Customer Reviews


61 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


121 of 124 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the great Tv characters ( and performances) of all time
Jane Tennison played with typical excellence throughout by Helen Mirren is probably the strongest female character in TV history , indeed one of the strongest in the history of popular culture ,sitting alongside say Ellen Ripley from the Alien saga as a redoubtable iconic woman. Though it must be said the Machiavellian sexist males Tennison encounters are creepier and...
Published on 23 Oct 2006 by russell clarke

versus
54 of 58 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great series, not so great DVD
By now, Prime Suspect has become a classic that showed that television can tell complex tales. In a way it's part of the medium's coming of age. LaPlante is a very good writer who is fascinated by the falibility of human justice and likes to show stories from different angles which I find is very intellegent entertainment. Helen Mirren is great as career obsessed Jane...
Published on 8 Dec 2009 by TKr


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Drama, 11 May 2009
By 
Melvyn Gorman - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
After watching the first episode of this tense gripping drama i had to watch all future episodes and I am glad i did.
The content was extremely well put together and the acting was superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Prime Suspect - Complet Colection, 5 Feb 2010
By 
A. Cambie (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Prime Suspect - Complete Collection [2008] [DVD] (DVD)
Great value for money - some of the discs are over 3.5 hour long so ensure that you have the whole night to enjoy it! Gripping - the 2nd and last epsiodes are the ones that I enjoyed most
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I have little to add...but this series..., 22 May 2009
By 
A. J. Stavsky - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
...is worth every penny. Prime Helen Mirren and a sterling supporting cast will keep viewers at the edge of their seats.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 19 July 2009
This review is from: Prime Suspect - Complete Collection [2008] [DVD] (DVD)
I'm almost through the entire set and can honestly say the story lines and acting are absolutely fantastic. Excellent value for money and I would watch this series again. I highly recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 1 July 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a collection. Helen Mirren at her best and the story lines are incredible. 10 out of 10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Helen was never better..., 9 Mar 2009
By 
A. J. Stavsky - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Prime Suspect - Complete Collection [2008] [DVD] (DVD)
Believe the comments - they are NOT hype. From British monarchs to lady detectives, Helen truly reigns.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intelligent Crime Series, 7 Sep 2009
By 
Annabelle Lentle (Hamburg) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Prime Suspect - Complete Collection [2008] [DVD] (DVD)
This is possibly the best crime series I have seen, and I am a crime series addict. The characters are well developed and real, and Helen Mirren is brilliant in her role. Gritty, real, and gripping.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tennison must be the worst detective ever..., 12 Jan 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prime Suspect - Complete Collection [2008] [DVD] (DVD)
Having watched 6 out of 7 episodes I report as follows: Tennison is chaotic and dangerous; every time she tells a witness 'it's okay, we will protect you' the poor grass is dead within 24 hours. She should carry a health warning.
She charges in like her homophonic namesake's Charge of the LIght Brigade: Death or Glory!
She leaves a trail of dead women and children in her wake as she recklessly puts the vulnerable in jeopardy as she selfishly pursues her career and quarry. All that matters is catching the killer. Perhaps she secretly allows the witnesses to be murdered so she can get their murderer on an increased body count! She puffs endlessly on fags, drinks more than a hardened alcoholic and drops her knickers at the drop of a hat!
Helen Mirren must have a clause in her contact that demands she has a scene where she sobs over the brutally slaughtered victims; victims that are dead because of her incompetence.
These 'luvvie' sob-scenes are very irritating, they distract from the story in a cynical attempt to make us feel sorry for the useless, hapless 'tenacious' Tennison.
Of course she gets there in the end but I just hope that if ever I have to depend on the officers of the law I get a better bobbie than DCI Terror-some.
PS 3 is noteworthy for Peter Capaldi playing a tedious, pathetic, whining transvestite called 'Vera' (I wanted to kill him/her myself); David Thewlis as a thuggish rent boy, and possibly a very young Danny Dyer although he's not mentioned on the credits.
The original PS 1 is by far the best. You get the feeling though that these are 1-2 hours stories stretched out endlessly for commercial TV.
JP.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A LOOK INTO PAST POLICIES, 28 Oct 2009
By 
Lionel Richard Westell (Valencia. Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Prime Suspect - Complete Collection [2008] [DVD] (DVD)
An interesting view of past policies in the policing of Britain, I shall be purchasing more of the series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars prime suspect-the complete series, 8 Nov 2010
By 
Mrs. Ea Judd "annijay" (spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Prime Suspect - Complete Collection [2008] [DVD] (DVD)
on the whole the series is great but 2 of the dvd's were faulty and wouldn't play.-very disappointing cos they were the ones I really wanted to see again.too much hassle and expense to send them back to the UK from Spain-besides-how do I know the same fault wouldn't be present in a replacement?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Prime Suspect - Complete Collection [2008] [DVD]
£24.68
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews