Customer Reviews


146 Reviews
5 star:
 (122)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars K-E-V-I-N-!
This is a must for any family, what a great film. Join Kevin after he is left home alone and see how he defends his home against two great would be burglars. But this time they have definately met more than their match.
Loads of action and loads of fun.
Oh and next time you leave the house, make sure you've got everything!!!
10-10
Published on 3 Jan. 2001 by Amazon Customer

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Does not work. Will be returning this for a ...
Does not work. Will be returning this for a replacement. Hopefully my children will want to watch it in February
Published 2 months ago by William Thomas


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars K-E-V-I-N-!, 3 Jan. 2001
By 
Amazon Customer (Southampton, Hampshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Home Alone [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
This is a must for any family, what a great film. Join Kevin after he is left home alone and see how he defends his home against two great would be burglars. But this time they have definately met more than their match.
Loads of action and loads of fun.
Oh and next time you leave the house, make sure you've got everything!!!
10-10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars christmas in 2 hours!, 16 Oct. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Home Alone [VHS] [1990] (VHS Tape)
If you're sat at home on a gloomy October afternoon with nothing to do, and it's raining outside and you just can't wait any longer for christmas to come around, then this is the film for you!
Macauly Culkin plays the cutest little boy who finds himself 'home alone' at christmas, and does all the things any normal kid would only ever dream of!
This film puts you into full-on christmas mode and can lift any negative feeling that christmas is still miles off!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Home Alone - Bluray, 14 Dec. 2011
By 
Mapoo (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
Ok now we have all seen Home Alone, Who hasn't? I don't think anyone hasn't, its on the Tv every year at Christmas. I have Dvd's but I decided I wanted to try the Bluray and I was expecting bad quality just like a Dvd look or something. I was Amazed at the Sound Quality and the Picture was so Hi-Defination not as Hi-Def as newer films, but they have made a Fantastic Bluray version of this. So anyone wanting to watch this and remember the wonderful Home Alone, Watch it in Hi-Def its fantastic, Well worth the money!

Just want Home Alone - Lost In New York (Bluray) Whens it Released in UK????
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great Christmas movie that can be watched at any time of the year, 14 Feb. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The film is very good and in my opinion, the best one out of the lot. As you may know, it is about an eight-year-old boy, Kevin McCallister (Macaulay Culkin) who is accidentally left home alone when his family rush off to France for Christmas. He has to defend his house when two cat burglars, Harry and Marv (Joe Pesci and Daniel Stern, respectively) try to break in and hilarity ensues as Kevin sets a ton of booby traps around the house.
The picture quality is wonderful, a real step up from the DVD release. The film on Blu-Ray is 1080p HD and 1.85:1 aspect ratio (16:9).
The special features are excellent and not just a trailer or three, as with the DVD releases. There is the `Angels with Filthy Souls' featurette from the film but as a proper clip. This appears to be slightly different from the version shown in the film but good nonetheless. The deleted scenes are also very good and some of them should have, in my opinion, been left in the film as they are that good. There is also a `Making of Home Alone' feature which is very interesting and gives a real insight into the production of the movie. There are many more special features, all of which are very well done.
My only complaint is none of the special features are in HD, not even the aforementioned deleted scenes but you can't blame them really as many of them weren't made that way, such as the making of the film and a press featurette from 1990.

So, all in all, it is a great release, the movie is good and there are plenty of good special features to keep you occupied. A worthwhile buy and plenty of value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The biggest laugh I've had in ages, 15 Nov. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Home Alone [VHS] [1990] (VHS Tape)
If you havn't seen this film I strongley reccommend you do. It's full of laughs and fun from start to finish. Brilliant acting from Culkin,Pesci and Stern. An excellent way to spend a Saturday night in December. On the sofa watching this film and you can't get through Christmas without seeing it at least once.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Merry Xmas Ya Filthy Animal, 15 Dec. 2010
By 
Inspector Gadget "Go Go Gadget Reviews" (On the trail of Doctor Claw) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
In the Eighties, John Hughes churned out a handful of movies and scored many, many hits. Quite rightly, as most of them were seriously funny - I'm DEFINITELY not referring to Curly Sue, so relax! In one particular scene from Uncle Buck, Macaulay Culkin interrogates a babysitter through the letterbox to make sure she's not a baddie. This inspired Hughes to write a whole new movie. Who would have known that this and its sequel would go on to become two of the biggest hits of all time? Both Hughes and Chris Columbus seem to prefer setting their movies during the holiday season (Gremlins, Young Sherlock Holmes, Planes, Trains & Automobiles, Christmas Vacation) and manage to pull them off without too much sentiment, or sickening amounts of gooey love.

There are two reasons why Home Alone was such a big success. The first is that it's about a kid who outsmarts grown-ups, something that happens every day, only there's a worldwide conspiracy of silence. This movie yells it out loud and clear. The second is John Williams's magical score, which elevates the movie way above slapstick family fare to something more serious and regarded. It was nominated for an Academy Award, along with the Christmas carol Somewhere In My Memory, but lost to John Barry's Dances with Wolves. Damn! In a mad rush to the airport one morning, the McCallister family forget one little thing...Kevin (Culkin). He is an eight-year-old kid who wants nothing better than a peaceful Christmas and some time to himself. It's hard for him to get this when living in a house with seven other people(the exact same house from Planes, Trains And Automobiles, don't you know. With the rest of the McCallisters in Paris, Kevin runs wild doing whatever he wants, eating whatever he wants and watching whatever TV show he wants.

But there's one major problem. The Wet Bandits, Harry (Joe Pesci) and Marv (Daniel Stern), are on the prowl and have knocked off every other house in Kevin's street. His is next. And seeing that he's man-of-the-house now, he HAS to defend it.

Using whatever tools are at his disposal (rusty nails, blow torches, Micro Machines) he sets up a labyrinth of booby traps, so that the Wets can't break in. Their idiot-proof determination proves to be their downfall, as they are tortured and torn-up upon entering Kevin's domain.

Although this is not the only point of the film, there is an important message that family is what really matters to a child, or to anyone, and having them home for the holidays is better than wandering a huge house all by yourself.

There are some movies that work best at Christmas and this is one of them. I'm not saying that in a couple of decades it will be the new It's A Wonderful Life (which is very overrated and not really an Xmas movie at all), but it will be remembered fondly at the very least.

The Blu Ray looks great in 1.85:1 1080p, and has lots of features.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Film. Very Good Blu Ray, 4 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Home Alone on Blu Ray. I am only relatively new to the concept of Blu Ray and if there was any Christmas film I was going to buy on Blu Ray, it was this!

I'm not going to review the plot of the film - a well constructed review on the internet can do that for you. I shall review the overall Blu Ray product. So, without further ado...

Picture Quality: 9/10. The picture quality gets a solid 9 from me. I had read some reviews of this film on Blu Ray that said the picture quality was very good. Essentially, I agree with the reviews. The picture quality is very good; colours and textures look stunning and backgrounds look really well in Home Alone. For a film as old as Home Alone is, the picture quality is a real improvement over any DVD counterpart.

Sound Quality: 9/10. The sound of this Blu Ray is amazing, one of the best I've ever consulted, in fact. Dialogue is crystal clear and it gave me great pleasure to hear John Williams' masterful score with such clarity. Top drawer stuff!

Overall, Home Alone is a real bargain on Blu Ray. Considering its age, it looks very well now in HD! The sound is also top drawer. Finally, the special features are quite fun and are well worth checking out.

Buy this. Money well spent.

Thanks for reading this. I hope it helps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT FUN., 24 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One of the best Christmas films, I could go on for hours how good this film is, so instead I will just review the dvd and give you the list of special features on the disc, I will list them below.

***FEATURES BELOW***

Fun Featurrettes
-The Making of Home Alone
-How to Burglar proof your home
-The stunts of Home Alone
-Where's buzz now?
-Angels with filthy souls
and 1990 press featurette

15 Exclusive Deleted scenes
Alternate Takes
Hilarious Gag Reel
Set-top Games: "Battle Plan"
Trivia Quiz and head count-and many more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Christmas favourite!, 13 Nov. 2014
By 
Amazon Customer (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Introduce your kids early to the 'Home Alone' movie, and I can almost guarantee they will love it. More over, it will become a Christmas time tradition in your home for years to come.

Macaulay Culkin stars as Kevin, a young lad who feels like a fish out of water in a family who doesn't treat him with any respect. This Christmas, he is accidentally left behind while his family flies to France on holiday. He isn't all that upset about that, and enjoys all the trappings of being able to do what he likes in the house all by himself. However, he finds himself having to defend his home against a pair of idiotic burglars. Laughs and action in equal measure are ensured.

'Home Alone' really does represent perfect light hearted family fun for the Christmas period, and with this DVD, it just got better. There ia a generous helping of deleted scenes and out takes to enjoy, and lots of other special features. Also, the second film, Home Alone 2 - Lost In New York [1992] [DVD] is one of those rare squeals, where it is just as good, if not better than the original.

Macaulay was such a good young actor, and despite the recent rumours, he is thankfully still with us. I hope he battles his demons and makes a return to the acting profession one day. Look out for his real life brother Kieran Culkin, who has a small part in the film as one of Kevin's brothers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Family Comedy Without The Family, 18 Jun. 2013
This review is from: Home Alone [DVD] [1990] (DVD)
This is a movie you have to watch with your brain in neutral. If you think about it, you'll just go nuts. True, they threw plot logic out the window with this movie. A parent who would leave a child home alone, whether accidentally or not, would probably be visited by social services, be thrown in jail, and have their children taken away from them. (Especially if they do this two years in a row, but that's another movie.) The pranks Kevin pulls on these two stupid criminals should not be tried at home. Setting hair on fire, things of that nature would kill someone in real life. They should put up a disclaimer in this movie warning of the dangers of some of these pranks. Otherwise, it's a laugh a minute fun little romp, especially when it comes time for Kevin to defend his home. (Love the way he played a scene from ANGELS WITH FILTHY SOULS when he scared off the pizza man and when he scared off the burglars early in the story.) That business with old Mr. Marley (have to see the movie again to be sure I got that name right) was very touching at the end. It showed Kevin wasn't just another dumb, bratty little kid, that he had a heart of gold. Very entertaining. Just sit back, relax, enjoy the ride, and don't think too much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Home Alone [UMD Mini for PSP]
Home Alone [UMD Mini for PSP] by Chris Columbus (UMD Mini for PSP - 2008)
Used & New from: £1.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews