Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Jazz, Cheap!
This 2-cd set is exactly as described - four classic LP albums re-mastered and featuring (for the most part) trumpeter Clifford Brown.
Playing times are approx. 76 mins per disc and sound quality is very good for it`s age played on modest hi-fi equipment.
First album is "Brown/Roach inc." tracks 1-7 on CD 1. Not a typical album as four of the tracks are...
Published on 22 Mar 2009 by J. Mcdonald

versus
8 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars great records, lousy sound quality
My high expectations about this double CD sunk as soon as I put it on: the sound quality is abominable on your average HiFi set. Perhaps that 'digitally remastered for probably the best ever sound quality' means that you have to listen to it with I-pod earplugs in, but the thin and lifeless sound does no honor at all to the greatness of Brown and Roach. To make sure that...
Published on 19 Jan 2011 by rolf


Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Jazz, Cheap!, 22 Mar 2009
By 
J. Mcdonald "Yelochre" (Glasgow, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clifford Brown: Four Classic Albums (Brown And Roach Inc / Jam Session / Study In Brown / New Star On The Horizon) (Audio CD)
This 2-cd set is exactly as described - four classic LP albums re-mastered and featuring (for the most part) trumpeter Clifford Brown.
Playing times are approx. 76 mins per disc and sound quality is very good for it`s age played on modest hi-fi equipment.
First album is "Brown/Roach inc." tracks 1-7 on CD 1. Not a typical album as four of the tracks are "features" for individual band members,leaving only three actual quintet tracks; second album is a trumpet heavy jam session recording - the order of solo (for the trumpets) being Terry, then Brown then Ferguson on both tracks 8 and 10; "Darn That Dream" featuring a vocal by Dinah Washington. The album concludes on Disc 2 track 1 with a medley featuring (I think) Ferguson on "Don`t Worry `Bout Me" and Brown on "It Might As Well Be Spring"
The real meat of the set is on the remainder of this disc with "Study In Brown" a solid classic quintet album bookended by smart arrangements by Powell of "Cherokee" and "A Train" respectively. The final album was a Bluenote 10" LP and is the earliest recording from this set dating from 1953, a sextet heavily showcasing Brown.
If you know Brown`s music you`ll need no recommendation from me; if your new to him or just wish to aquire a good library of classic sounds at a very reasonable price go for it. Another good release from Avid who deserve praise for a truly wonderful re-issue series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great compilation, 7 Sep 2011
By 
B. Gee "carra872" (West Sccotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clifford Brown: Four Classic Albums (Brown And Roach Inc / Jam Session / Study In Brown / New Star On The Horizon) (Audio CD)
These compilations by AVID Jazz are a boon for those like myself who have many LPs that have been played too often and are never used now. I have been able to replace many albums from the 50s and 60s by buying the AVID re-releases and the Clifford Brown Four Classic Albums is another excellent example. Some of the tracks are short, under 3 minutes in one case but others are as long as 15 minutes, giving the artists ample time to expand on a theme. More than half a century ago I was a fan of Gigi Gryce and Clifford Brown so there was a lot or me to enjoy on this album. Overall I probably preferred the live recordings of the Jam Session.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars classic bop-jazz trumpet playing from Brown + cohorts, 21 Aug 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clifford Brown: Four Classic Albums (Brown And Roach Inc / Jam Session / Study In Brown / New Star On The Horizon) (Audio CD)
yes - this is really a no-brainer for any jazz or swing or just plain "good music" fan. a double cd for 4 /$6 of some of clifford brown's hugely influential trumpet and ensemble playing from the 1950's. Brown is, along with Fats Navarro- widely regarded as one of the bop era's finest trumpeters influencing later luminaries such as Freddie Hubbard and Lee Morgan.

this cd roughly splits between fast driven swinging hard bop and slow ballads (as seemed to be customary on jazz recordings in the 40's and fifties. great brassy lyrical and driving playing form all concerned including the great Max Roach on drums and definitely a viable alternative to the cool playg of miles davis. both are essential but "Brownie" gets the party started better..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Greatest Trumpeter, 14 Jan 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clifford Brown: Four Classic Albums (Brown And Roach Inc / Jam Session / Study In Brown / New Star On The Horizon) (Audio CD)
Without doubt Clifford Brown's mastery of his instrument and of the Be Bop idiom made him the best trumpeter of his time, ahead of Dizzy Gillespie and Kenny Dorham and streets ahead of Miles Davis. He was as fluent as the very best saxophonists and his sparkling tone,clarity of articulation and phrasing made him a truly sensational performer.
"Move" (taken from the album "Jam Session") is taken at a frenetic pace, and Brown shows that he is capable of producing a great solo at this phenomenal tempo while the other horns, with the possible exception of Clark Terry, only just manage to hold their own. Having said this, Harold Land, not my favourite tenor player,puts on strong performances on the other tracks taken from the first three albums, and blows his socks off on the opening number, "Sweet Clifford".
Max Roach fans will be pleased to find several extended drum solos and there is one vocal from Dinah Washington.
If you haven't already got "Study in Brown" and "Clifford Brown Sextet" get this collection. If you have then you may already have the best it has to offer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars perfect !, 16 Nov 2009
By 
This review is from: Clifford Brown: Four Classic Albums (Brown And Roach Inc / Jam Session / Study In Brown / New Star On The Horizon) (Audio CD)
A friend who's a trumpeter told me that Clifford Brown was the trumpet player's trumpeter. His sound was warm and round and consistent across the full range. He could articulate every note, even at the high tempos and could jam with the best. If he'd lived his legacy would have been up there with Miles .... but he didn't so you'll just have to make do with these cracking CDs. They are so good I'm going to buy another set to away give as a gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars great records, lousy sound quality, 19 Jan 2011
This review is from: Clifford Brown: Four Classic Albums (Brown And Roach Inc / Jam Session / Study In Brown / New Star On The Horizon) (Audio CD)
My high expectations about this double CD sunk as soon as I put it on: the sound quality is abominable on your average HiFi set. Perhaps that 'digitally remastered for probably the best ever sound quality' means that you have to listen to it with I-pod earplugs in, but the thin and lifeless sound does no honor at all to the greatness of Brown and Roach. To make sure that I wasn't mistaken I put on 'I get a kick out of you', the same version but from a different compilation, Verve's 'The best of ultimate Clifford Brown' and that put the smile back on my face. My advice to buyers: skip this compilation and look for the original cd's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Priceless! Amazing!, 12 Jun 2010
By 
Argyro Oikonomou (Greece) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Clifford Brown: Four Classic Albums (Brown And Roach Inc / Jam Session / Study In Brown / New Star On The Horizon) (Audio CD)
Three of these classic albums - Brown & Roach Inc, Jam Session & Study in Brown albums are easily worth $10.00 each. The recording quality is terrific & Clifford Brown & Max Roach are frightfully good. I listened to the CD's through a pair of Koss PortaPro headphones & just thoroughly enjoyed hearing the amazing sound of Clifford's trumpet & the great sound of Max Roach's drums. This was before plastic (synthetic) drum heads & I you can actually hear the sound of Max Roach's natural (animal skin) drums. Thrilling drum solos from Max Roach & Clifford Brown's solos are as usual out of this world. These 4 albums on 2 CDs is like a....gift from God.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not for me, 10 Dec 2010
By 
M. Beaver (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Clifford Brown: Four Classic Albums (Brown And Roach Inc / Jam Session / Study In Brown / New Star On The Horizon) (Audio CD)
I knew Clifford Brown to be a vituoso player, and after hearing a profile of him on Radio 3, decided to buy this disc. I had previously bought the Sonny Rollins one in the same series. And they are astonishingly good value.
But the fact is, that really, despite years of trying, I don't like jazz, and part way through first listen, I knew I would never play this again.
So the two stars are no comment on the value of the disc. It was just not the right purchase for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews