Customer Reviews


67 Reviews
5 star:
 (55)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


78 of 84 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Television of the highest quality
This is a staggeringly good piece of TV drama which has justifiably become a classic. It's hard to imagine any producer today taking the time to explore a novel in the way this adaptation does, a full 11 episodes which allow the viewer to luxuriate in the story and thoroughly explore the characters. There has always been debate over whether there was a mythological...
Published on 13 Nov 2008 by Mr G

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Beware false advertising
I ordered the collectors edition 19.99 as shown on web page white background with collectors edition clearly written on dvd photo but received the cheaper 10.75 30 years. Aniversary remastered digital version instead, as I have no printer to print out a return form (normally there is a returns form included in with invoice when I order from reputable companies) I will...
Published 7 months ago by Saint


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

78 of 84 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Television of the highest quality, 13 Nov 2008
By 
This review is from: Brideshead Revisited, Collector's Edition [DVD] (DVD)
This is a staggeringly good piece of TV drama which has justifiably become a classic. It's hard to imagine any producer today taking the time to explore a novel in the way this adaptation does, a full 11 episodes which allow the viewer to luxuriate in the story and thoroughly explore the characters. There has always been debate over whether there was a mythological "Golden Age of TV", but I think the early 1980s saw something quite remarkable at Granada Studios, at least in the field of period adaptations, and Brideshead might just be the pinnacle.

Evelyn Waugh's novel is a heady evocation of time and place, as well as an exploration of spirituality, and the series captures all this with consummate skill, from the glorious period detail to the brilliant script by John Mortimer. The acting is simply faultless, to be expected when talent like Irons and Andrews stands alongside veteran greats like Olivier, Gielgud and Claire Bloom.

In sum, I enjoyed this series immensely. Craft and class like this don't come together very often, more's the pity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


151 of 164 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ONe of the greatest pieces of TV - ever!, 4 Oct 2008
By 
This review is from: Brideshead Revisited, Collector's Edition [DVD] (DVD)
Quite simply this is brilliant. Producing the book as a TV series gave the director the opportunity to indulge in Waugh's lush and vivid text and whole sections of the book are quoted verbatim. And of course, in hindsight, the casting was inspired, with Jeremy Irons as Rider and Anthony Andrews as the rather beautiful Sebastian Flyte. But don't forget such cameo's as Nikolas Grace as the effete Anthony Blanche - masterful!
The film I understand, leaves a lot to be desired, so better to buy this AND read the book. You will regret buying neither.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tainted Masterpiece, 27 Jan 2011
By 
S. Baldwin (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Brideshead Revisited, Collector's Edition [DVD] (DVD)
This is truely a great piece of television and a wonderful story, produced to great effect. My only regret is that this cheap version appears not to have been digitally remastered. A previously available and mroe expensive DVD of this product was available, but I lost my copy and purchased this assuming it to be a direct replacement, as the earlier remastered version was no longer available. I was wrong. While they have introduced a few new features, the qulaity of the image is poor. Admittedly better than my VHS copy, but very very poor by remasterd DVD standards.

Why, oh why, will Granada not do right by this materpiece and publish a definitive DVD version, remastered in all its splendor?

This is the best that's available now and still great viewing for a story of a life that unfolds at the speed of life, enjoying the journey and not just rushing to the destination - enjoy the ride, it is a visual and audio feast, not soemthing that I suspect will be greatly enjoyed by those who view by sound-bites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Television's greatest moment!, 10 July 2009
By 
T Everson (Shropshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Brideshead Revisited, Collector's Edition [DVD] (DVD)
I can't think of any other television programme as perfect as Brideshead Revisited. The acting throughout is amazing, with the standout performances of Jeremy Irons, Anthony Andrews and Diana Quick complemented by cameos by such legendary actors as Sir Laurence Olivier and Sir John Gielgud.

Granada decided to pull out all the stops when producing this adaptation of Waugh's masterly work, determined to show they could produce drama to rival the BBC's lavish productions. With Brideshead, they succeeded admirably.

This also stands alone as arguably the only example of a production where the script literally is the book. There are hardly any omissions, and because of this the 11-part story is able to breathe and the characters really come to life. The entire production was shot on location, at a number of sites from Yorkshire's stately Castle Howard to the canals of Venice.

The story is told through the eyes of Charles Ryder (Irons) who looks back on his youth at Oxford university from the Second World War. The story moves froms the decadence of the 1920s right through to the War, and shows Charles' relationship with the Flyte family, an enormously rich Catholic family. I'll say no more on the story, other than as a piece of entertaining escapism, this is without peer.

So, as I think you can gather, I highly recommend this - it's the DVD I have watched so much I've had to by another as my last one has literally fallen apart. The special features are excellent as well, with a making of documentary, commentaries on a couple of episodes by the actors and producer, as well as a great blooper reel.

I hate ending in a quote, but in this case I'll indulge myself.

"But I was in search of love in those days, and I went full of curiosity and the faint, unrecognized apprehension that here, at last, I should find that low door in the wall, which others, I knew, had found before me, which opened on an enclosed and enchanted garden, which was somewhere, not overlooked by any window, in the heart of that grey city."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Old Granada!, 19 July 2010
By 
B. Scott "Bibi" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Brideshead Revisited, Collector's Edition [DVD] (DVD)
We are all rather familiar with the popularity of the BBC cozzie drama - and they DO do it well - but how they must have wept all the way from the bank when Granada beat them, hands down and for all time with the unmatchable, unrepeatable, exquisite 'Brideshead Revisited'. There has never been anything approaching it for craft, skill, beauty or truth-to-the-word ( of Waugh's novel ) and as such, it cannot be too highly recommended.

This is not an easy book to fathom, nor is it an easy T.V. series to understand, and therein lies the sheer joy of it. For ease, try Jane Austen. For comprehension, try 'Larkrise...'. But for profundity, for despair and joy in unequal measure, for the mysteries of God and all his peculiarly bizarre and at times peevish little ways and for an awful lot of post-viewing soul-searching it has GOT to be 'Brideshead...'

It touches, by turn, every emotion we have felt and known and wept for ( in spite of our political and religious leanings, not because of them ) and leaves us, as it leaves Charles Ryder at the end of both novel and series, shaking our heads in wonder and awe at something we cannot even begin to fully comprehend. This is BIG.

'Brideshead Revisited' was an astonishing tour de force of British T.V., and no later film can ever even begin to do it justice. Read it and weep. Watch it and somehow, somewhere, find hope. It's THAT good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Masterpiece, 23 Dec 2008
This review is from: Brideshead Revisited, Collector's Edition [DVD] (DVD)
Beautiful celebration of a world gone by, this is the only exception to the rule of film adaptation not doing justice to the book I've ever seen. Or rather - the original TV series with nearly 13 hours' run time was. Unfortunately the 'Complete Series' title for the DVD release is misleading because the original TV series run time (11 x 60 min episodes, except 115 min opening and 105min closing) has been cut from 760 minutes to 660 minutes which is an incredible shame. I can understand the budget and time constraints imposed on productions when classic books are adapted to screen, and one settles for the 'central theme of the book was achieved' -result. But I find it incomprehensible why such a unique masterpiece as Brideshead Revisited in its original format has been lobbed off - at times in mid-scene - to fit adjusted episode format.

Other than that, watching this series on a lazy Sunday truly transports you to another time when 'it is always summer, the berries are always ripe and Aloysius is in a good mood'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars To be Revisited Time and Again ..., 16 Feb 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brideshead Revisited, Collector's Edition [DVD] (DVD)
Yes, the other reviews have said it. This is a classic for all time - and a big surprise as it came from ITV (Granada) rather than the more expected BBC camp. But Granada in the 1980s was coming up with some magnificent drama series, of which this one carries away the prize.

You can't fault it, and why would you want to ? Everything about it is of the highest quality, and it is mesmerising from the moment the picture fades in at the start of Episode One.

See it, and you will wonder why on earth the feature-film version (2008) ever went into production. A cynical exercise if ever there was one, and an end product that is sadly lacking in both quality and class. Something rather important to the original book, I'd have thought!

Buy this one, and if you've never read the book, read it and love it - and then watch the series again. And again. It can take it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars probably the best tv series ever, 20 Oct 2008
By 
Delhaye Nunes De Sousa (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Brideshead Revisited, Collector's Edition [DVD] (DVD)
A tragic love story between two young university sudents, that take separate paths in their lives. (Although neither the writer nor the screen writer were willing to assume any gay content). Performances by Irons and Andrews are outstanding. Don't miss it. Directing is well guided and in the perfectly right tone, intimate and tender. I remember I saw it for the first time I was still a young boy, but now, twenty years later it is still modern and actual.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Beware false advertising, 5 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brideshead Revisited, Collector's Edition [DVD] (DVD)
I ordered the collectors edition 19.99 as shown on web page white background with collectors edition clearly written on dvd photo but received the cheaper 10.75 30 years. Aniversary remastered digital version instead, as I have no printer to print out a return form (normally there is a returns form included in with invoice when I order from reputable companies) I will have to keep this cheaper version. I note that on the back of the dvd is a small label stating it is the collectors edition when clearly it is not I am very annoyed at the deception
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Beautiful and the Damned, 1 Nov 2008
This review is from: Brideshead Revisited, Collector's Edition [DVD] (DVD)
This was 'watercooler' TV in the 80s,(it wouldn't be today, of course). When I first saw Brideshead all the interest - and the talk - seemed to be about Sebastian (the character and the actor playing him). New Romantics nicked the fashion ideas, families went to visit Castle Howard at the weekends. Redtops found a few half-witted Oxford students clutching teddybears and took photos to amuse their readers. And there was a sudden increase in the number of (Blair-like) conversions to Catholicism.

Watching it all again, I appreciated so much that hadn't at the time moved me - the romance between Charles and Julia, the sense of damnation hanging over the characters.

I've put Brideshead away now, but I am sure I'll revisit it again in another 27 years time, God willing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Brideshead Revisited, Collector's Edition [DVD]
Brideshead Revisited, Collector's Edition [DVD] by Michael Lindsay-Hogg (DVD - 2008)
29.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews