Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blow
George Jung, if you've never heard of him before, and I would say that most people on the east side of the Atlantic won't have had, was apparently the man who at one point was responsible for 85% of all cocaine imports into the USA. This film, "Blow" is a biopic of his life from college drifter to life prisoner.
It's certainly a roller coaster ride plotting the highs...
Published on 26 Sep 2005 by Rich Milligan

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Blow: Didn't blow me away
This slick and flashy yet ultimately empty film is an interesting if unsatisfying watch. Telling the true story of George Jung, ordinary American kid who, after vowing to never be poor, winds up being one of the major drug importers into the USA. Almost singlehandedly supplying the cocaine market at one point, his story shows his meteoric rise, subsequent downfall and...
Published on 6 Sep 2011 by Victor


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blow, 26 Sep 2005
By 
Rich Milligan (Thatcham, Berkshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Blow [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
George Jung, if you've never heard of him before, and I would say that most people on the east side of the Atlantic won't have had, was apparently the man who at one point was responsible for 85% of all cocaine imports into the USA. This film, "Blow" is a biopic of his life from college drifter to life prisoner.
It's certainly a roller coaster ride plotting the highs (literally) and lows of his "career". Determined not to follow his father into a life of trying to make ends meet, and trying to satisfy his materialistic mother, the young George winds up in California where every girl is an air hostess and there is enough grass to keep even the most demanding parties rocking on the beech all night. Buying and selling small amounts is just the start and soon enough George is flying in tons of grass from Mexico to feed the insatiable habit of hundreds of young Californians.
The party would seem to have come to an end when George is sent to prison for handling drugs (believe it or not) but is simply released a couple of years later knowing a hell of a lot more about the business from his Columbia cell mate.
The problem with any film like this is the temptation to glorify either the person or their lifestyle. To its credit I would say the film does neither and the viewer never really connects with the George character and instead views him as somewhat of a loser. Although the film never shows the dirty nasty side of the drugs industry is doesn't portray George as having any pleasure from his ill gotten gains and apart from a couple of flashy suits we never see what George spends his money on.
Johnny Depp plays the role of George with much aplomb and shows that his is an actor of considerable talent. There is some great support from the likes of Ray Liotta as George's father and even Penelope Cruz is not too bad, although her character is a right old handful!
At over two hours long the film is very entertaining and never starts to drift at all and the wonderful costumes and sets of the 70s and 80s are a real joy. The stomping soundtrack is also a welcome addition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If it wasn't a true story you would never believe it, 10 Sep 2001
By 
This review is from: Blow [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
This is the story of the rise and fall of George Jung played by Johnny Depp.
It follows him on his quest to make a different life for himself than he knew in childhood. Where his father (Ray Liotta) was an honest, hard working family man with a troubled marriage and little money.
When he moves to California with a friend they decide to make some extra cash by selling weed on the beach. Before long they are involved with Derek Foreal (played by Paul Reubens - remember Pee Wee Herman?) and flying to Columbia to buy cocaine direct from the producer and fly it back to America.
At the height of his success he has the American cocaine market pretty much sewn up, a beautiful wife, a big house, a collection of fast cars and a lot of cash. But as the saying goes, crime doesn't pay, and you know this can't last. When things start to go bad they go really bad, partners double-cross him, the money is gone and his marriage is over. Soon enough all he has left is the love of his daughter, but can he even keep that?
Johnny Depp is excellent in this role and you can share his excitement as the deals grow bigger and bigger and the money rolls in, as well as his sadness as things go downhill. The supporting performances from Ray Liotta and Paul Foreal are also very good. The film is accompanied by a great soundtrack, and despite it's length it never feels dragged out.
If you liked Almost Famous you will like this film, both bring you on a trip of emotional highs and lows of a true life story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blew me away...., 15 Feb 2007
By 
This review is from: Blow [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Shed a tear for George, Johnny Depp was just born for this role. This should be in any decent movie collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars DOPE DEALING DEBACLE..., 2 Jan 2003
By 
Lawyeraau (Balmoral Castle) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Blow [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
I initially had no interest in this film, thinking who wants to see a movie about some two-bit dope dealer? My teenage son, however, rented the DVD, and I found myself a captive audience. To my surprise, it was a riveting, well-done film. Sure, it was about a two-bit dope dealer, but what a story. George Jung, an all-American kid from a hard working, hard knocks family, begins dealing marijuana during the 1960s. He develops his business into an empire, and then he decides to branch out into the sexier world of cocaine and really big money. Using his considerable entrepreneurial instinct, he makes a deal with the Columbian drug cartel. Before you know it, he is raking in millions. Unfortunately, the best-laid plans often go awry, and there is no fairy tale ending for George. This is a story of hopes, dreams, violence, greed, and betrayal.
Well directed by the late Ted Demme, the film is compelling and absorbing as it recounts George Jung's incredible odyssey in the drug trade, tracking the rise of the cocaine industry in the United States, attendant with all its violence. Johnny Depp, in the role of George Jung, makes him into a likable guy who has bitten off more than he can chew, with ultimately dire results. His is a search for the American Dream, a dream that forever remains elusive.
Ray Liotta is terrific in the role of George's father, Fred Jung, a sensitive and devoted everyman married to a hard, selfish woman, Ermine Jung, a woman who lacks all motherly instincts and is played with gritty determination by Rachel Griffiths. Jordi Molla is excellent in the role of Diego, George's entree into the world of high stakes, cocaine dealing, and Cliff Curtis is excellent as Escobar, the Columbian drug cartel's main man. Penelope Cruz is terrible as George's beautiful Latina wife, Mirtha. She is simply a bad actress whose English is often unintelligible. With the exception of Ms. Cruz, however, the cast is uniformly excellent.
This is the story about a young man who, faced with choices in his life, made the wrong ones and lived to regret it. Johnny Depp captures the pathos of Jung's wasted life. That his characterization is dead on is brought home by Ted Demme's wonderful interview of the real George Jung. This interview is one of the numerous bonus features on this DVD and is well worth watching. It is a poignant interview, as it underscores that Jung's was a life wasted. It also serves to illustrate just how remarkable Depp's characterization of Jung really is. All in all, this is a vibrant, informative, and entertaining film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh, George, 7 July 2006
By 
Ms. E. R. Mazonowicz "Indie Geek" (Cheltenham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Blow [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
A true story: George Jung was one of the most notorious cocaine dealers in the USA in the 1970's. Starring Johnny Depp as George and Penelope Cruz as his beautiful but difficult wife, this movie tells the story of his life from college until his last deal, which landed him in prison (sorry) I belive Mr Jung, when approached about the idea of a movie about his life, requested that he be played by Johnny Depp. A very wise move i think. One of my favourite films of the last few years. Reminiscent of 'Goodfellows' (Ray Liotta actually plays George's father) but with a few more heart melting moments. In my humble opinion, one of the best of it's kind in the last few years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Blow: Didn't blow me away, 6 Sep 2011
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Blow [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
This slick and flashy yet ultimately empty film is an interesting if unsatisfying watch. Telling the true story of George Jung, ordinary American kid who, after vowing to never be poor, winds up being one of the major drug importers into the USA. Almost singlehandedly supplying the cocaine market at one point, his story shows his meteoric rise, subsequent downfall and loss of everything that he held dear.

As I mentioned previously, this is a slick and flashy film, with some good actors, nice camera work and a decent soundtrack. It has some flaws though. Covering some 30 years of Jung's life, it shows lots of episodes quickly, but never lets us become involved with the characters who are all pretty 2 dimensional. Even Jung, the central narrating voice and played by Johnny Depp with all of his usual commitment to the role never has any depth. Because of this, and the lack of explanation of too many points I didn't really managed to get involved in the film until the final few minutes when Jung finally shows that he has something in life that he believes in and is important to him. These final few scenes were quite touching and well done, meriting the film another star.

In all, a long film with lots of episodes in a man's life rushed through at breakneck speed never letting the viewer get connected to the people or events. A little tedious after a while but with a good ending. The soundtrack, made up of recordings we've all heard a thousand times before is unoriginal, but filled with classic tracks that can't fail to help add to your enjoyment of the film. A committed performance from Johnny Depp Helps lift it another notch, so three stars in total.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars DRUG DEALING DEBACLE..., 24 Nov 2002
By 
Lawyeraau (Balmoral Castle) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Blow [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I initially had no interest in this film, thinking who wants to see a movie about some two bit dope dealer? My teenage son, however, rented it, and I found myself a captive audience. To my surprise, it was a riveting, well done film. Sure, it was about a two bit dope dealer, but what a story! George Jung, an all American kid from a hard working, hard knocks family, begins dealing marijuana during the 1960s. He develops his business into an empire, and then he decides to branch out into the sexier world of cocaine and really big money. Using his considerable entrepreneurial instinct, he makes a deal with the Columbian drug cartel. Before you know it, he is raking in millions. Unfortunately, the best laid plans often go awry, and there is no fairy tale ending for George. This is a story of hopes, dreams, violence, greed, and betrayal.
Well directed by the late Ted Demme, the film is compelling and absorbing as it recounts George Jung's incredible odyssey in the drug trade, tracking the rise of the cocaine industry in the United States, attendant with all its violence. Johnny Depp, in the role of George Jung, makes him into a likable guy who has bitten off more than he can chew, with ultimately dire results. His is a search for the American Dream, a dream that forever remains elusive.
Ray Liotta is terrific in the role of George's father, Fred Jung, a sensitive and devoted everyman married to a hard, selfish woman, Ermine Jung, a woman who lacks all motherly instincts and is played with gritty determination by Rachel Griffiths. Jordi Molla is excellent in the role of Diego, George's entre into the world of high stakes, cocaine dealing, and Cliff Curtis is excellent as Escobar, the Columbian drug cartel's main man. Penelope Cruz is terrible as George's beautiful Latina wife, Mirtha. She is simply a bad actress whose English is often unintelligible. With the exception of Ms. Cruz, however, the cast is uniformly excellent.
This is the story about a young man who, faced with choices in his life, made the wrong ones and lived to regret it...All in all, this is a vibrant, informative, and entertaining film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant movie!, 8 July 2007
By 
Cottoboi "chriso" (Bromley, London, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Blow [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Many films (in the era it was made) had tried to make you beleive it was directed by Scorcese, thus meaning the director can gain some more respect. There has never been a film quite as close to Marty's flicks as Blow. Enter 3 decades of the rise and fall of George jung in the drug empire (played beautifally by Johnny Depp). We feel empathy for George, Something i'm sure the director had in mind whilst creating the movie.
The emotion is raw and you are thrusted into the rock and roll world of jung as he battles his way to the frontline, being betrayed, sent to jail on numerous occasions and finally losing his child to the women he thought he loved. What makes George earn most of your sympathy is that he did come clean and quit the business before he went to jail, earning you, the audience, his pain and sorrow.
Please give note to Georges parents. Especially Ray Liotta who plays second best in his supporting role. He plays a wonderful father to George that near the end of the film gives a performance so strong that you weep...
To conclude, the film is quite marvellous. It is a story that differs from Scarface in the 'rise to fame as a drug dealer' persona. It has reality, humour and most of all emotion.
I recommend Blow fondly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Film!!, 24 Aug 2006
This review is from: Blow [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
I really didn't know what to expect when I watched this film, one of my friends recommended it and praised the acting so i decided to give it a try, and i must say i am so glad i did! Johnny Depp yet again shines in his role as George Jung. Every single actor in this film gives 110%. It is definately one of the best films of its kind in a long time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blown away, completely......, 10 Feb 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Blow [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
I was prepared to really dislike this film, partly due to the subject content, and partly due to the other reviews that I'd seen before.....As a parent of 4 kids, even though I have lived a 'full life'......... drugs, of which were a part of my teenage life growing up, are not something that I'd be happy with my kids becoming involved with.....but the heartfelt performances from both Johnny Depp and Ray Liotta as son and father struggling to accept and adapt to their respective lifestyles and the coming to terms and acceptance of his son's lifestyle combined with the way the son related to his father was powerful. The way Ray Liotta played this, with the fathers complete unconditional love for his son, completely bowled me over.........Johhny Depp in the past has been regarded as something of a heart-throb, but he really did justice to this role, as he has in quite a few films of his that I've had the pleasure to watch........Donnie Brasco being just one of them. He conveyed the pain of his actions perfectly, and, as many of us have done before......only learned the true meaning of life after it was too late to make amends for past crimes and misdemenors.........In my opinion, this film is a brilliant portrayal of living life to the full and not caring about the consequenses until they turn around and bite you on the ass.......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Blow [Blu-ray]
Blow [Blu-ray] by Kevin Gage (Blu-ray - 2008)
6.84
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews