Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The sequel that just had to be made
Anyone who has seen the original Under Siege movie will know that Casey Ryback is a cook who has a few other skills, specifically unarmed combat, explosives usage, weapons deployment, counter-terrorism, espionage and so on. In case anyone still hasn't caught on, he's a former Navy SEAL team leader.
This film sees him on a train with his niece, taking a well-earned...
Published on 15 May 2005 by Aaron C Reskew

versus
13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Big Steve gets a beat down from the BBFC (DVD Format)
*UPDATE 2014* - Finally, Under Siege 2 can now be purchased completely uncut in the UK as part of the Blu-ray boxset 'The Steven Seagal Collection' which also contains the uncut versions of Under Siege, Executive Decision, Nico: Above The Law and Hard To Kill. Well worth the investment if you have a Blu-ray player. The DVD version should still be avoided for the reasons...
Published on 21 Dec 2007 by H. Baker


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The sequel that just had to be made, 15 May 2005
By 
Aaron C Reskew (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Anyone who has seen the original Under Siege movie will know that Casey Ryback is a cook who has a few other skills, specifically unarmed combat, explosives usage, weapons deployment, counter-terrorism, espionage and so on. In case anyone still hasn't caught on, he's a former Navy SEAL team leader.
This film sees him on a train with his niece, taking a well-earned break. Unfortunately also on the train are some pretty bad guys who decide to take the train hostage so they can hijack some extremely powerful US military hardware. One of the bad guys is the scientist who developed the system and who faked his own death.
As you might expect, Ryback takes a pretty dim view of the proceedings and sets about killing the bad guys. In the meantime the US military is trying to figure out how to get its killer satellite under control before it wipes out Washington DC and most of the Eastern US.
Much violence follows with Ryback unsurprisingly coming out on top with his clothes barely ruffled and only a few hairs out of place. It's not the most believable movie but, let's be frank, you don't buy a film like this for the realistic plot. It's a great movie - I watched it twice in two days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Getting The Job Done, 1 Sep 2006
By 
Caleb Williams (Liverpool) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Go figure: Under Siege 2 was driven purely by contractual obligation. It's also superior to Seagal's previous effort, On Deadly Ground, an abomination he also directed and produced.

Being the most successful Seagal film at the time (and subsequently, ever) Under Siege could not get away without a sequel. The producers follow a tried and true method: they just make the same exact movie all over again. Once again, Seagal dispatches a team of highly trained yet bumbling terrorists. Instead of a battleship it's a massive train that gets taken over by terrorists with a master plan to kill a lot of people and make a lot of money. In other words, Die Hard on a train. Eric Bogossian plays yet another insane former CIA resource running amok, having stolen a top-secret satellite thingee that can fire laser beams from space and cause earthquakes. Or something like that.

It's up to Seagal, as Casey Ryback (former Navy SEAL who, according to the niece/hostage whom with he's travelling, has 'medals so secret he can't show to them anybody') to bump off the terrorists one by one. Dressed entirely in black in order to hide his expanding waistline, Seagal does it all: shoots, stabs, blows up, punches, kicks and maims a team of bad guys led by Everitt McGill, another arch bad guy who actually wants to fight Seagal because 'he scares me'. Seagal himself gets shot, falls off a train, falls off a cliff, and outruns a speeding train. He even gets in a plug for the first PDA, the Apple Newton, which saves the day while Seagal breaks necks and shoots ears off.

I enjoyed this one immensely. Eric Bogossian is perfect as the loony toons leader of the pack, another guy who plans to blow up half of America for a lot of money (not wondering what his money would be worth after that).

Seagal utters about 100 words in this film, another direct correlation to the quality of the film. The less Seagal says, the better. The more bones he's breaking, baddies he's shooting, and bombs he's making out of the contents of a wet bar, the better. No preaching, no Zen philosophy. At one point he tells his sidekick, a scared porter hiding in the luggage car, "I'm gonna get through my bag of tricks, and we are going to rescue those hostages." Then he stares into the distance, doing that crazy eyebrow thing in what is supposed to represent grim determination in the face of grave danger.

Whatever. The movie is brisk at under 100 minutes, the direction is sharp and economical. The bad guys are evil. They die violently, including a female assasin who gets dropped out of a helicoptor and bounces off the side of a train with a loud, satisfying *thunk*. Fingers get chopped off, necks are broken, people get thrown off moving trains, and Seagal makes a constipated face as he settles into a martial arts stance that suggests he's going to rip his pants. Plot holes? Sure, like who's driving the train after Seagal shoots everyone in the locomotive? Seagal even takes a sniper bullet but ignores it, as if he only deals with serious wounds. ('This ain't being shot.') His black blazer is in great shape at the end despite the fact that he's been dangling off the side of cliffs, crawling on top of trains, getting shot, etc.

It's completely acceptable on a slow night. Incidentally, Basil Pouledouris' score is not bad.

Also note that Morris Chestnut, playing Seagal's 'sidekick', would go on to play the villain in a later and much worse Seagal outing (Half Past Dead) which is a high or low, depending on your pov.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Big Steve gets a beat down from the BBFC (DVD Format), 21 Dec 2007
By 
H. Baker (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
*UPDATE 2014* - Finally, Under Siege 2 can now be purchased completely uncut in the UK as part of the Blu-ray boxset 'The Steven Seagal Collection' which also contains the uncut versions of Under Siege, Executive Decision, Nico: Above The Law and Hard To Kill. Well worth the investment if you have a Blu-ray player. The DVD version should still be avoided for the reasons noted in my original review (See Below)

Here we are again movie fans. A hardcore violent action film with all the hardcore violence removed just for UK audiences. Some ***SPOILERS*** follow (but let's be honest. This is a Steven Seagal film, so you know what happens.)

Here's roughly what's missing:

***Spoilers***

*Ryback slashing a guys wrist with a knife.
*We don't see the close up of the henchman that Ryback kicks off the train roof being dragged along for a while before going completely under the front.
*The part when Ryback uses a makeshift bomb - we don't see the burning mercenary bump into another guy and set him on fire aswell. They stagger around for quite a few seconds before Penn decides to shoot one of them rather than use a fire extinguisher.
*Ryback kicking the guy shot by the flare gun out of the train door.
*Ryback breaking both of the next mercenary's wrists has been cut out.
*On the cliff-face when Ryback is hanging on to the rope, we don't see him smash the guy's face into the rock.
*When mercenary (Peter Greene) is about to shoot the porter and Ryback intervenes, we don't his head being forced back so his neck breaks.
*The shot of the knife sticking out of the mercenary's neck when Ryback is in the hostage carriage should be longer.
*When the mercenary challenges Penn and says "I say it's time to cut and run" the brutal death that follows is missing some shots.
*Ryback breaks another mercenary's arm in a fight after he discovers the grenade set to go off in the corridor.
*UK version is missing the close up shots of the knives Ryback and Penn use before they fight.
*We also don't get the sound effect of Penn having his neck broken.
*The reason Dane falls from the helicopter is that Ryback closes the door, severing all of Dane's fingers. This is completely missing in the UK print of the movie.

***End Of Spoilers***

All in all, a total of 2 mins is missing from this DVD. It is available uncut on region 1, so do yourself a favour and get a multi-region player. A Multi-region is a worthwhile investment if you're an action movie fan since nearly all action films in this country are cut at the behest of the BBFC (True Lies, Eraser, Commando, Cliffhanger, Tango & Cash, Under Siege, Marked For Death, On Deadly Ground, Nico, Lethal Weapon 2, Lethal Weapon 4, Die Hard with A Vengeance....all cut in the UK, and the list goes on.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seagal's best and one hell of an exciting ride, 23 Aug 2008
By 
Inspector Gadget "Go Go Gadget Reviews" (On the trail of Doctor Claw) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Under Siege 2: Dark Territory [Blu-ray] [1995] [US Import] [2008] (Blu-ray)
Since 2001 Seagal has been quite happy to let his film career crash and burn while sings the blues and does all his strange little things in his personal life (have you ever tasted his wine or his energy drink?). But there was a time in the 90s when his name guaranteed you an hour and a half of broken bones, severed limbs, bad guys in agonizing pain and a showdown with a head villain who stands no chance against the awesome hurricane force that is Steven Seagal.

I never really like the first Under Siege. I found it to be too low key and slow and after enjoying such brain-free fare as Marked for Death and Hard to Kill in my youth I had come to expect a tougher movie than the what we were given (though the tyrannical BBFC cut the film to shreds and denied me what I wanted to see). I was dismayed at the lousy 15-rating and not even Erika Eleniak's boobs could cheer me up (she's blonde-not my thing).

Flash forward to July 1995 and the awesome poster for Under Siege 2 started showing up in cinema lobbies. It featured the impassive one clinging to the side of a burning train hurtling through the countryside and featured, quite frankly, the best subtitle of any sequel ever 'Dark Territory'. This time it was rated 18 which meant I could look forward to all the blood and gore that the first Under Siege lacked. Obviously I couldn't see this film in the cinema, being only 15 and all, so I had to wait until the video came out in early 1996. By that point the BBFC (those people from the dark-ages again) had censored every last bit of red stuff to the point where it could be shown on the friggin' Disney Channel if it weren't for the swearing.

I would have to wait until 1999, when I bought the uncut US version on DVD, to see the film in it's entirety. And when I did it was like watching a brand new movie.

Casey Ryback, now the head chef of the Mile High Cafe in Denver, has retired from the Navy but still works for the government doing the odd secret mission here and there. When his brother is killed in a plane crash he takes his niece Sarah (the lurvley Katherine Hiegl) on a trip to LA on the Grand Continental, but that particular train just so happens to be hijacked by crazed computer genius Travis Dane and his band of menacing mercenaries featuring dead-eyed Everett McGill and the sleazy Peter Greene. He has a beef with the government and is only too happy to use his skills to blow the Pentagon off the face of the Earth and collect a nice paycheck from the Saudis.

Luckily for Ryback, he was momentarily absent when the hostages were rounded up as he nipped into the kitchen to bake a cake. He teams up with naive porter Bobby Zachs (Morris Chestnut, bringing life to an otherwise ordinary sidekick role) and begins his skulking, lurking mission through the shadows and voids of the train to pull the brake and free the hostages. Do these nasty people really think that they stand a chance against Ryback's awesome power and apparent invincibility? Sit back and watch them get annihilated with a variety of improvised mÍlée weapons and other gruesome tools.

The train is a better setting than the boat. This time instead of a plain black backdrop we've got lots of pretty scenery and the constant forward motion of the loco gives the movie a nice momentum. Basil Poledouris' score soars miles above Gary Chang's bland notes of the first one and it honestly ends up being one of the best scores ever and a perfect example of how action music ought to be. And don't worry about this one being slow as the first. Under Siege 2 is edited so quickly that coherence is almost lost. You have to pay quick attention and perhaps watch the film a few times just to catch everything.

The comic-book nature of the plot, the cliffhanger feel of the ever-escalating mayhem and cartoonish villains might normally result in a campy movie but Under Siege 2 is as hardcore and sadistic and mean-spirited as the come. That's probably the reason the BBFC chose to cut it, claiming that it featured 'gloating and pervasive violence'. Well, I never found it to be that evil, just entertaining. Which is why I don't like narrow-minded institutions telling me what I can and cannot watch.

No one could possibly have a bad time watching this film (unless it's the UK version) and if you've had enough of Shane Meadows doing pretentious black and white stuff or Keira Knightely in a frock to last you a lifetime then the brainless and breathtaking action of Under Siege 2 is just what you need.

The Blu Ray features a 1.85:1 1080p transfer that is a vast improvement on the DVD. The sky is bluer the explosions are more colorful and the depth of the photography has a lot more clarity. Unfortunately Warner have only given us a regular Dolby Digital soundtrack, which is strange since they gave Eraser, The Gauntlet, and Outbreak (all catalog movies released at the same time as this) brand new Dolby TrueHD remasters. A real shame, but the sound design of the film is lively enough to satisfy anyway. Only a bunch of trailers are included as extras.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars cut to shreds, 11 Oct 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a great action film which has been butchered by the bbfc, seriously if i want to watch a cut film il specify this when i look for it otherwise the bbfc should keep their grubby mits off our beloved action films, i wont go into whats cut as someone has already done this.

i suggest a boycott of all old school region 2 dvd action films until the bbfc gets the message that cutting all of our films will no longer be tolerated
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars TUNNEL VISION, 9 Jun 2009
By 
Amazon Customer (Leeds, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The ex-Navy SEAL with the singular expression, wispy voice and one-dimensional thinking is back: CASEY RYBACK. And he's ready to do it all over again. Never has so much hairspray (Schwarzkopf, Extra Firm Hold, natch) been put on standby.

Actually, I like this film. I like it because it's impossible to take seriously, despite STEVEN SEAGAL's best efforts to convince us that he's right up there with the gurning-means-gravitas Bruce Willis and Sylvester Stallone. No, this is strictly B-Movie territory, albeit with a decent budget and plenty of action. Even if you allow for the lame dialogue, Seagal still can't act his way out of a paper cup, BUT - and this is crucial to his popularity - He Can Move. (Looking at his post-millennium work, however, the sad fact is that the big guy loses even that plus to the unavoidable effects of age and an ever-expanding waistline. Not his fault, but it's where the untinentional laughs start to creep in and render every movie following EXIT WOUNDS pretty much a waste of time. The ORANGE cinema ad - the one where he's chasing the CEO asking for more comedy roles - is probably as close to the truth as it gets. Ouch.)

UNDER SEIGE 2: DARK TERRITORY is big, loud and full of dumb spectacle. A bullet-type train is hijacked by terrorists intent on using it as a platform to control military satellites capable of destroying any target on Earth. Thus it's Ryback's 'job' to take out the bad guys, one of whom is the brains behind the scheme, a vengeful computer nerd with an ego problem and a psychotic finger on the button (by-the-numbers in almost every other respect, ERIC BOGOSIAN'S Rod Serling/Twilight Zone impression is a very funny moment, however). It doesn't help matters that our hero's teenage niece is onboard the train as well; a contrivance that provides a few cute moments of exposition and peril, but they're almost completely overshadowed by all the violence and bloodshed - the one thing Seagal does best. Snapping necks, wrists and legs, he's a great choreographer and knows how to get the most from his well-practised moves. The climactic fight between him and the lead terrorist is pure and sustained brutality, back-breaking you might even say (but you'll have to import the US version to see it all, as the UK print has been heavily cut, so beware).

Good model effects of the train exploding and substantial set-pieces using real pyrotechnics create an unusually large sense of scale for an otherwise ridiculous but entertaining 100+ minutes.

And that's why I like this film. It can't ever disappoint on the grounds that it's best appreciated in one way only: by switching off the brain.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FAST-PACED, EXCITING, NON-STOP ACTION, 29 Dec 2000
By A Customer
Steven Seagal plays Casey Ryback in the sequel to the disappointing film of 1992. The simple yet slightly unbelievable plot is that some terrorists have hijacked a luxurious train and our using it as a base for their ugly plan. They have stolen the control codes to a lethal laser weapon satellite system in space that has the capability to wipe out a destination anywhere in the world. If the Americans do not pay up, then the passengers on the train will die and the US Eastern Seaboard will go up in smoke. Little do they know that a certain ex-Navy SEAL is on the train on vacation with his niece and is prepared to fight! The action scenes are brilliant, right from the beginning. The fight on the side of the cliff, the cocktail bomb scene, and the finale on the helicopter are all brilliant and exciting. There is nothing to the acting, Seagal portays Ryback's tough character as the knowing hero excellently. This is a top film with spectacular bits all the way through. BUY IT NOW!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ONE OF THE BEST DIE HARD CLONES., 16 Jun 2008
By 
This review is from: Under Siege 2: Dark Territory [Blu-ray] [1995] [US Import] [2008] (Blu-ray)
REVIEWED VERSION: 2010 Warner Bros. US Blu-Ray

Director: Geoff Murphy

Cast: Steven Seagal as Casey Ryback, Eric Bogosian as Travis Dane, Everett McGill as Penn, Katherine Heigl as Sarah Ryback, Morris Chestnut as Bobby Zachs

SYNOPSIS

After the death of his brother, Casey Ryback (Steven Seagal) and his niece Sarah (Katherine Heigl) take a westbound train.
That train is hijacked by ex-CIA brainiac Travis Dane and a band of mercenaries, who take the passengers hostage and seize control over a top secret satelite weapon to blackmail the US government.
As they enter the "Dark Territory" the US government is unable to do anything, so it is up to one man army Ryback to do what he does best.

THE PROS & CONS

UNDER SIEGE 2 is the hugely underrated sequel to Seagal's 1992 smash hit UNDER SIEGE.
Arguably the original is the better film, but I found UNDER SIEGE 2 fully delivers as an action film should.
The story has lots of logical errors and seems a bit odd at times, but hey, action movies don't really go for ultra realism, now do they? It's fun entertainment, and especially Seagal fans will have a ball, with plenty of martial arts, gun fights, great one-liners and some humor.
Don't expect Oscar-worthy acting (and any serious action buff won't), Steven Seagal is his usual self (I happen to like his minimalistic performance), Bogosian and McGill make surprisingly good (not great) substitutes for Tommy Lee Jones and Gary Busey. Heigl and Chestnut are good as well and have some of the more humorous parts in the movie.
Decent direction by Kiwi director Geoff Murphy, this is easily his best film up to date.
The superbly choreographed fight scenes are the main attraction here. And yes, UNDER SIEGE 2 is a lot more violent than its predecessor.

UK buyers beware, UNDER SIEGE 2 was released in the UK on DVD with 2 mins. of BBFC cuts. It has since then not been resubmitted to the BBFC for reclassification, but it is rumored that the Blu-ray contained in the 2012 UK Steven Seagal Collection (http://www.amazon.co.uk/Steven-Seagal-Collection-Blu-ray-Region/dp/B008PEHWPO/ref=sr_1_1?s=dvd&ie=UTF8&qid=1415211908&sr=1-1&keywords=Under+siege+2+blu) is fully uncut (R rated).
The US Blu-ray is the uncut R rated version and region free.

BLU-RAY DETAILS

Feature running time: 99:38 mins.
Rating: R (MPAA) / 18 (BBFC) (after BBFC cuts)
Aspect Ratio: 1.78:1 / 16:9
Audio: English 5.1, French 5.1, Spanish 1.0 Mono
Subtitles: English, English HoH, French, and Spanish
Extras: Theatrical Trailers for 7 Steven Seagal Movies
Region: region free

Picture quality: C+
Audio quality: C+
Extras: F-
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars SWAP A SHIP FOR A TRAIN, 10 Nov 2007
The Chef returns in this rather average sequel.

Steven Seagal is now on a train with his neice, which is promptly hijacked and used by terrorists as a moving computer platform to fire lasers from space. Why they didn't just rent a flat is unclear.

The action is pretty good in fairness, as Chefman takes control of the train and saves the passengers, plus his neice from a randy porter.

Worth a watch on a wet, cold evening. Having saved a ship and now a train, don't board a plane with Seagal, or offer him a lift in your car !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Average fare, 10 April 2009
By 
S J Buck (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This is an entertaining sequel to Under Seige, which is a non-stop action thrill ride. Seagal is still in good shape, unlike in his recent films, and still looks the part as the ex-Navy seal who is accidently on a train that terrorists take over. So all good so far, but thats about it...

Where the movie falls down compared to the first film is the lack of a stand-out actor. Tommy Lee-Jones and Gary Busey may not be A list stars like Matt Damon and Tom Cruise but you can bank on them to deliver fine performances, which they did in the first film. This film doesn't have an equivalent.

I'm happy to accept this as a piece of comic strip fluff, but I do have a problem with films where believeability is stretched beyond the limit. Occassionally the film had some lighter moments, but I never got the impression that this film took itself anything other than entirely seriously.

Still I didn't switch it off, and its always worth watching Seagal do his martial arts stuff. Full credit there, that he IS very good at. Only buy if very cheap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Under Siege 2: Dark Territory [Blu-ray] [1995] [US Import] [2008]
£7.06
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews