Customer Reviews


106 Reviews
5 star:
 (82)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


51 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Aww! Adorableness
What a lovely, lovely film! It's magical, and glittery and imaginative and beautifully done. The CGI quality is very good, and the ideas are wonderful; from Silvermist fairy manually putting dew-drops on spider webs, to catching the last of the sun's rays for lighting the glow-worms, to tinkering about with a broken ballerina music box... and chubby-cheeked Cheese the...
Published on 11 Nov 2008 by Anna

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good film, but....
its far too short, my daughter was disappointed when it was finished so quickly. Also the so called bonus feature "tinker trainer" activity was not on the DVD, I searched through all the bonuses and couldn't find it anywhere, very disappointing for my daughter yet again.
Published on 6 May 2009 by Rainbowsky


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

51 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Aww! Adorableness, 11 Nov 2008
By 
This review is from: Tinker Bell [DVD] (DVD)
What a lovely, lovely film! It's magical, and glittery and imaginative and beautifully done. The CGI quality is very good, and the ideas are wonderful; from Silvermist fairy manually putting dew-drops on spider webs, to catching the last of the sun's rays for lighting the glow-worms, to tinkering about with a broken ballerina music box... and chubby-cheeked Cheese the mouse, who is almost unbearably cute.

The fairy dust shimmers and sparkles throughout the film and, at its core, it's a lovely story about being true to who you are. Not a theme that will impact adult viewers, perhaps, but it is an excellent message for younger children, and grown ups will be charmed by its prettiness and innocence.

Pixie Hollow is a beautifully imagined place, and with a cast comprising of luminaries such as Anjelica Huston and Jane Horrocks, this isn't low budget cynical nonsense aimed at earning a fast buck before Christmas. It's genuinely witty, heart-warming and smile-making; a film for kids, adults and anyone in between.

The only word that describes it is "darling". Tinkerbell is absolutely darling, and it is highly highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a lovely, sparkling gem, 12 Dec 2008
This review is from: Tinker Bell [DVD] (DVD)
This was a very understated and beautiful little film about Tinkerbell's life before Peter Pan and how her life evolves with all the other fairies. Tink is on contact a clumsy but kindhearted little fairy who has no idea what her talent is, she can't work with animals, nor with water, so what on earth can she do? Well you soon find out her talent and much more in this lovely, short and delightful effort from Disney.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars don't tinker with this one !, 1 Feb 2009
This review is from: Tinker Bell [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Wasn't sure what this would be like, but I was more than 'fairyly' pleased. Great for kids, enjoyable for adults too. Disney matter who you are, you will be impressed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A surprisingly beautiful film, 10 Nov 2009
This review is from: Tinker Bell [DVD] (DVD)
As happens so often these days, I was pretty much obliged to sit through this with my daughters (aged 3 and 4). I found it to be a remarkably enjoyable and thoughtful film.

On the face of it this really shouldn't work as anything more to put the children in front of while making dinner. It's full of the things that most little girls love - fairies, flowers, and prettiness - as well as having a female-dominated cast. The males are either lovable rogues, stern patriarchs, or (in the case of Terence) look like they got lost on the way to joining Westlife. The work of the fairies consists of doing the unseen work of changing the seasons (rounding up thistles, painting the spots on ladybirds, etc.) in which every fairy has their part to play, as determined at birth.

What emerges is a film covering a broad range on themes including self-awareness and social identity, as well as the inevitability of industrialisation on any society with precarious inflexibility in productivity. It raises issues about how striving to grow beyond our natural talent can be an end in itself and often brings about the realisation that, as the ancient Greeks discovered, happiness consists of 'the exercise of vital powers along lines of excellence in a life affording scope'. The moment where Tinker Bell's quest for identity converges with her sense of duty brings tears to my eyes every time - an honour shared with only three other films.

This really is a superb piece of work, further enhanced by the amazing quality of the animation, as well as the vocal talents of Anjelica Huston, Jane Horrocks, Lucy Liu, and America Ferrera - but to name a few. It's also full of fairies and pretty things so little girls will love it regardless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magical, 19 Nov 2008
This review is from: Tinker Bell [DVD] (DVD)
What a lovely film!! I got this for my 3 year old daughter since she is going through a 'fairy phase'. I have to admit I actually sat and watched the film the whole way through myself.
Magical and cute, with added humour... some facial expressions perhaps lost on a small child, but not on me!
Recommended must-have DVD for anyones Disney collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nicely done, 18 Oct 2008
By 
Michael Borre (Copenhagen, Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tinker Bell [DVD] (DVD)
I saw it today on Disney Channel i Denmark with my 7 year old daughter. She loved it, or so did I (which I'm not afraid to admit). The drawing is great and the insight to the fairy world is fantastic.

Her Danish name is Klokkeblomst which directly translates to Bellflower, but actually is a harebell. That she is called Tinker Bell because she is a Tinker, I just never appreciated before! Thanks for that insight.

Enjoy it with your young ones and be pleased that it gives yourself an excuse to watch the film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you like Tink you'll like this, 29 Nov 2011
By 
S. Brain "Local Legend" (Cardiff, Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tinker Bell [DVD] (DVD)
Its a Tinkerbell film with Tinkerbell and she dies in the end. Naa just kidding lol! Lovely animation and if your kids love Tinkerbell they'll love this. Someone told be the second film was better than this but I haven't seen the 2nd so I can't comment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tinkerbell rocks!, 29 Aug 2011
This review is from: Tinker Bell [DVD] (DVD)
We love this film! I bought it for my daughter and we both enjoyed it so much. It's a lovely story with no scary bits (apart from the hawk!) and a wonderful ending. I would recommend this film to everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good film, but...., 6 May 2009
This review is from: Tinker Bell [DVD] (DVD)
its far too short, my daughter was disappointed when it was finished so quickly. Also the so called bonus feature "tinker trainer" activity was not on the DVD, I searched through all the bonuses and couldn't find it anywhere, very disappointing for my daughter yet again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely!, 13 Feb 2009
This review is from: Tinker Bell [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I bought this for my daughter after being lured in via the video shorts repeated on playhouse disney day in and day out. It really is visually superb, I have seen this film twice now and think it's lovely. My daughter is only 14 months but loves it. I would say it's geared more for little girls than anything but I'd recommend it for the whole family to watch at least once. Definately one for your childs collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tinker Bell [DVD]
Tinker Bell [DVD] by Bradley Raymond (DVD - 2008)
5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews