Customer Reviews


66 Reviews
5 star:
 (55)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


77 of 83 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Television of the highest quality
This is a staggeringly good piece of TV drama which has justifiably become a classic. It's hard to imagine any producer today taking the time to explore a novel in the way this adaptation does, a full 11 episodes which allow the viewer to luxuriate in the story and thoroughly explore the characters. There has always been debate over whether there was a mythological...
Published on 13 Nov 2008 by Mr G

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Beware false advertising
I ordered the collectors edition 19.99 as shown on web page white background with collectors edition clearly written on dvd photo but received the cheaper 10.75 30 years. Aniversary remastered digital version instead, as I have no printer to print out a return form (normally there is a returns form included in with invoice when I order from reputable companies) I will...
Published 3 months ago by Saint


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brideshead revisited, 12 Oct 2011
This review is from: Brideshead Revisited, Collector's Edition [DVD] (DVD)
Thank you , very good film . top marks for the service.
I enjoyed seeing all over again. wonderful acting in those days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Summer kisses, Winter Tears., 30 Dec 2009
By 
Mr. M. M. Waller "Maximus" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Brideshead Revisited, Collector's Edition [DVD] (DVD)
If you can't afford a holiday this year, buy this DVD instead. It's basically the best holiday you'll ever have. Of course like most things in life, it won't be all plain sailing. They'll be some family riffs and some difficult relationships, some long lasting, others more transient. You'll fall in love, you'll see Oxford, Venice and Morroco at their very best and return home to Castle Howerd for a grand finale. Geoffrey Burgon's amazing score is a miracle. He captures the very essence of the book and allows the show to breathe in a long and expansive fashion which becomes ultimately meditative. I can think of few other experiences where television has been so transportative. Possibly Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy but for different reasons. Maybe even the camelot seasons of The West Wing but precious few others. This is summer, winter, autumn, spring in a box. Enjoy your holiday. Not a club rep in sight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Divine television - a superb adaptation, 1 Jan 2009
This review is from: Brideshead Revisited, Collector's Edition [DVD] (DVD)
I recall when BR was televised in the early 80s the BBC's lead drama in competition was 'The Borgias' - who remembers that now? With thanks to Granada however, we do have this masterful adaptation and example of crafted television to enjoy. In summary, and in conclusion of the tale, it's a tragedy chronicling the decline of a family torn apart by its Catholic faith, as witnessed by the interloper that is Charles Ryder - suffused throughout though with humour, sometimes love and a lot of loss.

Some 25+ years later, in the light of a new film adaptation, does the original still stand up to any test - undoubtedly yes. The film may appeal more to those who want to witness the romance between Charles and Sebastian and how Charles's rejection of Sebastian triggers the events that follow. The film also reveals the true horror that is Lady Marchmain, which perhaps Claire Bloom in the television series is simply to genteel to hurl at us. But it is, in comparison, a lumpen and patchy affair. Where Michael Gambon is utterly wasted in the role of Lord Marchmain in the film, Laurence Oliver (and all the cast) in the television series had the time to unravel and slowly reveal their characters, letting us see their complication, intrigue, distrust and sometimes a little of their love.

While the headline cast are all superb, I'd pick out supporting cast members such as John Gielgud (utterly brilliant and sorely missed), Phoebe Nicholls as an enchanting Cordelia, Michael Hilton as Hayter and of course Nickolas Grace as being worthy of equal note. In fact, the depth of acting is evident across virtually all the roles.

Whether such television could be made nowadays is moot (for example its duration, range of locations, attention to detail and size of cast). As Waugh said himself, the book was a record of times lost and perhaps also television is structured to differently nowadays to produce anything comparable. I for one though am glad it has been made and that it is still available. Surely it is time for a digital remastering?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars God's grace in action, 28 Oct 2008
By 
Mr. Patrick Fleischer "P L Fleischer" (London, Hampstead) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Brideshead Revisited, Collector's Edition [DVD] (DVD)
Brideshead Revisited caused Mr. Waugh to suffer amongst his contempories. Why? Waugh writes: "It's theme - the operation of divine grace on a group of diverse but closely connected characters - was perhaps persumptuoulsy large, but I make no apology for it." The modern world does not care about God, nor His grace, nor the fact that He loves all His creation: even a few funny toffs! This film does not avoid the issues of grace but stays true the novel's weird, wacky and wonderful ways. Thanks be to God!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This NEEDS to be made available in Blu-Ray!, 7 Aug 2010
By 
Valinorean "fraserpatty" (Indianapolis, Indiana United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Brideshead Revisited, Collector's Edition [DVD] (DVD)
Maybe if all of us who loved this wonderful series sent emails to Granada (or whoever is responsible for distributing this) they would put this on Blu. A wonderful job was done with the 1995 Pride and Prejudice, and Brideshead is every bit as deserving.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars prefect adaptation of book, 28 Feb 2011
This review is from: Brideshead Revisited, Collector's Edition [DVD] (DVD)
Do not confuse this 1981 TV series with the very much inferior film make in the 1990s, confusingly shot in the same location of Castle Howard. This is a TV-book adaptation at is best: casting, dialogues, visuals all perfect. The series faithfully uses Evelyn Waugh's beautiful English prose, and the slow, even languid pace of events reproduces the gradual unfolding of the story over the years. My only regret is the lack of subtitles in other languages as this precludes the possibility of using the series as a quality English learning tool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Period Drama, 27 Dec 2010
This review is from: Brideshead Revisited, Collector's Edition [DVD] (DVD)
This is a well produced, spectacular drama with a wonderful host of actors/actresses, and great detail has been given to the costumes. The locations and scenery are also magnificient.

I had watched this production many years ago and the second viewing refreshed the story in memory. I thoroughly enjoyed the drama and the feelings of the scenes were acted out so well the actual emotion was infectious to the viewer.

This is a 5 star Plus and one that I shall watch again to absorb things I may have missed previously.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heavenly!, 5 July 2010
By 
R. M. Hudson (Northumberland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Brideshead Revisited, Collector's Edition [DVD] (DVD)
I missed this when it was aired in the 80s and now, nearly 30 years later, I've eventually watched it on DVD. I can't think of ever having seen such a magical series...everything about it is utterly sumptuous: the story for a kick off, and the wonderful combination of narrative and dramatic in its unfolding; the acting (and casting - quite brilliant); the costumes; the sets; the music...an absolute feast, and one which I intend to enjoy again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The definitive version, 13 Feb 2009
By 
Bluebell (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Brideshead Revisited, Collector's Edition [DVD] (DVD)
I've just been re-watching this series for the umpteenth time and, as always, come away thinking what a marvelous achievement it was by Granada TV to create this definitive version of the book aided greatly by John Mortimer's screen-play that evokes the era so well. The acting is, without exception, excellent.

An added bonus on the DVD set, over the video, is that you get interviews with the actors and people who made the series that reminds one what an immense amount of time and effort it involved; and, that they don't make them like this any more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brideshead, 23 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brideshead Revisited, Collector's Edition [DVD] (DVD)
Well the classic serial just as I remember it. Well acted and well produced. This product comes as described. A classic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa587f390)

This product

Brideshead Revisited, Collector's Edition [DVD]
Brideshead Revisited, Collector's Edition [DVD] by Michael Lindsay-Hogg (DVD - 2008)
Used & New from: 6.98
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews