Customer Reviews


207 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (45)
3 star:
 (37)
2 star:
 (22)
1 star:
 (60)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


192 of 198 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Value and Suprising Quality
I bought this to see how i got on with filming mountain biking with the idea of getting a more expensive model if i got along with it. Well i have to say i am v impressed. The footage is superb, sound is ok but from what i have seen with my friends ones (Which are far more expensive) is very simular. you can put up to 32gb micro sd card in although i have found an 8gb...
Published on 9 Nov 2009 by JHF

versus
189 of 191 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great little camera with few weak points
I bought this camera for using it on a motorcycle, The rubber band could be a tiny bit longer for the crash helmet. It worked at the end, but was really tough.
The movie quality is not bad, a bit corny and sometimes weird colours. But in general good enough for this price. It even kept recording in tunnels and you can actually see something there as well. This was...
Published on 25 Jun 2009 by Rene


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

189 of 191 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great little camera with few weak points, 25 Jun 2009
I bought this camera for using it on a motorcycle, The rubber band could be a tiny bit longer for the crash helmet. It worked at the end, but was really tough.
The movie quality is not bad, a bit corny and sometimes weird colours. But in general good enough for this price. It even kept recording in tunnels and you can actually see something there as well. This was good.
I am using this camera with a 16GB card, this was more than enough for a week holiday in Norway with lots of recording. The batteries, well. Could be better. I would guess after 30 to 40 minutes or so even the best batteries are done.
My main issue was actually, how do I know that I am recording? No chance to see the blinking camera symbol whilst riding the bike. Not even in the mirrors. And the little infraredonly blinks in stand by, once starting recording it is off. But it is also off when the camera switched off because of low battery. Guess I missed some nice scenery because of that.
I would recommend to buy this camera because it can handle up to 32GB cards and that I did not find anywhere else. The picture quality is good enough, sound quality at least for me not so important. The handling issue and the battery life, after a while you get used to it and I always put some fresh batteries before I arrive at a nice spot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


192 of 198 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Value and Suprising Quality, 9 Nov 2009
By 
This review is from: Actioncam Action Video Camera (Electronics)
I bought this to see how i got on with filming mountain biking with the idea of getting a more expensive model if i got along with it. Well i have to say i am v impressed. The footage is superb, sound is ok but from what i have seen with my friends ones (Which are far more expensive) is very simular. you can put up to 32gb micro sd card in although i have found an 8gb good enough to cover me for 2 hours trailing so far. Please note you can change the quality at which the camera records so dont get dismayed when first trying if you have not changed it to the higher recording quality. I kinda agree with the last review in the sense it would be nice to be able to check whether it is recording without taking it off but i know there are models out there that make this easier but the point is they aint this price! Plus, i just wait until i get to the main points i want to capture, stop, make sur e it is recording and set off with no probs to date!
All in all, i am amazed at the quality for the price and recommend to anyone wishing to capture those crazy moments without forking loads of money on a more expensive model. It is defo one to buy for the kids if they like there outdoors sports and you wish to give them a v cool present at a good price for you.
Minor weak points = No batteries or memory card supplied but hey, at that price! Helmet strap could be slightly longer so needs some strength on certain helmets, may need to help the kids!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good value for money, 27 Jan 2011
This review is from: Actioncam Action Video Camera (Electronics)
This video camera was purchased to record some footage of skiing.

Good Points
1. The quality of sound and picture was surprisingly very good.
2. I used a 4GB SD card which managed to record approximately 5 hours of footage.
3. The camera has a different set of beeps when the record button is pressed. After a few attempts it was easy to start/stop recording whilst not even looking at the camera just by listening to the beeps.
4. When the batteries did run out, the last recording was still saved (a review by someone else stated that the footage was lost when the batteries ran out).

Drawbacks
1. When the temperature was below -3 degrees Celsius the batteries (2 AAA Duracell) only lasted about 30 minutes. When it was slightly warmer (approx 0 - 3 degrees Celcius) the batteries lasted about 2 hours.
2. As there is no screen, a laptop is required to view the footage.

Conclusion
This camera was very good value for money and because I knew the batteries didn't last very long I took 24 batteries along with me (2 for the morning and 2 for the afternoon for 6 days). I also knew that there was no screen so I took my laptop. This is highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good value for the money, 12 Jan 2010
By 
P. M. Bradley "P Bradley" (Gloucestershire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Actioncam Action Video Camera (Electronics)
Used this small head camera whilst Snowboarding, for the money, it's great value. If the unit has not been used for 5 or 10 minutes the unit automatically switches-off to save battery life which helps when your not sure if it's on or not and conserves battery life. I used Re-chargeable batteries when Snowboarding as the cold weather does reduce battery life (apparently this is just a fact, cold does effect batteries!). There is a light that flashes before recording so I could ask my friends if it was on standby and ready for recording (as the camera is on your head, it's easier to check with your friends to see if it is on standby). One Button record is easy and I edited the footage and placed music over the footage when I got back through windows media software. For the money it's a good honest product - and was pleased with the footage recorded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 11 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Actioncam Action Video Camera (Electronics)
WAS DOUBTFUL ABOUT THIS ONE, IT SEEMED A LITTLE ON THE CHEAP SIDE.ALAS I WAS WRONG,IT IS A BRILLIANT LITTLE DEVICE AND WORTH THE MONEY,THE PICTURE AND SOUND QUALITY ARE GREAT.JUST ONE LITTLE DOWNSIDE,,, THE STRAP WAS TO SMALL TO FIT ON MY CRASH HELMET BUT PROBLEM WAS EASILY RESOLVED.(THIS WAS A MOTORBIKE HELMET)Actioncam Action Video Camera
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Head cam used for skiing, 10 Feb 2010
By 
Mr. Paul Arkesden (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Actioncam Action Video Camera (Electronics)
The quality of the recordings are above expected for such a well priced camera. Lots of colour, and very vivid.
The strap supplied is barely long enough to fit around a skiing helmet.
Battery life, (2 x AAA), is shockingly bad. I used at altitudes between 2000m and 3500m and the batteries lasted 30 minutes maximum. It is very diffiult to know when the unit is recording - you will need a partner to advise you unless you are happy to take the camera off your head to keep checking. My camera also randomly kept shutting off - i put this down to cold temperatures and altitude.

Overall, an excellent piece of fun - the footage I did get was very good, even if it didnt work all the time or didnt give a true representation of the speed i was travelling...;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


93 of 102 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good enough for the price.....but only just!, 6 Dec 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Actioncam Action Video Camera (Electronics)
In general this camera is good enough, considering the great price. However, I'm not sure if that justifies the frustration involved in using it!

It comes with a pathetically small instruction sheet that tells you next to nothing. You are left to figure out the cryptic display icons yourself. I still don't know what the boxes round the outside mean (apparently not battery life). Really, the only thing you need from the display is whether the camera icon is flashing or not (which means recording or not). There is a small pointless white LED under the camera, that seems to flash whenever it gets bored.

The headband is fine. It works on just a bare head with no helmet. The camera is on a "click-mount" that means you can rotate it 360 degrees perpendicular to the orientation of the head band, in 15 degree increments. It can sometimes be hard to know if the camera is looking at the same thing you are. Also, you can't see the display when it is on your head, so you can't be exactly sure if it is recording. It does make a beeping noise when you start recording. Unfortunately, the sounds for "start recording", "stop recording" and "off" are virtually indistinguishable - especially with other noises going on. It is a rather chunky device, and you look like a Borg (especially with the light).

There are two buttons; one for "on", "start recording" and "stop recording", the other button for "delete last recording". The delete function is utterly useless. In fact, it is a hazard, because you only have to press it for a second and it deletes the entire last file (which may have been hours long), without any second chance or ability to undo. I have lost several good videos that way (especially touching the camera when it is on the side of my head).

More annoyingly, the camera seems to turn off randomly - with no input given - even when it has plenty of battery left. I wore it in the kitchen while making dinner just to check, and it turned off after two or three minutes, several times (and then kept going for an hour on the fourth recording...). Also, if you take the batteries out, or they fail before you press the button to stop the recording, you lose it. It saves any recording that was completed. If you remove power before the recording is completed you still have the file, but it claims to be zero size and unreadable (I tried everything). Simple enough to avoid, you might think? However, the first time it happened was after an hour session, and the record icon was flashing, but the rest of the display had died, and pressing any of the buttons did nothing (nor did plugging it in to the computer). The only way I could turn it off was to remove the batteries (and thus lose the recording).

Now, for the plus side. Batteries last a long time (hours), if you get good ones. The microphone works better than expected (farther than 12ft...more like 40ft). When it does record, the quality is acceptable at 640x480 at 88kbps (apparently 1.3MP CMOS). 15 minutes recording is about 250MB. The quality is better than expected, and quite adequate for most uses. It does struggle with low light conditions, which look much darker on the recording than in real life (eg. early mornings or very cloudy days look more like night time in a James Bond movie). It seems pretty resilient to drops and bangs, cold, wet and wind (I wear it to row). It works automatically when you plug it in to Windows XP with a normal USB cable (provided).

All in all, pretty good for the price - and useful to have. When it works it is great - but you will probably lose more than one gem of a recording to bad user interface and temperamental setup. I am getting sick of thinking I had a great piece of footage, only to find it has not recorded/turned off by itself/was too dark/pointing slightly the wrong way/ran out of batteries/got accidentally deleted in the field/became a corrupted file. But still better than nothing if you don't want to spend a fortune.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


146 of 160 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Fun, 21 Mar 2010
This review is from: Actioncam Action Video Camera (Electronics)
Length:: 1:20 Mins

The head cam works well but there is no way to see the results until you get it back to a computer. A bit of testing and adjusting of the camera angle will help. The clip shows the head cam being worn and then the view from the head cam. The picture quality is not bad for a sub 30 bit of kit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for the money, 20 Mar 2010
By 
A skier (Gloucester United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Actioncam Action Video Camera (Electronics)
I bought this fora skiing holiday, so didn't want to spend a lot in case it got wiped out in a crash.

Picture quality is good, and its relatively easy to use, provided you practice before you use it in anger. All my videos start with someone staring at the screen, telling me the LED is out (i.e. recording). The other plus point is that the mounting feels very secure.

Two negative points. I was lucky to get one day out of a pair of duracell batteries, although it was very cold. When the batteries started to go, it would keep cutting out.

The second point is that with no viewfinder, you don't know until you get home whether it was at the correct angle on your helmet. Your head angle is not necessarily the same standing still as it is moving. Consequently, you can get a lot of video of snow or sky.

Also note that at speed, you wouldn't believe how much your head shakes. I guess your eyes filter it out. This may be even worse when I try it on the mountain bike.

Conclusion - For fun its great. If you absolutely need to come home with the video, buy something more expensive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great value for money, 13 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Actioncam Action Video Camera (Electronics)
This action cam, helmet cam is a great little gadget - i have used it a few time on my bike and the outputs are great. OK its not top quality video but for under 25 its v good. I would recomend fixing it firmly to the bike rather than the helmet as the head tends to bob around a lot when cycling. Also you need to get at least 8gb card to get an hour plus of video. you can get these for under 10. plug and play software didnt work for me, it was a bit clunky so i searched on the net for the makers website and got a download from there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Actioncam Action Video Camera
21.80
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews