Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Utterly Mesmerizing...
When I first saw Friendly Fires on Jools Holland all those moons ago, I was mesmerized by Ed's hips and of course the music. After seeing them play the Glasgow ABC in May (which was my second best gig of the year), I just had to purchase the expanded album.

General Contents

Disk 1 - Friendly Fires Album
Disk 2 Side 1 - Remixes and Unreleased...
Published on 17 Jan 2010 by A. Peters

versus
98 of 117 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bonus CD? When will record companies (& bands?) be made to STOP doing this?!?
This isn't a review of the music, ok? (the music get 3 stars, incidently). It's a call for the 're-issued with bonus CD' nonsense to stop. I've bought this album once, when it came out last year, so why oh why is it out with all these lovely extras for less than what i paid for mine, which, by the way, is next to worthless because of this 'new' version. So, should one...
Published on 29 Sep 2009 by Mr. S. Bennett


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Utterly Mesmerizing..., 17 Jan 2010
By 
When I first saw Friendly Fires on Jools Holland all those moons ago, I was mesmerized by Ed's hips and of course the music. After seeing them play the Glasgow ABC in May (which was my second best gig of the year), I just had to purchase the expanded album.

General Contents

Disk 1 - Friendly Fires Album
Disk 2 Side 1 - Remixes and Unreleased tracks, Side 2 - Live at the London Forum, Music Videos

Packaging

The sleeve gives the album a nice touch as on the normal version it didn't really shout out that this is a friendly fires album. I would have prefered to have had three disks instead of two as when using the double-sided disk there is more risk of scratching. The sleevenotes are a bit plain with no lyrics. 9/10

CD

The album itself is a cool, funky 80's inspired music fest with highlights being 'Jump In The Pool', 'Skeleton Boy' and 'Paris'. However, all the songs on this are gems and the album itself is worth five stars. The second CD is also great, with the single 'Kiss of Life' and unreleased tracks 'Relationships' and 'Bored Of Each Other'. The remixes are well-balanced and give a fresh approach to the album. 10/10

DVD

I was really pleased with the DVD. The Live at the London Forum is fantastic. The camera work is good, the sound is sharp and clear and it flows well. The music videos are essentials really but they are really good quality. 10/10

Overall, the expanded album is worth every penny which by the way, is good value for money. Even the little bit of annoyance over the disks is totally outshined with the contents and presentation of it. Go Buy It, Right Now!

10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A proper gem of an album...great fun, 4 Sep 2008
By 
N. J. Korda (Swindon. UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Friendly Fires (Audio CD)
Been keeping tabs on Friendly Fires since hearing 'Paris' a year ago and saw them at Reading last month. Theres something about a band that not only knows how to use a cowbell but mixes styles - dance/house beats, 80's style singalong choruses,indie tunes that make you want to get up and dance along.

This is no nu-rave knock off, this is a band clearly having fun and mixing great style tempos doing their own thing. Definately check this band out as not only are they great live (Flaming Lips fun with streamers, tickertape etc) Buy this album as it is a gem. Go on 'Jump in the pool' with Friendly Fires, you won't want to get out for a while!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant. Just brilliant., 15 Oct 2009
By 
L. Bartleet - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Friendly Fires (Audio CD)
When i got this, it had a sticker on it saying 'Zane Lowe - "The soundtrack to your Summer"' and it completely was. I love this album, full of punky, funky rhythms and syncopated beats. It's brilliant, although I do love 'Ex-Lover' slightly less than the rest of the album. but don't let that put you off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great CD, Terrible Live DVD, 2 May 2010
By 
Daniel Billinton "daniel" (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The Audio CD is unquestionably one of the great CD's of 2008/9.

Having read recent reviews about the DVD being 10/10 I can only laugh. I went to the London Forum concert in May 2009 where this DVD was filmed and it was of the best concerts I have ever experienced - euphoric, edgy, enjoyable - you felt like you were at the forefront of the zeitgeist by being there.

The DVD that accompanies this CD is a diabolically bad record of that great event. 1/10

First of all the DVD is filmed in a bizarre ultra narrow 8:3 letterbox format, with the top third and bottom third of the screen not even used. This 8:3 letterbox then has two 4:3 images simultaneously shown on the left and the right. very annoying and completely ruins the enjoyment of what was a really impressive lighting show with lasers. Furthermore, the camaera keeps moving to strange views that you don't want to see. Apalling editing throughout - truly dismal. What on earth was the editor of this DVD thinking??

Sound is poor too - only recorded and mixed here in Dolby 2.0 stereo so you get none of the sense of atmosphere of the concert (around 95%) of music concert dvd's are eoncoded in Dolby 5.1 for this very reason so if you have a home theatre system you can truly get the true live experience. i wouldn't mind if it was just in stereo if it was good quality stereo - but it's a very flat and undynamic sound.

The Live DVD is a travesty of what was a great concert, and reall does Friendly Fires no favours. they are extremely good live - go and see them if you get the chance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can I have some more please?!, 13 Oct 2009
By 
Mr. N. N. Edwards "Kreme" (Chelmsford, Essex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Friendly Fires (MP3 Download)
Not an awful lot to add to the other reviews here on amazon, but as real music lover, I have to say this album is superb! I would have given it 4 stars, but now I've listened to it for a couple of weeks it's really 'grown on me'.

Well worth getting the extended version for the re-mixes which are equally good! Turn it up and listen up.

Absolutely love Skeleton boy and it's re-mix.

I pity those in the minority who either 'don't get it' or simply haven't given it time...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album, Great Sounds!, 10 Sep 2009
By 
C. Lynch "cwjlynch" (Essex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Friendly Fires (Audio CD)
Only stumbled on this album after hearing skeleton boy on the radio and decided to take a chance and buy the album. Boy was I glad I did, the sounds these guys produce take me back to the great sounds of the 80's. You can clearly hear the influence of the 80's in their style, but with an update vibrant twist.

You sense from the music this trio make that they really enjoy the music they make and their sound is all the better for it. No real album fillers here, most of the songs could easily be singles in their own right. My personal favourite is White Diamonds, but Jump in the Pool, Paris, Lovesick and Skeleton Boy also stand out.

Can't really say more than what others have already said here other than go and buy it, you won't be disapointed. Great album, great sounds, give it a listen.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So good it makes me sick, 25 Nov 2008
This review is from: Friendly Fires (Audio CD)
I ruddy love Friendly Fires, to the point where I probably love them a little too much. This album is full of track after track of fantastic electro beats and is full of meaty, funk bass. And I totally love heavy bass. If you liked 'Paris' and 'Lovesick' you really ought to get this album to hear the brilliance of 'Photobooth' and 'White Diamonds'. Honestly, this band is way ahead of the pack and every time I listen to them I just want to dance around like a total fool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


98 of 117 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bonus CD? When will record companies (& bands?) be made to STOP doing this?!?, 29 Sep 2009
By 
This isn't a review of the music, ok? (the music get 3 stars, incidently). It's a call for the 're-issued with bonus CD' nonsense to stop. I've bought this album once, when it came out last year, so why oh why is it out with all these lovely extras for less than what i paid for mine, which, by the way, is next to worthless because of this 'new' version. So, should one want all the tracks, they're asking the honest, paying public, to fork out again? Get lost!!!
If the bonus CD has more than 4 songs on it then they should be made to sell it as a separate release as well, for a very small price, so that the people that bought it early aren't ripped off.

If you agree that bonus tracks/CDs need to be regulated in some way and think, like me, that the record companies have a real nerve to do this then click 'YES' to useful review. Ta.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Too Good To Be True?....Not A Bit, 30 Nov 2008
By 
D. G. Cotter "Bodhisattva" (Heswall Wirral UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Friendly Fires (Audio CD)
This is a bona fide pop/dance classic. FF hark back to the 80's..the best parts..and you won't be disappointed if you enjoyed the early career-defining albums of Prince/Eurthymics/Thompson Twins/Spandau(early singles)Heaven 17. Add-in some Parachutes Coldplay and some chiming,exciting guitar work and you've got the best confection I've heard for a long,long time.
It's the kind of album that makes you want to shout from the rooftops for everyone to take time out to listen,dance and enjoy.
I don't know what else FF could do to make a classic debut...they could be prettier?...from NYC?...have celebrity girlfriends?......but that's just the fluff that would get them a Red Top audience.
I hope they can make a great living while making great music.
Get them while they're a relative 'secret' and bask in the reflected glory of discovering their cool debut CD.
They're great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Friendly Fires hit the mark., 5 Oct 2009
By 
R. Harrison - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Friendly Fires (Audio CD)
Excellent album. Sounds reminiscent of early 80's pop/funk groups on several tracks as I'm nearly 40!
Still a refreshing change from the repetative R&B tracks all over the chart. Takes me back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Friendly Fires
Friendly Fires by Friendly Fires (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews