Customer Reviews


72 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (22)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Springfield year eleven
Here in one box set, spread over four discs, are all twenty two episodes of the Eleventh season of the Simpsons.

Episodes are as follows:

Beyond Blunderdome.
Brother's little helper.
Guess who's coming to criticize dinner.
Treehouse of Horror X.
E-I-E-I-[annoyed grunt].
Hello gutter, hello fadder.
Eight misbehavin'...
Published 17 months ago by Paul Tapner

versus
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The first season of The Simpsons that isn't essential.
Firstly, there has been a lot of complaining about the packaging to this set in other reviews. Well yes, it's fairly bad, however not nearly as bad as many have made out. I just don't understand why they didn't keep the box style from the previous three or four seasons.

The real reason to potentially avoid this set though is the dramatic fall in quality from...
Published on 7 Jun 2010 by Mr. M. Turner


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Springfield year eleven, 20 Jan 2013
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Simpsons - Season 11 - Complete [DVD] (DVD)
Here in one box set, spread over four discs, are all twenty two episodes of the Eleventh season of the Simpsons.

Episodes are as follows:

Beyond Blunderdome.
Brother's little helper.
Guess who's coming to criticize dinner.
Treehouse of Horror X.
E-I-E-I-[annoyed grunt].
Hello gutter, hello fadder.
Eight misbehavin'.
Take my wife, sleaze.
Grift of the magi.
Little Big Mom.
Faith off.
The Mansion Family.
Saddlesore Galactica.
Alone again, natura-diddily.
Missionary: Impossible.
Pygmoelian.
Bart to the future.
Days of Wine and D'oh'ses.
Kill the alligator and run.
Last tap dance in Springfield.
It's a mad, mad, mad, mad, marge.
Behind the laughter.

The quality of the show at this stage in the run is a matter of opinion. And you do get the sense of them just taking an idea and running with it. But this is a very solid season. The Mel Gibson guest starring season opener 'Beyond Blunderdome' is a very good episode and a strong season opener. And the season finale 'Behind the Laughter', a parody of a certain documentary series which has the Simpsons as actors in their own show is inspired and very clever and very funny with it.

The discs have the following language and subtitle options:

Languages: English.

Subtitles: English.

Although you can choose to watch 'Beyond Blunderdome' in either Italian, Portugese, Czech, or German.

All episodes have a commentary from production staff and occasionally cast members also.

You can choose to watch every episode on the discs in a row or individually.

Those that have deleted scenes allow you the option of putting them back into the episode should you desire.

Disc one also has:

A short introduction to the season from show creator Matt Groening.

Animation showcase: which allows you to watch 'Beyond Blunderdome' at various stages of it's development.

Disc two also has:

One minutes worth of original character sketches.
'The many faces of Krusty': seven minutes worth of clips from Krusty related episodes showing how his look has been down the years.

Disc three also has:

Another animation showcase. Like the one on disc one, it allows you to watch 'The Mansion Family' at various stages of it's development.

Disc four also has:

Deleted scenes. Nineteen minutes worth of these, all the ones for the season in a row. Some are unfinished and some are in black and white. You can watch them with or without a commentary which explains why they were cut. Usually for timing reasons. Amongst them is an alternate ending for 'Beyond Blunderdome' which is well worth a look.

There's also another minutes worth of original sketches.
'And then there were menus'. A minute long feature showing how the interactive menus for these dvds are put together.
'A star on Hollywood boulevard'. A two minute long feature showing the ceremony that took place when the show was granted a star on Hollywood Boulevard.

As with other seasons the menus on the dvd do contain some fun animation that is well worth watching. And there are extras gags in the artwork and writing on the box of the dvd and in the booklet that comes with it.

Unfortunately this season isn't as well packaged as before. Instead of putting the discs in plastic holders the packaging folds out and you have to slot them into little cardboard pockets. Which is mildly inconvenient and somewhat annoying.

As with season ten this does feel a little light on extras compared to what came before.

But even so, it's a strong collection and what you do get extras wise is pretty good.

Just a shame about the packaging. But otherwise a very strong product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The first season of The Simpsons that isn't essential., 7 Jun 2010
By 
Mr. M. Turner "Ginsoakedboy" (bradford, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Simpsons - Season 11 - Complete [DVD] (DVD)
Firstly, there has been a lot of complaining about the packaging to this set in other reviews. Well yes, it's fairly bad, however not nearly as bad as many have made out. I just don't understand why they didn't keep the box style from the previous three or four seasons.

The real reason to potentially avoid this set though is the dramatic fall in quality from previous seasons. My personal opinion is that The Simpsons "jumped the shark" in season 10 with the first poor episode to have no reason to exist except celebrity cameos. ("When You Dish Upon a Star") However, in season 11, we are given an episode that the writers actually have no idea how to finish.. instead they literally stop the episode in its tracks and end with some very lame satire aimed at the Fox Network. ("Missionary: Impossible")

There are some laughs to be had here, but they are few and far between. This is certainly the last Simpsons season I will buy.. though it goes without saying that Seasons 1-9, and probably 10, are absolutely essential buys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Season! Awful Packaging, 6 Oct 2008
Another Great Season for The Simpsons. Have been looking forward to this coming out for some time. Can;t believe its taken so long.
I would have given this a higher rating if it wasnt for the packaging. Unlike the other Limited Edition Simpsons boxset (i.e. Homer Head boxset etc) this comes slightly smaller where the discs are stuffed into cardboard sleeves which can be quite hard to get out, and also have to touch the readable side of the disc with your fingers leaving grubby marks.
Also the packaging is very confusing and you are lucky to find the right disc you are looking for, first time.
As long as you aren't fussy about the packaging then this is a must buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great entertainment but let down by flawed packaging., 28 May 2012
By 
This review is from: Simpsons - Season 11 - Complete [DVD] (DVD)
I'm saddened to rate this item 2 out of 5 stars. This is due to the poor packaging where the discs are tightly packed into cardboard sleeves. This creates a problem, first getting the DVD out is tricky as it is tightly packed into the cardboard sleeves, if one were not careful they could rip the box and the discs are nearly gauranteed to be scratched already the first time you take the disc out as it is scraping against the cardboard every time you take out and put back the disc.

On the positive side, you have 22 episodes of the Simpsons which provides a nice lengthy watch, a nice little episode guide booklet and while the packaging is poor, it is colourful and looks nice.

My suggestion is this, purchase some thin DVD cases along with this, they are sold cheaply on the Amazon Marketplace and while you shouldn't have to, you won't have to worry about your discs being broken after being taken out of the case a few times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars start of the end credits...., 13 May 2009
By 
G. Hill "grahamthill" (Sydney, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Simpsons - Season 11 - Complete [DVD] (DVD)
This season marks the beginning of the end of the great Simpsons episodes and is the last one I will buy. While these episodes still provide laughter and entertainment there aren't as many that stick in the memory as there were from previous seasons. There is less social commentary and this season also marks the end of the character development. In fact the characters start to become characterisations of themselves! There is also a greater reliance upon characters outside of the family.

The one stand out episode on this series is: "Behind The Laughter". It is totally from left field but it is produced beautifully and is a great one for Simpson aficionados.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Simpsons Season Eleven: The bad episodes double, 20 Feb 2010
By 
Mr. D. J. Varney "Douglas Varney "film d... (Brighton, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Simpsons - Season 11 - Complete [DVD] (DVD)
The Simpsons's Eleventh season (1999-2000, 22 episodes) was sadly at an point where the era of great Simpsons series ended and the downward spiral properly began. The point of being that the writing was badly shifted away from the original, character-driven plots and pop culture satire to zany, celebrity-driven, try-hard-funny adventures. It also started to concentrate more on how stupid Homer is without probably developing any realism into his antics and the way the characters behave at this point was so out of place that they became kind of parodies to themselves. Sadly however, that was the way they would stay to this day.

Looking at the season, there are some good episodes here and there but nothing completely stands out. The only one capable of this is "Behind the Laughter", which was actually this season's finale, kind of makes you wish that Matt Groening pulled the plug at that point! "Guess Who's Coming to Criticize Dinner?" and "Faith Off" are also decent episodes. However, instead of being occasionally poor episodes like in Seasons 9 and 10, this seasons was littered with bad episodes. I would badly say that they begun to make "crap". "Take My Wife, Sleaze", Saddlesore Galactia", "Last Tap Dance in Springfield", "Eight Misbehavin'" and "Alone Again, Natura-Diddley" were the worst offenders and the Christmas episode "Gift of the Magi" was painfully weak. At the season's nadir, the episode "It's a Mad, Mad, Mad, Mad Marge", in which it's ending featured Homer shooting an sleeping dart at Marge in the neck probably summed up to many of us that this isn't the same show anymore. Espicially considered Homer & Marge seven years back riding off into the sunset on a bike in Season 4's "Duffless".

To any old-style Simpsons fan, this would probably be the last one you would want to buy. Season 12 is simply just where we are today and it just got poorer and poorer and poorer and poorer. A shame that the Simpsons have become to this, shows that Matt should have stopped at "Behind the Laugher", that would have been a worthy finale!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you are a Fan, must buy!, 28 Jan 2010
By 
P. J. Nonfjall (Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm a huge fan of the Simpsons, and I collect the box sets.
But I am very disappointed over the bad design of the box, and that you almost rip the cardboard apart taking out a Disc, and you have to clean the Disc before inserting it into the DVD player.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simpson Season 11 - A Mixed Bag!, 27 Dec 2009
By 
Ms. T. Lewis - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Simpsons - Season 11 - Complete [DVD] (DVD)
This season has its highs and lows. Ill get my moan about the packaging done, yes it is very shoddy and needlessly complicated but lets not dwell on that, let me talk about the content!

Overall this season has some very funny moments but there are no memorable episodes except for 'Hello Gutter, Hello Fadder' where Homer bowls a 300 game. Some of the episodes are very funny, including the first one 'Beyond Blunderdome' but they don't seem to go anywhere and instead of laughing at jokes congruent to what is going on you find it comes a little random at times. However this season beats 10 for laughs and comes close to beating 9 for it. The other good thing here is some of the great quotes and they appear on several episodes. Overall i will give it 4 stars but i fear that this is the end of the great Simpsons. Don't get me wrong i still love it but its golden era ends here if i remember correctly.

Highly reccomended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars All in all...Not bad., 3 Feb 2009
By 
D. Richards (South Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Simpsons - Season 11 - Complete [DVD] (DVD)
This season seems to be the Event Horizon in terms of quality of "The Simpsons". Season 10 was generally good, and I would say that this season is about the same. There are a few more dud episodes this season, and I would say that other episodes are "growers" and not out and out Classics like so many episodes during the early seasons, but still there are enough laughs and moments to make this season worthwhile and entertaining.

Many people have given 1 star for the packaging, In my opinion it's not really that bad and is no worse than the packaging for Led Zepplin's 2cd/dvd of "Mothership", Coldplay's "Viva la Viva" special edition, or even U2's 2 disc re-issues of Boy, October, War - all of them have the "slide in" cd holders like this boxset has. The only issue I have was that there was no booklet with my boxset like the other seasons had. Maybe this is just me I don't know, but no-one else has mentioned it.

For all those looking to buy the Krusty head version - I would say don't bother, its simply a plastic cover of the "normal" boxset that slides on to it and not like the other "head" boxes which open up.

All in all a good buy, and with only season 12 to go before the quality of writing and humor takes a dive like Eddie the Eagle, worth shelling out for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 34 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worst....packaging.....ever., 13 Oct 2008
By 
This review is from: Simpsons - Season 11 - Complete [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this eagerly awaited box set as soon as I heard it was out. I just could not wait to hear the commentaries (the main reason I buy these box sets). Of course, my cousin had informed me of the ridiculous packaging, but I still had the idea of a reasonable method of storing the discs. I mean, it's The Simpsons, you cant really expect the packaging to be that bad.....can you?

As soon as I saw the item in the store, it looked like the cardboard folding contraption that stores the discs was very shoddily made. It appears at first sight that each disc has an individual cardboard sleeve, and that each is a different size to the other, which makes it look like a bunch of children made this.

After taking off the plastic wrapping, you are then able to pull out this.......thing from the outer packaging. It folds out in an absurd way (ever unfold a road map and find yourself struggling to fold it back to the original way it was? Bingo).

The most horrible thing about this packaging however, is the fact that the discs do not have holders that they can click into. They are actually slid beneath a cardboard flap on this.....em....road map. I think everybody knows at this stage that there is no way that you can slide CDs or DVDs against a surface without them being scratched.

I could go on and on about this...

It's such a shame that the packaging was so bad for this, as it is a fantastic season, and I will continue to watch it with just as much enthusiasm as I had before I discovered this horrible mess. The audio commentaries are very interesting and the episodes are as usual funny as hell!

I hope this review was of help, and that it gives an insight into just how bad the packaging is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Simpsons - Season 11 - Complete [DVD]
Simpsons - Season 11 - Complete [DVD] by The Simpsons (DVD - 2008)
11.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews