Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the great sporting landmarks, just as it happened
If you are looking to actually re-live the Wimbledon Final of 2008, this BBC DVD production does the trick perfectly.

Aside from the coverage during rain delays of course, this is the Federer v Nadal epic exactly as it went out live and on air at the time. For anyone who prefers extra build up to be included, I should warn that this DVD is pretty limited in...
Published on 13 July 2009 by R. Jakubowski

versus
9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Match - Poor DVD
This DVD is let down by the fact that the player interviews are cut off at the end!!! Every ball is shown, with the only editing during the match being a few seconds cut out when a player takes a bathroom break between sets, and of course the rain delays.

The coverage includes the winner receiving the trophy, but the DVD ends THERE, instead of showing the...
Published on 20 May 2010 by Martin


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the great sporting landmarks, just as it happened, 13 July 2009
By 
R. Jakubowski (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wimbledon The 2008 Mens Final - Nadal vs Federer: Rafael Nadal's Triumph at Twilight [DVD] (DVD)
If you are looking to actually re-live the Wimbledon Final of 2008, this BBC DVD production does the trick perfectly.

Aside from the coverage during rain delays of course, this is the Federer v Nadal epic exactly as it went out live and on air at the time. For anyone who prefers extra build up to be included, I should warn that this DVD is pretty limited in that department, with only a rather corny and reading of Rudyard Kipling's 'If' to create suspense. However, with the quality of the tennis played, the intensity of the competition, and the excitement of the twists and turns this match provided, you will soon be captivated, completely forgetting that you are watching a recording, rather than the live event.

A monumental contest between two of the sports' all time greats, this is an essential for any tennis fan's collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Match, shame they cut the interviews out., 22 Feb 2011
This review is from: Wimbledon The 2008 Mens Final - Nadal vs Federer: Rafael Nadal's Triumph at Twilight [DVD] (DVD)
I am a huge Rafael Nadal fan & I recorded this match at the time on video but bought the DVD to watch it again in better quality.

At the time I had a DVD player - how I wished I'd had the DVD recorder I have now & I could have recorded it with the on court interviews, like other reviewers said, the fact they were cut out is a huge disappointment, however it's a classic match, very emotional for Rafa fans as we were thrilled he finally won Wimbledon after losing in the final the previous 2 years, so all in all I'm glad I bought it.

Rafa fans will also love The Poetry of Passion (for People with a Pulse) as it has a long chapter called "A Fan's Feelings" of 80 poems about Rafa, his career, his personality & his good looks (& the rest of the book is brilliant too) No Rafa fan should be without it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Indispensable souvenir of a classic match., 10 Aug 2008
By 
Pensioner (Christchurch) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Wimbledon The 2008 Mens Final - Nadal vs Federer: Rafael Nadal's Triumph at Twilight [DVD] (DVD)
Probably the greatest Wimbledon Final ever, maybe the greatest match ever. Relive this titanic contest in which Rafa, soon after winning the French and at the peak of his form, eventually prevailed after 5 dramatic and gruellingly long sets to win his first Wimbledon Men's title and virtually ensure that he would soon overtake Rog to become the World's number one ranked player.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best tennis match ever, 12 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wimbledon The 2008 Mens Final - Nadal vs Federer: Rafael Nadal's Triumph at Twilight [DVD] (DVD)
The 2008 Mens Final Nadal - v - Federer was the best tennis final ever. I missed seeing it in 2008 and finally found it on Amazon. The standard is extremely high from the very start of the match. It is just a wonderful game of tennis played to the highest level and shows the players' skills and sportsmanship. I will watch it again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow! what a final!, 23 July 2011
By 
Mrs. B. Horner (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wimbledon The 2008 Mens Final - Nadal vs Federer: Rafael Nadal's Triumph at Twilight [DVD] (DVD)
Fantastic final which I could watch over and over again, almost surpassing (but not quite) the Borg-McEnroe final. Both players at their peak.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best final ever., 22 July 2011
This review is from: Wimbledon The 2008 Mens Final - Nadal vs Federer: Rafael Nadal's Triumph at Twilight [DVD] (DVD)
This is a great little treat for any tennis fan. A real fan will know that this was the greatest Men's final ever played, even the greats from the 70s and 80s say this is the best match ever. It is the last time that Roger Federer and Rafael Nadal played each other at Wimbledon and it was an epic match. It lasted over five hours and was rain delayed a couple of times. In fact this was the last match that could have this sort of rain delay as the roof is now on Centre Court. The only thing missing is perhaps some post-match interviews or round up. There isn't really anything like that here. I know that some people have said they wished they could have seen the BBC footage from the rain delays, but I don't think that this would gain anything for having it. All in all a good buy, as long as you are a total tennis nut/fan of Rafa or Roger (for me Rafa).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Match - Poor DVD, 20 May 2010
By 
Martin (London, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Wimbledon The 2008 Mens Final - Nadal vs Federer: Rafael Nadal's Triumph at Twilight [DVD] (DVD)
This DVD is let down by the fact that the player interviews are cut off at the end!!! Every ball is shown, with the only editing during the match being a few seconds cut out when a player takes a bathroom break between sets, and of course the rain delays.

The coverage includes the winner receiving the trophy, but the DVD ends THERE, instead of showing the players' interviews on court with Sue Barker. This was a terrible let down for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nadal vs Federer 2008, 29 Dec 2009
This review is from: Wimbledon The 2008 Mens Final - Nadal vs Federer: Rafael Nadal's Triumph at Twilight [DVD] (DVD)
If you watched the original match then this video will bring it all back. If you didn't you are in for a real treat watching two greats at their best - no tantrums, temper, abuse or spitting on court - just pure brilliant tennis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars just one of the best tennis matches of all time, 7 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wimbledon The 2008 Mens Final - Nadal vs Federer: Rafael Nadal's Triumph at Twilight [DVD] (DVD)
I can't remember ever being so emotional watching a tennis match... after the previous year's desperate and ultimately futile attempt to beat Federer, Nadal cracked it - as he has ever since. The REAL GOAT!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rafa and Roger, 29 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wimbledon The 2008 Mens Final - Nadal vs Federer: Rafael Nadal's Triumph at Twilight [DVD] (DVD)
I have been watching tennis from childhood. The tennis we are watching at the present is the finest ever, this final was one of the greatest of all time. If any one has the edited version with Jonathan Ross, John McEnroe , Tim Henman etc please let me know, I would love to have it. It also contains Roger and Rafa reading Rudyard Kiplings IF. Magnificent .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews