Customer Reviews


78 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (23)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Springfield year eleven
Here in one box set, spread over four discs, are all twenty two episodes of the Eleventh season of the Simpsons.

Episodes are as follows:

Beyond Blunderdome.
Brother's little helper.
Guess who's coming to criticize dinner.
Treehouse of Horror X.
E-I-E-I-[annoyed grunt].
Hello gutter, hello fadder.
Eight misbehavin'...
Published 22 months ago by Paul Tapner

versus
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The first season of The Simpsons that isn't essential.
Firstly, there has been a lot of complaining about the packaging to this set in other reviews. Well yes, it's fairly bad, however not nearly as bad as many have made out. I just don't understand why they didn't keep the box style from the previous three or four seasons.

The real reason to potentially avoid this set though is the dramatic fall in quality from...
Published on 7 Jun 2010 by Mr. M. Turner


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars bad packaging, 1 Sep 2012
By 
Craig Sangster (Aberdeen, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Simpsons - Season 11 - Complete [DVD] (DVD)
5 stars for the actual season but the packaging is terrible. Really terrible. I've only taken the dvd's out a few times and already there are problems. Got it at agood price but now I see why. If you do decide to buy it i suggest you buy a dvd wallet or something similar to store the dvd's otherwise they will not last long. You've been warned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars All in all...Not bad., 3 Feb 2009
By 
D. Richards (South Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Simpsons - Season 11 - Complete [DVD] (DVD)
This season seems to be the Event Horizon in terms of quality of "The Simpsons". Season 10 was generally good, and I would say that this season is about the same. There are a few more dud episodes this season, and I would say that other episodes are "growers" and not out and out Classics like so many episodes during the early seasons, but still there are enough laughs and moments to make this season worthwhile and entertaining.

Many people have given 1 star for the packaging, In my opinion it's not really that bad and is no worse than the packaging for Led Zepplin's 2cd/dvd of "Mothership", Coldplay's "Viva la Viva" special edition, or even U2's 2 disc re-issues of Boy, October, War - all of them have the "slide in" cd holders like this boxset has. The only issue I have was that there was no booklet with my boxset like the other seasons had. Maybe this is just me I don't know, but no-one else has mentioned it.

For all those looking to buy the Krusty head version - I would say don't bother, its simply a plastic cover of the "normal" boxset that slides on to it and not like the other "head" boxes which open up.

All in all a good buy, and with only season 12 to go before the quality of writing and humor takes a dive like Eddie the Eagle, worth shelling out for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simpson Season 11 - A Mixed Bag!, 27 Dec 2009
By 
Ms. T. Lewis - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Simpsons - Season 11 - Complete [DVD] (DVD)
This season has its highs and lows. Ill get my moan about the packaging done, yes it is very shoddy and needlessly complicated but lets not dwell on that, let me talk about the content!

Overall this season has some very funny moments but there are no memorable episodes except for 'Hello Gutter, Hello Fadder' where Homer bowls a 300 game. Some of the episodes are very funny, including the first one 'Beyond Blunderdome' but they don't seem to go anywhere and instead of laughing at jokes congruent to what is going on you find it comes a little random at times. However this season beats 10 for laughs and comes close to beating 9 for it. The other good thing here is some of the great quotes and they appear on several episodes. Overall i will give it 4 stars but i fear that this is the end of the great Simpsons. Don't get me wrong i still love it but its golden era ends here if i remember correctly.

Highly reccomended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great season very bad packaging, 28 Feb 2013
By 
Andy Hook (Bristol, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Simpsons - Season 11 - Complete [DVD] (DVD)
Yet again another great season but the packaging is awful!!! Every disk you take out is bound to be scratched because of the cheap cardboard packaging where the disks have been squashed in very tightly so there hard to take out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you are a Fan, must buy!, 28 Jan 2010
By 
P. J. Nonfjall (Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm a huge fan of the Simpsons, and I collect the box sets.
But I am very disappointed over the bad design of the box, and that you almost rip the cardboard apart taking out a Disc, and you have to clean the Disc before inserting it into the DVD player.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 34 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worst....packaging.....ever., 13 Oct 2008
By 
This review is from: Simpsons - Season 11 - Complete [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this eagerly awaited box set as soon as I heard it was out. I just could not wait to hear the commentaries (the main reason I buy these box sets). Of course, my cousin had informed me of the ridiculous packaging, but I still had the idea of a reasonable method of storing the discs. I mean, it's The Simpsons, you cant really expect the packaging to be that bad.....can you?

As soon as I saw the item in the store, it looked like the cardboard folding contraption that stores the discs was very shoddily made. It appears at first sight that each disc has an individual cardboard sleeve, and that each is a different size to the other, which makes it look like a bunch of children made this.

After taking off the plastic wrapping, you are then able to pull out this.......thing from the outer packaging. It folds out in an absurd way (ever unfold a road map and find yourself struggling to fold it back to the original way it was? Bingo).

The most horrible thing about this packaging however, is the fact that the discs do not have holders that they can click into. They are actually slid beneath a cardboard flap on this.....em....road map. I think everybody knows at this stage that there is no way that you can slide CDs or DVDs against a surface without them being scratched.

I could go on and on about this...

It's such a shame that the packaging was so bad for this, as it is a fantastic season, and I will continue to watch it with just as much enthusiasm as I had before I discovered this horrible mess. The audio commentaries are very interesting and the episodes are as usual funny as hell!

I hope this review was of help, and that it gives an insight into just how bad the packaging is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disc 2 jumped all the time, 17 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Simpsons - Season 11 - Complete [DVD] (DVD)
Had to return as 2nd disc jumped all the time. Also every difficult to get the CDs out as packaging so tight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another enjoyable season but new cardboard sleeves which are cheap and annoying, 20 July 2009
By 
This review is from: Simpsons - Season 11 - Complete [DVD] (DVD)
It was recommended to me by a friend to purchase this DVD. The golden age of The Simpsons ended at season 10 and I was quite pessimistic about buying any season afterwards. After watching it all I am glad I bought it and it's a great watch. It's visible that a bit of the quality of the older seasons has gone but it is still a great season and there are some really enjoyable episodes.

The first episode stars Mel Gibson where Homer is trying to help him improve on a movie. Adam West is back! I would say the worst episode on the season is Brother's little helper. You can see how little thought has been put into it. Bart being diagnosed with ADD and then going crazy is a poor storyline. The Treehouse of horror is one of my favourites. Ned Flanders as a werewolf, Xena with Bart and Lisa as superheroes and Homer destroying the world with the Y2K bug. Homer in the spaceship saying 'The sun, but that's the hottest place on earth' and Polly Shaw saying 'Gonna work on my tannage, buddy', is awesome! The guest appearance of the B 52's converting Love shack to Glove slap is comical. Maggie saving Homer in Hello gutter is a shocker. Homer begins bowling again, referncing back to Team Homer in season 7. There are quite a few references throughout the season to other episodes. Surly plays the same 'DRINK DUFF, responsibly' joke, there's a reference to the monorail, Comic book guy even refers to cretain episodes and there's many more. This conveys that they were running out of ideas. Take my wife ssleaze is a great episode with Homer starting a biker gang and pulling up next to Chief Wiggum doing a pig joke. Gary Coleman's 'What you talkin' about?' appears in Grift of the Magi with the crazy Funzo dolls. The mansion family is brilliant when The Simpsons take over Mr Burns mansion. There are more celebrity cameo appearances in this season including Britney Spears ' kiss killing the oldest man in town! Maude Flanders is killed when Homer ducks a barrage of T-shirts. In Missionary: Impossible Homer turns an African Island to boozing and gambling. Homer's 'Save me Jebus!' is a classic. There's also a fantastic Flinstones parody. Moe receives plastic surgery in Pygmoelian with the greatest ending ever; 'Shouldn't there have been some third face instead of my original face, doesn't make no...'! Barney gives up alcohol grandly in this season. One of the best episodes Kill the alligator has the family fleeing from the Police in Florida with Kid rock appearing at a spring break concert. You will notice more nudity in this season as well! The beautiful Becky lives with the family when Otto fails to choose her over metal! Then Marge goes crazy as a result of jealousy. The final episode is a very different look at the family than you have ever seen before. It apparently won an Emmy. Homer crying about his pot bellied pig in his mansion being taken away is awesome!

Of course there's commentary on every episode but disappointingly Matt Groening only appears on 2 episodes. Apparently it's because they were making the movie at the same time. There are some easy to access Easter eggs and quite a few special features. Some are worth watching, some are only for the Simpsons nerds! The thing that disappointed me was usually in the booklet it tells you the original airdates of the episodes but they haven't even bothered to do that! Travesty!

As it's already been said here; the packaging is really bad. Instead of the clever plastic holders within cardboard packaging, it's just all cardboard packaging with slips to slide the discs in. They are much more likely to get scratched, so you have to be careful. A trick I fathomed was to flop the other parts of the folder down and make sure the disc doesn't touch any of the packaging. I am sure it's a way of saving money so that the company can make more money from us by compromising the materials.
Anyway, for those of you who weren't excited for this season when it came out, rethink again because this is worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Halfway decent series let down by cruddy and ill conceived packaging., 17 Nov 2011
This review is from: Simpsons - Season 11 - Complete [DVD] (DVD)
I understand that there is general dissatisfaction with the packaging for the Simpson's gift sets from season 11 onwards. The poorly designed method in which the discs are stored can lead to them getting scratched unintentionally, or causing unsuspecting owners to accidentally smear their fingers over the underside of the DVD. I ensured however that I didn't let this happen with the second(!)set I received, the first having had to be returned, so was disappointed to find the same problems occurring, albeit on a different disc in the set. I took a very close look at the underside of the disc to see if there were any marks that I could see but there was nothing visible. However, after playing the disc on three separate machines, the same stuttering occurred during the first two episodes so it became apparent that there was something fundamentally wrong with the product. I can only think that there might be micro scratches occurring thanks to the unsuitable packaging, which may not be visible. Very disappointing indeed but absolutely nothing that Amazon can do to prevent unfortunately: all due to the unbelievably poor packaging decided upon by the distribution company who should be thoroughly ashamed of themselves for releasing such a shoddy and poorly thought out product onto the market.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Episode List, 28 Sep 2008
This review is from: Simpsons - Season 11 - Complete [DVD] (DVD)
I love the simpsons and i think that it's only right to put down an episode synopsis.

BBEYOND BLUNDERDOME: Homer gives some advice to Mel Gibson on his latest movie, which includes nearly all the people in the White House being killed~

BROTHER'S LITTLE HELPER: Bart is given a new kind of pill to stop him being so destructive. However, he becomes dangerously paranoid, and lets loose at the town~

GUESS WHO'S COMING TO CRITICIZE DINNER: homer becomes the town food critic. But when he becomes to harsh, the leading town restaurants get together, and devise a plan to kill Homer~

TREEHOUSE OF HORROR X: 1#. 'I Know What You Diddily-Iddly-Did' shows that Ned Flanders is knocked down by the Simpsons on the way home in the car.
But he comes back as a werewolf, set to kill them all.
2#. 'Desperately Xeeking Xena' is when Comicbook Guy steals a woman dressed up as a comicbook hero, and plans to make her his bride. It's up to 'Stretch Dude' and 'Clobber Girl' to save the day.
3#. 'Life's A Glitch, Then You Die'; the worlds computers go haywire and two rockets are sent into space from Springfield. Unfortunately, Bart and Homer get on the wrong one~

E-I-E-I-(ANNOYED GRUNT): Homer becomes inclined to challenge anybody and anyone to a duel, until someone finally excepts.
Scared for his life, he moves the family back to his old home, where they become notched into the farming way of life.
It is here that Homer makes his fortune by crossbreedng; tomatoes, tobacco and plutonium~

HELLO GUTTER, HELLO FADDER: Homer bowls himself a 300, which then becomes a town event. As he has succeeded in yet another of his life wishes, he starts spending more time with Maggie~

EIGHT MISBEHAVIN': Apu and Manjula have Octuplets, but are soon strapped for cash.
Desperate, Apu rents them out to a form of zoo, promised that they shall be well cared for.
But when seeing the disgraceful form of entertainment they are being used in, he -with a little help from Homer- get the babies back by breaking
in secret agent style~

TAKE MY WIFE, SLEAZE: Homer wins a motorbike, and starts his own gang.
but the name is already taken by a real motorbike gang, who decide to crash in the Simpsons house.
Finally they leave, but take Marge with them.
Homer embarks on a desperate mission to save her, meanwhile Marge teaches the gang how to be civiliased~

GRIFT OF THE MAGI: A new toy called 'Funzo' is produced thats instructionally told to destroy other toys, which was originally made up of ideas that the elementary schools students had talked about.
Bart, Lisa and Homer set out to destroy all the Funzo's in Springfield~

LITTLE BIG MOM: Marge is in hospital, but Lisa is confident that she is capable of running the family for a while.
However, with Bart's and Homer's constent stupidity, and destructivity.
She finally gets so angry that she plays a trick on them to get them right, which consists of her convincing them that they have leprosy.
They are thus sent to an island to help them, which Bart and Homer are then reluctant to leave~

FAITH OFF: Bart appears to have the power of God to help people in need.
But after a mess up that ends with Milhouse in hospital, Bart is sure he no longer has the power. Which is needed to stop Homer being killed by Fat Tony and the mob~

THE MANSION FAMILY: Homer is trusted with Mr. Burns' mansion while Mr. Burns is away for medical care.
When Homer hears he's coming back however, he is reluctant to give it back. And sets out with a boat party in motion, which is then attacked by pirates~

SADDLESORE GALACTICA: When a 'nervous' horse is gifted upon Bart and Homer, they turn it into a 'bad attitude' horse which is constantly winning races.
But their luck runs out when Homer runs aground on a bunch of evil jockeys that live underground, and are getting sick of
constantly losing~

ALONE AGAIN, NATURA-DIDDILY: Tragedy hits when Ned Flanders wife; Maude Flanders, dies.
Homer tries to help him get a grip on himself, but Ned fears he shall never love again... but will he?~

MISSIONARY:IMPOSSIBLE: Homer is on the run, and he ends up on an island thats trying to teach the natives religion.
Homer makes them forget all this when he starts up a casino. With disasterous results~

PYGMOELIAN: Moe has got a new face, and with it a big new career.
But when he and Homer get hold of a strip that says he's going to be killed off, he tries to get his own back~

BART TO THE FUTURE: Bart witnesses his possible future at an native american casino, in which he and Ralph Wiggum share an apartment and Lisa has become president of the USA.
Bart is in money trouble, and is trying to get noticed by the music critics from being seen in presidential videos, during which he almost certainly dooms Lisa's career~

DAYS OF WINE AND D'OH'SES: A tale of how Barney realises what alchahol has done to him, and his continues efforts to try to quit the booze.
But once he does, Homer is both shocked and angry at Barney for what he's done. He then tries to convince Barney to start drinking again, but then gives in when Barney's soberness saves Bart and Lisa~

KILL THE ALLIGATOR AND RUN: The Simpsons are in Florida, and are the run for supposedly killing an extremely popular Alligator~

LAST TAP DANCE IN SPRINGFIELD: Lisa is struggling to become a tap dancer after seeing a romantic pictiur, but soon finds that it is not easy.
After continously failing to be good enough for the school performance she gives up, but with some help from Proffessor Frink, she just might rise to the occasion~

IT'S A MAD,MAD,MAD,MAD MARGE: When Otto has to choose between his music and his soon to be wife, he chooses music.
As the wedding was to be held in the Simpsons backyard, Marge feels guilty and offers that Otto's bride stay with them awhile, she begins thinking that her family prefers Otto's girlfriend over her~

BEHIND THE LAUGHTER: We take a look behind the Simpsons lives.
And see the drugs, the mistakes, and the mishaps that occur supposedly when you get famous~

Well There You Go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Simpsons - Season 11 - Complete [DVD]
Simpsons - Season 11 - Complete [DVD] by The Simpsons (DVD - 2008)
£9.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews