Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the great sporting landmarks, just as it happened
If you are looking to actually re-live the Wimbledon Final of 2008, this BBC DVD production does the trick perfectly.

Aside from the coverage during rain delays of course, this is the Federer v Nadal epic exactly as it went out live and on air at the time. For anyone who prefers extra build up to be included, I should warn that this DVD is pretty limited in...
Published on 13 July 2009 by R. Jakubowski

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Wimbledon final 2008 Nadal vs Federer.
I was really looking forward to watching this memorable match. But so. Disappointed, when it did not include, the ceremony, when Federer, spoke about how he threw everything at Nadal, but he kept on coming back, and then the interview, with Nadal. I felt cheated of the memorable occasion. I am so disappointed, I probably will not view it again.
Published 21 months ago by Miss gillianbrock


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the great sporting landmarks, just as it happened, 13 July 2009
By 
R. Jakubowski (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wimbledon The 2008 Mens Final - Nadal vs Federer: Rafael Nadal's Triumph at Twilight [DVD] (DVD)
If you are looking to actually re-live the Wimbledon Final of 2008, this BBC DVD production does the trick perfectly.

Aside from the coverage during rain delays of course, this is the Federer v Nadal epic exactly as it went out live and on air at the time. For anyone who prefers extra build up to be included, I should warn that this DVD is pretty limited in that department, with only a rather corny and reading of Rudyard Kipling's 'If' to create suspense. However, with the quality of the tennis played, the intensity of the competition, and the excitement of the twists and turns this match provided, you will soon be captivated, completely forgetting that you are watching a recording, rather than the live event.

A monumental contest between two of the sports' all time greats, this is an essential for any tennis fan's collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Match, shame they cut the interviews out., 22 Feb. 2011
This review is from: Wimbledon The 2008 Mens Final - Nadal vs Federer: Rafael Nadal's Triumph at Twilight [DVD] (DVD)
I am a huge Rafael Nadal fan & I recorded this match at the time on video but bought the DVD to watch it again in better quality.

At the time I had a DVD player - how I wished I'd had the DVD recorder I have now & I could have recorded it with the on court interviews, like other reviewers said, the fact they were cut out is a huge disappointment, however it's a classic match, very emotional for Rafa fans as we were thrilled he finally won Wimbledon after losing in the final the previous 2 years, so all in all I'm glad I bought it.

Rafa fans will also love The Poetry of Passion (for People with a Pulse) as it has a long chapter called "A Fan's Feelings" of 80 poems about Rafa, his career, his personality & his good looks (& the rest of the book is brilliant too) No Rafa fan should be without it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best final ever., 22 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wimbledon The 2008 Mens Final - Nadal vs Federer: Rafael Nadal's Triumph at Twilight [DVD] (DVD)
This is a great little treat for any tennis fan. A real fan will know that this was the greatest Men's final ever played, even the greats from the 70s and 80s say this is the best match ever. It is the last time that Roger Federer and Rafael Nadal played each other at Wimbledon and it was an epic match. It lasted over five hours and was rain delayed a couple of times. In fact this was the last match that could have this sort of rain delay as the roof is now on Centre Court. The only thing missing is perhaps some post-match interviews or round up. There isn't really anything like that here. I know that some people have said they wished they could have seen the BBC footage from the rain delays, but I don't think that this would gain anything for having it. All in all a good buy, as long as you are a total tennis nut/fan of Rafa or Roger (for me Rafa).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 16 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wimbledon The 2008 Mens Final - Nadal vs Federer: Rafael Nadal's Triumph at Twilight [DVD] (DVD)
This is really special. This match has to be the greatest. I haven't seen it since the original fraught TV viewing which was so tense that I didn't really take in what was going on. It was a real treat to watch, and, despite knowing the score and the result, still pretty tense! It is a wonderful match to enjoy because both players played incredibly well throughout and both had to show their mental strength in coming back from setbacks - Rafa from losing the championship points and Roger from two sets down. The rain delays and the past history (the two previous finals) ratchet up the excitement ... A must for all of us Rafa fans showing how he developed from King of Clay to World no 1 (incidentally, he's a much more complete player now - the serve particularly is so improved! I hadn't realised till I saw this match again) and it also shows Fed at his absolute best.

As other reviewers have said, the presentation is disappointing. I'd have liked more build-up, especially the players' routes to the final. Losing most of the followup and especially the post-match interviews is even more of a shame.

But I have to give this DVD five stars despite these quibbles because the match itself is such a brilliant experience! I can't wait to watch it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best tennis match ever, 12 Dec. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wimbledon The 2008 Mens Final - Nadal vs Federer: Rafael Nadal's Triumph at Twilight [DVD] (DVD)
The 2008 Mens Final Nadal - v - Federer was the best tennis final ever. I missed seeing it in 2008 and finally found it on Amazon. The standard is extremely high from the very start of the match. It is just a wonderful game of tennis played to the highest level and shows the players' skills and sportsmanship. I will watch it again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Indispensable souvenir of a classic match., 10 Aug. 2008
By 
Pensioner (Christchurch) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wimbledon The 2008 Mens Final - Nadal vs Federer: Rafael Nadal's Triumph at Twilight [DVD] (DVD)
Probably the greatest Wimbledon Final ever, maybe the greatest match ever. Relive this titanic contest in which Rafa, soon after winning the French and at the peak of his form, eventually prevailed after 5 dramatic and gruellingly long sets to win his first Wimbledon Men's title and virtually ensure that he would soon overtake Rog to become the World's number one ranked player.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Class on Grass - Ace - A Must Buy Item for Tennis Fans, 22 Feb. 2011
This review is from: Wimbledon The 2008 Mens Final - Nadal vs Federer: Rafael Nadal's Triumph at Twilight [DVD] (DVD)
I am Rafael Nadal's biggest fan & this DVD has been played a million times, I love it!

It's a classic, exciting, 5 set match and I was as exhausted as the players must have been when it finished because when you're watching as a fan and you really, really want your man to win, you go through all the highs and lows with them and feel worn out by the end (but very very happy!)

Sorry for Federer fans, you won't enjoy it as much as I did because he lost but he has won it loads of times so I'm really happy for Rafa that his dream came true.

Other Rafa fans will love this book The Poetry of Passion (for People with a Pulse) it's got 80 poems in about how us fans feel about him, the highs the lows and his lovely humble personality and his sexy looks, and the other poems about love are good too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nadal vs Federer 2008, 29 Dec. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wimbledon The 2008 Mens Final - Nadal vs Federer: Rafael Nadal's Triumph at Twilight [DVD] (DVD)
If you watched the original match then this video will bring it all back. If you didn't you are in for a real treat watching two greats at their best - no tantrums, temper, abuse or spitting on court - just pure brilliant tennis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow! what a final!, 23 July 2011
By 
Mrs. B. Horner (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wimbledon The 2008 Mens Final - Nadal vs Federer: Rafael Nadal's Triumph at Twilight [DVD] (DVD)
Fantastic final which I could watch over and over again, almost surpassing (but not quite) the Borg-McEnroe final. Both players at their peak.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars WE WANT ALL FEDERER MATCHES..., 25 Mar. 2013
By 
V. K. Manglaveras (thessaloniki, greece) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wimbledon The 2008 Mens Final - Nadal vs Federer: Rafael Nadal's Triumph at Twilight [DVD] (DVD)
This was a great match between two legends but only few of federer matches are released so far on dvd. About 7-8 matches so far including the region 1 releases.
What we need is AT LEAST ALL FEDERER GRAND SLAM Q.F, S.F and FINAL MATCHES and then some more...(The rest slam matches and his 33 finals at masters 1000 as well as his 8 finals in the world tour finals.)
Please for the millions federer fans. RELEASE THOSE MATCHES AS SOON AS POSSIBLE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews