Customer Reviews


65 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


72 of 72 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent 'superpowers for the public' sci-fi
The 4400 came out before Heroes and is, on the surface, a very similar series. In fact both stories are obviously heavily influenced by the same source materials, comic books with the (relatively modern) emphasis on superhero societies as opposed to individual heroes (X-Men, Astro City, Watchmen, etc). Many people, whose only exposure to these sorts of stories have been...
Published on 15 Jan 2009 by Stephen Allen

versus
18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but be aware of a rubbish ending!!!!
Obviously Im not going to tell you the ending here, but I was SO VERY disappointed with how this ended!

In the extra's I found out that 4400 was axed early from TV...please dont get me wrong...I did like it, but it totally begs for another series to finish up all the loose ends.

Series one and two were the best...3 and 4 went off on something, but...
Published on 11 Feb 2010 by JayS


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

72 of 72 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent 'superpowers for the public' sci-fi, 15 Jan 2009
By 
Stephen Allen "loppy_m" (Ballymena) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The 4400 Complete Collection (Series 1-4) [DVD] (DVD)
The 4400 came out before Heroes and is, on the surface, a very similar series. In fact both stories are obviously heavily influenced by the same source materials, comic books with the (relatively modern) emphasis on superhero societies as opposed to individual heroes (X-Men, Astro City, Watchmen, etc). Many people, whose only exposure to these sorts of stories have been on film and T.V., have even accused Heroes of copying 4400 but that's not true, both gleefully 'borrow' core concepts from storylines that have been out there for decades.

The 4400 uses the same premise as the X-Files, government agents sent to investigate 'unusual' occurences, with a different occurence happening every week. The overarching story, though, is pure 'Heroes'. Why have ordinary people been given super powers, what's the agenda of the 'aliens' that seem to be manipulating them, what is the 'war' that those with the gift of prophecy are wrning of? Unlike shows like Lost that start off with a mystery but don't bother giving any real answers, 4400 always ends a season with a good revelation. So with 4 seasons in one box set you'll find lots of plot twists to keep you going.

And that's by far the best thing about this box-set. Anyone who has watched 4400 from the start will tell you that the show is as good as Heroes, Lost or X-Files, it's just never been as well known. For this reason alone this box-set is a fraction of the price you will ever see for four seasons of any of those other three shows. It's the best value out there, and if you like this sort of show you will not regret buying this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good Series, 7 Jan 2009
This review is from: The 4400 Complete Collection (Series 1-4) [DVD] (DVD)
This is a sci-fi series well worth watching. The acting is excellent, and the storyline is gripping - it really keeps you coming back to find out more, and it makes you want to know how everything will turn out.

The first series feels a lot like the X-Files at times, with people exhibiting all kinds of supernatural powers, and the authorities at a loss as to how to deal with this. However, as you keep watching, the story becomes more involved and develops in different ways.

I think that sci-fi and ghost stories are among the hardest genres to really make well, and fortunately, the 4400 is made well. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but be aware of a rubbish ending!!!!, 11 Feb 2010
By 
JayS (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The 4400 Complete Collection (Series 1-4) [DVD] (DVD)
Obviously Im not going to tell you the ending here, but I was SO VERY disappointed with how this ended!

In the extra's I found out that 4400 was axed early from TV...please dont get me wrong...I did like it, but it totally begs for another series to finish up all the loose ends.

Series one and two were the best...3 and 4 went off on something, but were still watchable...again, I cant get over how disappointed I was about the ending, but maybe you just have to make up your own mind!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great But Very Underrated Series, 22 Dec 2008
By 
A. Booth (Glasgow,Scotland UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The 4400 Complete Collection (Series 1-4) [DVD] (DVD)
I first heard about The 4400 some time ago but have only recently got around to actually watching it. I have to say that from the very first episode I was hooked! If you're a fan of sci-fi/supernatural/alien programs/films then i'm sure you'd love this.
The fact that the series has SO many different character/storyline opportunities is what keeps it interesting.
I haven't seen Hereos but from what I can gather if you're a fan of that then you'll most probably like The 4400 (some even say The 4400 is much better!!Shock!)
I heard Series 5 is still yet 'in limbo' as to whether or not it gets put into production, which is a real shame because i've just started watching series 3 and, like any great show, I really don't want it to end! So maybe a few more DVD sales will help make their minds up! So please buy! You won't regret it :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If only I could pay for season 5 to be made..., 4 Jan 2010
By 
L. Gutic (Bosnia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The 4400 Complete Collection (Series 1-4) [DVD] (DVD)
OK, I won't go into package, photos speak for themselves, nor will I talk about the plot; I'll just recommend, from the bottom of my heart, this TV show which is so much more intelligent ( though a wee bit slower in terms of plot ) than Heroes and such. One can't say there aren't any flaws, but the few of them are overshadowed by the show's overall depth and significance. If you prefer constant action and perhaps expect epic battles, you will probably end up disappointed; but if you prefer to savor the story, to enjoy the plot developing, to be surprised by twists and turns, then you should definitely try it. I didn't know what to expect when I ordered it, but I learned to like it, to miss it, and to wish for season 5. Again, recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, Clever and Cut off in its Prime, 24 Feb 2010
This review is from: The 4400 Complete Collection (Series 1-4) [DVD] (DVD)
4400 is a spectacular piece of Science Fiction. It is about 4400 people who hve been abducted over a large period of time and then returned all in one group. Some of these people begin to develop special abilities.

The show is very well written, it is funny and also touching and emotional. It shows people at their best and worst and shows how bad we are at reacting to things that are different.

I would describe this show as a cross between the X-files, Lost and Heroes.

Unfortunatly this show was cancelled due to delays in writing it during the writers strike and a fantastic show was lost. Therefore the final season is ended on a huge cliffhanger that we will never know the answer to.

If you like well written, clever science fiction or you like x-files or heroes or any show along those lines this is the show for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Guaranteed entertainment, 19 Mar 2012
By 
Simon Helgi Wiium "Templar" (Iceland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The 4400 Complete Collection (Series 1-4) [DVD] (DVD)
Great drama scifi series, amazing how many good series get cancelled. This one was fun from the beginning with good characters and each episode left you wanting to know more. A real shame it wasn't concluded but still so worth it to buy. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, 28 Aug 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The 4400 Complete Collection (Series 1-4) [DVD] (DVD)
Bought this a few weeks ago having not heard of it beforehand. We generally watch an episode most evenings and are nearing the end of Season 2 so far. It's a great story with good acting; a very enjoyable series.
Good value for money when you calculate in the hours of viewing.
If you've never seen any of this before, buy the box set and watch at your leisure, you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good series, 27 Dec 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The 4400 Complete Collection (Series 1-4) [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this as an extra present for my husband. I wasn't sure he would enjoy it as he is more into crime/action series and really has no time for fantasy or SF. After watching the first series he was completely hooked. I think one of the reasons for this is that the two central characters in the series work for a department of Homeland Security and act as a kind of middle ground trying to deal with threats both to and from the 4400.

The story has a lot of possibilities - 4400 people have disappeared over the years and they all come back at the same time, no memory of what happened to them, no idea of how long it's been and they have not aged at all. Each one of them come back with a little more than they left - some find these new abilities immediately whilst others take longer - the end of series 2 explains why. Story lines vary between adjustment issues as people try to fit back into their lives, problems with the abilities they are trying to control, paranoid reactions from the rest of the population including the government, the mystery of the agenda of those who took the 4400 and the politics of the 4400 themselves. As the series evolve the agenda of those who were behind the abductions starts to become more prominent. All in all there is a lot going on and each episode seems to fit in at least a few of these complexities. Some episodes are just plain daft but on the whole a very enjoyable series with a big character list.

One thing I really like is the case. Each of the DVD's has it's own little plastic holder and you can flip each one so it reads like a book - really neat
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OMG amazing, 15 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The 4400 Complete Collection (Series 1-4) [DVD] (DVD)
i had never heard of this when i ordered it and i have to say ........... HOW HAVE I MISSED THIS????? it was a little slow to get started, but perservere, the 2nd season on is fantastic, gutted it finishes after 4 seasons, cliffhanger is cruel!! so worth the watch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The 4400 Complete Collection (Series 1-4) [DVD]
28.88
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews