Customer Reviews


235 Reviews
5 star:
 (135)
4 star:
 (56)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (21)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


102 of 108 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More Gattaca than the Matrix
I caught this film by accident on Filmfour a while back, and never got round to seeing the end. As the film had grabbed me somewhat, I bought it.

Comparisons with The Matrix are a little unfair - apart from the fight scenes and the long-black coats, the films are completely different. In fact, I believe the film could have benefitted from a more...
Published on 14 Oct. 2006 by dogsolitude_uk

versus
56 of 62 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Movie, but dissapointing Blu-Ray
What a Brilliant Movie, and also an excellent preformance by Christian Bale!
But blind me, what a worthless Blu-Ray, the picture quality is the same as my upscaled DVD, in fact my DVD have even a better sound. However I was so looking forward to this release, and now I am just dissapointed I do hope that there will be a new release coming out sooner or later with...
Published on 10 Sept. 2009 by Konstantin Graf


Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great film worth buying, 5 Feb. 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Equilibrium [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
As far as I know they spent $20 million on this movie. To those who've seen it, image how it would have looked if they had the budget of the first Matrix movie ($65 million).
The acting is first rate, the fight scenes are imaginitive and the story is good enough to keep you watching. I first saw this on a pirate DVD and from then I had to have the real thing.
To avoid sounding overly enthusiastic there are some negatives about the film but they are mostly due to the directors lack of budget. Its gonna be a classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very good movie, 23 July 2009
By 
This review is from: Equilibrium [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I believe that this is a very underrated movie that never quite got the attention that it deserved. It's quite good, and I might even go so far as to say it's better than "The Matrix" (perhaps on par with the first Matrix movie, certainly better than the atrocious Matrix part two and three...). I would definitely recommend this film. Plus, you have to love Christian Bale and Sean Bean, although the latter has far too short a role in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great picture and sound!, 5 Jan. 2010
By 
C. A. Wilson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Equilibrium [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I don't know what the detractors were watching, but this is a great picture on the BD, and the aspect ratio is exactly the same as the dvd. I've had the dvd ages and watched it in comparison to the BD when I got it yesterday, and the BD is a sweet step up in picture quality, and the sound is crisp and full. Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!!, 16 Nov. 2009
By 
P Brown "CatMan" (u.k.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Equilibrium [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I am so pleased i got this film, really enjoyed it and the price was nice too! Picture quality is great, not sure why some people have moaned about this, i am fussy when it comes to picture quality and i thought it was brill! Sound is also good too which i am also pleased about : ) Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome movie, 22 July 2009
By 
Ivan Tirado - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Equilibrium [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I've been waiting to get this on Blu-Ray for quite a while, and when I realized that the US Blu-Ray release had been canceled, I was very glad to find out that the UK version plays just fine in US Blu-Ray players. The video and audio are excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bang, bang! Shoot 'em up!, 20 Aug. 2003
This review is from: Equilibrium [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Now here's a fun film. If you have a couple of hours to spare and want something that doesn't require you to think, just slip this shiny litte disc into your DVD player.
Set in a near future, state controlled utopia where emotions are outlawed and mankind lives an almost slave like existance, quasi-religious "clerics" (basically highly trained killing machines) enforce the law with big guns and black suits. Christian Bale plays one of these souless individuals, calmly gunning down anyone he is told to while looking cool in the process. But Bale starts to doubt the validity of what he does, he realises that maybe there is more to life than just shooting people, human emotions and characteristics all play an important part in our lives. So with a new sense of purpose, he sets out to change things for the better, by shooting some more people.
At times it comes dangerously close to taking itself too seriously, but when the bullets start flying in the well choreographed shoot-outs, it comes back down to earth.
The joy of this film is how it happily rips off... sorry, pays homage to almost every sci-fi film ever made. It's basically 1984 meets the Matrix. Still fun though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Movie, 28 Oct. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Equilibrium [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Great story, great acting - what more can you ask for?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent film, 5 Mar. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Equilibrium [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
equilibrium is fantastic,,better than the matrix i think. 1 u can watch over and over. watch it,buy it. u wont be disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars lack of empathy is the psychotics disease., 6 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Equilibrium [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
lack of empathy is the psychotics disease. too much distopia for me, i cant be objective sorry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie to have on Blu-Ray, 4 July 2009
By 
E. Smith (Glen Burnie, md United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Equilibrium [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I always love this movie from the first time I saw it a the theaters. Now I am happy to say that the blu-way is so worth it. This blu-ray has special features that the regular dvd doesn't as in additionial commentary and info on the whole "gun-karta" thing. In addition the sound quality is superb and it's visually stunning. The movie itself is one of those that can rival any summer block buster. It's "A Brave New World" meets "The Matrix". Plus the movie have some 1st class performers. You watch Christian Bale in this movie and you understand why he was chosen to play Batman (and the best one so far). Plus it starts the extremely talented and just as beautiful Emily Watson who give the film credit. William Fichtner, Angus Macfadyen, Sean Bean and Taye Diggs round out the cast. Also lock for an appearance of pre-prison break Dominic Purcell. This movie has action, a great story line, great sound and stunts that everyone will enjoy. It's an intelligent action movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Equilibrium [Blu-ray]
Equilibrium [Blu-ray] by Kurt Wimmer (Blu-ray - 2008)
£5.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews