Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars
326
3.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£6.45+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 July 2004
This is what the British do best. True horror and suspense without all the budget blown on wasted special effects.
This isn't a popcorn movie, But it's all about atmosphere, Photography and eerie nervousness.
If you're like me, and get totally engrossed in a film from start to finish, You'll love it. However, if you like teen horror flicks or flashy special effects and edge of the seat action, I suspect that you'll find it boring. I loved it, But I much prefer British horrors anyway.
Hope this helps.
0Comment| 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2007
**This is the exact same version of the film that was released years ago. It's a Limited Edition, not a new Director's cut, which the Amazon Ad would imply.**

If you already own the original Dvd release of this excellent film, then don't waste your money on this edition. The movie disc is exactly the same as the one released years ago...5 year old trailers and all. The second disc has some incredibly short behind the scenes stuff and a couple of trailers that add up to roughly 15 minutes or so, a huge disappointment. Overall an absolute con if you were expecting an upgrade from your old 1 Disc Dvd.

The producers of this Dvd release should be ashamed of themselves. The fact they didn't even remove the old trailers is a joke. According to the Dvd, Master and Commander is coming to cinemas soon.

I would recommend buying the original release, unless you want to pay double the price for the different artwork and a 2nd disc full of pretty much nothing.
33 comments| 68 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2003
When I saw this film I had no assumptions about it whatsoever. I was pleasantly suprised.
Danny Boyles latest piece far surpasses previous projects such as 'The Beach' allthough not the box office smash 'The Beach' was this film has been grossly under appraised. Though he has proved himself over previous years to be a excellent director, in the horror / thriller genre of 28 Days Later he has found his niche.
The film has a unique and twisting plot which exhibits and element of realism rarely seen in a film of its kind. Unlike most horror movies of the past decade, it is impressively belivable, this is accentuated by the enitre film being shot with DV cameras.
We see a post-apocalyptic London, desolated by a freak virus, aptley titled 'rage', which has basically turned the majority of the UK population into psychotic zombie-esque killers. The story follows everday guy (Cillian Murphy) in a journey of dealing with the realisation of the changed world and his survival. Teamed up with a handful of survivors, they struggle to find hope in this starkingly eerie and threatening world.
Alhough the film has no A-List stars in it, it includes great performances by such people as Christopher Ecclestone as a sinister army commander. The whole film is beautiful, belivable and scares the hell out of you in its approach. A true British classic which again has gone relatively unappreciated because it lacks the Hollywood glitz of other films.
If you want to be scared, watch this movie.
11 comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2009
Most of the film was shot on a Canon DV camcorder. This is an exact reproduction of how the film looked at the cinema, and hence this blu-ray's picture quality is not at fault.
44 comments| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2011
I love this film and have previously owned it on DVD. I read all the bad reviews about the Blu Ray quality but bought it anyway. If you ever watch the 'making of' feature on the disk you will learn the movie was shot using low grade DV cameras because it mimics how we as people are captured on camera in our everyday lives (with things like shop CCTV). It gives it a real life look & feel and can see why they chose that method of shooting.

So how does low grade DV images scale up on Blu Ray? It looks great and is a marked improvement over the DVD. It aint pin sharp like King Kong or The Dark Knight but, for this movie its the best its ever going to look - and thats how you have to review it I think.

The best thing about the Blu Ray release of this movie is the uncompressed sound, it is really outstanding and worth the upgrade to Blu Ray alone.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 28 August 2006
Danny Boyle (Trainspotting, Shallow Grave, The Beach) delivers a magnificent british horror film almost on a par with George A Romero's Living Dead trilogy.

I've read mixed reviews about 28 Days Later but I personally believe it is a remarkable film. Motorcycle courier Cillian Murphy wakes up from a coma in a deserted London hospital and makes his way outside into a deserted London. He soon discovers that the whole country has been devastated by a deadly virus after animal rights activists released a 'rage' infected laboratory monkey. Mass evacuations have been ordered and the desolate, grey, London cityscape is suddenly very frightening indeed, especially when it is crawling with infected crazed zombies. After a nasty encounter with said zombies, our hero meets more survivors and together they decide to head for an army stronghold in Manchester.

28 Days Later is a genuinely scary film and not just because of the shocking, brutal zombie attacks. The scariest thing is the unsettling deserted streets and missing posters on every wall. The sheer apocalyptic loneliness of the end of the world. We don't know the scale of the outbreak, is it just London, the whole of Great Britain or the whole world? Imagine waking up after over a month in a coma and facing this terror. 28 Days Later is also incredibly poignant. The scene where Murphy returns home to find his dead parents in bed together, clutching empty bottles of sleeping pills and a picture of him is incredibly sad and genuinely upsetting. Boyle doesn't let us dwell on the moment too long as we are quickley reminded of the horror with a vicious zombie attack. The zombies are crazed, sprinting killers not shuffling slow corpses and the encounters with them are terrifying. The scene where the car gets a flat in a tunnel had me on the edge of my seat as I waited for the inevitable onslaught. Another scary thing about the film is how quickly the soldiers become a law unto themselves when they were supposed to be protecting our heroes. The threat of sexual assault and violence is just as bad as the threat of the infected so the survivors decide to escape from the stronghold and head even further North in hope of refuge.

The film is bleak and nihilistic and the ending offers no real answers. I think the film is particularly relevant in these days of terrorist threat from biological weapons. Imagine waking up to find a biological weapon had been detonated and everyone was either dead or had been evacuated.....chilling thought.

Like this? Try: Dawn of the Dead
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2006
28 Days Later.. is easily one of the best British films that i have seen in a long time and the best zombie movie since Day of the Dead. The cinematography is superb and the use of digital cameras gives the film a soft focus look which only adds to the tension. The acting is excellent, especially Naomie Harris as Selena. The twist that really sets 28 Days apart from the classic Romero films is that the zombies are not shuffling, slow and unfrightening creatures. Instead, the infected launch themselves striaght at the veiwer, running like starving dogs. In addition, where Romeros zombies moan and groan, director Danny Boyles creations are even more terrifying for the fact that they are offen completely silent. This means that the zombies are more scary but the films does not stick to them. The humans are the most terrifying aspect, the moment when Selena is forced to kill mark is particularly shocking especially in the immediate aftermath of an attack when you think that perhaps they are alright again. Some reviewers have said that the gore is unnecessary, however there is a lot less that the classic zombie movies and there are no pointless images of zombies sitting on the ground eating meat of a bone. The film also demonstrates the idea that the zombies are not the real enemy, it is humans themselves.
What really sets 28 Days apart is that it is daring in all quarters; sticking to a British setting, casting relative unknowns in lead roles and sticking to a small screen budget which lends the film a superb documentary feel which adds to the feeling that this could actually happen. In addition the film stays away from one group of people trapped in one place and allows them to move around whilst still maintaining the feeling of claustrophobia brought on by the fact that the streets are almost completely devoid of any kind of life, normal humans or infected.
In short this is an excellent British horror film that brings new, brilliant ideas to an otherwise stagnant genre.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2003
So it's a zombie film?
Not Quite
I cannot do justice to this film with words alone, so I will tell you instead of what I did when I watched this film.
I didn't move.
Neither did the people who went to see it with me.
When I walked home, I did so in the middle of the road, just to be sure that nothing could dive out of the shadows at me.
This film is masterful, there is no other way of putting it, I lived in london at the time of seeing it, and the opening scenes of the film are amongst the most powerful ever seen of a british film, the desolation, isolation, and pure mental trauma of a world gone wrong are all there to be seen. I note that some of the other reviewers note that it's a little gory, and yes, in some places, it is, but it's all necessary, some of the set pieces were a little overdone, but this does not detract from the enjoyment of the film in general.
Simply put, 28 days later is what Resident Evil _should_ have been, it's slick, sharp, and so involving that the people in the cinema I saw it at were screaming at the screen, a phenomenon I've not experienced since the Alien Films.
Get it, watch it at a friends house with the lights turned off, then _try_ to walk home by yourself..........
0Comment| 39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2010
28 Days Later Blu Ray Review 08/06/10

Distributor : 20th Century Fox UK - Region A, B.

Ask anyone to name a Blu ray release with a bad transfer and somewhere in the list will be 28 Days Later. I wanted to find out if the criticism was justified.

The movie was mostly filmed using digital video, which obviously is not going to compete with a 35mm print as far as the transfer quality is concerned. However there have been reports of people stating that this release looks no better than the DVD. All I can say to that, is that they must have been watching a different Blu ray to the one I was re-viewing as this one certainly looked a great deal better than the DVD release. OK, so the 1080p 16x9 wide-screen transfer is not going to be able to handle the "Pepsi Challenge" up against let's say "The Dark Knight" or a similar release, however considering the way the film was shot, this actually is the best it can ever really look. The colours in the print are much more defined than in the DVD and the picture seems a great deal sharper. It is also worth noting that towards the final act of the movie, the filming switched to regular 35mm and this footage simply blows away the DVD release.

Audio is presented in 5.1 DTS HD which again is a world away from the DVD. The dialogue and sound effects are crisp, clear and free from distortion and sounds hugely effective during the films more tense moments.

As for extras, we get a full package here. Beginning with an excellent audio commentary from both the screenwriter and the director of the movie, they really discuss every aspect on the making of the film and sound so relaxed and enthusiastic talking about their creation. This really is one of the all time great commentary tracks, which I just did not want to end. Following that up, there are deleted scenes, alternate endings, making of documentaries, still galleries and another story board alternate take on the films final act which is also narrated again by both the screenwriter and the director. Admittedly these extras were present on the DVD release however there is one extra segment to an alternate ending which is new material for this Blu ray.

All things considered, I do feel that the criticism charged towards this release is on the whole unfair. People may well have had unrealistic expectations to begin with from a movie mostly shot on Mini DV. The DVD transfer itself, was never that good to begin with and I seem to remember similar complaints when that was first released, so it seems nothing much has changed since.

The main question here is, does this Blu release out perform the DVD? In all honestly it does, hands down. The final act of the film looks fantastic in HD and the audio throughout the whole movie is also an incredible upgrade on the DVD. For those reasons alone, this disc to me was worth the upgrade and once you have the Blu ray release, it probably is fair to assume that this will be the best that the film will ever look.

Don't be put off by the naysayers, this film is already a British horror classic which deserves to be enjoyed in it's best ever release.

28 Days Later on Blu ray - highly recommended, just as long as you know what you are actually buying.

BLU REVIEW OBSCURA - find us on Facebook
22 comments| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2003
At last, a genuinely frightening film. Being an avid, if somewhat jaded, horror fan, I have been finding it increasingly difficult to be truly scared. This film is terrifying on so many levels- and whatever particulary scares you, you'll find it here. There's jump-out-of-your-seat shocks, tension-building "look behind you!" moments, grabby-leg bits that make you lift your feet off of the floor, and twitching zombies that are clever and chase- fast. As well as being pant-wettingly scary, the images from the film leave a residual fear that will still be with you six months after you see the film for the first time. Walking home from the cinema, I was almost in tears from terror, hiding behind cars if I saw other people and finally, locking myself in my house with all the lights turned off so that the zombies wouldn't know I was in. Even now, I have "zombie-flashbacks". The scariest aspect of the film is that you feel you cannot hide anywhere- locking the door and hiding under the covers will not make the nightmares go away. This film is amazing, and the score plays on your subconcious mind in much the same way as The Exorcist. Whether you're after quick, but effective, scares or a more long-term, psychological terror, this film delivers. A word of warning- do not watch this alone.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)