good piece of TV drama which has justifiably become a classic. It's hard to imagine any producer today taking the time to explore a novel in the way this adaptation does, a full 11 episodes which allow the viewer to luxuriate in the story and thoroughly explore the characters. There has always been debate over whether there was a mythological...
Published on 13 Nov 2008 by Mr G

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Beware false advertising
I ordered the collectors edition 19.99 as shown on web page white background with collectors edition clearly written on dvd photo but received the cheaper 10.75 30 years. Aniversary remastered digital version instead, as I have no printer to print out a return form (normally there is a returns form included in with invoice when I order from reputable companies) I will...
Published 6 months ago by Saint


‹ Previous | 16 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars value for money, 15 May 2010
This review is from: Brideshead Revisited, Collector's Edition [DVD] (DVD)
Th;is was an iconic release. To be able to have the original cast at such a bargain price, so quickly deliverd, was a great joy. I am still enjoying every moment
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I found it extremely slow moving, 9 Jan 2011
By 
Four Violets (Hertford UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brideshead Revisited, Collector's Edition [DVD] (DVD)
I missed this when it showed on TV in 1981, though I have read the book, and decided to see why the TV series been so popular. I have to confess I fail to see what all the fuss was about. Firstly, how on earth can we believe that Anthony Andrews as Sebastian Flyte, and Jeremy Irons as Charles Ryder, (both born in 1948) can be Oxford University students supposedly aged 19? A 33 year old cuddling a teddy bear looks odd, rather than cute. John Gielgud and Lawrence Olivier as fathers of the pair were far more convincing and made the "boys'" performances appear lacklustre and insipid by comparison. The rest of the cast were convincing too; and I was amazed to recognise Jane Asher as Charles' unfortunate soon to be ex-wife Celia. I'm sure it has been said before, but the costumes, sets (including of course Castle Howard as Brideshead, Oxford colleges and Venetian Palazzios) and faithful recreation of the second world war period were the real heroes of the series. My favourite episodes were those concerning Julia and her husband Rex; my least favourite the last, the long-drawn out death of Lord Marchmain, the split between Charles and Julia, and his unconvincing conversion to Catholicism.
Just out of interest, Jeremy Irons is smoking in virtually every single scene. It's very possible that seeing this weekly and not bunched up together as I did, would have made it more enjoyable, and points like this less noticeable and jarring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the great TV classics, 13 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brideshead Revisited, Collector's Edition [DVD] (DVD)
I never read the book nor saw the episodes first time round on TV so, taking advantage of a very good price on the boxed DVD set, settled down to watch one of the well recognised all-tme TV classic dramas. Written by Evelyn Waugh and adapted by Sir John Mortimer, it promised to be very enjoyable,and indeed it was. The acting, direction and locations were all first rate and the production has stood the test of time very well but after 11 hours of viewing over several days it did all seem rather slow moving. One or two of the cast went over the top with their accents but the staff particularly at Brideshead were all excellent. One trivial point: smokers trying to kick the habit should probably not watch this production. The cast must have got through hundreds of packets and Jeremy Irons seemed to be lighting up in every scene. Authentic behaviour for the period, no doubt, but not acceptable today.
I would certainly recommend it to anyone who does not know the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic!, 8 Dec 2008
This review is from: Brideshead Revisited, Collector's Edition [DVD] (DVD)
Definitely A Must See! Great script and great acting!

p.s. Jeremy was so young at the time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Boring, 30 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brideshead Revisited, Collector's Edition [DVD] (DVD)
Sorry but I found this series so boring I felt like I was wasting my life.
Irritating characters
Gave up after the second of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ideal for rainy days or convelecence., 21 May 2009
By 
Stephen J. Price (Bournemouth,Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Brideshead Revisited, Collector's Edition [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this dvd for my wife after an operation,she was always a big fan and watched the thing back to back.So it must be good !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb trilogy, 10 May 2009
This review is from: Brideshead Revisited, Collector's Edition [DVD] (DVD)
This is one of the best, if not the best satires ever written. It is set in the early 1990's after the demise of Margaret Thatcher and is full of the sleaze of the time of the then Conservative government. Ironically, it is easy to see parallels with today!

Ian Richardson gives a truly remarkable performance in the trilogy as Francis Urquart, especially with his wonderful monologues. A great series - thoroughly recommended! In FU's words, "You may say that, but I couldn't possibly comment." Truly brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Brideshead Revisited, Collector's Edition [DVD]
Brideshead Revisited, Collector's Edition [DVD] by Michael Lindsay-Hogg (DVD - 2008)
34.71
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews