Customer Reviews


72 Reviews
5 star:
 (59)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A laugh a minute! (unless your dead - then a laugh every 2!)
Airplane 1 and 2 are comic masterpieces.
They contain all aspects of comedy from slapstick, one-liners, cheesyness, spoofs, repetition and wit. These films are the soul reason why i make jokes because they point out the obvious flaws in everyday life. The idea of a comedy based purely on a plane seems quite limitless, but in these films there are no limits to the...
Published on 30 Jun 2004 by Ricardo Vause

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars just buy the 1st one
just buy the 1st one the second one is really bad in comparison, even shatner's cameo is pretty lame. get a different collection if you can as this isn't really worth it
Published 21 months ago by Adam Hilton


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A laugh a minute! (unless your dead - then a laugh every 2!), 30 Jun 2004
By 
Ricardo Vause (Tugby, Leicestershire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Airplane 1 and 2 are comic masterpieces.
They contain all aspects of comedy from slapstick, one-liners, cheesyness, spoofs, repetition and wit. These films are the soul reason why i make jokes because they point out the obvious flaws in everyday life. The idea of a comedy based purely on a plane seems quite limitless, but in these films there are no limits to the comedy!
Airplane 1/2 will have you laughing for hours. I am laughing now, as i am remembering what happens!!!!! These masterpieces are neccessary - because you know that if you fail to laugh out loud once during the film, then you need to be taken to the doctors!! The film is just dangerously funny - you must stretch before hand so that you don't hurt your stomach from the sheer amount of laughter!!!
Purchase these filma and never be stuck for comedy, as they produce it by the barrelful!
Thank you
Adios!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Micky take of just about every air diaster film, 20 July 2003
By 
Scott (Trowbridge, Wiltshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
If you like Romance, Drama, Comedy, Action + a bit of nudity in your films then this is for you.
Airplane 1 is about a plane disaster where the the crew and most passengers become violently ill with food poisoning, and an ex war pilot who drives people to suicide with his flashbacks, must take control of it and land it with the help of his girlfriend, a doctor and Otto Pilot the inflatable auto pilot, to save the passnegers lives.
Aiplane 2 is a space plane to the moon, and the navigational system shorts out and takes them to the sun, it can open airlocks and gas intruders, but thats not all, theres a suicidal bomber with a $1 million life insurance policy, and worse yet they're all out of coffee!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sequel falls short and no bonus features, 2 Sep 2014
By 
T. Hughes "Narf" (Cannock, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Airplane/Airplane 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Airplane! quite possible my favourite film of all time and guaranteed to put me in a good mood. I can't count the number of times of seen it, but I can't get enough.
As for Airplane II, it never seems to b shown on telly these days, so getting the two together seemed like a good bargain. The sequel is more of the same really. Same basic plot and often the same jokes but not done in a bad way - more of a homage to the original film. BUT, the writers of Airplane! (Zucker Abrams Zucker) changed their mind about writing a sequel so the studio passed the writing duties onto other people, so the second film falls short of what it should have been. As long as you don't watch the to back to back (as I did) it shouldn't spoil your enjoyment.

As for picture and sound, well the films were made in 1980/1982 so are standard definition, the sound is good quality but not going to win any awards. There are no bonus features, just the films, but as they're so entertaining you wouldn't need anything else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just as I remember, 11 Oct 2013
By 
L. Rushton "EFAW" (East Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Airplane/Airplane 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I remember the helpless laughter of my first view of these films. They are still hilarious. I watched the first one with my 19 year old son, trying not to hype it up beforehand and we both fell about laughing. Joyous, hilarious and classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just funny!, 22 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Airplane/Airplane 2 [DVD] (DVD)
"Is that a good sign?" "It does the job!" Hilarious! You have to be on the wavelength but the whole thing is so ridiculous that you have to laugh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DVD, 7 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Airplane/Airplane 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Bought as gifts,
loved by birthday boys
funny to watch
brought back memories
good value for money as box set
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hilarious viewing, 20 May 2011
By 
Ms. E. Leigh - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Airplane/Airplane 2 [DVD] (DVD)
timeless classics airplane 1 just hilarious silly and usually in bad taste great to see behind the scene comic gems can still laugh at this now aged really well. dont usually like sequels but airplane 2 is an exception to the rule silly again classic william shatner appearance just what you need when you just need to laugh out loud these gems wont be bettered especially by todays so called comedies every home should have these 2 films on the shelf
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A flying duo, 13 Dec 2004
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Airplane!
Every thing you ever wanted to know about air travel
Leslie Nielsen has been around for a long time and in many leads before striking out on a road to comedy. This is but one story. However it was a turning point for him from leading man in "Forbidden Planet" (1956), to serious doctor in" Airplane!" (1980), to Field Guide in "National Geographic's "The Savage Garden" with Leslie Nielsen (1997)
Airplane has a great cast including Robert Stack (playing himself), Lloyd Bridges (glub glub), and Kareem Abdul-Jabbar (just as defensive as ever).
This movie is unique. It is the first; I have seen displaying one liners with serious intent. It was not just slapstick or Abbot and Costello. It worked well enough for sequels and other films to be made in the new genre. I keep it with the Leslie Nielsen Collection.
------------------------------------------------------------
Airplane II
On a higher plane than then the original
This is a more futuristic version of the original Airplane movie with A few different people and a few different jokes while keeping to the original formula.
Not as surprising as the first, but still worth watching. People who made their living being heroes including Lloyd Bridges (Sea Hunt), Leslie Nielsen (Forbidden Planet), Raymond Burr (Perry Mason), now let their hair down in this thought provoking sequel.
This may have contributed to the conversion of William Shatner from Captain Kirk (Star Trek - The Original Series, Episode 28: The City On the Edge Of Forever) to "The Big Head" on 3rd Rock From The Sun. I am waiting for the collection of his commercials to be published.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic humour - perfect for a great night in!, 29 Jan 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Airplane/Airplane 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Watching these again, you cannot help but admire what amazing films they are. Having followed the annual disaster movie, the parody elements are perhaps lost on new viewers, but my teenage son seeing them for the first time thinks they're brilliant. It's a testament to their quality that they stand on their own as hilarious films. Well worth watching when you want to have some escapism and a really good laugh!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Airplane/Airplane 2, 10 July 2014
By 
P. A. Ward "patsywoo" (U.K) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Airplane/Airplane 2 [DVD] (DVD)
A really funny double DVD. I bought it as a gift and it was much appreciated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Airplane/Airplane 2 [DVD]
Airplane/Airplane 2 [DVD] by Ken Finkleman (DVD - 2008)
5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews