Customer Reviews


350 Reviews
5 star:
 (220)
4 star:
 (81)
3 star:
 (31)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ironman a definite winner
I saw the movie, bought it on DVD and now moved to blu ray which has really enhanced the visual and sound entertainment. It depends on your taste, but Ironman is a great movie that provides a good storyline into the creation of the Iron Man concept, which has not been lost in Iron Man 2. If you are into action, sci-fi, fantasy and superheroes this is a quality movie of...
Published on 20 May 2010 by John Gillespie

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "I'm going to protect the people I put in danger..."
When weapons-wizard and playboy Tony Stark is kidnapped by a middle-Eastern terrorist group, he has an epiphany and realises that the millions he has in the bank are there because of a lot of human deaths and suffering. His escape in a metal suit of armour leads to further development of the idea and an icon is born...

This is a pretty typical superhero film...
Published on 28 Jan 2009 by @GeekZilla9000


‹ Previous | 1 235 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ironman a definite winner, 20 May 2010
By 
John Gillespie (Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Iron Man [Blu-ray] [2008] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I saw the movie, bought it on DVD and now moved to blu ray which has really enhanced the visual and sound entertainment. It depends on your taste, but Ironman is a great movie that provides a good storyline into the creation of the Iron Man concept, which has not been lost in Iron Man 2. If you are into action, sci-fi, fantasy and superheroes this is a quality movie of just over 2 hours that keeps you enthralled and entertained.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Should be the reference for all other marvel films, 16 July 2009
This review is from: Iron Man [Blu-ray] [2008] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
THE FILM
This is one of the best of the marvel adaptations, from one of the more neglected characters in the marvel universe. I was pleasantly surprised to see all parts of the film cohesively made. Where as spider man had excellent peter parker scenes but dire Spiderman action scenes, and where Xmen and hulk had great action scenes but fairly dry `normal people' scenes, Iron man I felt introduced the right balance, with comedy, serious moments, and actions scenes with real punch.

Robert Downey Jr is perfect in the role, always seemingly smarter and riskier in every single way than the other characters in the movie, and spares the time to crack some spot on jokes. He is convincing as a scientist as well as a playboy and manages to take on both roles convincingly. Gwyneth Paltrow's role was not an amazing one and too be honest many actresses of similar physical build and spoken class could have filled the role. Jeff Bridges was very effective and quite an unreadable character for much of the film.

Plot wise it was all good up until the battle with the final villain who transitioned from a real life kind of bad guy, to the straight up insane comic book bad guy a little too quickly. But arguably this film is about its action scenes and it does not disappoint, the special effects are great in that they might not seem like special effects, just complicated real life shots. The suit of armour is everything it should be, looks wise and equipment wise, featuring all the sorts of gaudy weaponry that it deserves. The only parts of the film where I thought the use of CGI, particularly the animation, weren't up to scratch were the mechanical fitting of his armour which just felt too fake, and the final boss battle which just edged itself out of a realistic presentation.

PRESENTATION
Iron man really is one of those show off films for a Bluray home theatre, it is wonderfully sharp and the facial textures and pores are extremely vivid, made more so by artificially enhancing your TVs sharpness, although this may make the background picture look slightly more grainy. Particular highlights are the desert scenes in the beginning and any of the daytime Iron man scenes, where the metal grain of the suit can look like brushed aluminium, which would never really come across as effectively on Standard Definition. The CGI is superbly believable and immersive, possibly with the exception of the end battle which was probably the weaker part of the film anyway.

The sound is excellent, with your home cinema system booted up there are plenty of ear candy moments, from the test firing of the missile system to the time he takes out the enemies version of it, but the whole movie is generally spot on. The music sound track is also extra well done, with the guitar used to back up many scenes giving the impression that Tony Stark really is a rock star in his field.

CONCLUSION
Overall this is a great film even for those who struggle to like such non real life style films, as this one is mostly done with a maintained realism and effects base. The action is coruscating and boldly impressive, and the viewing experience is further intensified by the almost immaculate presentation of the picture and sound on Bluray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent film, 11 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Iron Man [DVD] (DVD)
Gripped me from start to end. Good action film which you can watch with all the family. Entices the imagination into invention.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 27 May 2013
By 
Mr. S. Storey "eats beans" (not at work) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Iron Man [DVD] (DVD)
RD Junior shines as the obnoxious playboy turned stoic saviour in this fantastic origins tale. The screenplay is first class, the characters are well written and we easily understand their motivations. The visuals are never less than thrilling; the final battle between what are essentially two robots is especially well presented - unlike Transformers for instance when the whole screen is littered with flashy metal and you can't tell what's going on. I found Iron Man - or rather Tony Stark to be more er..human than the other square jawed superheroes, his frailties are nearer the surface. Much of the humour comes from his various weaknesses, booze, cars, women and impetuousness being just a few. I'll be watching the DVD for years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sit back. Disengage. Enjoy., 25 Sep 2008
I was never a big fan of superheroes to be honest. However I watched this movie prepared for a simple comic book epic, which would of course entail big explosions, great effects, a modest story line and hopefully some not too wooden acting. Thats exactly what you get, all done just about to perfection. You get nothing more, but the finish of it all is so good that you can have no complaints at all. If you expect more then don't watch it. Bonuses come in the form of a great lead man in Robert Downey Jr and the additional sparkle of Paltrow. The story is the generic Superhero plot followed in almost all the recent incarnations: superhero metamorphosis followed by a secondary character harnessing the ability to do the same with a bit extra followed by climactic battle with predictable ending. Its tried and tested and it works well. And this version of it is no exception. Its not deep, its not convoluted, its blockbuster entertainment in its cleanest purest form, for all with the appropriate level of expectation to appreciate. Sit back. Disengage. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Iron Man Has Soul, 10 Jun 2013
By 
prisrob "pris," (New England USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Iron Man [DVD] (DVD)
Iron Man and Ray Stark are new to me. I am not a comic book or fantasy fan. However, I enjoyed this film tremendously. The plot though thin, rang true and the superhero is expected to do some real acting. Though his feats are amazing, it is the scenery, his soul and the people supporting him that make this film so good.

Robert Downey, Jr plays Ray Stark, he owns a company that makes and sells high tech weaponry. At the moment he is in Afghanistan showing off his weaponry, when his group is attacked. He spends the next three months building a suit to protect his new heart and himself. In the process he escapes and comes back to to life in California. Iron Man has a great cast of characters- Terrence Howard, as the military man, Gwyneth Paltrow as his girl Friday and Jeff Bridges as his accomplice in the company- Bridges really wears black. Needless to say the plot thickens and Iron Man goes on to build a new suit to defend his newly found ethical behavior and save the day.

Save the day, he does- Robert Downy Jr is a first rate actor with emotional liability and he is the Iron Man. The other actors are also first rate and this is the film of the past year, IMO.

There is a shocking revelation and the hardware is impressive. This is a fun film for all. The computer aided visuals are impressive and Iron Man, well he has Soul!

Highly Recommended. prisrob 06-09-13
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Iron Man, 8 Mar 2010
This review is from: Iron Man [DVD] (DVD)
Enjoyable action flick (surprisingly non-cheesey) with excellent audio - especially the sub bass, deep and tight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superior Comic Based Action, 30 Sep 2009
By 
MLA (Wien, Österreich) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Iron Man is one of the best adaptations of comic book entertainment to the world of film. In my view only the Christian Bale Batman is as excellent a story and production as the tale of the Iron Man. Robert Downey Jnr is fantastically cast as Tony Stark, playboy industrialist and genious. As a weapons manufacturer and womaniser, Stark is set up as a character without morals and with only his own quest for pleasure able to match his inquisitive desire to build bigger and better weapons. It all goes wrong within moments of the opening credits though as on a trip to Afghanistan (and trust me it really does look like Afghanistan) his convoy is attacked and he is taken prisoner. From there, Stark builds the foundation of his Iron Man.

It is the first part of the film that is truly awesome. Downey Jnr's own decadent lifestyle plays so well into the character of Stark and the arrogance that accompanies a genious who knows his position is delicious. His winning way with people and the awe with which the squaddies look up to him in the moment before his convoy is hit are moments of cinematic greatness.

The part of the film where robots are fighting each other is less fun. I'm not a fan of the Transformers film and I didn't like the same robot action here. The process that turns Stark into the Iron Man both in the cave and then when perfecting the suit in California are what makes this film work so excellently.

There are plot holes just as there are in any blockbuster. The sentimentality of the reporting on a refugee crisis is cringeworthy. The deliberate attempt to de-Arabise the terrorist group is pointless as those who fail to see the difference still won't while those who do will not be convinced. Despite all that this is still a great film. Jeff Bridges is a great presence and his bald pate and beard make his character really stand out. Bridges carries a sophistication in his characterisation that makes him a believable Chief Executive weighing up every situation to his own best advantage. Even Gwyneth Paltrow puts in a decent turn helped by an excellent mop of hair.

The DVD extras are really extensive. The making of documentary is seriously comprehensive and covers a lot of the behind the scenes issues - a genuine glimpse into the role of the director as Jon Favreau takes the production from concepts with the comic book guys through the model making, casting, until post-production. The lengthy discussions with comic book guys is probably more for those with a natural affinity to comics though I noted with some amusement the complete writing out of Barry Windsor-Smith from Iron Man history - knowing the guy personally it doesn't surprise me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Top Notch Entertainment!, 4 April 2009
When I first heard that Iron Man was going to get the big-screen treatment, I have to admit to feeling a touch apprehensive; he was always my favest as a kid and the adaptations of Spider-Man, Superman, Fantastic Four, Hulk etc, for me, have been far from great.

So with a bit of trepadation I sat down to watch. What relief!

I'll admit I'm a Robert Downey Junior fan, so when I heard he'd be playing Tony Stark, I thought perfect. He's got the chat, the charm, the charisma, and he puts all 3 to use brilliantly.
He's helped by a very sharp & snappy script, and some great supporting performances; Bridges especially, who doesn't get too much screen time unfortunately, does make an excellent bad-guy!

The plot and story are good enough both to introduce the casual viewer to the character and not to bore the fans.

Out of all the big-screen-makeovers I've seen (barring Batman I guess) this & Transformers is heads & shoulders above the rest, so enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Marvel film at their best, 15 Mar 2009
By 
Brian Sheeran "Brian S" (Warrington, Greater Manchester United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Iron Man [DVD] (DVD)
Let's face it. Most Marvel characters don't translate well to film. With one or two notable exceptions these films have been booooring..... And I loved the comics as a kid.

But this is both fun and action packed. Kids and adults can all watch it together and have a great time.

Pretty highly recommended, and one you can watch again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 235 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Iron Man [Blu-ray] [2008] [Region Free]
Iron Man [Blu-ray] [2008] [Region Free] by Jon Favreau (Blu-ray - 2008)
£19.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews