Customer Reviews


62 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the ruins
To me this a refreshing new approach to the horror genre.Several young people holidaying are offered a trip to a Mayan temple deep in the jungle.What appears to be a sight seeing adventure turns into something far worse-there are trailing vines coming out of the darkness that either strangle you or make their way into your body.The vines also have the ability to mimic...
Published on 25 Sep 2011 by king kong

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bunch of vines that eats people...,
I wasn't quite sure what to expect from this movie and having not read the book I was surprised to find it to be pretty decent. It starts off just like an original horror movie but shift as you get further into it. The Ruins takes place in Mexico with four college-age kids (Tucker, Malone, Ashmore and Ramsy) and another guy (Anderson), the latter who takes them to a Mayan...
Published on 27 Sep 2008 by Jenny J.J.I.


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the ruins, 25 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
To me this a refreshing new approach to the horror genre.Several young people holidaying are offered a trip to a Mayan temple deep in the jungle.What appears to be a sight seeing adventure turns into something far worse-there are trailing vines coming out of the darkness that either strangle you or make their way into your body.The vines also have the ability to mimic everything they hear.There are severed limbs in the course of the story because the young people try to save their infected friends plus the fact that they cannot escape down the steps to the base of the pyramid on account of a race of Mexican assassins camped on the edge of the jungle.I found the plotline quite gripping and you wonder how they are going to escape this terrible situation-I wont reveal the ending but I liked the twist as it wasnt something I expected.The bluray version is a superb one bright clean colours and a sharp print much better than the DVD version I bought previously.Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nothing ruinous about this crafty chiller., 5 Oct 2012
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Ruins [DVD] (DVD)
The Ruins is directed by Carter Smith and adapted to screenplay by Scott B. Smith from his own novel of the same name. It stars Jonathan Tucker, Jena Malone, Shawn Ashmore, Laura Ramsey and Joe Anderson. Music is by Graeme Revell and cinematography by Darius Khondji.

Two young couples on holiday in Mexico make friends with a German tourist, Mathias (Anderson), who tells them of his missing brother who had gone off to view a Mayan ruin deep in the jungle. Their interest piqued, they agree to go on the adventure the following day. Once arriving at the remote ruin, though, they all find more than they bargained for....

Hot young cast in horror film that follows a stagnated formula? Well no, actually. It has all the hallmarks of being yet another in a sad long line of horror movies that con the faithful into watching it, only to disappoint with an unadventurous plot, making a quick bit of cash before disappearing in the stale popcorn tinted wind. The Ruins has generic moments, certainly the first half hour is your standard meet and greet your young protagonists stuff, but once we get to the ruins of the title the film shifts into a different world. Our fears that this is going to be just another case of guessing what order the young holiday makers are going to be sliced and diced, are quickly vanquished, this is a tale of survival, of a youthful group dynamic under severe threat, and bonus here is that the antagonist is something very different to what normally stalks these genre movies.

This really could have been a cheese fest, an unintentionally funny film, using gore and nudity to hide shortcomings in the screenplay, but it's not, writer Scott Smith has provided director and cast with material that pulses with an unexpected bleakness, a facing up to mortality at a young age, and crucially the characters do viable things given their circumstance, and that's mighty refreshing in a era of horror bulging with stupidity. It helped me personally that I knew next to nothing about the film before viewing it, and unlike some film lovers I'm not overly familiar with the young cast, though Joe Anderson is always on my plus list after his turn as Peter Hook in Control. But while it clearly didn't revolutionise horror as a genre, it at least had the gumption to veer in a different direction, going deeper in basic thematics than similar big budgeted films have.

Tension is deftly mounted, what blood and body horror there is (and a couple of scenes are genuinely wince inducing and well staged) is not cheap and exploitive, while the finale doesn't cop out. True, there are some unanswered questions that leap out when the end credits roll, and anyone expecting a fast paced thrill ride are right out of luck. Yet for those who lean towards a good psychological horror then this is very much recommended. 7.5/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bunch of vines that eats people...,, 27 Sep 2008
By 
I wasn't quite sure what to expect from this movie and having not read the book I was surprised to find it to be pretty decent. It starts off just like an original horror movie but shift as you get further into it. The Ruins takes place in Mexico with four college-age kids (Tucker, Malone, Ashmore and Ramsy) and another guy (Anderson), the latter who takes them to a Mayan temple where his brother is working supposedly on a dig. When they get there, a bunch of angry Mexican-Myans attack them, they scurry up to the top of the temple, and are basically quarantined with a host of virulent, monster-type plants and vines, who in typical horror fashion kill them off one by one. That's the basic premise, anyway, and if you know that and have seen the trailer you probably took a guess whether this is up your alley.

The film really came through for me and I was pleased with the outcome. The cast was pretty respectable and I really came to love Stacy's (Laura Ramsey) character in the end. The characters did have their brainless moments at times, but were believable and you could tell they were desperate to get down there. The film has it's shocking moments and those come about halfway throughout the film. There was one scene that stood out and made me at awe.

On the downside of it all I would have loved more character development and transition scenes between the characters. I hear there was a bit more of character development scenes that were cut. Why? Next, I got a very different vibe from the trailer than the actual film. Finally, I'm sure this is the most talked about negative and that would be the ending. It felt rushed and quick. The truth is it could have been so much stronger of a film if it had more of a psychological ending. I was hoping for one thing to happen and something else ended up happening. That's my biggest disappointment for the film.

"The Ruins" do get quite gory and brutal as the teens get infected in various ways and start losing their minds. There's some nudity, too. The story does stay away from some clichés, like a fiery conclusion or the anorexic girl hero who saves everyone by beating the bad guys to death. Perhaps most surprising was the villain of the story aside from that it's a watchable flick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fairly standard teenagers versus plant monster movie, 30 Jun 2013
By 
This review is from: The Ruins [DVD] (DVD)
THE RUINS R2 DVD 2008

Back in the 1980s I replaced most of my collection of 8mm movies with VHS and now I am going through a same process of upgrading everything to DVD. This also gives me the excuse to sample films of the genre which have appeared over the past 20 years and had not been added to my film library. This was a mopvie that I had not heard about nor did I regonise any of the youthful cast. I bought it very cheaply from Amazon but I am glad that I did.

The Ruins takes place in Mexico with a group of teenagers making an excursion to a Mayan temple where the brother of one is working on an archaeological dig. On arrival they are driven into the temple by angry villagers who refuse to let anybody who has been in contact with the ruins leave. The group soon discovers why, as they are attacked by killer vines which inhabit the ruin.

The cast was young and unknown to me but all gave credible performances although they had very little to work with in the way of a script and sometimes the movies was a little bit silly even for a plant-eats-man type of romp. Overall it did turn out to be quite a watchable, enjoyable film with a few moments of shock-horror and quite good tension build up but the screenplay did seem to climax early so that the rundown to the finale was a bit of an anti-climax.

Worth watching if you can find a cheap copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly Enjoyable, 13 Nov 2009
By 
N. G. Cummings (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Hadn't heard of this product when I bought it, but it sounded appealing. This isn't a 5 * film by any stretch but it was certinly better than the average horror film of late. Blu Ray transfer was fine but nothing special.

Special effects were good, and the making of feature was also interesting to watch (not something I generally watch in all honesty)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three and a half for effort., 23 Nov 2008
By 
Bezerus Bezby "Bez" (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ruins [DVD] (DVD)
I missed out on seeing this at the cinema which I thought was a shame at the time, but having now seen it in dvd, I would class this as a film to be enjoyed on a sick day or on a rainy saturday/sunday afternoon.

Certainly it's not original- annoying yanks head to Mexico, try to do something different and end up being terrorized by killer plants. Let's face it, how many American actors must there be waiting in the wings prepared to play the same boring role of beefy guy and blond girl, all of whom you realise are destined to die a nasty death. However, that aside, there are some genuinely scary moments in this film and it is the not the turkey other reviewers might have you believe.

But, next time you are in Mexico, if you hear a phone ringing in some ivy, avoid at all costs!

Worth a watch, but rent rather then buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Holidays in Mexico ? Beware !!!, 14 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very intense horror/monster movie about despair and friendship . Some scenes in this unrated version are a little bit longer , compared with the cinema version , which is 4 minutes shorter . For example : in this blu-ray version the German tourist finds his dead brother in the bushes on the ruins-hill , but he don't tell this to the others . This scene is removed from the cinema version and from the rated DVD as well. This movie is a "crossing" between "The Descent" and "Deliverance" , but much intenser ! Highly recommended !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars inca, 22 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ruins [DVD] (DVD)
two young couples on holiday in mexico go on an unchartered tour through mexico where they are shown an incan pyramid in the jungle,next minute they are surrounded by the locals and forced to the pyramid top ,unbeknown to them the vine is alive and the flowers imitate noises to attract victims like a cellphone and moves quick when blood is spilt,this is a real good horror,definately recommend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Watch out vines about!! Ahhhh!, 19 Aug 2014
Great horror from producer Ben Stiller!? Yeah Ben Stiller on ex production duties! Great plot classic set up and good casting bring this one to a high level of chills and thrills! Fantastic special effects and ending! An all round fine horror movie watching experience! Now where is my industrial bottle of weedol!? Ohhhh! J Counsell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars an effective little horror, 29 Jun 2009
By 
R. Fisher "entertainment lover" (west midlands uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Ruins [DVD] (DVD)
Four American university students are winding down the last few days on vacation down in Mexico when they befriend a German holidaymaker who tells them of some previously unexplored ancient ruins that his archaeologist brother has discovered and that he's heading out to the ruins tomorrow to join up with him, tired of just lounging around soaking up sun the group agree to head out with him to the ruins, upon arrival the group are terrorised by locals who wont allow them to leave quarantined atop the ruins the group soon learn that the heat and lack of water are the least of there problems.

Based on Scott smith's novel of the same (which I'll admit I've never read but have a strong desire to now I've seen this) the ruins surprised me being a very effective little horror. the film starts out fairly slowly as we are introduced to the characters and there respective relationships a very typical opening for survival horror movies as were given the rudimentary low-down of each character however once the group reach the ruins things start to heat up.

What makes the ruins so effective for me is not the the horrors that lie inside the ruins but the human horror, while the cast aren't exactly Oscar winners they do a very convincing job of conveying the terror of the situation as members of the group delve deep into the ruins creating heart thumping tension. , the paranoia of infection that rapidly escalates between the group and the slow realisation that no one is coming for them sets a real sense of foreboding as the characters turn on each other as well as themselves.

When I say the ruins is gory I do not say it lightly, the 'surgery' and 'removal' scenes easily rank up there with the likes of the saw and hostel movies they were gasps of horror in the cinema which should give you idea of how bad they are definitely not for the squeamish. However there's not that many scenes of gore there few an far between so when they do happen they have even more effect on the audience. The mixture of gore and tension work well together and make for a great combination.

The ruins is at heart a B-movie especially when it comes to what's actually inside of the ruins (day of the triffids anyone?) but believable performances from the cast , healthy amounts of tension and gore elevate it above the usual horror fare and make this one a winner if you a horror fan this is definitely worth checking out. It'll certainly 'get under your skin...'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Ruins [DVD]
The Ruins [DVD] by Carter Smith (DVD - 2008)
£4.71
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews