Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "We'll have to destroy them ship-to-ship."
Lego celebrate 10 years of Star Wars kits this year and start the collection with a very welcome update of Darth Vader's Sienar Fleet Systems TIE Advanced X-1.
The model is a vast improvement over the previous releases in kits 7150 or 10131 and they have finally done away with the dreadful blue highlights and give the ship a more accurate colour scheme of greys and...
Published on 22 Mar. 2009 by TK-1308

versus
0 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Birthday present
Bought this for my son's 7th Birthday, he was really excited about building but when we opened the box there were no instructions so that was a bit of a downer.
Since then I have contacted Lego and they have posted the instructions - I expected more of an apology from them but I just got a standard 'quality control' letter
Published on 26 Jun. 2009 by John Sinnott


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "We'll have to destroy them ship-to-ship.", 22 Mar. 2009
By 
TK-1308 - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO Star Wars 8017 Darth Vader's TIE Fighter (Toy)
Lego celebrate 10 years of Star Wars kits this year and start the collection with a very welcome update of Darth Vader's Sienar Fleet Systems TIE Advanced X-1.
The model is a vast improvement over the previous releases in kits 7150 or 10131 and they have finally done away with the dreadful blue highlights and give the ship a more accurate colour scheme of greys and blacks with some nice detailing as well.
The fighter features an opening cockpit which hinges the whole front window section upward to reveal a seating area for Vader. There is a clip on the underside aft hull which you can clip his lightsabre onto.
A nice touch in the redesign are the missile launchers just to each side of the cockpit. They are the standard flick-missile type and there are two levers in the upper aft hull which you push forward to fire them.
The TIE Advanced X-1 is 16 cm long (length of wing), 18 cm wide (wing to wing) and 10 cm tall (lower to upper wing edge).
The Darth Vader figure that comes with the kit is the same as the one from 2008's 10188 Death Star and he comes equipped with his trademark red lightsabre.
The kit comprises 241 pieces (not including figures and weapons), has 4 decals to apply and takes about 15 minutes to build.
A great ship and the best version of this fighter to date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Darth Vader, 29 May 2009
By 
Chip (West Midlands) - See all my reviews
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO Star Wars 8017 Darth Vader's TIE Fighter (Toy)
My 7 year old son saved up his pocket money to buy this ship for his lego collection. He built it by himself in 2 days. This model is shaped exactly like the film and he loves it. However its wings are a struggle to stay on when you play with it. The cockpit is too small so darth vader can't really go in with his cape on or you have to bend it but he really likes the way the cockpit opens up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Star Wars Lego Tie Fighter, 24 Nov. 2009
By 
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO Star Wars 8017 Darth Vader's TIE Fighter (Toy)
Sturdy toy, doeesn't disintegrate as soon as a child picks it up, as can be the case with some Star Wars Lego kits. Doesn't take long to put together, so making it a quick build (not a good thing if you get most of the enjoyment from the build).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Birthday Present for 5 Year Old, 28 Jun. 2010
By 
Ms. N. Harrison (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO Star Wars 8017 Darth Vader's TIE Fighter (Toy)
The service and supply of this product was brilliant it came very quickly and there were no problems at all so thanks Amazon for great service. My 5 year old nephew was delighted with his present, he had raved about wanting one of these for months. He and his brother disappeared with it and not a sound was heard from them all afternoon so I can only guess that they had loads of fun and it was a huge success. Lego is generally educational even if it's teaching them to take care of things and look after the small parts or they get lost!! Overall a very happy little boy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LOVE LEGO AND DARTH, 24 Jun. 2010
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO Star Wars 8017 Darth Vader's TIE Fighter (Toy)
Bought this Darth Vader Tie fighter spaceship for my sons 5th birthday. He is a MASSIVE lego fan and loves Starwars too, particularly Darth Vader. Personally I had a lot of fun helping him put it together and the little Darth Vader figure is impossibly cute!! Although, being lego, it can come apart easily, I feel it teaches kids how to be careful with fragile things and if all else fails they can put it back together again. Thoroughly recommend. A toy that keeps on giving.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Star Wars fanatics, this is for you..., 28 Dec. 2010
By 
Joel Kelly (Lancashire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO Star Wars 8017 Darth Vader's TIE Fighter (Toy)
I love the original Star Wars trilogy (Episodes IV, V, VI), and I love LEGO, so what's better than a LEGO TIE Fighter?

This kit has a fair number of pieces, and you're building 3 major parts (2 wings, and the body).

Best bit of this entire kit, the Darth Vader minifig, complete with red lightsaber and cape. The Fighter even has a holder in the underbelly for the lightsaber which is pretty cool.

The playability of this toy is rather minor, there's only the one opening hatch to place Vader inside, and in there is extremely boring, just one flat piece of LEGO for his control panel, bit of a shame!

All in all, this is fantastic for any LEGO or Star Wars lover, great addition to any collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, 9 Jun. 2009
By 
E. Aly "aldermoor11" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO Star Wars 8017 Darth Vader's TIE Fighter (Toy)
As expected with lego products, it was very appealing for my 6 y old son. we've had lots of fun doing it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Star Wars Lego - doesn't quite do what it says on the box..., 13 Aug. 2010
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO Star Wars 8017 Darth Vader's TIE Fighter (Toy)
I bought this for my 8 year old nephew and he followed the instructions and put it all together (with hardly any help at all) over the course of one afternoon / evening. There are loads of pieces, some very small, all leading up to the final Star Wars figure. Perhaps my nephew hadn't pressed some pieces down quite hard enough but, even when I put it back together, the moveable wing parts and Darth Vader's chamber came off too easily. It wasn't easy for him to rebuild it and he was rather disheartened. It was a bit disappointing from that viewpoint as he'd worked so hard on it and yet it came apart so easily whenever you tried to actually play with it or move the 'moveable parts'. Great for the building aspect, good instructions, but not so great for the post build playing aspect - build it then just look at it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars LEGO Star Wars 8017 Darth Vader's TIE Fighter, 5 Aug. 2010
By 
Mr. Keith Morgan "One-Putt" (The Scottish Borders) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO Star Wars 8017 Darth Vader's TIE Fighter (Toy)
My Son loves this and i have to say its very realistic , well made and functional , if a little pricey, however i guess in demand products always are . would recommend it to all kids who are Star wars fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Darth Vader TIE Fighter, 3 April 2010
By 
Mr. EGR JONES (N Midlands, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO Star Wars 8017 Darth Vader's TIE Fighter (Toy)
It is good for flying around the house and it is great fun to assemble. It is quite rare to find a Darth Vader and a red light sabre. I like the picture on the front of the box. It makes me imagine that I am really there. It took me an hour and a half to assemble it and it was good fun. I wanted it because none of my friends had it before me. I think that it is second only to Death Star as a model because it does not have many figures to assemble. However Death Star is a lot more expensive because it costs more that £100.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews